728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayer Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pressure Roller Kit

Pressure Roller Kit

Transform your Magnum or Graco Sprayer into a rolling system. Forget constantly returning to the paint tray as with traditional paint rollers. Simply pull the gun trigger when you need paint and keep rolling.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Pressure Roller Kit
Review 1 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Sonoma, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive but worth it

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I hesitated spending $80 on this accessory since I just spent $300 on the Graco X5 sprayer - which I didn't budget for but figured it was cheaper to buy it than rent a sprayer since I had a whole house to do. After spraying the whole interior with primer, I like using the sprayer since it is light and easy to maneuver but I was painting the walls a different color than the ceiling and the thought of trying to protect the ceiling while spraying the walls is what lead me to look into this accessory. I hesitated because of the cost and some bad reviews, but figured it had to be better than spending the time to protect the ceilings from overspray. I am glad I did!
Well yesterday I did two coats on 90% of the interior walls of a 1500 square foot house - by myself! 3 bedrooms, hallway, living room, and family room. I was exhausted after at the end of the day and had my frustrations with the roller, but was still glad that I bought it. As a previous reviewer stated, the roller is heavier than a standard roller. You will have to roll with two hands. One on the gun and the other guiding the bar. Because it is heavy and you are triggering the paint that comes out of the roller, you need to 'guide' the roller up/down the wall so you don't get 'runs' on the sides. The best way to describe this is when you have a roller filled with paint and you roll and lean on one side of the roller - there will be a run of paint on that side. This can occur with the roller if you don't use your hand to guide it - especially in tight corners/areas. It does take a little getting use to since you trigger the gun to get paint to the roller and roll. As some reviewers stated, it took longer to cut the corners than it did to roll the walls. Here is my two cents on the pros and cons.
Pros -
Clean - there are no drips from the roller and it is 100% cleaner than the sprayer
Fast - Energy focused on rolling not stopping and getting more paint on your roller
Economical - less paint used since you put the sprayer hose into the gallon/5 gallon bucket and not pouring into trays
Cons -
Heavy - the roller is heavier than a traditional roller. I recommend getting the cheap gloves that have rubber in the palm and fingers and use them to paint. It helps with the metal gun and the hand that holds the metal bar to the roller
Size - the roller bar is fixed. If you have a small area, i.e., 3' hallway, it can be difficult to roll
Fighting the hose - this pairs with the "heaviness' of the roller. At times when rolling the hose would cause frustration.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Winter Park, FL

Worked better than expected

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I already had the Graco paint sprayer but did not want to mask off everything to spray paint some bedrooms so I picked up the pressure paint roller. I painted two rooms and it worked well. It was much faster. I was covering the floor but then stopped that to save time as and I did not need to cover the floor because it did not drip.
The clean up of the roller was as easy as a regular roller.
I wish they made a pad version of this system for doing the corners and near the ceiling. I called Graco and they said they did not make that system.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Can paint large areas quickly and cleanly

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like anything new, it took me a few minutes to learn how to use it. Makes rolling large areas MUCH easier, and the trigger for applying paint works well and smoothly so you can always have the right amount of paint on your roller without drips, climbing up and down ladders, and constant trips back to the roller pan. The handle has a lot of adjustments so you can put the trigger in the position that is most comfortable for you. Only downsides -- it's a little heavy so my arm got tired faster than with a conventional roller, and it is a little awkward to switch sides and put the frame on the other side. Also, cleanup of the entire contraption takes longer than using a standard roller. Wonderful for any large job though, and cut the time for painting in half.
Pros: Easy to Use, cuts application time in half, cuts drips
Cons: a little heavy, long clean up time
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pressure Roller Kit

Power roller

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No issues with dripping, much quicker and cleaner than roller and pan, much less prep than spraying. Short learning curve to get great results but get a hose swivel so you don't spend time fighting the hose. Somewhat expensive but the time it saves and the wear it saved me make it a worthwhile purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Milwaukee,wi

Great add-on!

PostedMarch 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked great for a few jobs now. With the sprayer I found myself taping off a lot for just one room. With the roller we could cut in the room and just roll without getting paint everywhere. Not a substitute for the sprayer but a great add on for the money.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Decatur GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Saver

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Major time saver. Even made my husband who hates painting agree to paint his mothers house next!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Alpharetta, GA

Graco Roller

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Has worked well for me so far. Applied primer to two rooms and painted one up to this point. Have to apply EVEN pressure on the extension handle or you will get lines. This is much better then roller and tray. Have a project painter with a home made pickup hose for the 5 gallon bucket. Turn it on and roll $ go. Took longer to cut in the room then roll it using this. Have not tred the roller with the 40" extension yet (saving the ceiling for last).
Clean up is a little tricky at first but easy.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pressure Roller Kit
from austin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good investment

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
used this for over 2 years and going to buy another one as replacement. really great for interior walls where doing the masking tapes taking too long time. save a lot of time just by not doing the tape and not having to deep it into paint buckets. 2 issues i have is the price is way too high and i have hard time to keep the roller from straying away. Also, they do not sell replacement part, like the plastic holder to keep the roller from sliding away. it is a great product as a replacement for spraying paint.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: high price no replacement part
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Recommended

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Roller is very sturdly constructed so I thought it would be engineered well. However, using the X5 painter unit with roller there is no way to lower the pressure enough so that you get no leaking from the roller. This would be ok in my opinion if the metal on metal sleeve bearings in the roller did not rub and release metal shavings. When painting with white or light colors the roller end connected to the paint tube leaks slowly. When mixed with the metal shavings the paint turns grey and eventually will get on your wall or ceiling. Makes a mess and more cover up work later. For the price (expensive) I would at least expect the roller to have some rubber gaskets to keep this from happening
Cons: discolors paint
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Chino Valley, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Turned paint gray

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No matter what setting I had the sprayer on, for some reason the Behr ultra white paint would ooze out of the edge on the roller that the tube went in to. The oozing paint would be gray when the rest of the roller would be normal white color. This was not residual gray paint that was coming out. Used it for quite a while hoping it would stop, but it didn't. Returned!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Bridgton ME
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea BUT doesn't work well.

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be great to paint my basement. However, I had problems from the beginning. My biggest peeve is that when you press the trigger on the spray handle it sends paint at such a high rate it starts dripping out the roller and makes a mess. Also similar to another review, the metal to metal joint where the gun attaches to the roller will wear a little bit and start sending very fine metal filings in to the paint gray spots all over the place. Luckily this was my primer coat. I think I will sell this on Ebay and go back to the old fashioned way of painting...roller and tray
Pros: Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean, messy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Colville, WA 99114, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to clean and use, makes painting fast!!!!! I would recommend this product for beginner to professionals wanting to save time and paint!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Denver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great,

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best power roller I've ever used, paint on demand and no spills.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Lubbock
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the roller to paint the inside of a house. It was non stop no mess painting. I could not believe other reviews that said it was so clean you did not need a drop cloth. It may be a little over stated but there was no splatter. It was easy to apply the paint evenly and keep rolling without having to stop. I rolled a family room, kitchen, hall, three bedrooms and an entry way in one day. I was fast.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Chicago,IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Graco=Wagner

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same happened to me.The metal joint where the gun attaches to the roller wears a little and start sending very fine metal filings in to the paint. Gray spots all over the place if I didn't clean it every minute. Paint drips of the attachment despite the paint pressure was adjusted to the lowest. It needs improvements in design. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. You get the same performance with the Wagner roller for $20. I thought I would get something good working from Graco. Disappointed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pressure Roller Kit
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good to have as part of my inventory

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The best features of this product is the time saved on labor, very little to NO over spray which saves on material
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.