728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer

1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer

Gripper Interior/Exterior Primer & Sealer is a premium acrylic primer and sealer designed to meet the variety of challenges experienced in the residential, commercial and multi-family markets for a multi-purpose primer. This fast-drying, all-purpose, bonding primer and sealer is suitable for interior or exterior application with its excellent adhesion to a variety of surfaces. Ideal for use on properly prepared interior or exterior wood, masonry, plaster, wallboard, cement, brick and stucco.
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product41 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(37)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product41 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
Review 1 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from jacksonville nc
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase for priming laminate pressboard cabinets

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I only sanded down the rough edges of the cabinets not the whole thing only because it is pressboard. I tried the 123 primer and it was thin going on so I didn't like that.This stuff is thick which helps it stick better and goes on great considering I didn't sand all that glossy stuff off the cabinets. After the primer, I painted over it with a semi gloss paint. I put the primer on with a brush to give a wood grain look then used a foam roller to apply another coat and then the paint. I used 2 layers of primer and paint since it was kitchen cabinets and I wanted to make sure no water gets through. The cabinets are easily wiped off.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: does cost a little more for a gallon
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Gulfport, Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gripper is THE BEST!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use Gripper as an under painting for both home indoor and exterior painting. It is an excellent primer/sealer that lasts. Thick as a brick and great coverage. I also use it for priming wood refinishing projects before I paint the final color. I wouldn't use any other primer...and I've been painting and refinishing for years. I've included a photo of a refinished dumpster find. Now...it's a treasure chest!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great to freshen up old paneled walls

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Repainted my mom's house for sale. Painted both light and dark 1970s fake wood paneling, even the black grooves. 2 coats covered like butter! Also had it tinted to Sherwin Williams Napery for one room, and Benjamin Moore Ivory White for a smaller room.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy, the paint peel off my front door after only 6 month.

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sand down my front door almost to bare wood and used Gripper Primer as base to hide imperfection and hope give top layer paint more gripper. After 6 month, the paint is peeling off.
Uploaded picture shows peel off but was only after putting on another layer of paint so you would not see the white primer. Basically I have to paint it again after weather warms up. I still have 90% of gal still left which I intend to paint my window trim. Looks like I have to throw away. Completely waist money.
Pros: none
Cons: easy peel off
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Washington
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great primer

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to paint over fake wood paneling in one of the rooms in my house. I'm not ready to take down the paneling and drywall (it's glued on), so I decided to paint over it.
The paneling had a slight sheen to it so I sanded it down with some 80-grit drywall sandpaper to scuff the surface and take down the sheen.
I primed with the Gripper (I asked to have it tinted) and in one coat the walls were sufficiently covered. I also primed the wood trim around one of the windows, as well as the closet doors. I let it dry for a full 12 hours and then painted over with the topcoat.
The topcoat went on in one coat as well and looks really good. I do need to lightly sand the wood trim and re-paint it (it'd be the 3rd coat over wood trim) but it was also really dry, and I probably should have used a second coat of primer.
Totally recommend this as a quality primer.
Pros: Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Pittsburgh

Pleasantly surprised

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was shocked (and still am) at how well this works! I wanted to refinish a big dark-stained chair but it has so many curves in the arms and nooks & crannies around the legs, I thought it would take me days just to sand it down everywhere. A very helpful salesman at HD recommended this and wow, it stuck to that chair! It's now three years later and it looks exactly the same as the day I finished it. One coat of Gripper, two coats basic white wall paint and voila, perfect "new" chair. If they allowed photos on here I'd share the before/after. Who knows how much time and elbow grease this saved. Great product.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent primer over new texture

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently applied Glidden Gripper over a mixture of newly textured drywall, existing paint, and some stains that wouldn't wash out.
It covered everything evenly, dried fast, and when I put the first actual paint coat on, the sheen and color were very even- I couldn't even tell where the existing paint and new texture were. The new paint (Glidden Premium) went on smooth and evenly as well.
The only downside is that it took a lot of primer to cover over the new drywall texture, but I don't think that's the primer's fault- it's a consequence of painting over texture compound for the first time.
Add to this a very low odor, and you have a winner!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly, low odor
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent PrimerI

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a number of painting projects--interior walls, old stained and varnished woodwork and doors, laminate and vintage furniture. After trying two well-known primers that were only medium-good (one of which has very strong odor), I read about Gripper's superior adhesion to glossy surfaces. I am now on my fifth gallon of Gripper--the only primer I'll use. It out-performs other primers and is relatively low odor. The best--can't recommend it highly enough!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer

Great for all surfaces

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works on every thing best primer sealer you will ever buy!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Lebanon, PA

Awesome primer!

