728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane prevents cracks in tile and stone floors due to surface movement. The membrane also produces a moisture barrier. Suitable for use in residential and commercial tile and stone installations.
Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product71 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(55)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product71 of 77reviews
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions | 172 Answers
Customer reviews for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Review 1 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Baytown tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

RedGard

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product is equal to a bed liner but twice as easy to install. This product was thin making rolling on a snap, it goes on pink then turns red as it dries. I put in 2 all new bathrooms in my remodel of my home, I picked up the 3.5 gal bucket and it was enough to cover the floors, around the tubs and a walk in shower before putting up, marble tile. It will, waterproof your baths wet areas and it only takes two coats.. Would never recommend putting in a bath with out putting this product down first. I did use rubber gloves safety glasses and had 2 fan in the work area when I used this product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: cost of corners i cut up strips large roll.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from High Desert Plains of Northern Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Apply Water Isolation Barrier

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not much simpler than this to apply a water barrier for showers. Oh sure the fabric membranes are nice but are you really sure you have 100% adhesion? With Red Guard there is no question if you have a good attachment of the water barrier because it's painted on directly to the concrete board. I seal the seams with fiberglass tape and Red Guard for a perfect water barrier.
For now I've only used it for bathroom tile jobs but will be trying it out on a tiled floor job next week. Want to have an isolation layer similar to what tile under layment membrane would do but for less time and money.
Oh yeah, got to love the bubble gum pink when you first apply it but the results speak for themselves.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: could be more affordable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Oregon City, Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Product - (also providing clarification on a wrongful 1 Star review by another customer)

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have used REDGARD on walls and floors, had excellent results. Even after a year with only using 7/16" OSB on top of 3/4" subfloor, my tile is still flawless. No cracks, no issues, lot's of foot traffic.
I also wanted to comment on a misleading review -
'Bill from Florida' gave this 1 star review "$675 Shot. No where on the instructions or website does it say "wait 28 days for new concrete to cure". So after 4 good days we put down the Redgard and now its peeling up. And Redgard says "you should have waited". How are you to know if you don't tell me"
It is known by those in the construction industry as a rule of thumb to always "wait 28 days for new concrete to cure", before applying any type of sealant. In the manufacturers defense, concrete can cure much faster or slower depending in the mix and weather. If you are going to seal concrete, see what the manufacturer or mix plant says. REDGARD or any other manufacturer can not know your variables.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Effective
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smelly but easy to apply

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was extremely easy to apply. I applied it to 3/4" Concrete Board . Applied with a roller from top to bottom. let it dry (turns a slight reddish pink) and applied the second coat from left to right. When dried It turns red. After it dried I inspected the surfaces for air bubbles or gaps where it didn't cover completely and went over those areas again.... After That it was just Thinset and tile until done.
The only downside to this product was the smell it puts off.. Make sure the room is well ventilated. After about 24 hours the smell is gone.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: smell
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Reno, Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Went on easily

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I read reviews where people had trouble installing this on Hardy Backer. I put it on Hardy Backer and didn't have any problems with it not sticking. Seems to be solid and a good moisture barrier.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to use. If you can use a brush and roller, this is the stuff for you.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to work with. 4" paint roller works right inside the pail and spreads easy. coats pretty fast and dry's quick too depending on coating amount
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to apply, great solution

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This was a great option for a water barrier. This was my first tile job but I used it for the tub surround in my master bathroom. Sealed the joints with fiber tape and applied this directly to the duroc (2 coats). Make sure the area your working in has good ventilation as it has a VERY strong odor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Petaluma, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pink Mayo!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used a primer coat 3 parts water, 1 part RedGard on top of cement board. It was a little messy because there was basically no viscosity. Also, I made way too much. I think that about 2 cups RedGard and 6 cups water would be enough for a standard 55 sf tub surround. After that, I did my first coat with a roller, but my second coat with a brush. I definitely think a brush works better. It's easier to get a nice, thick coat on there.
I read all of the reviews before using this product since this was my first time using it. I thought that it was going to be rubbery and peal easy, but not at all. It's more like a hard plastic and I haven't had any issues with pealing. In fact, you can even mark on it with a pencil. Really easy to put thin coat on top of. The smell wasn't too bad, I bought a mask just in case, but didn't end up using it.
If I were to use this again I would bring it down so that it overlaps with an 1/8" of the tub deck. Right now I just brought it down to just meet the top of the deck.
Around the holes for the shower/tub faucet and body valve I used a product called TruGard. It's a mesh and I ordered it from their website and got it in two days.
Go Get RedGard!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile Option, Should include thickness gauge

