728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer

1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer

Easily apply the Glidden Gripper 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer with a brush, roller or sprayer to your wood, masonry, glass, and previously painted metals. To create a uniform surface, it helps remove water splashes, streaking and other common mishaps while filling imperfections and hairline cracks. This paint can be tinted to shades of gray to enhance colors and can be easily cleaned using soapy water.
Overall rating:
4.757 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product35 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product35 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
Review 1 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
ramrice
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great to freshen up old paneled walls

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Repainted my mom's house for sale. Painted both light and dark 1970s fake wood paneling, even the black grooves. 2 coats covered like butter! Also had it tinted to Sherwin Williams Napery for one room, and Benjamin Moore Ivory White for a smaller room.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
TheGardener
from Gulfport, Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gripper is THE BEST!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use Gripper as an under painting for both home indoor and exterior painting. It is an excellent primer/sealer that lasts. Thick as a brick and great coverage. I also use it for priming wood refinishing projects before I paint the final color. I wouldn't use any other primer...and I've been painting and refinishing for years. I've included a photo of a refinished dumpster find. Now...it's a treasure chest!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
Mark
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent primer over new texture

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently applied Glidden Gripper over a mixture of newly textured drywall, existing paint, and some stains that wouldn't wash out.
It covered everything evenly, dried fast, and when I put the first actual paint coat on, the sheen and color were very even- I couldn't even tell where the existing paint and new texture were. The new paint (Glidden Premium) went on smooth and evenly as well.
The only downside is that it took a lot of primer to cover over the new drywall texture, but I don't think that's the primer's fault- it's a consequence of painting over texture compound for the first time.
Add to this a very low odor, and you have a winner!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly, low odor
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
customer
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent PrimerI

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a number of painting projects--interior walls, old stained and varnished woodwork and doors, laminate and vintage furniture. After trying two well-known primers that were only medium-good (one of which has very strong odor), I read about Gripper's superior adhesion to glossy surfaces. I am now on my fifth gallon of Gripper--the only primer I'll use. It out-performs other primers and is relatively low odor. The best--can't recommend it highly enough!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
cmcj123
from Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I thought the price to be a little high. I found the smell to be a little strong but does not last long after finishing. However, this primer worked out a lot better than I thought it would. My 11 year old granddaughter is going to paint her room. The walls are pre-finished dry wall. She did most of the work rolling on the primer. She will be painting in a couple of weeks. I will be purchasing this primer again in the near future. It was easier than I expected.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
Pghgirl123
from Pittsburgh

Pleasantly surprised

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was shocked (and still am) at how well this works! I wanted to refinish a big dark-stained chair but it has so many curves in the arms and nooks & crannies around the legs, I thought it would take me days just to sand it down everywhere. A very helpful salesman at HD recommended this and wow, it stuck to that chair! It's now three years later and it looks exactly the same as the day I finished it. One coat of Gripper, two coats basic white wall paint and voila, perfect "new" chair. If they allowed photos on here I'd share the before/after. Who knows how much time and elbow grease this saved. Great product.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
carnette
from Lebanon, PA

Awesome primer!

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this primer last year on our side porch entrance and couldn't believe how it adhered to the wood. I wasn't able to apply the top coat of paint before winter set in and I am still amazed how well the primer has held up. Looks as good as the day I put it on. I am now in the middle of painting my kitchen cabinets and primered them first with "Gripper". They look great! So far so good....
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
DebinNJ
from Hillsborough Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great primer

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to prime a wooden piece of furniture. It formed a good bond with the wood as well as with subsequent paint. I would definitely recommend this primer, it is low odor and dries quickly.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
Handyman
from Torrance, Ca.

very easy application

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 25' x 26' "L" shaped outdoor awning to primer before painting. I used the Ryobi airless sprayer HD sells and this stuff went on without a problem. The wood used was all pressure treated and I had no issue with the primer bonding to the wood, nail heads or simpson ties.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
bluesky
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great on outdated paneling

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to paint a whole top floor consisting of outdated paneling and cheap 1970s ceiling tile.
I primed with this (the nice lady at HD tinted my primer to sherwin williams napery, a nice creamy yellow). This way, I didn't have to prime and then paint, 2 coats covered very nicely.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Modern
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
upallnight
from Logan, WV

Great product!

