728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane prevents cracks in tile and stone floors due to surface movement. The membrane also produces a moisture barrier. Suitable for use in residential and commercial tile and stone installations.
Overall rating:
4.432 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product38 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product38 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
45 Questions | 117 Answers
Customer reviews for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Review 1 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
OregonMuscle
from Oregon City, Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Product - (also providing clarification on a wrongful 1 Star review by another customer)

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used REDGARD on walls and floors, had excellent results. Even after a year with only using 7/16" OSB on top of 3/4" subfloor, my tile is still flawless. No cracks, no issues, lot's of foot traffic.
I also wanted to comment on a misleading review -
'Bill from Florida' gave this 1 star review "$675 Shot. No where on the instructions or website does it say "wait 28 days for new concrete to cure". So after 4 good days we put down the Redgard and now its peeling up. And Redgard says "you should have waited". How are you to know if you don't tell me"
It is known by those in the construction industry as a rule of thumb to always "wait 28 days for new concrete to cure", before applying any type of sealant. In the manufacturers defense, concrete can cure much faster or slower depending in the mix and weather. If you are going to seal concrete, see what the manufacturer or mix plant says. REDGARD or any other manufacturer can not know your variables.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Effective
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Judson
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile Option, Should include thickness gauge

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this product to waterproof a niche and corner bench in a custom built walk-in shower. I went with the standard PVC liner & moisture barrier option for the rest of the shower, but for the areas that were most inclined to have water intrusion, I added RedGard as an added precaution.
The product is easy to apply, though as some noted, it does have a pretty intense odor. Since I was using it on a relatively small area, I made due with running the overhead vent, but if you were going to be exposed to it for very long, you'd probably need to wear a respirator. I used a plastic trowel (the kind that comes with drywall mud) to fill in the seams. You'll want to be sure to use fiberglass mesh on the seams instead of regular drywall mesh. I used Fibatape & it worked well enough. I had to double it up in some areas to get the RedGard to fill in properly though, so a mesh with smaller holes would probably be preferable, though not absolutely necessary.
I used a 2" chip brush to apply RedGard to the flat areas. It worked well - was basically just like applying thick paint. It dries pretty quickly & since it turns from pink to red when dry, it's easy to know when it's safe to apply a second coat.
My only beef with this product is that it doesn't include a wet film thickness gauge. The guidelines state that the product should be applied to 30 mils wet film thickness. Well, that sound easy enough until you actually try to find a wet film thickness gauge with which to measure its thickness. I had zero luck finding one for purchase & since I was in a bit of a time crunch, decided to forgo it. After some googling, I determined that a mil is a thousandth of an inch (.001 in), so 30 mils is roughly as thick as a credit card. It still doesn't make it easy to measure, but at least it gives you a general idea of how thick it should be applied. If I were doing my entire shower in RedGard, I would've been very leery of continuing without a thickness gauge, but since I was doing a total of about 8 sq/ft, I decided to eyeball it & when it doubt, err on the side of excess.
All in all, very versatile waterproofing option. Easy to apply & it seems to be just as effective as PVC when applied correctly. All it needs is an included thickness gauge!
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
rp66
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to work with. 4" paint roller works right inside the pail and spreads easy. coats pretty fast and dry's quick too depending on coating amount
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Kevin
from Petaluma, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pink Mayo!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a primer coat 3 parts water, 1 part RedGard on top of cement board. It was a little messy because there was basically no viscosity. Also, I made way too much. I think that about 2 cups RedGard and 6 cups water would be enough for a standard 55 sf tub surround. After that, I did my first coat with a roller, but my second coat with a brush. I definitely think a brush works better. It's easier to get a nice, thick coat on there.
I read all of the reviews before using this product since this was my first time using it. I thought that it was going to be rubbery and peal easy, but not at all. It's more like a hard plastic and I haven't had any issues with pealing. In fact, you can even mark on it with a pencil. Really easy to put thin coat on top of. The smell wasn't too bad, I bought a mask just in case, but didn't end up using it.
If I were to use this again I would bring it down so that it overlaps with an 1/8" of the tub deck. Right now I just brought it down to just meet the top of the deck.
Around the holes for the shower/tub faucet and body valve I used a product called TruGard. It's a mesh and I ordered it from their website and got it in two days.
Go Get RedGard!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Jake
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smelly but easy to apply

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was extremely easy to apply. I applied it to 3/4" Concrete Board . Applied with a roller from top to bottom. let it dry (turns a slight reddish pink) and applied the second coat from left to right. When dried It turns red. After it dried I inspected the surfaces for air bubbles or gaps where it didn't cover completely and went over those areas again.... After That it was just Thinset and tile until done.
The only downside to this product was the smell it puts off.. Make sure the room is well ventilated. After about 24 hours the smell is gone.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: smell
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Ocara

Easy to use

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Stuff is awesome. Love the color change to tell you when it's set. Makes an awesome waterproof barrier.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
pbjc
from Cedar Hills, Beaverton, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to use, works great

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are installing a shower and the Regard Waterproofing Membrane was easy to install ( just paint it in) and it drys fast and works great. Never had an easier install
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
rich
from Aberdeen,nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Redgard

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pink mayo is correct. I wet the durock with water and did the primer by cutting the Redgard with a minimal amount of water. It is just too thin if you put 2 cups of water to 6 cups of Redgard. Primer coat dried in no time. Tape off your area, you will drip. I used a paint brush and not a roller. I did 3 coats. I didn't check the thickness, it is what it is. I had sheetrock under the old tile and it lasted 40 years with no issues, the issues kicked in around 45 years. So Durock with Redgard is overkill. Plastic sheets behind the durock are a standard , that cost vs. Redgard kicks the value of the product down. Product is super easy to clean.
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
bigB63
from Cameron, NC 28326, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product..but yes, the smell....

