728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.806 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product147 of 154reviews
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(145)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product147 of 154reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Gender:Female

Use this 1ST!!!! if plunging doesn't work.! Simply Awesome product!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pour in drain.. wait 6-8hrs if bad bad clog. Flush with boiling water . A quick plunge if no immediate results. I cried tears of joy.
Before I tried this I used.. Zep Liquid Plummer Drain opener..DID NOT WORK!
I use baking soda/vinegar..DID NOT WORK!
I bought a snake/auger from home depot. DID NOT WORK!
I called Roto Rooter ($255 to snake & shop vac the water out). he said "20% chance that it would work" Then Roto rooter said that they would have to cut the pipe open because snake couldn't reach the clog...additional $500..DID NOT PAY. told him to leave & I cried.
Then I saw the reviews of this product. $11.00 worth a shot
Hair & grease drain opener.. .IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Are you scratching your head?

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are reading this you are either looking at a large amount of stagnant water in your sink or in your bathtub or worse, you are staring with a dumb look on your face at the 300 kinds of clog removers, gels, foams or whatever else is the Home Depot aisle trying to figure out which one to buy. Stop the madness and get this stuff inside the plastic bag. That's right... that stuff that look like came out as a sub product of a nuclear power plant. If you do have female creatures leaving under the same roof as you do, you know that as pretty and good smelling they are, they also shed. A LOT. So... before you get angry, say something stupid and end up sharing the crate with Fido save your marriage and some bucks from a plumbers visit and pour this thing in the drain, wait a couple hours and pour a gallon of boiling water down the drain. Folks, this really works. My bathtub is running like new again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Goleta, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works in One Try

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A long horizontal pipe in the craw space connecting the kitchen drain to the mainline has been problematic. I have previously hired a plumber to clear it, at a cost of about $100 plus my effort on scheduling and moving things under the sink. This product works much better, takes less of my time, and costs less.
Because the pipe is long, I added three cups, which was more than the recommended one to two cups, waited about two hours, then filled the blocked pipe with hot water. About 20 minutes later the drain cleared with the flushing sound. A few minutes of flushing with hot water completed it.
This is a must-have for heavily used kitchens.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Virginia`
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oh, It works! $10.98 versus a $90.00 service call...your choice.

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quick and to the point. 40 year old house--general plumbing issues from time to time (overflowing washer, slow draining bathroom sink, etc....). If you have a small bathroom sink, might I suggest a little $3.00 plastic mini snake and it will help. For a bathtub...it doesn't work. Was not happy with a bathtub of water this morning.
Went to the Home Depot, saw it, read it, and liked 'if it doesn't work, we'll refund your money...' I held onto my receipt. I poured a generous amount into the freestanding water from the morning bath and left out of the bathroom. A good 10 minutes later, I heard a belch from the bathtub, I kid you not! This stuff works! Buy this! It is that good!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blown Away!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a laundry drain clog...I tried Extra strength Drano, Zep, then got out my snake and could reach the clog, which was at least 4 feet into the wall, but I could not budge it...hopped on google and typed in "best drain cleaner" and found this product and read all the reviews. I poured it in and went to work yesterday and came home and turned on the hot water (and my water is HOT) To my dismay, it did not budge it. OK so now I thought FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. I poured the rest of the bottle in last night and this morning, there was still about a quarter inch standing water. I boiled a big pot of water, transferred it to a bucket and poured it in....SLURP and Woosh....running through now...I was amazed! Do follow the directions exactly, the boiling water is key.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Seattle
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's simply AMAZING!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A couple of days ago I had a worst shower clog ever. Water stood in my shower pan for hours - literally no teeny tiny sign of flow could be observed. I first tried my 1/4" auger and pulled out some hair and really nasty staff. Then the auger stuck no matter how hard I pushed. I switched to my 1/2" auger and this time it pulled out a big ball of hair but got stuck again. I know usually this is because the auger hits a big chuck of hair but I can't get the hair out even after exercising my muscle for an entire afternoon.
While I was debating between renting a powerful electric auger and calling a plumber I saw this product. I have to say I was not a big fan of chemical drain opener but I decided to give it a try because 1) 111 reviews with an average score of 4.8; 2) inexpensive price at $10.98; and 3) 100% money-back guarantee. In retrospect this is a really wise decision I made.
Long story short. I rushed into the nearest HomeDepot and grabbed one. I poured a generous amount of it in to my shower drain and waited about 1 h. After reading more reviews I wanted to add more then I immediately noticed the fluid ran down very quickly. But I decided to follow the instruction and let it set overnight.
The next morning my wife prepared a large pot of boiling water and I poured it into the drain. Guess what happened? The water flew like nothing was under my drain. I was completely amazed! If I was skeptical I am now fully convinced. It really works like it promises. I've decided to pour it into every drain in my house. An excellent product!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Raleigh NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Works Works!!!!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I live in an old apartment built back in early 1970's. Bathtub was clogging up after a minute of use and a 5-10 minute shower would leave us in 4-6 inches of water and about 30 minutes to an hour to drain. I poured 1/4 of the product into drain cause I was desperate for it to work (By the way, the bathtub still drains but just very slowly). About an hour later I poured a pot of boiling water to run it through and turned on the shower at its max setting... NO CLOG!!!! Weight is off my shoulders and I feel way better. Great stuff! I can't believe how cheap this stuff is. Personally, I would buy it at $20-40 at this size.
Pros: Good Instructions, easy!!!!, easy!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from wyandotte, michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this stuff is amazing!!!

