728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White

SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White

The SoftHeat Hydronic Baseboard Heater uses a self-contained circulating heat transfer fluid to provide steady, uniform warmth with longer heat retention, greater energy savings, and minimal temperature variation. No plumbing, water supply or refilling required. Recommended for bedrooms, nurseries, and for those with severe allergies. Perfect for supplemental warmth for a cold room or to replace old heaters. Now improved durability for longer life.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
Review 1 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
JackInDerry
from Derry, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Happy With This Heater

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put an office in my basement and it had baseboard heat that had been removed. I decided to go with this heater even though it was a little more money than some of the others available. I am completely happy with this heater. The room is about 16 x 20 and there is an open hallway that connects to it. It keeps the entire area very comfortable. One of the best features that sold me was the soft radiant heat. It doesn't kick on and blast you with heat and then cool off and you are freezing again. It keeps my home office perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
CM74
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heater works well and was a good solution for supplemental heat.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this heater to provide supplemental heat in a basement office. The heater provides plenty of heat for the purpose, and is very simple and attractive in appearance. The heater makes more clicking noise than I expected, but I have not yet tried loosening the mounting screws. The quality is good, but the front cover attaches fairly loosely. The internal element is substantial and appears well made. The included electronic thermostat is very accurate and works beautifully.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
Doylez

Great heater and will reduce my oil bills!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this 83" heater along with the 35" version in order to heat a newly finished basement with approx. 550 sq-ft. Just to set the stage for you, the walls in the basement are all insulated, including the floor joists. The boiler room was partitioned into its own storage room, so whatever heat used to come from the boiler no longer keeps the basement warm. However, despite that, the basement stays around 55 degrees without any heat even when the outside temperature is in the 20's.
The Cadet heaters take a few minutes to heat up but it takes anywhere from 1 to 2 hr to get the inside temperature from 55 degrees to a balmy 68 degrees. Yes, it seems like a long time to wait for it to heat 13 degrees but it sure as h3ll beats having to pay for a tank of oil (in our area, about $800 for 200 gallons) which we used to have to fill every 1-2 months in the winter. Upstairs, we have hot water baseboard heaters and although I could've installed the same for the basement, I had the chance to use electric baseboard and I'm glad I did.
I had my contractor perform the install but it looked fairly straightforward. The only mistake we made was not running the feed to the thermostat. I'd never installed these before, so before I hired my contractor, I ran 240v to the floor and then sealed it up with drywall. Big mistake. Stupid me. I should've ran it to where the thermostat would be (about 5-ft high), then run another cable down to the heater. So when my contractor was installing the heaters, he had to rip into the wall to re-run the lines. Lesson learned, hopefully you won't make the same mistake as me
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
sl3860
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big improvement in interior design of componants

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced an earlier model (same manufacturer)with this one. I compared the old with the new by removing the outer cover and comparing the internals. There is a big change in the design. I was puzzled if the claims of being better than the old design would really work better. Boy was I surprised, after using the heater for three weeks its very quiet and puts out the heat. I'm very satisfied.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
drgb88
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Noiseless, soft heat, with good design for cleaning

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After one week of these heater I am impressed, No noise whatsoever, gentle heat that keeps on delivering for 15 minutes after the thermostat trips off the unit. Set at 68, temp goes to 70 because of the fluid filled bar in the heater.
We did the entire house with these, but do not know yet what the electric bills are going to be this winter. But with the zoned heating I am confident that we can keep the electric bills down to something reasonable.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, very quiet, no ducts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
James
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job nicely!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product for half of the winter and it heated the room nicely. It was a little more money than the cheaper baseboards but this one stays heated for a while longer. I would recommend this item.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
Bobr
from Tckahoe, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the idea of hydronic heat unit

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had Soft Heat units in my home for a few years to see if they would perform as advertised. Liked them so much I have now replaced all my old baseboard electric heaters.
Should have done it years ago.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
Jake
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item is exactly what I wanted. Keeps the new room warm with no hot or cold spots. I'm very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
Gerry
from Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Appropriate for space and easy to install

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The electric heater was a replacement of a similar 220 v heater in an addition space added to the home. So far it is performing as well as the previous one. Instant heat and attractive on baseboard of wall.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
James
from Kirkland, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Efficient Energy Move

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Time will tell, the baseboard heating we replaced was 42 years old and still working, one was not. It is hoped that with the extra insulation in the ceilings, and the baseboard heater replacement, it will be an energy cost saver. We will be watching our electric use closely.
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SoftHeat 83 in. 1,500-Watt 240-Volt Hydronic Electric Baseboard Heater Left Hand Wire White
DonC
from Newport News, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have not installed it yet but quality appears to be great.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Will install in next couple of weeks and see how it works. Part of a room remodeling.
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.