728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.719 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product155 of 166reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(152)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product155 of 166reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Gender:Female

Use this 1ST!!!! if plunging doesn't work.! Simply Awesome product!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pour in drain.. wait 6-8hrs if bad bad clog. Flush with boiling water . A quick plunge if no immediate results. I cried tears of joy.
Before I tried this I used.. Zep Liquid Plummer Drain opener..DID NOT WORK!
I use baking soda/vinegar..DID NOT WORK!
I bought a snake/auger from home depot. DID NOT WORK!
I called Roto Rooter ($255 to snake & shop vac the water out). he said "20% chance that it would work" Then Roto rooter said that they would have to cut the pipe open because snake couldn't reach the clog...additional $500..DID NOT PAY. told him to leave & I cried.
Then I saw the reviews of this product. $11.00 worth a shot
Hair & grease drain opener.. .IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Multiple drain problems all over the house, some just slow others plugged and backing up. Had used plunger and 25ft snake, but had only seemed to make problems worse.
Dumped 3/4 of the bottle into the drain with the most problems. Waited impatiently until the next morning, trying to plan how I was going to take off work to meet a professional plumber.
As morning shower was in progress, standing in ankle deep water. A loud burp was heard and all the water in shower started draining fast. Yea! Went and checked drain with most problems, it was clear. Started running faucets, flushing toilets, etc etc to continue to rinse chemicals and blockage away. ALL drains were running properly
I will use this product again, as it was a good investment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

It works!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was my last attempt before calling the plumber. I had already snaked the shower drain and used a different drain cleaner. Neither of them worked. I was skeptical to pour another $10 down the drain on a drain cleaner that may or may not work. After reading the reviews online I thought I would give it one last shot. Poured it down the drain, let it sit overnight. When I woke up the shower drain was cleared. Will never use another product again...I can't say enough good words on this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Virginia`
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oh, It works! $10.98 versus a $90.00 service call...your choice.

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quick and to the point. 40 year old house--general plumbing issues from time to time (overflowing washer, slow draining bathroom sink, etc....). If you have a small bathroom sink, might I suggest a little $3.00 plastic mini snake and it will help. For a bathtub...it doesn't work. Was not happy with a bathtub of water this morning.
Went to the Home Depot, saw it, read it, and liked 'if it doesn't work, we'll refund your money...' I held onto my receipt. I poured a generous amount into the freestanding water from the morning bath and left out of the bathroom. A good 10 minutes later, I heard a belch from the bathtub, I kid you not! This stuff works! Buy this! It is that good!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Indianapolis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buy This! It Truly Works!

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently moved into a home that had received minimal drain maintenance in its 40 years. The shower and kitchen drains were nearly fully clogged . Since the other bathroom drained just fine, we were in hopes it was not a main line issue. My brother-in-law recommended this product to us. We figured this was worth a shot before calling the plumber for an expensive service call.
We tried the shower drain first. We poured more than suggested in the shower drain and let it sit overnight. The next morning, the shower drain opened completely the first time. We flushed with just very hot water from the water heater because we had not unpacked our large pans to boil water. We let the hot water run for at least 10 minutes.
The next night we tried the kitchen drain and let it sit overnight. The next morning, it was 65% improved but still very sluggish. We tried the second dose in the kitchen the next night and this time let it work for 12 hours. The next morning the drain was completely clear. Again, we used very hot water from the water heater and this time kept the water running for 15 minutes.
I cannot stress enough that we thought this situation was a lost cause. We were trying this in a last ditch effort to avoid spending hundreds of dollars. I would give Hair and Grease Drain Opener 10 Stars if I could!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Germantown, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bought it based on reviews! Thank you!

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
had 2 inches of standing water in our sons shared shower and bought this product solely because of the reviews. I was certain that I was going to have to call a plumber ... but ... I followed the directions exactly and now the drain is running freely!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

USE THIS BEFORE YSING ANYTHING ELSE!!

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So my main drain line would very slowly drain. I bought another liquid product poured the whole thing left it overnight, nothing happened. So after 2 days it clogged bad. I called a plumber he came out and unclogged it for me using a snake he said it was a really bad clog so it might clog again later ugh!
Yup! No more than 3 or 4 weeks later it was again starting to drain slow. It wouldn't back up it just would drain slowly. So i decided to use this product i was very skeptical! As i had used another product like this. I poured like 1/3 of the bottle let it sit for 15min (like instructed) it actually made the clog worse. I was so mad, it had completely backed up. I started to plunge it and snake it with a small 25ft NOTHING! I started to look for plumbers again. Then i decided to look again THE BACKED UP WATER WAS GONE I TURN ON THE WATER IT FLUSHED NO PROBLEM FLUSH THE TOILET NO PROBLEM! I was excited the clog was gone. I will recommend this product to everyone no doubt. If it makes the clog worse it's scary but have faith it did take like 5-8rs for it to unclog for some reason.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Are you scratching your head?

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are reading this you are either looking at a large amount of stagnant water in your sink or in your bathtub or worse, you are staring with a dumb look on your face at the 300 kinds of clog removers, gels, foams or whatever else is the Home Depot aisle trying to figure out which one to buy. Stop the madness and get this stuff inside the plastic bag. That's right... that stuff that look like came out as a sub product of a nuclear power plant. If you do have female creatures leaving under the same roof as you do, you know that as pretty and good smelling they are, they also shed. A LOT. So... before you get angry, say something stupid and end up sharing the crate with Fido save your marriage and some bucks from a plumbers visit and pour this thing in the drain, wait a couple hours and pour a gallon of boiling water down the drain. Folks, this really works. My bathtub is running like new again.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work. Not good for pipes.

