728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

The ASB 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome can be installed to provide a showering area. This shower kit comes with a receptor, 2 walls, 2 glass panels and a pivot door. This shower kit features a durable aluminum frame that has a chrome finish. The glass is tempered for safety.
Overall rating:
2.453 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product25 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(31)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product25 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
Review 1 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Some helpful tips

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Tip One: This product is as people described - Cheap. But it works! I installed this shower over ten years ago and had major problems with caulk not sticking to shower pan. After three failed attempts using the caulk stated in the instructions, I called the Manufacture and they told me to go to True Value or Ace Hardware and use a Caulk called LEXEL. It finally worked and stayed put. It is a little different consistency than most caulks and is harder to tool, but for smoothing use a tight rubber glove and your finger and keep dipping it into mineral spirits smooth out the Lexel keeping a wet edge. Have a lot of strong paper towels for clean up of excess caulk. Cleans well with towel soaked with mineral spirits and little elbow grease. Tip Two: Empty Wall Panel Glue on a palette before spreading with "V" notched trowel. Work time is short and you don't have enough time for the caulk gun to squeeze out curvy beads and then tool. Cut the tip completely off and empty the cartridge onto palette, lay on wall with wide putty knife and get to work with the "V" trowel. One panel at a time! Tip Three: Do not use double stick tape on panels as an accessory holder (hooks, shampoo dispenser, etc.). Over time the Wall Panel adhesive weakens and when you decide to pull your old accessory holder off the wall panel, you will end up ripping a chunk of the wall panel right off the wall when your old accessory holder peels off!
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value
Cons: caulk does not like shower pan, use the lexel and save some head aches
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Neo-Angle Shower Kit

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this kit has bad reveiws, I think it could be best resolved by addressing the most common complaints: 1- cracked shower pan- when intalling the pan to the drain, first measure the distance of the air gap on the bottom side of the pan, then take a small bag of quickrete or other small agg ready-mix, and pour a small mound mid-way from the wall and the drain, and about twice the height as the internal pan dims, then rest the pan on top of the mound and press down while oscillating the pan side-to-side until pan is all the way to the floor (this will reinforce the pan and will limit damaging deflection in the pan material) 2- leaks from joints and walls- first, the walls need to be extremely well adhered to the base wall (which should be green board or hardy), second, do not just use standard caulking! The best results come from using a polyseam seal caulking on the flange points (full coverage of flange) then (after dried) overlap the joints with clear silicone (use a latex gloved hand to smooth out- but first spray the bead with windex or other glass cleaner first- this will keep your profile smooth and the silicone from sticking to your glove).
So, with about another $25 in materials, your shower kit will be able to last for much longer with much less problems.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Build Quality
+39points
44out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

Neo Angle Shower

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently installed the Neo-Angle Shower Enclosure Kit (model no. 403306). Simply put, the marginal cost of installing the kit with the help of my father-in-law (a contractor for more than 4 decades) for the price I paid did not compare to purchasing a better manufactured and expensive kit and paying a plumber to install. The time invested in installing the kit was laborous. One of the disadvantages of the kit included attatching the top and bottom frames to the column. "Pretapping" the screws was difficult because the insert for the screw was a partial and the opening on the column didn't allow for a direct line to screw. By the way, it is impossible to manually screw... even after pretapping especially with a 1-1/4" screw. Furthermore, the base should have a track to allow a tighter and more secure fit to the floor. The frames and columns are attatched to the base solely by caulk with the exception of the end frames. Needless to say we had to do a little manipulating. Last, the panels were about the only hardware that was built solid. On the other hand the frames, columns, and header aren't structurally sound.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase ever

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The base cracked within the first 30 days after installation about 3 years ago. The company has a great replacement policy but that doesn't help me since you have to remove the entire shower (enclosure and walls) before the base, which is adhered to subfloor can be removed.
They won't cover labor.
ASB shower base is styrofoam with a hard plastic layer glue on top. The hard top came undone from the styrofoam base. Repeated flexing of the hard top from taking showers caused it to crack.
My brother bought a shower enclosure from Lowes which had a solid plastic base (no flexing). If I had to repeat this process I would buy from Lowes.
In an attempt to repair the crack without removing them entire shower, I shaped a piece of roof flashing and silicone caulked it over the crack then covered it in Flex Seal.
I am hoping this rig job repair will last until I can save up some cash to install a Schluter-Ditra system and just tile the enclosure while using ASBs Neo-angle enclosure.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Tonawanda NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Metal Fabrication experience required

