728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Replace your worn old medicine cabinet with this 23-3/8 in. Surface-Mount Framed Lighted Sliding Door Medicine Cabinet in Chrome. The cabinet has two fixed shelves in which to store your bathroom essentials. The mirror doors slide open, allowing you easy access to the cabinet. There is a built-in electrical outlet and light for your convenience. The sleek design and stainless steel finish complement most modern bathroom decor.
Overall rating:
3.585 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product27 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product27 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Review 1 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product overall, one (maybe?) minor design issue

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I needed to replace an old medicine cabinet of roughly the same design. I didn't need anything fancy and this one definitely fits the bill in that regard (which is totally fine).
Installation is pretty straight forward. This cabinet has four holes predrilled into its back. Add mounting screws to your wall accordingly and you'll be set as far as the hang.
The lighting fixture is simply two standard light-bulb sockets with standard wiring. Get yourself some wire nuts (I reused the ones from the previous fixture) and you'll be set.
The one area that gave me some trouble with this cabinet was installing the doors. The rail mechanism that holds the doors comes in two pieces, both with adhesive backing to attach them to the cabinet. The bottom one is a piece of cake. But the top one is a bit tricky. Make sure you push it all the way up before pushing back to make the adhesive stick. Otherwise, you won't be able to fit the doors into place. (I wound up having to remove the top rail, which completely borked its adhesive backing. I got it back in by using some E6000 adhesive and it's fine now.)
Oh, and the adhesive backing on those rails is tricky in itself. Be careful to remove only the backing that reveals the adhesive and not the entire strip itself.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Illinois, USA

Excellant Price

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a old medicine cabinet with lights coming off the side, so I wanted one with lights and one where when you open it everything doesn't fall out! The price was excellant and I think it's kind of retro and has shiny chrome around the edge. It was very easy for my husband to install. Thank God!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Cheaply Made

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this cabinet to replace an original one in our bathroom. We were very disappointed with the quality. The cabinet was made of really cheap thin metal and would bend very easily during installation. The mirrored doors were chipped as it was poorly packaged. One thing to note also was that the plug on the inside is on the left side of the cabinet not the right as was the one we replaced. This may not matter to some but I thought it is something to mention if you are right handed( cord of appliances are always in front of you...hairdryers, flat irons etc)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

item was received with a chip in the mirror and no paperwork in box to describe how to return it!!! terrible quality, will not order anything on line

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
terrible quality, chip in mirror upon opening package, no paperwork with product and no instructi9ons on how to do a return!!!
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Low Budget Design & Quality

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hoping that this unit would have looked better from a design perspective. However, it was too plain/utilitarian for my needs. The unit itself is solid but the tracks for the mirrors are really cheap and the cover of the light is pretty cheap and didn't fit snugly in the unit. Great if you're going for a low budget option but not for a durable yet elegant/clean style. I returned mine and went with a basic mirror and new light fixture above it for aesthetic reasons.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
Cons: Quality, not stylish/modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Light on top

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Make sure to place the upper slot all the way in before apply pressure to be adhesive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Great Value, light on top
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cabinet for the price.

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at several cabinets before buying this one. The price was great and it fit over the hole the last one came out of. Took me about an hour to pull the old one out and install this one. Had a little help from my Daughter who held it while I wired it up. Simple, quick installation. Looks good installed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Good Use of Space
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Lexington KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Medicine cabinet was just what I needed.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cabinet has not been installed yet, however I do not see any problems with that. I wanted to replace exactly what was there so this cabinet is perfect.
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from gf, nd
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

item recieved had both mirrors of the medicine cabinent broken.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Item came damaged mirrors broken, Installation was very easy. Had new mirrors cut at a local glass shop.
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Westpoint, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product/Poor packaging

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had previous experience with this cabinet and were pleased. So purchased this one for installation in a 1/2 bath that we're installing in our older home/fixer-upper because we wanted a cabinet with a light w/switch/medicine cabinet combo. This was available on-line only from Home Depot and at the best price after comparing with e-bay and amazon. However, it was not packaged correctly for shipping. The mirrors arrived broken - even though the shipping box was not damaged. The mirrors had been left in the tracks instead of being tissue-wrapped and taped inside the cabinet. We are so disappointed because this is a great buy for what we wanted. This is probably a manufacturer problem - not Home Depot's. So possibly the same thing would happen even if ordering from another source. Trying to decide whether to try again. Repeating: this is a great product for the price!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Value, Lots of Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Lawrenceburg, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just What We Wanted!