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to paint over a very dark pattern on vinyl wall board and had amazing results. The job came out perfect. Love this stuff!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
MDLProps
from Reading, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Primer good enough for the PRO's..!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am in the midst of a project with 30 windows, old doors, staircase, and base molding that were all chocolate brown, and all painted with a semigloss paint. All trim on this project is supposed to be finished in a high brightness white color. I also had a lot of dark brown paneled walls. Talk about your priming nightmare scenario. Not to mention, that I had one room completely green, and another completely purple (ceilings included.). Bottom line, I rented a sprayer and sprayed 10 gallons of gripper throughout the house. In one day, the entire home was white! Topcoats and trim paint went on easier. I saved a bunch in time/labor and paint by going this route. I'm going to use this for all my difficult projects from now on. Highly recommend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
peppy
Gender:Male

will not adhere to wood

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The worst primer I have used. Peeling off bare wood in sheets.
Door was stripped to bare wood primed and 3 coats of behr paint applied.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
Tara38
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Product!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to cover a tacky outdated wallpaper border that I just didn't have to energy to peel off. The Gripper covered great. With just two coats over the forest green border, you couldn't even tell it had ever been there. I also used it on a very stained popcorn ceiling and it only took one coat to fix it right up. I will never use another primer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
MDTD
from Wilkes Barre, PA

Great product

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on a bath cabinet. It did a wonderful job which made my paint go on really smooth.
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
harborite
from Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Primer

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the process of painting the trim on my home after the "professional's" lasted less than two years. Paint was chipping and peeling away. After much scraping, sanding and cleaning I chose this primer and could not have made a better choice. It applies easy and covers very well. I have no doubt that this primer will hold up extremely well and seal the wood. I also choice Glidden Exterior Paint after reading positive reviews and just as happy with it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
DIYlady
from Kalamazoo, MI
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best for patched plaster

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works differently from typical paint primers. It doesn't loosen setting compound in plaster walls so it doesn't pull small repairs off the walls. Works well on drywall, too. Not as good at hiding stains/previous dark paint colors as Kilz or BINS, but much, much better than either at prepping old work for paint. Provides nice, smooth surface for paint. My contractor neighbor alerted me to this product; great advice.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: at least 2 coats for dark paint
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
deemkay
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great primer to redo my laminate kitchen cabinets

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to use to prime my ugly 20 yr old laminate cabinets. They are in great condition- just ugly and outdated. The nice HD paint woman pointed this out and showed me a sample of it on shiny tile to show how well it does 'grip' to what you put it on. Very little prep to do- cleaned well and light sanding with 220 grit to scuff and on it went. This coats amazing and isn't going to chip or scrape off. Can use almost any paint over it as your topcoat too.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
PattyO

Couldn't design a better primer!!

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tried both Kilz and Glidden primers a while back and discovered that Glidden not only covers pretty much ANYTHING (well prepped of course) and does a fantastic job with minimal layers! Kliz was like other review stated very watery and needed multiple (like 4-5 coats) and yet still did not mask underlying color like 2 coats of Glidden.
I painted antique white over a cherry red color (yikes!) and to my surprise 2 coats of Glidden Gripper and Behr Premium paint, bang! Awesome!!
Cleanup a breeze and yes slightly expensive but hey, you get what you pay for. 5 stars!!!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Aquacrylic White Primer and Sealer
WaltInPittsburgh
from Irwin, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Primer

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure why another reviewer said it would not stick to wood. Maybe there was dirt or oil on the wood before priming. I have had no problem. After getting more frustrated with Kilz and its water like thickness, it's nice to see Glidden has a good primer that covers well. I did think the price was a little high, but that's just my opinion. Everything is more costly these days.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>