728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.894 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product82 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product82 of 84reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Paris, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't believe it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend suggested this to me. Id tried drano,liquid plumber, even bought an auger to run through my line. Id been having issues with my plumbing since i moved in to this house. Iv pulled out some pretty Narly stuff... and still to no avail. My tub and toilet would over flow if i tried to do laundry. (Drain line all connected in one, Who does this!?!?!) I bought two of the small bottles and split them up between the tub, toilet, and the washer drain line. After a few hours i ran hot water through the line the instructions say do, and BOOM there was a big bubble that erupted from the toilet lol kinda scared me. And after that No more issues! Awesome product, does what it says!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Houston,TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After trying all the different products without success I purchased this product and was "amazed" how well it works!! just used it once, left over nigh in my showe drain and BAM! my hard to drain shower drain is now working perfect!!!!! I would recommend highly!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Big Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as Advertised!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been struggling with a sluggish shower drain for over a year. Tried pretty much all the commercial drain cleaners, the best one gave me about two days of slightly better drain performance. I admit I was so frustrated that I didnt follow the dose chart...I poured the entire 67 ounce bottle down the drain. In the morning I boiled up about a gallon of water and poured it down the drain. My heart sank when I heard the pipe filling up (as though it was going to overflow)..but then WHOOOSH!!! Everything went down in a few seconds. I could hear water hitting the pipe at the bottom of the drain. LOL OH JOY!! I'm a happy camper!! Aside item...I THINK I saw on the bottle that you're not supposed to use it in sinks..but on here it says you can, and some people said they do...be careful.
Pros: Easy to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from altooma pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BEST!!!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product after reading the reviews and must say it works Great!! I used other products that helped,but drain remained slow. I put this product in at night and waited till morning, turned on hot water in morning and after running hot water for about a minute I heard a Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Great product Buy and try it it works
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

made a new customer with this one!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a Lowe's customer. For no reason other than I had never had an issue, so why go elsewhere? Well I had a clog that nothing was touching. Not the snake, not the drano, not the vinegar/baking soda, etc. Desperate, I googled it. And this popped up. We drove straight into town and bought it. I have to say that I will never use anything else again. It worked like a charm. The drains are faster now than I have seen them in the entire time I have lived in this house! We did leave it overnight, like many reviewers suggested.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Anthem, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Miracle Product!!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked fantastic! Over several years, both a tub and sink have continually gotten clogged. Nothing ever worked well. Before calling a plumber this weekend, I did a google search for the best drain cleaner. I went by others tips and it worked!
This is what I did:
1. Poured entire bottle down my bathtub drain.
2. Let it sit overnight and more (~16 hours)
3. Boiled an xl pot of water (be careful walking to the bathroom)
4. Pour the entire pot down the drain.
5. You should hear a wonderful gurgling sound with the water draining immediately.
That's it.
Sink - I used about 1/3 of a bottle - same directions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Appleeton, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I buy it because it works.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this for several years, it just works!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought a house and had a slow drain in the bathtub. I bought an auger trying to be a do it yourselfer but was unsuccessful in the attempt. I went back to home depot and one of the workers told me to try it, WOW!!! forget a plumber..this is a plumber in a bottle! I did what the rep told me, poured it in, let it sit about 15-30 minutes came back and flushed it with hot water for about 10 minutes and the drain was cleared! Try this before shelling out hundreds on a plumber!! Liquid gold in a bottle!
Pros: High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Houston, texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as described!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions when pouring into a shower drain. It unclogged the blockage from my wife's hair and haircare products in 15 minutes. Awesome stuff.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the "Miracle" Stuff You need!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Believe me I don't usually do reviews but felt I had to with this Miracle product. I had tried snaking, using a plunger , thought maybe the drain was frozen and then found out about this product. My bathtub drain would not budge not a drop would go down. Even in a little standing water I poured about a 1/4 of the bottle in. After approx. 2 hours I heard a gurgling sound and "Bam" the Clog was gone. I poured the rest of the bottle in for good measure, and ran hot water after about 20 minutes. I was about to call a plumber and this stuff came along. This is the "miracle" you are looking for. Buy it, Try it, and then go and enjoy the rest of your life. Yes It Is "That Good" and no smell no mess, just Success!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Mount Laurel, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME PRODUCT!!!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So very happy we gave this product a shot! Our kitchen sink was completely backed up. Being a novice "DIYer" I had to try to clear the clog myself before calling a plumber. My first attempt was with baking soda and vinegar, which failed multiple tries. I then headed to Home Depot to buy a snake. My husband suggested that prior to trying to snake, I should pick up a chemical drain cleaner. After rolling my eyes, as nothing we have ever tried before really worked, I said I would check. After selecting my snake, I headed to the plethora of chemical products knowing that this would be a waste of $$ and time. I noticed that of all the products displayed, one was especially depleted and figured it must be a good seller. After reading the 100% money back guarantee and that it wouldn't harm my plumbing, I added it to my cart. BEST MONEY I EVER SPENT on a drain clearing product bar none!! I brought it home, read the full directions, then call the Instant Power customer service 800 number because I was concerned about mixing the Hair and Grease with the vinegar and baking soda. Did not have to press one for English. The customer service rep told me run about ten gallons of water through as the it would lessen the effectiveness of the Hair and Grease. I did and waited for the water to trickle out. When the water finally emptied, I poured in the Hair and Grease waited 24 hours then boiled a couple gallons of water and poured it into the sink. To my total amazement, it worked. Running out today to buy more, just to have it on hand! Couldn't be happier and I can't stop telling friends and family about this awesome product.
Pros: Easy to Use, really works
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a slow drain that was getting worse. I tried a couple of others drain cleaners before this one. The the water would drain faster for a couple of days and then slow down again. After using Instant Power, letting it sit for the recommended amount of time, and following it with a gallon of boiling water the drain has been clear for over a month.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Ocala
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelieveable

