728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.817 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(142 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product135 of 141reviews
Rating Breakdown 142 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(133)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product135 of 141reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Gender:Female

Use this 1ST!!!! if plunging doesn't work.! Simply Awesome product!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pour in drain.. wait 6-8hrs if bad bad clog. Flush with boiling water . A quick plunge if no immediate results. I cried tears of joy.
Before I tried this I used.. Zep Liquid Plummer Drain opener..DID NOT WORK!
I use baking soda/vinegar..DID NOT WORK!
I bought a snake/auger from home depot. DID NOT WORK!
I called Roto Rooter ($255 to snake & shop vac the water out). he said "20% chance that it would work" Then Roto rooter said that they would have to cut the pipe open because snake couldn't reach the clog...additional $500..DID NOT PAY. told him to leave & I cried.
Then I saw the reviews of this product. $11.00 worth a shot
Hair & grease drain opener.. .IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Virginia`
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oh, It works! $10.98 versus a $90.00 service call...your choice.

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quick and to the point. 40 year old house--general plumbing issues from time to time (overflowing washer, slow draining bathroom sink, etc....). If you have a small bathroom sink, might I suggest a little $3.00 plastic mini snake and it will help. For a bathtub...it doesn't work. Was not happy with a bathtub of water this morning.
Went to the Home Depot, saw it, read it, and liked 'if it doesn't work, we'll refund your money...' I held onto my receipt. I poured a generous amount into the freestanding water from the morning bath and left out of the bathroom. A good 10 minutes later, I heard a belch from the bathtub, I kid you not! This stuff works! Buy this! It is that good!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Raleigh NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Works Works!!!!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I live in an old apartment built back in early 1970's. Bathtub was clogging up after a minute of use and a 5-10 minute shower would leave us in 4-6 inches of water and about 30 minutes to an hour to drain. I poured 1/4 of the product into drain cause I was desperate for it to work (By the way, the bathtub still drains but just very slowly). About an hour later I poured a pot of boiling water to run it through and turned on the shower at its max setting... NO CLOG!!!! Weight is off my shoulders and I feel way better. Great stuff! I can't believe how cheap this stuff is. Personally, I would buy it at $20-40 at this size.
Pros: Good Instructions, easy!!!!, easy!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blown Away!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a laundry drain clog...I tried Extra strength Drano, Zep, then got out my snake and could reach the clog, which was at least 4 feet into the wall, but I could not budge it...hopped on google and typed in "best drain cleaner" and found this product and read all the reviews. I poured it in and went to work yesterday and came home and turned on the hot water (and my water is HOT) To my dismay, it did not budge it. OK so now I thought FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. I poured the rest of the bottle in last night and this morning, there was still about a quarter inch standing water. I boiled a big pot of water, transferred it to a bucket and poured it in....SLURP and Woosh....running through now...I was amazed! Do follow the directions exactly, the boiling water is key.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Seattle
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's simply AMAZING!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A couple of days ago I had a worst shower clog ever. Water stood in my shower pan for hours - literally no teeny tiny sign of flow could be observed. I first tried my 1/4" auger and pulled out some hair and really nasty staff. Then the auger stuck no matter how hard I pushed. I switched to my 1/2" auger and this time it pulled out a big ball of hair but got stuck again. I know usually this is because the auger hits a big chuck of hair but I can't get the hair out even after exercising my muscle for an entire afternoon.
While I was debating between renting a powerful electric auger and calling a plumber I saw this product. I have to say I was not a big fan of chemical drain opener but I decided to give it a try because 1) 111 reviews with an average score of 4.8; 2) inexpensive price at $10.98; and 3) 100% money-back guarantee. In retrospect this is a really wise decision I made.
Long story short. I rushed into the nearest HomeDepot and grabbed one. I poured a generous amount of it in to my shower drain and waited about 1 h. After reading more reviews I wanted to add more then I immediately noticed the fluid ran down very quickly. But I decided to follow the instruction and let it set overnight.
The next morning my wife prepared a large pot of boiling water and I poured it into the drain. Guess what happened? The water flew like nothing was under my drain. I was completely amazed! If I was skeptical I am now fully convinced. It really works like it promises. I've decided to pour it into every drain in my house. An excellent product!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Are you scratching your head?

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are reading this you are either looking at a large amount of stagnant water in your sink or in your bathtub or worse, you are staring with a dumb look on your face at the 300 kinds of clog removers, gels, foams or whatever else is the Home Depot aisle trying to figure out which one to buy. Stop the madness and get this stuff inside the plastic bag. That's right... that stuff that look like came out as a sub product of a nuclear power plant. If you do have female creatures leaving under the same roof as you do, you know that as pretty and good smelling they are, they also shed. A LOT. So... before you get angry, say something stupid and end up sharing the crate with Fido save your marriage and some bucks from a plumbers visit and pour this thing in the drain, wait a couple hours and pour a gallon of boiling water down the drain. Folks, this really works. My bathtub is running like new again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Paris, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't believe it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A friend suggested this to me. Id tried drano,liquid plumber, even bought an auger to run through my line. Id been having issues with my plumbing since i moved in to this house. Iv pulled out some pretty Narly stuff... and still to no avail. My tub and toilet would over flow if i tried to do laundry. (Drain line all connected in one, Who does this!?!?!) I bought two of the small bottles and split them up between the tub, toilet, and the washer drain line. After a few hours i ran hot water through the line the instructions say do, and BOOM there was a big bubble that erupted from the toilet lol kinda scared me. And after that No more issues! Awesome product, does what it says!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+34points
36out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Kihei, Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Stuff Works