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Assembling this product requires metal fabrication experience. If I wanted a shower kit kit I'd have asked my father to machine one. I wanted a shower kit but that's not what I got. Even WITH metal snips ( a hacksaw? Really? Good luck with that, I like assembling things this year. ) the "header bar" is not the correct dimensions ( hard to cut from the center! ) and looks terrible. I could claim responsibility in incorrectly bending it ( fraction of an inch off ) but any metal part that requires precision bending is NOT something that should be in a DIY kit. That's something for a machine shop. If I'd have checked the website first instead of the store I'd have probably seen similar terrible reviews and avoided this thing. One star because I can't give it zero.
+39points
43out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Lynchburg, va
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit and Finish are poor at best

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Instructions for assembly were sketchy in places and illustrations were a hindrance particularly when installing glass side panels. Glass panels were not same height as plastic sidewalls. If you level glass panel wall jams to top of plastic shower wall as illustrated the installed glass panel sits about 5/8" below top of jam and header will not install level across the top. Also a 1/2" gap is created between the base and the wall jam. If you sit the glass panel wall jam on the base it is level with glass panel but sits 5/8" below shower wall. Then there is the necessity of bending and cutting the header. I am an experienced DIYer and could not get the finish I expect. Spend a little extra and leave this kit on the shelf.
Cons: Build Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Chester Co. PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A real dissapointment

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We've had this shower unit installed for several years now. It's a nightmare to clean. I thought it would be easier than having tile and all that grout to clean but I was so wrong. The pan is always dingy no matter what I use to try to clean it. The walls aren't as hard to clean. The worse part of this shower system is that no caulk we've tried will stay stuck along the bottom where the wall panels meet the pan. It has been re-caulked 4 times now. I even called the company to find out what caulk they used in testing and bought that brand. Still the caulk begins to peel away after a time and water gets behind it and mildews the caulk.. The screws are all rusted. I would never recommend this unit.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is such a hassle to shower now because of the mess I have to clean up after. I remodeled my bathroom in August of 2012 and have had issues with this shower since day 1. It constantly leaks no matter how many times I have re-caulked and sealed every corner and seam. This morning, the floor of it cracked to the point of not even being able to use it. I am a contractor and know how to install showers properly so it being improperly installed is not the issue. Do yourself a favor and do not buy a cheap shower, it is worth spending more money one a first shower rather than having to go back and completely remodel your bathroom again because of the water damage and mold.
Cons: Build Quality, Leaks, floor cracks
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Blountville, TN 37617, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very disappointed

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my shower when remodeling my bathroom, the shower went up with some issues but fairly easy. I had problems with it leaking in the corners,,,but fixed this...have had it less than two years and it has spider cracks in floor and one of the sides near a bend in the molding is cracked...I am very upset..i had tiled the floor to the bath room to fit the shower so every thing looks so great...the thought of taking the shower out knowing it will destroy the floor and not to mention more cost for remoldeling again.... very disappointed....i did my research and was sure this was a good product... having issues even getting the warrenty coverage..
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Repair Costs, Performance, quality of product
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from do it your selfer in mercer, pa

this works for my family

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this was a first time shower install i put a bathroom in my parents basement with a toilet shower and sink with a tile floor in three days this kit was a little tricky to put together but i figured it out with little troubles just pay attention to the directions and whicth way you assemble the door so it opens in the proper direction cause i had to take mine appart and put it back together so it opened the right way i put this up a year ago and its doing fine it seems a little weak so we arnt rough with it and its holding up ok it worked out good for the price and im thinking about putting one in my house
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish we had not wasted our time with this product. It is so cheaply made the walls and corner piece are not any sturdier than the plastic casing on a cheap Wal-Mart toy. The doors are extremely unstable, and made out of cheap plastic. You have to thread the little grooves yourself, to attach all the pieces together, which is not only time consuming but also frustrating. The best part of the shower is the floor pan its fairly thick and feels sturdy. The rest we could have achieved the same result stapling a shower curtain around the walls and hanging one on a pole to use instead of doors.
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from michigan

