728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.774 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product87 of 92reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product87 of 92reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Paris, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't believe it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend suggested this to me. Id tried drano,liquid plumber, even bought an auger to run through my line. Id been having issues with my plumbing since i moved in to this house. Iv pulled out some pretty Narly stuff... and still to no avail. My tub and toilet would over flow if i tried to do laundry. (Drain line all connected in one, Who does this!?!?!) I bought two of the small bottles and split them up between the tub, toilet, and the washer drain line. After a few hours i ran hot water through the line the instructions say do, and BOOM there was a big bubble that erupted from the toilet lol kinda scared me. And after that No more issues! Awesome product, does what it says!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Big Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as Advertised!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been struggling with a sluggish shower drain for over a year. Tried pretty much all the commercial drain cleaners, the best one gave me about two days of slightly better drain performance. I admit I was so frustrated that I didnt follow the dose chart...I poured the entire 67 ounce bottle down the drain. In the morning I boiled up about a gallon of water and poured it down the drain. My heart sank when I heard the pipe filling up (as though it was going to overflow)..but then WHOOOSH!!! Everything went down in a few seconds. I could hear water hitting the pipe at the bottom of the drain. LOL OH JOY!! I'm a happy camper!! Aside item...I THINK I saw on the bottle that you're not supposed to use it in sinks..but on here it says you can, and some people said they do...be careful.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from altooma pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BEST!!!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product after reading the reviews and must say it works Great!! I used other products that helped,but drain remained slow. I put this product in at night and waited till morning, turned on hot water in morning and after running hot water for about a minute I heard a Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Great product Buy and try it it works
Pros: Easy to Use
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product..excellent results1

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good drain cleaner,worth every penny spent..JUST..to be safe..wear eye protection,gloves and do not breathe over top of jug when pouring.Poured the product in the 4 most used drains,waited 2 hrs,flushed with water...all was cleared..repeated 2 days later..nice to see an effective product fairly priced.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Houston,TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After trying all the different products without success I purchased this product and was "amazed" how well it works!! just used it once, left over nigh in my showe drain and BAM! my hard to drain shower drain is now working perfect!!!!! I would recommend highly!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Cohoes NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 of the 67.6 oz. bottles and let it sit overnight. Did not work for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought a house and had a slow drain in the bathtub. I bought an auger trying to be a do it yourselfer but was unsuccessful in the attempt. I went back to home depot and one of the workers told me to try it, WOW!!! forget a plumber..this is a plumber in a bottle! I did what the rep told me, poured it in, let it sit about 15-30 minutes came back and flushed it with hot water for about 10 minutes and the drain was cleared! Try this before shelling out hundreds on a plumber!! Liquid gold in a bottle!
Pros: High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Awesome!!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I noticed my bathtub was backing up after I would take a shower, and it was only getting worse. Saw this product when I searched best product to unclog a drain and decided to give it a shot. Poured half of bottle down the drain and let it sit for about an hour. Then poured a pot of boiling water down the drain as well. Drain is now working like a charm. I would definitely recommend this product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Very impressed with company. They treat customers well. Very quick refund of purchase price. A+++++

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product because of excellent reviews. Liked that it was packaged inside a sealed clear plastic bag as a safety precaution. Unfortunately kitchen drain clog could not be cleared with just chemicals and we had to buy a drain auger to unplug it. We had a refund check in our hands in 6 business days, they make it easy to file an online claim for a refund and sent out a check very quickly.
A wonderful company to do business with. A+++++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Worked on Sweet Potato Skin Clog

