728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane prevents cracks in tile and stone floors due to surface movement. The membrane also produces a moisture barrier. Suitable for use in residential and commercial tile and stone installations.
Overall rating:
4.415 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product57 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product57 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
64 Questions | 140 Answers
Customer reviews for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
Review 1 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from High Desert Plains of Northern Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Apply Water Isolation Barrier

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not much simpler than this to apply a water barrier for showers. Oh sure the fabric membranes are nice but are you really sure you have 100% adhesion? With Red Guard there is no question if you have a good attachment of the water barrier because it's painted on directly to the concrete board. I seal the seams with fiberglass tape and Red Guard for a perfect water barrier.
For now I've only used it for bathroom tile jobs but will be trying it out on a tiled floor job next week. Want to have an isolation layer similar to what tile under layment membrane would do but for less time and money.
Oh yeah, got to love the bubble gum pink when you first apply it but the results speak for themselves.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: could be more affordable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Oregon City, Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Product - (also providing clarification on a wrongful 1 Star review by another customer)

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used REDGARD on walls and floors, had excellent results. Even after a year with only using 7/16" OSB on top of 3/4" subfloor, my tile is still flawless. No cracks, no issues, lot's of foot traffic.
I also wanted to comment on a misleading review -
'Bill from Florida' gave this 1 star review "$675 Shot. No where on the instructions or website does it say "wait 28 days for new concrete to cure". So after 4 good days we put down the Redgard and now its peeling up. And Redgard says "you should have waited". How are you to know if you don't tell me"
It is known by those in the construction industry as a rule of thumb to always "wait 28 days for new concrete to cure", before applying any type of sealant. In the manufacturers defense, concrete can cure much faster or slower depending in the mix and weather. If you are going to seal concrete, see what the manufacturer or mix plant says. REDGARD or any other manufacturer can not know your variables.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Effective
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smelly but easy to apply

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was extremely easy to apply. I applied it to 3/4" Concrete Board . Applied with a roller from top to bottom. let it dry (turns a slight reddish pink) and applied the second coat from left to right. When dried It turns red. After it dried I inspected the surfaces for air bubbles or gaps where it didn't cover completely and went over those areas again.... After That it was just Thinset and tile until done.
The only downside to this product was the smell it puts off.. Make sure the room is well ventilated. After about 24 hours the smell is gone.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: smell
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to work with. 4" paint roller works right inside the pail and spreads easy. coats pretty fast and dry's quick too depending on coating amount
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Petaluma, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pink Mayo!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a primer coat 3 parts water, 1 part RedGard on top of cement board. It was a little messy because there was basically no viscosity. Also, I made way too much. I think that about 2 cups RedGard and 6 cups water would be enough for a standard 55 sf tub surround. After that, I did my first coat with a roller, but my second coat with a brush. I definitely think a brush works better. It's easier to get a nice, thick coat on there.
I read all of the reviews before using this product since this was my first time using it. I thought that it was going to be rubbery and peal easy, but not at all. It's more like a hard plastic and I haven't had any issues with pealing. In fact, you can even mark on it with a pencil. Really easy to put thin coat on top of. The smell wasn't too bad, I bought a mask just in case, but didn't end up using it.
If I were to use this again I would bring it down so that it overlaps with an 1/8" of the tub deck. Right now I just brought it down to just meet the top of the deck.
Around the holes for the shower/tub faucet and body valve I used a product called TruGard. It's a mesh and I ordered it from their website and got it in two days.
Go Get RedGard!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile Option, Should include thickness gauge

