728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Exterior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home

1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home

The BEHR 1-Gallon Gloss Water Clear Log Home Finish is great for use on log- and timber-frame houses, siding, fencing and more. It features a waterproof water-based formula with mildewcide that also resists damage from UV rays and mildew. The 1-gallon can covers areas up to 400 sq. ft. The stain dries to the touch in 12 hours and should be reapplied after 1 day for best results.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
Review 1 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Dahlonega
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Behr Clear Gloss Log Cabin Finish - Great Product

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product for the last 7 years on my 4800 ft. log cabin and outbuildings. It holds up well and I pressure wash annually with Clorex. It has a tough urathane finish that resists mildew in the South where humidity plays havoc on log homes. I used to be able to buy it in 5 gallon quantities, however now only contractors can buy in 5 gallons quantaties. I have to special order at one gallon prices. Wish Home Depot would rethink that. It would also be nice if they would carry a small quantity in the store. I shop in Dahlonega, Gainesville and Blairsville and none of the stores carry it. Blairsville used to that's how I initially came upon it.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: hard to find
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Houghton Lake, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought this product 5 year ago and it is still holding up to the Northern Michigan elements. I is very good and I highly recommend it.

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Durabilty, look, and application is awesome. Is the best
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from iowa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very best stuff for cedar log sealing

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an amazing product for cedar logs especially since i live in the midwest where humidity is high. Goes on easily and mixes easily. This is the best finish for cedar and enhances the wood nice!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: stores dont carry locally -
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Cleveland Ga.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love Behr Log Cabin Gloss Finish

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used Berhr og cabin on my house for years. I love the product. I do have one concern. I was always able to get it in a 5 gallon tub. Now I'm told only contractors can get 5 gallon tubs with a minium order of 20 gallons. I was forced to buy it in gallon tubs. I pressure wash my cabin every year and put on one coat to freshen up and seal any cracks. I have a 4000 sq foot house and usually need at least 5 gallons to complete the project. Please reconsider offering the 5 gallon tub online as a special order to consumers.
Thanks.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Albuquerque,NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Over the last 40 years we have used numerous products on our log cabin. The Behr Log Cabin finish in cedar tone is heads and heels above the others.
We wont use any other producr.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Chapel Hill,N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Purchase for Log Homes

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best product I have used on our log home, it is not my first coat of this product and will not be my last.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product for log homes and siding I've found. Easy to use

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've been using this now for 5 years on a log home after stripping off an oil-based "natural" product as described by previous homeowner. The oil based product was the first product applied to a brand new log home and mildewed/black mold under the finish requiring the 3-step Behr stripping process before refinishing.
Behr Log home finish is better than Thompsons or Behr waterproofing finsih for logs as it does not require stripping each few years to re-seal/recoat. Just wash off the dust or lightly pressure wash and add coats to build finish. Still is glossy and waterproof after applying two years ago. Waterbased for easy clean-up and completing small areas at a time. Way cheaper than sikens and the specialty brand log home finishes which if you read some reviews have still had mold issues under finish. Behr appears to resist bugs/termites also. Special order it in 5-gal size during the annual $20/off paint sales for best deal.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from baltimore, md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Log Home Stain - that works!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the stain easily was absorbed into the wood; it was easy to put on. it has rained since i applied the stain and the stain 'held-up." good price also.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home

Best product I found

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a cedar planked fence that has a huge southern exposure. We wanted to keep the fresh cedar look but every sealer would fall off in one year. The Log Cabin product has lasted 3 years now. We just bought some more to put an extra coat to freshen it up.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Eastpointe, MI

Not a good product at all!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the past 8 years I have been buying Behr 'clear' wood protector from Home Depot for my front porch. I came up HD several weeks ago to buy a gallon of it again and was told that Behr doesn't make it anymore. So I came home, went on line, wrote to Behr and they wrote back telling me that I need to buy Log Cabin #15 clear wood protector. So I did. When I put the second coat on my front porch, I thought it was shiny just because it was still wet. It's still shiny and I don't like the looks of my porch at all! It looks stupid. Behr should have same something like, "it has a marine finish" but I didn't see that written on the label anywhere. I would really like my money back.
I have the receipt and 'pick up confirmation' paper work and there is still some left in the gallon can. Let me know if I can bring up the remains and get a refund. This is NOT the finished look I wanted for my porch.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Clear Gloss Finish Log Cabin Home
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stuff is junk every year it has to be reapplied evreything in direct sun at 6,000 ft elevation

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Behr exterior gloss transparent log finish, I apply this every year for 5 years the Behr rawhide clear was a much better product.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.