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I used this product to waterproof a niche and corner bench in a custom built walk-in shower. I went with the standard PVC liner & moisture barrier option for the rest of the shower, but for the areas that were most inclined to have water intrusion, I added RedGard as an added precaution.
The product is easy to apply, though as some noted, it does have a pretty intense odor. Since I was using it on a relatively small area, I made due with running the overhead vent, but if you were going to be exposed to it for very long, you'd probably need to wear a respirator. I used a plastic trowel (the kind that comes with drywall mud) to fill in the seams. You'll want to be sure to use fiberglass mesh on the seams instead of regular drywall mesh. I used Fibatape & it worked well enough. I had to double it up in some areas to get the RedGard to fill in properly though, so a mesh with smaller holes would probably be preferable, though not absolutely necessary.
I used a 2" chip brush to apply RedGard to the flat areas. It worked well - was basically just like applying thick paint. It dries pretty quickly & since it turns from pink to red when dry, it's easy to know when it's safe to apply a second coat.
My only beef with this product is that it doesn't include a wet film thickness gauge. The guidelines state that the product should be applied to 30 mils wet film thickness. Well, that sound easy enough until you actually try to find a wet film thickness gauge with which to measure its thickness. I had zero luck finding one for purchase & since I was in a bit of a time crunch, decided to forgo it. After some googling, I determined that a mil is a thousandth of an inch (.001 in), so 30 mils is roughly as thick as a credit card. It still doesn't make it easy to measure, but at least it gives you a general idea of how thick it should be applied. If I were doing my entire shower in RedGard, I would've been very leery of continuing without a thickness gauge, but since I was doing a total of about 8 sq/ft, I decided to eyeball it & when it doubt, err on the side of excess.
All in all, very versatile waterproofing option. Easy to apply & it seems to be just as effective as PVC when applied correctly. All it needs is an included thickness gauge!
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
35out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Waco, TX

Excellent Product

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was recommended to apply a primer coat of 1 part water, 1 part Redgard. After letting this dry for 24 hours, I applied a second coat of simply Redgard, using a brush to maintain equal thickness of application.
Excellent product overall.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never used a product that was easier to use. Used a brush, and it goes on pink (with a consistency of strawberry yogurt) and dries red. The red finish dries to a plastic-like film that is completely waterproof. Could not recommend any higher.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

Red Guard

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy application, like rolling yogurt on to a wall, fast drying, easily see coverage. Great moisture barrier. I would definitely use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Rockfalls, Illinois

Redgaurd Waterproofing Membrane

PostedApril 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Redgaurd Waterproofing Memebrane is a great product to use in any shower location. When placed over cement board it creates a waterproof barrier to prevent any moisuture from being absorbed into the cement board and being transmitted to your insulation.
I have used Redgaurd now in two of my bathrooms with fantastic results and zero problems. It must be used according to the directions to ensure a 100% waterproof barrier. It does not fill gaps or voids very well so those must be taped and filled with thinset before applying Redgaurd.
I give this product a 5 star rating because it is about the same price as using a plastic vapor barrier, however it is a better piece of mind to ensure that no moisture or water ever penetrates the shower so mold has zero chance to develope. For the the few extra dollars, it provides added insurance and piece of mind. A++
+69points
70out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Michigan, USA

Easy to use, does its job.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use roll on waterproof membrane. If you apply to hardibacker cement board be sure to use a primer coat sicne the board is extremely absorptive. Primer coat should be 1 part water per 1 part redgard. After primer coat dries apply remaining redgard straight up without adding water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Palm Springs
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible off gassing fumes that don't go away

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was placed on my cement walls and floor in a small shower. Thinset and then tile and grout were placed. The horrible fumes from the off gassing of this product have never gone away and it's now been four months. I've had the windows open 24/7 for wks on end and tried everything I can think of but it continues to offgass.
Cons: terrible offgassing odor, continues to offgass
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Sagle, Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great moisture barrier

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Red Guard is an excellent product to prevent water seepage in shower and tub insulation. It is easy to use as rolling and brushing paint. I am currently using it on a concrete basement floor, which I I will cover with laminate flooring. Red Guard will prevent any ground water seepage.
Pros: Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to apply

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used this product to waterproof a tub surround under travertine over Wonderboard.
Application was extremely easy, rolling on in a couple of minutes. It took several hours to completely dry (turn from pink to red). Coverage seemed to exceed that quoted on the label.
Note that you cannot use the premixed thinset with Redgard. We called the manufacturer to verify which thinset to use.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

Used Foam (Brush) Applicator

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Package instructions say to use trowel or roller but the little (3") foam applicators turned out to be best for us in terms of ease, coverage, and final surface smoothness.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Craig and Martin Luther King, North Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water proofing and crack prevention membrane

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The waterfroofing and crack prevention membrane is easy to apply.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>