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this product to waterproof a niche and corner bench in a custom built walk-in shower. I went with the standard PVC liner & moisture barrier option for the rest of the shower, but for the areas that were most inclined to have water intrusion, I added RedGard as an added precaution.
The product is easy to apply, though as some noted, it does have a pretty intense odor. Since I was using it on a relatively small area, I made due with running the overhead vent, but if you were going to be exposed to it for very long, you'd probably need to wear a respirator. I used a plastic trowel (the kind that comes with drywall mud) to fill in the seams. You'll want to be sure to use fiberglass mesh on the seams instead of regular drywall mesh. I used Fibatape & it worked well enough. I had to double it up in some areas to get the RedGard to fill in properly though, so a mesh with smaller holes would probably be preferable, though not absolutely necessary.
I used a 2" chip brush to apply RedGard to the flat areas. It worked well - was basically just like applying thick paint. It dries pretty quickly & since it turns from pink to red when dry, it's easy to know when it's safe to apply a second coat.
My only beef with this product is that it doesn't include a wet film thickness gauge. The guidelines state that the product should be applied to 30 mils wet film thickness. Well, that sound easy enough until you actually try to find a wet film thickness gauge with which to measure its thickness. I had zero luck finding one for purchase & since I was in a bit of a time crunch, decided to forgo it. After some googling, I determined that a mil is a thousandth of an inch (.001 in), so 30 mils is roughly as thick as a credit card. It still doesn't make it easy to measure, but at least it gives you a general idea of how thick it should be applied. If I were doing my entire shower in RedGard, I would've been very leery of continuing without a thickness gauge, but since I was doing a total of about 8 sq/ft, I decided to eyeball it & when it doubt, err on the side of excess.
All in all, very versatile waterproofing option. Easy to apply & it seems to be just as effective as PVC when applied correctly. All it needs is an included thickness gauge!
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a product that was easier to use. Used a brush, and it goes on pink (with a consistency of strawberry yogurt) and dries red. The red finish dries to a plastic-like film that is completely waterproof. Could not recommend any higher.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple to use. If you can use a brush and roller, this is the stuff for you.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beware of bleed through

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My contractor applied this to the cement backed boards in a small shower. It was allowed to dry for about a week since another project took presedence. When he got back to tiling the walls and the next day added the grouting (white) the RedGuard bled through! I now have white subway tiles with PINK GROUT!! I wrote to the company & they claimed it was as a result of UV Rays! In a small stall shower that is inside & currently (until new window arrives) is boarded over? Not buying that! They suggested I now buy their Grout Renew and see if that helps!!!
Any thoughts?
Cons: horrible stuff, bleeds red
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Michigan, USA

Easy to use, does its job.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use roll on waterproof membrane. If you apply to hardibacker cement board be sure to use a primer coat sicne the board is extremely absorptive. Primer coat should be 1 part water per 1 part redgard. After primer coat dries apply remaining redgard straight up without adding water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Colorado Spring, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waterproof Shower

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product, and would recommend it to anyone planning to do a tile install in a shower. Only wish they had different color options.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Rockfalls, Illinois

Redgaurd Waterproofing Membrane

PostedApril 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Redgaurd Waterproofing Memebrane is a great product to use in any shower location. When placed over cement board it creates a waterproof barrier to prevent any moisuture from being absorbed into the cement board and being transmitted to your insulation.
I have used Redgaurd now in two of my bathrooms with fantastic results and zero problems. It must be used according to the directions to ensure a 100% waterproof barrier. It does not fill gaps or voids very well so those must be taped and filled with thinset before applying Redgaurd.
I give this product a 5 star rating because it is about the same price as using a plastic vapor barrier, however it is a better piece of mind to ensure that no moisture or water ever penetrates the shower so mold has zero chance to develope. For the the few extra dollars, it provides added insurance and piece of mind. A++
+66points
67out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

Used Foam (Brush) Applicator

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Package instructions say to use trowel or roller but the little (3") foam applicators turned out to be best for us in terms of ease, coverage, and final surface smoothness.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Provo, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

RedGard

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love using this product for all kinds of things. I recently had an evaporative cooler that was rusted through on the bottom. I coated it with Redgard and have used it for two years more with no leaks. I also dip my pliers and tools in it to keep them insulated and make a better grip. It has many uses.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to apply