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With so few products nowadays that live up to the hype, trust me...this one does.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none it works!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from State College, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me, but not the product's fault

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried this on a stubborn kitchen drain clog, which ended up being at least 2 inches of solid grease mixed with bean bag pellets. The moral of this story is don't clean your shop vac out inside.
Anyway, I removed the trap and got as much standing water out of the drain pipe as I could, then added a full large bottle of this stuff. After 12 hours and a full kettle of boiling water, there was no evidence of draining.
A 50 foot auger and lots of elbow grease finally made it through the grease plug and got water flowing again. The auger brought back a 2-inch thick section of grease and styrofoam, so the plug was at least that thick. I don't know that any chemical could have made much progress against that.
I plan to give this stuff another try when the bathtub starts draining slowly again, though - I like that it doesn't contain bleach, which really doesn't do much but smell bad.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from New York, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is amazing!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moved to a new apartment in NYC a few months ago and from day one the slow draining tub was a problem. I tried 3 different types of Drano-like products and it would hardly make a noticeable difference. Might not have made a difference at all but I was out money after every attempt so might have just been wishful thinking. The worst part is that the clog just got worse over time. So much in fact that we resorted to using the least amount of water for showers possible - literally just slightly better than sputtering (not exaggerating). A few days ago I just happened to mention this problem to a friend who was visiting for the first time and she mentions Hair and Grease drain opener and she couldn't say enough good things about it. I ran to Home Depot the very next day and picked up a bottle for $8. Read the instructions - poured about a third of the bottle in and let it sit overnight. In the morning I poured in about a gallon of boiling water. I then ran the shower full force and I can't tell you how happy it made me to see absolutely zero pooling. This product is fantastic and I highly recommend it. I say even if you're ready to call the plumber (like I was), give this product a try. For the price it might just save you from calling the professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works When All Others Have Failed...

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I had little faith in this product as I have used many others that have failed miserably. My Wife owns a Hair Salon with 3 Shampoo Bowls that have consistently backed up due to the amount of hair that was being washed down the drains. I have tried several other industrial products that did not do what I felt would be at least a sub par job. When I saw this product and read the reviews I figured it couldn't hurt to give it a shot since there was a 100% money back guarantee. To my Surprise I used the one 67.6oz bottle between the 3 Shampoo Bowels, let it sit overnight, and voila !!! All 3 sinks drain as if they were NEW!! To think that I almost bought 2 bottles thinking that there was NO Way that one would do the job I was proven Wrong. I will be buying another bottle to use on my stubborn house tub & sink and will be spreading the word on the Wonderful Job that this product has done for me. Don't Think Twice about purchasing this product for any Tough Jobs you may have : )
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>