728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.798 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product98 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(97)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product98 of 103reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Paris, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't believe it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend suggested this to me. Id tried drano,liquid plumber, even bought an auger to run through my line. Id been having issues with my plumbing since i moved in to this house. Iv pulled out some pretty Narly stuff... and still to no avail. My tub and toilet would over flow if i tried to do laundry. (Drain line all connected in one, Who does this!?!?!) I bought two of the small bottles and split them up between the tub, toilet, and the washer drain line. After a few hours i ran hot water through the line the instructions say do, and BOOM there was a big bubble that erupted from the toilet lol kinda scared me. And after that No more issues! Awesome product, does what it says!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked in 2 hours

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd been dealing with a slow tub drain for quite some time. An all woman household generates lots of hair and using coconut oil after showering doesn't help. I tried plunging, vinegar and baking soda, zip tools and even Cascade Complete which is strong enough to strip wallpaper - none of it worked. After reading reviews on this product I stopped at Home Depot today, poured all 67 ounces in and walked away. I was going to leave it overnight but was too impatient. I just filled the tub with hot water, pulled the plug and held my breath. Fantastic! Drain is clear and it only took 2 hours. SO worth it!! I just saved time off work and the cost of a plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Big Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as Advertised!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been struggling with a sluggish shower drain for over a year. Tried pretty much all the commercial drain cleaners, the best one gave me about two days of slightly better drain performance. I admit I was so frustrated that I didnt follow the dose chart...I poured the entire 67 ounce bottle down the drain. In the morning I boiled up about a gallon of water and poured it down the drain. My heart sank when I heard the pipe filling up (as though it was going to overflow)..but then WHOOOSH!!! Everything went down in a few seconds. I could hear water hitting the pipe at the bottom of the drain. LOL OH JOY!! I'm a happy camper!! Aside item...I THINK I saw on the bottle that you're not supposed to use it in sinks..but on here it says you can, and some people said they do...be careful.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

OMG it worked!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our bathtub would not drain at all not even a little bit. I got buckets to get out the remaining water soaked up the drain with some towels and poured this stuff in over night. I woke up this morning expecting it would not work because nothing else so far has and to my surprise it worked!! Thank you so much due to the holidays getting a plumber out here is not even an option. Best product ever.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from altooma pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BEST!!!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product after reading the reviews and must say it works Great!! I used other products that helped,but drain remained slow. I put this product in at night and waited till morning, turned on hot water in morning and after running hot water for about a minute I heard a Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Great product Buy and try it it works
Pros: Easy to Use
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

This stuff works!!!

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have double sinks in the master bathroom that seem to slow at least once a year. My husband can't reach the blockage with a snake and the regular drain cleaners never worked. The last time we shelled out about $100 to a plumber, but after reading all the good reviews for this product I figured it was worth a try. My husband poured a cup down each drain and let it sit for about 8 hours then ran hot tap water in both sinks. It worked! I am so happy and highly recommend this product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from New York

Excellent product

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works! It did fix my clogged bathroom drain. WOW!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exacctly as everyone says - yes!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had given up on Liquid Plumr type products because they *never* seem to work. This one did though - perfectly, and the first time. I'm buying 3 more bottles just to have on hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product in the hope that it would rid the odor coming from the bathroom sink. I had already tried hot water, vinegar and baking soda with no success. I left the product in overnight. I ran hot water through the drain and Success. No more odor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Works great!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had slow drains for a while thanks a lot to hair clogs. I've used augers and pulled out tons of hair but still slow drains. Saw this product and read the reviews, so I figured $11, it's worth a shot.
I used it on 2 tubs and 3 sinks, let all of them set overnight and poured boiling hot water after (as per instructions) and all of them were cleared out and are draining perfectly.
Great product, no problems with it. Will definitely buy again if/when our drains get clogged.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Washingtomnville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Usually I rent/buy a 50' snake to clear out our laundry and sink drain about 2x's a year. It backs up when the washer empties and floods the drain pipe area. Our plumber had recommeded this once when snaking out our kitchen drain pipe. I used the whole bottle and left it overnight and it worked. Miraculous. What a relief from using a snake.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trust the reviews

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good, easy to follow directions and works as stated.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievable Product!!

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just thought I would add my endorsement along with all the others. I had a grease clog in my kitchen sink. I ran an auger through it several times and it only punched a small hole through the clog and the water barely drained. I poured some Roto-Rooter "Professional" drain cleaner down the drain but it did nothing either. I was almost going to cut the PVC drain pipe in the basement to manually clear it out. I went to Google and found this product. Even with all these positive reviews, I was skeptical. But it worked!!! I poured about 2 1/2 cups into the drain pipe and left it overnight. In the morning I poured a bucket of hot water into the sink. It did not go right away so I was disappointed. I sat down and had a bowl of cereal and heard a "gurgle" and saw that there was no more water in the sink. I got another bucket of hot water and whoooosh. It drained like I had new plumbing. If you have a tough clog, buy this.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought a house and had a slow drain in the bathtub. I bought an auger trying to be a do it yourselfer but was unsuccessful in the attempt. I went back to home depot and one of the workers told me to try it, WOW!!! forget a plumber..this is a plumber in a bottle! I did what the rep told me, poured it in, let it sit about 15-30 minutes came back and flushed it with hot water for about 10 minutes and the drain was cleared! Try this before shelling out hundreds on a plumber!! Liquid gold in a bottle!
Pros: High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Houston,TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After trying all the different products without success I purchased this product and was "amazed" how well it works!! just used it once, left over nigh in my showe drain and BAM! my hard to drain shower drain is now working perfect!!!!! I would recommend highly!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Maryland, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works as directed. Used this to unclog a shower drain.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>