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To follow up on when I reviewed the previous time we had ordered this same product - and it had arrived with a broken mirror :( : This one was packaged correctly. Mirrors are intact. This is exactly what we wanted for the 1/2 bath in our fixer-upper home. We only wanted 2 regular bulbs (the more expensive one has 3). It is a sturdy cabinet; easy to install. We connected the wiring to a wall switch/plug in combination to turn the light on/off as this is the lighting for the room and we didn't want to have to open the cabinet door to turn on the light. (The older models had the switch on the outside of the cabinet.) So we can use either the outlet inside the cabinet when we have the wall switch turned on or the outlet that is underneath the wall switch. The cabinet's appearance is so neat. JUST WHAT WE WANTED!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Montclair, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Nice for the price

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lighted medicine cabinet uses 2 standard bulbs, which is convenient. Very light weight, hangs on wall (not inset) which makes installation easier. And it works! Picked up from the store after ordering online, I was in and out!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This medicine cabinet was easy to install and a good value for the purchase price. Only thing lacking was the drywall anchors and screws, had to provide on my own.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

lighted sliding surface-mount medicine cabinet

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
had to replace in family home that is almost 40 years old, didn't think i was going to be able to find one. shopped online and found from your site.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Use of Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good value for a lighted medicine cabnet

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This replaced a rusted out one of the same type. Only thing that I don't care for is they moved the switch and outlet to the inside and on the top which wasn't a problem for me but a shorter person will have a problem reaching the swtch if it's installed at regular height. Gave the quality 2 stars because the glue strip holding the trim was sticking out enough to be noticeable and needed a trim job with an exacto knife, otherwise is a good value for the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from hoth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Stores drugs such as viagra, codeine, and pepto bismol :)
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome

Good ECONOMY Medicine Cabinet

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This medicine cabinet is an ECONOMY medicine cabinet. If you are looking for a stand out quality built designer medicine cabinet then this is not the medicine cabinet for you. The body is made of a thin metal outlined with chrome stripping, The mirrors are thin and light without the handles installed on them. The mirror tracks are made of plastic which you must also install yourself. The medicine cabinet has 2 lights in it and a plastic light cover. The best feature of this medicine cabinet is that it has an outlet built into the top left portion inside of it. Very convenient for a bathroom or powder room without a wall outlet like my powder room. Another thing I personally liked about this medicine cabinet is that it is very light weight which made it easy to mount. Putting the medicine cabinet together was simple and easy. Instructions were included and were easy to follow. You need very little technical skill to put the medicine cabinet together. It was easy to mount and hook up the electric, but unless you have some knowledge of electrical work I wouldn't recommend doing it yourself. If you have any simple working knowledge of electric you can easily hook this up yourself. Once the medicine cabinet is mounted it will look better than it is actually constructed. For the money it is a great buy. You can tell when putting the medicine cabinet together that it is not made with top quality materials, but it does look good once it is installed. Remember that this is an ECONOMY medicine cabinet, but it gets the job done and looks pretty decent.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, looks good, power outlet
Cons: Quality
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice functional cabinet

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
For the price, this can't be beat. It's extremely functional, has lots of room, and it can use compact fluorescents, so it's very economical. Has a nice, clean retro look. There's a little spare outlet inside the cabinet for plugging in a shaver or something.
It was easy to put together, except for the fact that it comes without a plug, so I had my handyman cut off the end of an electrical cord from a broken DVD player and wire it to the bare wires of the cabinet. I would have rated it 5 stars if it had come ready to plug in- I have no idea why they don't supply it that way.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Basic Cabinet

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this medicine cabinet to replace a broken one in a rental apartment. It is inexpensive, clean lines, easy sliding doors and has a lighted portion at the top that uses (2) 60watt bulbs. It's not fancy, but it's sturdy and very easy to install.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. x 18 in. Lighted Sliding Door Surface-Mount Medicine Cabinet in Chrome
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price. on a budget. kids bathroom.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
looking for a quick bolt on replacement, good price, you get what you pay for.. so perfect for kids bathroom. ez up and ez hook up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Maintenance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>