728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer

1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer

Gripper Interior/Exterior Primer & Sealer is a premium acrylic primer and sealer designed to meet the variety of challenges experienced in the residential, commercial and multi-family markets for a multi-purpose primer. This fast-drying, all-purpose, bonding primer and sealer is suitable for interior or exterior application with its excellent adhesion to a variety of surfaces. Ideal for use on properly prepared interior or exterior wood, masonry, plaster, wallboard, cement, brick and stucco.
Overall rating:
4.78 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
Review 1 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great to freshen up old paneled walls

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Repainted my mom's house for sale. Painted both light and dark 1970s fake wood paneling, even the black grooves. 2 coats covered like butter! Also had it tinted to Sherwin Williams Napery for one room, and Benjamin Moore Ivory White for a smaller room.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Gulfport, Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gripper is THE BEST!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use Gripper as an under painting for both home indoor and exterior painting. It is an excellent primer/sealer that lasts. Thick as a brick and great coverage. I also use it for priming wood refinishing projects before I paint the final color. I wouldn't use any other primer...and I've been painting and refinishing for years. I've included a photo of a refinished dumpster find. Now...it's a treasure chest!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent primer over new texture

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently applied Glidden Gripper over a mixture of newly textured drywall, existing paint, and some stains that wouldn't wash out.
It covered everything evenly, dried fast, and when I put the first actual paint coat on, the sheen and color were very even- I couldn't even tell where the existing paint and new texture were. The new paint (Glidden Premium) went on smooth and evenly as well.
The only downside is that it took a lot of primer to cover over the new drywall texture, but I don't think that's the primer's fault- it's a consequence of painting over texture compound for the first time.
Add to this a very low odor, and you have a winner!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly, low odor
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Primer!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure why some people have written reviews complaining about this primer at all. First off, it is NOT like painting with glue. It is not thicker than any other primer or paint I have worked with, so if some people thought it was too thick, then they must have either not mixed it before using it, or they were applying it in conditions not ideal for painting (read labels!).
My husband and I used this product to paint old paneling. We used two coats to ensure an even surface area for us to paint over. The panels were old and brown, so we washed them before applying Gripper. It dries very quickly and we did not notice any overly strong fumes or smell!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Pittsburgh

Pleasantly surprised

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was shocked (and still am) at how well this works! I wanted to refinish a big dark-stained chair but it has so many curves in the arms and nooks & crannies around the legs, I thought it would take me days just to sand it down everywhere. A very helpful salesman at HD recommended this and wow, it stuck to that chair! It's now three years later and it looks exactly the same as the day I finished it. One coat of Gripper, two coats basic white wall paint and voila, perfect "new" chair. If they allowed photos on here I'd share the before/after. Who knows how much time and elbow grease this saved. Great product.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent PrimerI

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a number of painting projects--interior walls, old stained and varnished woodwork and doors, laminate and vintage furniture. After trying two well-known primers that were only medium-good (one of which has very strong odor), I read about Gripper's superior adhesion to glossy surfaces. I am now on my fifth gallon of Gripper--the only primer I'll use. It out-performs other primers and is relatively low odor. The best--can't recommend it highly enough!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer

Fantastic stuff!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 90 year old house with lots of trim that was painted with high-gloss oil based paint. This Glidden gripper has been great for coating these old surfaces before painting with new water based enamel. It really holds tight. It IS a gripper!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Lebanon, PA

Awesome primer!

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this primer last year on our side porch entrance and couldn't believe how it adhered to the wood. I wasn't able to apply the top coat of paint before winter set in and I am still amazed how well the primer has held up. Looks as good as the day I put it on. I am now in the middle of painting my kitchen cabinets and primered them first with "Gripper". They look great! So far so good....
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Utica, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grips a 40 year old fiberglass boat!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 year ago I primed a faded 70's Hobie Cat with Gripper.-- white, to match some updated sails. I sailed it during the summer, and left it thru the winter in the boat yard, in Upstate NY! The paint held perfectly so far, so this year a second coat, and then a gloss finish paint. Can't believe it held up outdoors and all winter!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Torrance, Ca.

very easy application

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 25' x 26' "L" shaped outdoor awning to primer before painting. I used the Ryobi airless sprayer HD sells and this stuff went on without a problem. The wood used was all pressure treated and I had no issue with the primer bonding to the wood, nail heads or simpson ties.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great for the right project

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a thick primer. My thoughts are, as some here disagree, it is like glue to brush out but It will cover everything and hold out anything. If you are priming new, drywall, softwoods or plywood casework then this will not sand to knock down the raised grain. A fussy painter would not use this on new work. It is a great problem solver product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Hillsborough Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great primer

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to prime a wooden piece of furniture. It formed a good bond with the wood as well as with subsequent paint. I would definitely recommend this primer, it is low odor and dries quickly.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I thought the price to be a little high. I found the smell to be a little strong but does not last long after finishing. However, this primer worked out a lot better than I thought it would. My 11 year old granddaughter is going to paint her room. The walls are pre-finished dry wall. She did most of the work rolling on the primer. She will be painting in a couple of weeks. I will be purchasing this primer again in the near future. It was easier than I expected.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Logan, WV

Great product!

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to paint over a very dark pattern on vinyl wall board and had amazing results. The job came out perfect. Love this stuff!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great on outdated paneling

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to paint a whole top floor consisting of outdated paneling and cheap 1970s ceiling tile.
I primed with this (the nice lady at HD tinted my primer to sherwin williams napery, a nice creamy yellow). This way, I didn't have to prime and then paint, 2 coats covered very nicely.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Modern
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Kalamazoo, MI
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best for patched plaster

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works differently from typical paint primers. It doesn't loosen setting compound in plaster walls so it doesn't pull small repairs off the walls. Works well on drywall, too. Not as good at hiding stains/previous dark paint colors as Kilz or BINS, but much, much better than either at prepping old work for paint. Provides nice, smooth surface for paint. My contractor neighbor alerted me to this product; great advice.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: at least 2 coats for dark paint
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
Gender:Male

will not adhere to wood

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The worst primer I have used. Peeling off bare wood in sheets.
Door was stripped to bare wood primed and 3 coats of behr paint applied.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-12points
2out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Reading, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Primer good enough for the PRO's..!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am in the midst of a project with 30 windows, old doors, staircase, and base molding that were all chocolate brown, and all painted with a semigloss paint. All trim on this project is supposed to be finished in a high brightness white color. I also had a lot of dark brown paneled walls. Talk about your priming nightmare scenario. Not to mention, that I had one room completely green, and another completely purple (ceilings included.). Bottom line, I rented a sprayer and sprayed 10 gallons of gripper throughout the house. In one day, the entire home was white! Topcoats and trim paint went on easier. I saved a bunch in time/labor and paint by going this route. I'm going to use this for all my difficult projects from now on. Highly recommend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Wilkes Barre, PA

Great product

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on a bath cabinet. It did a wonderful job which made my paint go on really smooth.
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Gripper White Primer/Sealer
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Product!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to cover a tacky outdated wallpaper border that I just didn't have to energy to peel off. The Gripper covered great. With just two coats over the forest green border, you couldn't even tell it had ever been there. I also used it on a very stained popcorn ceiling and it only took one coat to fix it right up. I will never use another primer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>