728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bathroom Cabinets & Storage or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Replace your worn old medicine cabinet with this 23-3/8 in. Surface-Mount Framed Lighted Sliding Door Medicine Cabinet in Chrome. The cabinet has 2 fixed shelves in which to store your bathroom essentials. The mirror doors slide open, allowing you easy access to the cabinet. There is a built-in electrical outlet and light for your convenience. The sleek design and stainless steel finish complements most modern bathroom decor.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product19 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product19 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Review 1 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Illinois, USA

Excellant Price

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a old medicine cabinet with lights coming off the side, so I wanted one with lights and one where when you open it everything doesn't fall out! The price was excellant and I think it's kind of retro and has shiny chrome around the edge. It was very easy for my husband to install. Thank God!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price. on a budget. kids bathroom.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
looking for a quick bolt on replacement, good price, you get what you pay for.. so perfect for kids bathroom. ez up and ez hook up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Montclair, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Nice for the price

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lighted medicine cabinet uses 2 standard bulbs, which is convenient. Very light weight, hangs on wall (not inset) which makes installation easier. And it works! Picked up from the store after ordering online, I was in and out!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Good ECONOMY Medicine Cabinet

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This medicine cabinet is an ECONOMY medicine cabinet. If you are looking for a stand out quality built designer medicine cabinet then this is not the medicine cabinet for you. The body is made of a thin metal outlined with chrome stripping, The mirrors are thin and light without the handles installed on them. The mirror tracks are made of plastic which you must also install yourself. The medicine cabinet has 2 lights in it and a plastic light cover. The best feature of this medicine cabinet is that it has an outlet built into the top left portion inside of it. Very convenient for a bathroom or powder room without a wall outlet like my powder room. Another thing I personally liked about this medicine cabinet is that it is very light weight which made it easy to mount. Putting the medicine cabinet together was simple and easy. Instructions were included and were easy to follow. You need very little technical skill to put the medicine cabinet together. It was easy to mount and hook up the electric, but unless you have some knowledge of electrical work I wouldn't recommend doing it yourself. If you have any simple working knowledge of electric you can easily hook this up yourself. Once the medicine cabinet is mounted it will look better than it is actually constructed. For the money it is a great buy. You can tell when putting the medicine cabinet together that it is not made with top quality materials, but it does look good once it is installed. Remember that this is an ECONOMY medicine cabinet, but it gets the job done and looks pretty decent.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, looks good, power outlet
Cons: Quality
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good value for a lighted medicine cabnet

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This replaced a rusted out one of the same type. Only thing that I don't care for is they moved the switch and outlet to the inside and on the top which wasn't a problem for me but a shorter person will have a problem reaching the swtch if it's installed at regular height. Gave the quality 2 stars because the glue strip holding the trim was sticking out enough to be noticeable and needed a trim job with an exacto knife, otherwise is a good value for the money.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It was a sturdy, durable product for a rental unit.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed the medicine cabinet for our tenants who live in an older home of ours. We couldn't find what we needed in stores, so we decided to try Home Depot online and were very satisfied with the results. It was exactly what we needed and was delivered to our home in just days! We installed it and the tenant is very happy with it. Thanks for a great, servicable product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from West Mifflin, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

real junk

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cabinet was all dented, did not return because it is ok for basement bathroom
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice functional cabinet

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
For the price, this can't be beat. It's extremely functional, has lots of room, and it can use compact fluorescents, so it's very economical. Has a nice, clean retro look. There's a little spare outlet inside the cabinet for plugging in a shaver or something.
It was easy to put together, except for the fact that it comes without a plug, so I had my handyman cut off the end of an electrical cord from a broken DVD player and wire it to the bare wires of the cabinet. I would have rated it 5 stars if it had come ready to plug in- I have no idea why they don't supply it that way.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Basic Cabinet

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this medicine cabinet to replace a broken one in a rental apartment. It is inexpensive, clean lines, easy sliding doors and has a lighted portion at the top that uses (2) 60watt bulbs. It's not fancy, but it's sturdy and very easy to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Virginia
Gender:Female

This product looks cheap as the price.

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product arrived on time but was damaged in shipping. Metal was dented but contractor remedied the problem. Home Depot needs to carry an updated version of this model. Something with incandescant lights rather than florescent which is not very flattering to the average person. I was not very pleased with the product, but it will do until I see something better.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Use of Space
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for the money

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal frame was bend, but I was able to staighten it out.
Most of the light is reflected up and doesn't shine thru to the front.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Use of Space
Cons: Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was worth the price

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was low priced . So was well worth it. Everything was in the bax except mounting product
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Martinez, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install. Came out nice and neat.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had the most competive price and looked great when installed. pleanty of lead on wire for the light and plug & simple to hookup. Thomas, Martinez, CA
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Value for a Replacement Cabinet

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We didn't want to do a complete remodel, but the old medicine cabinet looked bad and the glass for the light needed to be replaced. This was a great choice and didn't cost much more than repair of the old one. We got a great deal.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Elysburg, PA 17824, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and Great Value

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really nice medicine cabinet. Purchased this mainly because it had an outlet. Very sleek looking with a surprising amount of space.
The outlet is kind of in an awkward spot, so you need to move anything on the top shelf to use it.
Pros: Sleek, Looks Great, Stylish, Great Value
Cons: outlet in awkward spot
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Akron, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed, but you get what you pay for

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me start by saying I know this is only $ 50. That being said I still expected better. My biggest complaint is that the shelf inside was not welded straight. Unfortunately we were in a bind and needed to get this up and it is hard to find a cabinet with lights anymore. It is better than nothing. Needless to say this will be our temporary fix until we find a much better fixture. Home Depot did get this delivered fast. I wish they carried more of these in the store, but I imagine they wouldn't sell any if people could really see what they were buying.
Pros: $ 50
Cons: Quality, manufacturing defects
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Johnstown PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chrome? What chrome?

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The manufacturer should remove the word chrome from the product description and picture because ours arrived with a white painted metal trim that chipped easily. We purchased it for a house that we are selling. Once installed, it did not look bad, but I would never want it for my own home.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for.

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Upon opening the box I noticed slight damage. From supplier or delivery I don't know. Not enough to return. The metal is thin. If you buy, I URGE you to install the mirror guides BEFORE mounting to the wall. The guide installation is extremely important. Not correctly installed and you have a problem.
Once mounted, the lighting and connection worked fine so far. Inspect for damage, install the mirror guides before mounting to the wall and you will have an inexpensive lighted medicine cabinet
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Exactly as expected

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the exact same model from 10 years ago for small apartment bathroom. Newer model went in easier than the first one and looks great. Handles for mirror are a nice touch. Would like a way to cover exposed light bulbs on top of model so they aren't such a dust collector, but is ok for it's use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. x 18 in. Economy Lighted Sliding Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Value

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good storage, good light, extra outlet, good price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>