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i had a kitchen sink that was very clogged, it was unusable and would take overnight to drain 2 inches of standing water. i tried everything i could think of (cleaned the traps snaked the pipe) and was on the verge of calling a plumber when i googled "best drain cleaner" and this product came up in the search results. with all the positive reviews and relatively low price i gave it a shot and could not be more satisfied with my purchase. i poured in about half a bottle waited 15 minutes then had a helper pour boiling water down the drain while i was in the basement to check the pipe to see if water was flowing through it. after the second pot of boiling water i could hear the water flowing through the pipe again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE BEST DRAIN CLEANER ON THE MARKET !!!!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
LIKE most here I have been through MANY drain cleaners. We have a 1956 vintage slab home on the lakefront with little fall to the sewer main.
The drain was SLOW and I (like others) had
paid out the wazoo to the roto dude and THAT didn't work.
THEN I snaked it myself and THAT didn't work...
THEN I I did THE most stupid thing...I poured sulfuric acid down the thing ( BAD advice from a "pal" !) and that ate the drain trap bottom.
SO AFTER I repaired the drain trap, I STILL had SL0000W drain !!
Wife came home with this stuff from Home Depot, I said "tried EVERTHING else" so what the heck !
Left it Overnight and then flushed it with hot water...THE DRAIN RUNS LIKE the NIAGRA RIVER !!
I went to HD and bought 10 more JUST to keep around for ANY clog I EVER run into again !!
THE
BEST
DRAIN
CLEANER on the PLANET !!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Goleta, California
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Plumber's Nightmare, Homeowner's Dream

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In a 50 year old house, horizontal galvanized drains get rusted so much that they get plugged and rough. The reduced internal diameter slows down water flow, allowing junk to get caught on the rough pipe walls. This drain opener opens it very well, and it is so handy to have around. Plumbers do not approve, but this looks good.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Use, no clogs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Paris, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't believe it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A friend suggested this to me. Id tried drano,liquid plumber, even bought an auger to run through my line. Id been having issues with my plumbing since i moved in to this house. Iv pulled out some pretty Narly stuff... and still to no avail. My tub and toilet would over flow if i tried to do laundry. (Drain line all connected in one, Who does this!?!?!) I bought two of the small bottles and split them up between the tub, toilet, and the washer drain line. After a few hours i ran hot water through the line the instructions say do, and BOOM there was a big bubble that erupted from the toilet lol kinda scared me. And after that No more issues! Awesome product, does what it says!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

It works, believe me!

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had water in my shower up to my ankles, since I work a lot I didn't even want to think of a plumber or having someone come check it out. I checked the reviews on this thing and tried it. It works super fast and does not stink, of course rinse with plenty of water and use your gloves. Man this product is awesome, it's worth the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Painesville OH 44077
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Just Great For Bath Tub!

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had a backed up bath tub due to having 2 women using it who have long hair! :-) I tried 2 other major brand drain cleaner; but they failed to move the blockage. I was standing in at least 3 inches of water with every shower; so I looked online for "best drain cleaner/unclogger" and this product jumped right out. I tried it yesterday and allowed it to stand for 2 hours before flushing with BOILING water. It worked very well; and now the tub is draining properly. I still have half the bottle remaining; and I know I'll need it again! I'd recommend this product to anyone. There is an unconditional money back guarantee if it doesn't work; so what have you got to lose?! :-)
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, better than many other brands!, money back guarantee if it doesnt work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from State College, Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Can I tell you what a relief I felt when I heard the water in my clogged shower drain through the pipes in my house an hour after I used this product in my drain?!!! So happy I didn't have to use the plumber on call! This stuff is great! It worked fast, was not expensive, and was so easy to use! Definitely try it before you call for help!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from louisiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

doesn't work

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a bad grease clog in my kitchen sink I was looking for something because everything else didn't work, so I seen this read the reviews and it was good. went to home depot bought a 67.6 oz bottle ,read the direction did as it said and nothing so before I went to bed I pour the rest of the bottle down the drain when I got up this morning boiled water and pour it down the drain and still nothing. I even plunge and nothing. the ones with the good reviews must of not had a bad clog for it to work so good like they said.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hands down best drain cleaner I have ever used

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In one of the other reviews I read the person was in tears over her clogged bath tub. I can relate to that sentiment. I tried Drano, ZEP, plastic auger thing with the spikes, boiling water, plunging, and nothing was working. I felt completely frustrated and non to happy that I might have to call a plumber. I read through these reviews and was impressed by the experiences and honesty of the other people that tried this product. So I tried it. I followed the directions exactly as they were described. I poured the fluid into my tub, put a an aluminum can over the drain, and waited till after work to pour boiling water down the drain. It worked! I am so thankful. It is so refreshing to buy something that actually works. Thank you Instant Power!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>