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Came in looking for a drain snake and was insistently sold this instead ("Will it be bad for any type of piping?" I asked. "Absolutely not," the salesperson said). Did exactly as instructions specified, and the product did not work. Called a licensed plumber instead. "Oh, they sold you on this stuff, huh?" he said. He warned against using acid solutions like this one in older pipes, as it could corrode them-- which is exactly why I asked the salesperson this. He fixed my clog within minutes... with a drain snake. Don't buy this garbage, and don't listen to the pushy salesperson. Returned it used and got my money back.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blown Away!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a laundry drain clog...I tried Extra strength Drano, Zep, then got out my snake and could reach the clog, which was at least 4 feet into the wall, but I could not budge it...hopped on google and typed in "best drain cleaner" and found this product and read all the reviews. I poured it in and went to work yesterday and came home and turned on the hot water (and my water is HOT) To my dismay, it did not budge it. OK so now I thought FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. I poured the rest of the bottle in last night and this morning, there was still about a quarter inch standing water. I boiled a big pot of water, transferred it to a bucket and poured it in....SLURP and Woosh....running through now...I was amazed! Do follow the directions exactly, the boiling water is key.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Cleveland Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Single Mom; Saved $300 Service Call with Clogged Tub Drain

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not that this is important, but I'm a single mom and not a DIYer. I don't have a handy-man around to help when things go wrong in my duplex. My landlord is a nice enough guy but being expedient isn't one of his qualities.
So Friday night, my tub starts backing up. The water is warm and has particles in it...I'm thinking it's from the washer as I had just did a load of laundry. I run out to our local CVS at 10:00 pm and buy two bottles of Liquid Plumber Extra Strength Gel. I have about 3 inches of standing water in the tub and Liquid Plumber says the gel will go through the water...NOT. I let it stand overnight and in the morning I have MORE water. So now I have 1/2 tub of warm, icky particle-filled water. It looks like lint and such but I can't tell. Regardless this doesn't look good.
So I jump online and find this product and read most of the reviews; as I'm not easily convinced. Not wanting to believe it but having no choice I run to our local Home Depot and purchase a large bottle; the 67.6 oz one. I had a clog before and the landlord stated they charged him $300 to come out on a Sunday to snake and unclog our drain when this happened before. I didn't want to do that to the guy and I definitely didn't have the money to foot the bill so I was praying this would work.
I get home and bail out as much of the water as I can. It's not really going down though because the back up must be between the toilet (where I was dumpling the water) and the sink/tub in the bathroom. After about 15 minutes of getting nowhere with bailing, I dump the entire bottle down over the drain. I planned on leaving it overnight.
I checked on it every 30 minutes and after about 4 hours I see the tub has totally drained. I can't believe it! I boil a pot of water and pour it down there ta-da!....so far my tub has drained perfectly ever since. I am thrilled!
Our rental is about 50 years old and the last plumber who came out told me the pipes are old and have juts (not sure that's the word to use) but materials get caught on the jutted pieces and end up creating a clog. Whatever clog we had...we don't have it now!
I went back to Home Depot and bought a second bottle to have on-hand for this very reason. This is the first review I have EVER written online and I can tell you...it works.
Take it from non-DIYer. This stuff works. I will never waste my money on buying the other brands again. Thank you makers of Hair and Grease Drain Opener!!!!
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT STUFF!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the BEST drain opener EVER! I had a serious clog in my bathtub, and aftr several bottles of a different brand, I figured I would need to snake it. I shopped on-line for a snake, and my search also brought up this item. I figured I would try chemicals one last time, and it wasn't expensive. I used the overnight method, and in the morning there was still standing water in the tub, so I plunged it a few times and everything started draining. I took the snake back, never even needing to use it. I would recommend this in a heartbeat.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Goleta, California
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Plumber's Nightmare, Homeowner's Dream

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In a 50 year old house, horizontal galvanized drains get rusted so much that they get plugged and rough. The reduced internal diameter slows down water flow, allowing junk to get caught on the rough pipe walls. This drain opener opens it very well, and it is so handy to have around. Plumbers do not approve, but this looks good.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Use, no clogs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Didn't work

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work for my clogged shower. Lots of positive reviews, which is why i bought, but i can't recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from West Des Moines IA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wow!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can't beleive it! I finally found something that works!!! I have long hair and needless to say it ends up everywhere, especially down the bathroom drains. I have wasted so much money in the past trying other drain cleaners and they never work. This time I decided to do a web search before buying another one. I read the other reviews and they were great and the price was almost too good to be true compared to the other ones I purchased at the grocery store. Try this.... You won't be sorry!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from orange county ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Will eat through porcelain sink!

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry I bought product because I followed directions and let it sit overnight. During the night water backed up in the sink and by morning it discolored and dissolved the top layer of my porcelain sink. No warning on the bottle.
Cons: no warning that it will ruin porcelain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Raleigh NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Works Works!!!!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I live in an old apartment built back in early 1970's. Bathtub was clogging up after a minute of use and a 5-10 minute shower would leave us in 4-6 inches of water and about 30 minutes to an hour to drain. I poured 1/4 of the product into drain cause I was desperate for it to work (By the way, the bathtub still drains but just very slowly). About an hour later I poured a pot of boiling water to run it through and turned on the shower at its max setting... NO CLOG!!!! Weight is off my shoulders and I feel way better. Great stuff! I can't believe how cheap this stuff is. Personally, I would buy it at $20-40 at this size.
Pros: Good Instructions, easy!!!!, easy!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>