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My shower drain would not drain and backup with four inches of water while taking a shower, gross!!
I tried them all, Liquid Plumber, etc. Nothing worked. I went online and read some good reviews on this product, I went to Home Depot and bought this product, online it even told me where to find it in the store a big help. I read the directions and proceeded to pour two cups down the drain and let it sit about six hours and then poured boiling hot water down the drain. I took a shower the next morning and YES no standing water at all. THIS STUFF WORKS. Save a ton of money by not calling a plumber
and run not walk to Home Depot and buy this product and watch your drain work like it should.
Thanks Home Depot for selling this plumber in a bottle and saving me a bunch of money.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a general contractor and I admit I fell for the "money back guarantee "promise.not only did this product have zero effect in my situation,but they never reimbursed me the wasted cash I spent on this garbage drain opener as they call it.i submitted all the proper paperwork and they did Nonthing!!!!!!do not buy!!!!trust me
Pros: none
Cons: alot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Kenosha, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Instand Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this in my bathroom drain which was slow, not clogged, letting it sit over night. I poured hot water (heated on the stove, not to boiling, though) down the drain and also used the plunger, covering the overflow hole to create a better suction/vaccum. My drain in running nice and quick now!!
My boyfriend used it in his kitchen sink (80 year old house). Both his kitchen drains were extremely slow. It cleared it a little and I was disappointed, BUT he didn't use a plunger. I ran hot water down both drains and proceeded to plunge them. That did the trick. I think they could be better, but at least the water doesn't take minutes to go down one drain, up the other, then down both.
I will defintely use again!!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Drain Cleaner

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the drain cleaner was really good on plastic pipes. caused no problem, and works fast as the
direction say. the drains work very fast now, so its a good product that does just what it says
it will do.if you have a drain problem fill free to yous this cause it works .
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

So glad I listened to the reviews!!!!

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My tub has been clogged up for years. I'd take a shower n get home from work and the tub would still be clogged. I've tried everything short of calling a plumber. I'm still within the 1st 24 hr period, I'm holding my breathe, but the water has receded. in the morning I will pour hot water in the drain, and hopefully this nightmare will be behind me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Big Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as Advertised!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been struggling with a sluggish shower drain for over a year. Tried pretty much all the commercial drain cleaners, the best one gave me about two days of slightly better drain performance. I admit I was so frustrated that I didnt follow the dose chart...I poured the entire 67 ounce bottle down the drain. In the morning I boiled up about a gallon of water and poured it down the drain. My heart sank when I heard the pipe filling up (as though it was going to overflow)..but then WHOOOSH!!! Everything went down in a few seconds. I could hear water hitting the pipe at the bottom of the drain. LOL OH JOY!! I'm a happy camper!! Aside item...I THINK I saw on the bottle that you're not supposed to use it in sinks..but on here it says you can, and some people said they do...be careful.
Pros: Easy to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from So. Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am by nature very skeptical. The only reason I purchased this product was because of the rave reviews, and the fact that it has a money back guarantee. I purchased two bottles because I had a tub and bathroom sink in my sixty year old house that haven't drained well for years, but the bath sink plugged tight. I used the product with the boiling water and achieved a partial clearing after three hours. I then applied a second treatment and let it sit over night, used the boiling water again and the drains flow like new. They work like brand new.. Like a lot of reviewers, I have tried many other products with no success. If this didn't work, I was calling the plumber. I am keeping this on hand for future problems. Don't hesitate, try it, you have nothing to lose.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from BAY AREA, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This REALLY works!

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This ABSOLUTELY works! I've had a clogged drain for a few days and have tried Zep, baking powder/hot water, vinegar, Drano and others but none of them got rid of the clog. I did some research this morning and I saw a lot of people reviewed this and I thought for $12, it was worth a try.
I poured about 1 cup in the sink and 2 cups in the tub. I left it in for about an hour and poured hot (not boiling) water down the drain and all I heard was the water doing down, down, down! No more clog and I am so glad I bought this! It really works and I recommend you try this before wasting your money on anything else. Well worth the $12 I paid for it!
Pros: it works!!, gets rids of clogs quickly, you get your money back if it doesn't work
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought a house and had a slow drain in the bathtub. I bought an auger trying to be a do it yourselfer but was unsuccessful in the attempt. I went back to home depot and one of the workers told me to try it, WOW!!! forget a plumber..this is a plumber in a bottle! I did what the rep told me, poured it in, let it sit about 15-30 minutes came back and flushed it with hot water for about 10 minutes and the drain was cleared! Try this before shelling out hundreds on a plumber!! Liquid gold in a bottle!
Pros: High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>