you get what you pay for

PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
eventhough 348.00 is a lot of money, this unit is the cheapest one home depot sells, and boy is it cheap. The top rails are thin and flimsy, and if you shut the door too hard the whole top wobbles. A thicker made top frame would make it a better product. And also the base is hard to clean if you have hard water. Just very cheap all around, like I said you get what you pay for. The rubber seal under the door also cracked after about 6 months of use and the company doesn't even sell a replacement. I had to put a stick on weatherstripping from a exterior door in its place.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do Not Buy, Leaks and Will Damage Drywall Surrounding

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We added a bathroom to our home and this was the shower we chose. The bathroom was professionally done. The shower leaks terribly. We will now have to replace with new drywall because of the damage this shower has caused on both sides. The footrest for shaving your legs has also cracked and so has some of the flooring. What a terrible waste of money. From all of the other reviews and complaints, this company should consider paying for all of the repairs. I am so disappointed.
Cons: Repair Costs, Performance, leaks and damages dry wall, inside plastic cheap and cracks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
40out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont waste your money!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this thinking that it would be a great DIY project for our rental apartment. We were very wrong. The directions are very difficult to understand and the installation is even harder. The shower surround is flimsy and the corner part to to pliable to be very functional.The screws that come with it are very soft and strip very easily with only a handheld screwdriver. Don't waste you money and buy a better product. Especially if this intended as a DIY project.
+22points
29out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy this shower

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the supplied door was found to have a manufacturing defect; with the metal water splash flange on outside not inside. Had to go back to HD to take door from another kit.
Had a trusted contractor install shower. From the first use, it leaked around the front and right sides. Contractor siliconed inside along walls and base. Tried showering again. It made absolutely no difference.
Three days into a bathroom renovation and this purchase was a huge mistake.
Cons: Repair Costs, Clogs, Performance, Build Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

Leaky rusty shower

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I can attest to every single bad comment made on this shower (except the base has been fine and hasn't cracked). We've tried about every single kind of caulking on it and it still comes off (even after letting it dry for 3 days just to be extra safe), the frame around the glass leaks, and the screws are rusting. In short, we're having to tear it out to replace it with a new one because it doesn't seem to matter what we do, we cannot keep it from leaking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

Cheap

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is quite nice looking when all is said and done; but getting there is a battle. It is difficult to assemble. Make sure you have help (if not a professional)!! The material is cheap and not sturdy. But overall it does the job. You can shower in it. Its just a pain in the you know what to put together. Make sure you know somebody with lots of plumbing tools. It takes lots of different sized bits and whatnot to install.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome

Good Value

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This shower was not bad to install, although the drain that was included did not come with 2 rubber gasket seals as the installation guide stated. But the small piece of paper included in the drain package had only one, which said it should be installed against the bottom of the pan. This led to some problems that were fixed by cutting drain and removing the gasket and re-installing on top of the pan.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
Cons: conflicting instruction from kit to drain assembly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Abbeville, LA 70510, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Waste of Money

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all of the comments before I purchase this Shower so Its my own fault for trying to save a few dollars. I hired a professional contractor to completely remodel my house and they did the istallation which took ALL day. And the labor wasnt cheap. SO save yourself some stress and money, dont buy this...btw if you do buy, u need ALOT of silcone which is all that connects it to the base.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Build Quality, Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 38 in. x 38 in. x 74-1/4 in. Neo-Angle Shower Kit in White and Chrome
from Guernsey, WY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult installation and frustrating results

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a very difficult shower to install. Even with someone skilled in home repair, this shower took parts of three days to install and it still isn't right because the door does not line up properly and there is a leak around the base. This is an economy unit which is not worth the price. I wish that I'd known how difficult and what the results would be before I purchased this unit.
Cons: Build Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>