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this product to waterproof a tub surround under travertine over Wonderboard.
Application was extremely easy, rolling on in a couple of minutes. It took several hours to completely dry (turn from pink to red). Coverage seemed to exceed that quoted on the label.
Note that you cannot use the premixed thinset with Redgard. We called the manufacturer to verify which thinset to use.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Cedar Hills, Beaverton, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to use, works great

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are installing a shower and the Regard Waterproofing Membrane was easy to install ( just paint it in) and it drys fast and works great. Never had an easier install
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Van Buren, AR, USA

Initial Use

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At this instant, I've applied this product to a new shower installation. Walls and corners only. I've not gotten to the tiling yet. What I need to mention and everyone needs to listen, this product has a terribly strong chemical smell. Do Not Apply This Product without using a respirator. I made this mistake on the first of two coats. My nose and lungs felt like they were on-fire. Use lots of ventilation to the outside as it'll stink up the house too. I'm sure the product documentation covers this issue but did not read it all the way, like I should have. The second coat, I used a brand new respirator with new filter cartridges and that helped a lot.
As stated previously, it is a pink color and goes on very thick. When it dries, it turns dark red, which is a good thing as it'll help to identify any small places you missed. Brush on the corners and edges, then roller-on the walls. Once dry, it appears rubbery for the lack of a better term but supposedly will hold the tile well. I'll find out later today as I start the tile portion of this project.
Again, USE A RESPIRATOR and make sure its a good one if not the best money can buy.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Aberdeen,nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Redgard

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pink mayo is correct. I wet the durock with water and did the primer by cutting the Redgard with a minimal amount of water. It is just too thin if you put 2 cups of water to 6 cups of Redgard. Primer coat dried in no time. Tape off your area, you will drip. I used a paint brush and not a roller. I did 3 coats. I didn't check the thickness, it is what it is. I had sheetrock under the old tile and it lasted 40 years with no issues, the issues kicked in around 45 years. So Durock with Redgard is overkill. Plastic sheets behind the durock are a standard , that cost vs. Redgard kicks the value of the product down. Product is super easy to clean.
Cons: No Instructions
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Upstate, new york
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great stuff

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a slab that is high in moisture, this stuff works great. We had a kitchen slab that was seeping water up through the grout of our tiles. We had the floor demo'd and new tiles put it. First, we applied Red Gard as PER THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!
You need a clean debris free floor. A scraper works well. Also, the warmer the outside temp the better for application purposes. Instructions say do NOT apply with slab temp 55F or lower. I prefer a day when it's around 80F.
The most important key next is to have dust vacuumed off the slab so it's clean. Then, you MUST USE A PRIMER COAT FIRST!!!!! The primer coat prevents the stuff from peeling!!!! I've done 9 floors now with the stuff and the primer is a must! Wha is the primer? It's diluted Red Gard one part, to 4 parts tap water! Then you apply it with a sponge on a stick or even a clean new sponge mop!
SIMPLE!!!!! The instructions explain all of the above. If you follow the instructions, it works like a champ. The final two costs after the primer dries is applied with a paint roller on a stick. Use full strength and it's a water barrier magic carpet, under your tile or stone floor.
+33points
38out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RedGard 1-gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane
from Balch Springs, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liquid Membrane for Shower installation

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super DIY project, refurb the master bath, tear out tub, create walk in shower. After all the demo was done installed the new insulation and added the backer board. Lots of openings between sections of the concrete backerboard, stuff does not cut real well, thus the need for the liquid membrane. Red Guard lived up to its billing. Easy to appy, dried quickly and created airtight and liquid tight seals between the seams and cracks. Shower completed and operational now, Redguard a large part of the success. Looking for other uses to finish up the tub only used about half of it. A bit pricey, until you use it, then realize it is worth twice the price.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>