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time user of this product but I had read reviews prior to purchase and the only thing I didn't see mentioned is that it is like a "pudding" . Was able to reduce with a little water and actualy got more coverage.
As others have mentioned, this product does have a strong odor of latex, so use in a well ventilated area.Easy to clean, if it drops from your brush or roller, with warm water on a cloth... if you act fast.
I am eager to get the tile on the walls so I can enjoy my new shower.....
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Robert
from Michigan, USA

Easy to use, does its job.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use roll on waterproof membrane. If you apply to hardibacker cement board be sure to use a primer coat sicne the board is extremely absorptive. Primer coat should be 1 part water per 1 part redgard. After primer coat dries apply remaining redgard straight up without adding water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
BSCF
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Redguard: The poor man's waterproofer

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Redguard is the economy choice for passable waterproofing and crack isolation. We've used it on hundreds of lower end showers with good results as long as you (A) Don't rely on it to be your primary waterproofer on pans, seats, curbs, benches, etc. It works great to fill joints in cement board, shampoo boxes, or anything else not being blasted by a million gallons of water over its lifetime. and (B) don't attempt to bond seams of pvc membrane with it. This is 100% incorrect, there's a type of plastic weld that's made specifically for this application. FYI...Tec, Mapei, Schluter all make much better products for this application but you'll pay for it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: not very flexible and dries out quickly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Peter
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to apply

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this product to waterproof a tub surround under travertine over Wonderboard.
Application was extremely easy, rolling on in a couple of minutes. It took several hours to completely dry (turn from pink to red). Coverage seemed to exceed that quoted on the label.
Note that you cannot use the premixed thinset with Redgard. We called the manufacturer to verify which thinset to use.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
David
from Van Buren, AR, USA

Initial Use

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At this instant, I've applied this product to a new shower installation. Walls and corners only. I've not gotten to the tiling yet. What I need to mention and everyone needs to listen, this product has a terribly strong chemical smell. Do Not Apply This Product without using a respirator. I made this mistake on the first of two coats. My nose and lungs felt like they were on-fire. Use lots of ventilation to the outside as it'll stink up the house too. I'm sure the product documentation covers this issue but did not read it all the way, like I should have. The second coat, I used a brand new respirator with new filter cartridges and that helped a lot.
As stated previously, it is a pink color and goes on very thick. When it dries, it turns dark red, which is a good thing as it'll help to identify any small places you missed. Brush on the corners and edges, then roller-on the walls. Once dry, it appears rubbery for the lack of a better term but supposedly will hold the tile well. I'll find out later today as I start the tile portion of this project.
Again, USE A RESPIRATOR and make sure its a good one if not the best money can buy.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Eddie
from East Chicago, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Totally different from what I'm used to but it's easy to work with and did a good job of sealing floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
homehacker

This stuff works good.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great way to waterproof a shower. It does what it says.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
cp3823
from Rockfalls, Illinois

Redgaurd Waterproofing Membrane

PostedApril 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Redgaurd Waterproofing Memebrane is a great product to use in any shower location. When placed over cement board it creates a waterproof barrier to prevent any moisuture from being absorbed into the cement board and being transmitted to your insulation.
I have used Redgaurd now in two of my bathrooms with fantastic results and zero problems. It must be used according to the directions to ensure a 100% waterproof barrier. It does not fill gaps or voids very well so those must be taped and filled with thinset before applying Redgaurd.
I give this product a 5 star rating because it is about the same price as using a plastic vapor barrier, however it is a better piece of mind to ensure that no moisture or water ever penetrates the shower so mold has zero chance to develope. For the the few extra dollars, it provides added insurance and piece of mind. A++
+65points
66out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
KeyWestBob
from Key West
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does the job. Why so expensive?

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Too expensive. I can't imagine it costs very much to make.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Joybie
from Doylestown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waterproofing materials

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with and dries quickly.. product comes in different sizes for convenience.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective, easy to see coverage due to color
Cons: good quality but a little more pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Lucy

Great Product!!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is excellent and should be used for every shower or tub/shower surround where tile is used. I have piece of mind that moisture will not penetrate the walls.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
margulb57
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use REDGARD on all my showers walls & floors also great for cracks in the floor so the stone wont crack from the floor cracks the ease of applying the product is great I use to use custom semco anti fracture membrane too!! but since redgard that made the job easier
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>