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this primer last year on our side porch entrance and couldn't believe how it adhered to the wood. I wasn't able to apply the top coat of paint before winter set in and I am still amazed how well the primer has held up. Looks as good as the day I put it on. I am now in the middle of painting my kitchen cabinets and primered them first with "Gripper". They look great! So far so good....
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Torrance, Ca.

very easy application

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a 25' x 26' "L" shaped outdoor awning to primer before painting. I used the Ryobi airless sprayer HD sells and this stuff went on without a problem. The wood used was all pressure treated and I had no issue with the primer bonding to the wood, nail heads or simpson ties.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from SF Bay Area, CA

Wrong product for the job

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two days work, seven gallons, and two coats into the job, it has become evident that this primer is not a good sealer. Sprayed a garage ceiling comprised of plywood, timber, pipes and some wires. Adhered well, but as far as sealing tannins, repairs and water stains this product is poor.
It does flow well and leaves a nice uniform, non-chalky, hard surface, but performs 'sealing' about as well as any latex paint - stains bleed thru. I need to spend another $100+ and try another primer because I know if I top coat now, the results will be poor. Note: I let it dry 22 hours before the second coat. Plenty of time for a true sealer to lock stains. Probably a product better suited for a repaint job, and outdoors because it is moderately smelly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Primer!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm not sure why some people have written reviews complaining about this primer at all. First off, it is NOT like painting with glue. It is not thicker than any other primer or paint I have worked with, so if some people thought it was too thick, then they must have either not mixed it before using it, or they were applying it in conditions not ideal for painting (read labels!).
My husband and I used this product to paint old paneling. We used two coats to ensure an even surface area for us to paint over. The panels were old and brown, so we washed them before applying Gripper. It dries very quickly and we did not notice any overly strong fumes or smell!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Logan, WV

Great product!

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to paint over a very dark pattern on vinyl wall board and had amazing results. The job came out perfect. Love this stuff!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from albuquerque, new mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gripper on new Home Depot door

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
MFG of Gladden Gripper advertises it will stick to previously painted surfaces without sanding. . I applied a coat to a new prefinished exterior rustic 2 panel door by Steves and Sons that I purchased from Home Depot. I allowed a week for it to dry and cure. Gripper did not stick to the door's fnish. The primer peels off with the gentlest abrasion. I am now stripping the door and I will prime with Coronado "Grip and Seal" which has worked for me on all types of surfaces including tile, glass and laminate for decades.
Cons: Scratches Easily
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great on outdated paneling

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed to paint a whole top floor consisting of outdated paneling and cheap 1970s ceiling tile.
I primed with this (the nice lady at HD tinted my primer to sherwin williams napery, a nice creamy yellow). This way, I didn't have to prime and then paint, 2 coats covered very nicely.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Modern
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Hillsborough Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great primer

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to prime a wooden piece of furniture. It formed a good bond with the wood as well as with subsequent paint. I would definitely recommend this primer, it is low odor and dries quickly.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer

Fantastic stuff!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 90 year old house with lots of trim that was painted with high-gloss oil based paint. This Glidden gripper has been great for coating these old surfaces before painting with new water based enamel. It really holds tight. It IS a gripper!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
Gender:Male

will not adhere to wood

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The worst primer I have used. Peeling off bare wood in sheets.
Door was stripped to bare wood primed and 3 coats of behr paint applied.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-14points
3out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer Sealer
from Reading, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Primer good enough for the PRO's..!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am in the midst of a project with 30 windows, old doors, staircase, and base molding that were all chocolate brown, and all painted with a semigloss paint. All trim on this project is supposed to be finished in a high brightness white color. I also had a lot of dark brown paneled walls. Talk about your priming nightmare scenario. Not to mention, that I had one room completely green, and another completely purple (ceilings included.). Bottom line, I rented a sprayer and sprayed 10 gallons of gripper throughout the house. In one day, the entire home was white! Topcoats and trim paint went on easier. I saved a bunch in time/labor and paint by going this route. I'm going to use this for all my difficult projects from now on. Highly recommend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>