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't smart and put a lot of sweet potato skins down my garbage disposal. My kitchen sink, bathroom sink, and bath tub are all tied into the same drain in my apartment. I know this now because running the two sinks would cause water to back up into the tub. I plunged out about two cups of skins from the bath tub on day one. The next day, I bought the large bottle of the Drano Max Gel. I'm sure that it helped break down the skins, but the drain was still clogged. I then tried a snake the next day, but I couldn't reach the clog. After that, I tried baking soda and vinegar. That seemed to make the water drain even slower (I'm assuming because of baking soda that didn't dissolve.) Last night (six days into it), I decided to try a lye based drain opener. I bought the Instant Power, telling myself that it would be my very last attempt before calling my landlord. I poured in about 1/4 of the bottle into my drain. Two hours later, I poured in about another 1/4 of the bottle. About 12 hours after the original pour, I dumped a large pot of boiling water into the drain, bracing myself for the inevitable failure. But, the water didn't back up. I gasped, turned the hot water on at full power, and watched it swiftly swirl down the drain. I then commenced jumping around and screaming like a child for a solid minute. I've learned two lessons: 1. There isn't much that can be put down a garbage disposal that won't cause a catastrophe. 2. Buy Instant Power first, always.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sorry I used it

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After sitting in my shower drain for about 3 hours, water started leaking out of the 2" galvanized pipe down into my utility room. The company recommends leaving the drain opener in overnight. I wonder what might happen then?
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, pipe leaks
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it's working as it's said

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In short, It's working like a charm. It's save me hour and without inhale stinky smell from clogged pipe. Put it on drain and walk away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

made a new customer with this one!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a Lowe's customer. For no reason other than I had never had an issue, so why go elsewhere? Well I had a clog that nothing was touching. Not the snake, not the drano, not the vinegar/baking soda, etc. Desperate, I googled it. And this popped up. We drove straight into town and bought it. I have to say that I will never use anything else again. It worked like a charm. The drains are faster now than I have seen them in the entire time I have lived in this house! We did leave it overnight, like many reviewers suggested.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Anthem, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Miracle Product!!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked fantastic! Over several years, both a tub and sink have continually gotten clogged. Nothing ever worked well. Before calling a plumber this weekend, I did a google search for the best drain cleaner. I went by others tips and it worked!
This is what I did:
1. Poured entire bottle down my bathtub drain.
2. Let it sit overnight and more (~16 hours)
3. Boiled an xl pot of water (be careful walking to the bathroom)
4. Pour the entire pot down the drain.
5. You should hear a wonderful gurgling sound with the water draining immediately.
That's it.
Sink - I used about 1/3 of a bottle - same directions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the "Miracle" Stuff You need!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Believe me I don't usually do reviews but felt I had to with this Miracle product. I had tried snaking, using a plunger , thought maybe the drain was frozen and then found out about this product. My bathtub drain would not budge not a drop would go down. Even in a little standing water I poured about a 1/4 of the bottle in. After approx. 2 hours I heard a gurgling sound and "Bam" the Clog was gone. I poured the rest of the bottle in for good measure, and ran hot water after about 20 minutes. I was about to call a plumber and this stuff came along. This is the "miracle" you are looking for. Buy it, Try it, and then go and enjoy the rest of your life. Yes It Is "That Good" and no smell no mess, just Success!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from los angeles

DID NOT WORK!!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all these amazing reviews. Ask most people and they will tell you that these products rarely work. YEAH they work for some but rarely. I ended up using a whole bottle of this on one bathroom sink in a 60 year old house. the water slows down after running about 20 seconds. so i followed the instructions. i did this and ended up pouring the whole bottle down this one sink over a few days. What happened? after the last drop the sink would not drain for 2 days. it may have melted the gunk and clogged it up worse from that, but it did not open the drain. This was money down the drain. The plumber comes tomorrow to clean the pipe.
I thought with all these great reviews and 92% rating this would work. If it worked it was probably not so bad of a stoppage. the only thing in this pipe will be hair or soap or makeup gunk and after a whole bottle it did not do a thing but make a slow draining pipe a totally stopped pipe.. save your money.
Cons: worthless
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceSeptember 18, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, we have reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response listed below.

"Thank you for trying Instant Power Hair & Grease Drain Opener. Sometimes the problem is beyond the products ability to fix. Unfortunately, products don't work 100% of the time and that's why we have the 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you mail or email us your store receipt, we will be happy to issue you a refund. If you have any questions, please call our Toll-Free Instant Power Help Line: 1-800-613-4242".
1 2 3 4 5 >>