728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.811 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product105 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(104)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product105 of 110reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Paris, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't believe it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend suggested this to me. Id tried drano,liquid plumber, even bought an auger to run through my line. Id been having issues with my plumbing since i moved in to this house. Iv pulled out some pretty Narly stuff... and still to no avail. My tub and toilet would over flow if i tried to do laundry. (Drain line all connected in one, Who does this!?!?!) I bought two of the small bottles and split them up between the tub, toilet, and the washer drain line. After a few hours i ran hot water through the line the instructions say do, and BOOM there was a big bubble that erupted from the toilet lol kinda scared me. And after that No more issues! Awesome product, does what it says!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wish I'd known about this sooner!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have a slow bathtub drain? I have one of those plastic-toothed-hair-retrieval-zipper-thingies on hand and have used that to speed up the drain in the past, but while attempting to pull hair out of a drain, I managed to PUSH it in to a point that it took my tub several hours to drain after a brief shower. After much research, I came across this lovely little product - SKIP OTHER CLOG-REMOVING PRODUCTS, THEY DO NOTHING! Try Instant Power instead. Instructions say to leave it in for an hour up to overnight (for best possible outcome)... I left it in for only an hour, turned on the faucet and the water ran through like there were no pipes below. It RUSHED out of the tub. Kiddo took a bath and the tub drained in less than 2 minutes. SUCKER WORKS! Just putting it up here because I totally would have appreciated this info a few days ago.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, it actually works!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Virginia`
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oh, It works! $10.98 versus a $90.00 service call...your choice.

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick and to the point. 40 year old house--general plumbing issues from time to time (overflowing washer, slow draining bathroom sink, etc....). If you have a small bathroom sink, might I suggest a little $3.00 plastic mini snake and it will help. For a bathtub...it doesn't work. Was not happy with a bathtub of water this morning.
Went to the Home Depot, saw it, read it, and liked 'if it doesn't work, we'll refund your money...' I held onto my receipt. I poured a generous amount into the freestanding water from the morning bath and left out of the bathroom. A good 10 minutes later, I heard a belch from the bathtub, I kid you not! This stuff works! Buy this! It is that good!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

OMG it worked!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our bathtub would not drain at all not even a little bit. I got buckets to get out the remaining water soaked up the drain with some towels and poured this stuff in over night. I woke up this morning expecting it would not work because nothing else so far has and to my surprise it worked!! Thank you so much due to the holidays getting a plumber out here is not even an option. Best product ever.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Michigan
Gender:Female

Use this 1ST!!!! if plunging doesn't work.! Simply Awesome product!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pour in drain.. wait 6-8hrs if bad bad clog. Flush with boiling water . A quick plunge if no immediate results. I cried tears of joy.
Before I tried this I used.. Zep Liquid Plummer Drain opener..DID NOT WORK!
I use baking soda/vinegar..DID NOT WORK!
I bought a snake/auger from home depot. DID NOT WORK!
I called Roto Rooter ($255 to snake & shop vac the water out). he said "20% chance that it would work" Then Roto rooter said that they would have to cut the pipe open because snake couldn't reach the clog...additional $500..DID NOT PAY. told him to leave & I cried.
Then I saw the reviews of this product. $11.00 worth a shot
Hair & grease drain opener.. .IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product in the hope that it would rid the odor coming from the bathroom sink. I had already tried hot water, vinegar and baking soda with no success. I left the product in overnight. I ran hot water through the drain and Success. No more odor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Washingtomnville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Usually I rent/buy a 50' snake to clear out our laundry and sink drain about 2x's a year. It backs up when the washer empties and floods the drain pipe area. Our plumber had recommeded this once when snaking out our kitchen drain pipe. I used the whole bottle and left it overnight and it worked. Miraculous. What a relief from using a snake.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trust the reviews

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good, easy to follow directions and works as stated.
Pros: Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
INCREDIBLE. OUR DRAIN WAS CLOGGED WITH THREE YEARS WORTH OF WASHING MY SHOULDER LENGTH HAIR DOWN THE DRAIN. (I HAVE A BAD HABIT OF BRUSHING MY HAIR OVER THE BATHROOM SINK TO KEEP IT FROM GETTING ALL OVER THE BATHROOM FLOOR). NO OTHER PRODUCT DID THE TRICK BUT THIS ONE. I POURED HALF THE BOTTLE IN, LET IT SIT OVERNIGHT. THIS MORNING I BOILED A BIG POT OF WATER AND POURED IT SLOWLY IN THE SINK.....I HEARD A CLEAR WOOSH! DRAINS IMMEDIATELY NOW EVEN WHEN SINK IS TURNED ALL THE WAY ON. HAS NOT DONE THAT IN YEARS. THRILLED WITH THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!! **********WEAR EYE PROTECTION. I DO NOT HAVE OFFICIAL PROTECTIVE EYEWEAR SO I WORE MY SWIMMING GOGGLES INSTEAD, GLAD I DID AS THIS STUFF IS NO-NONSENSE. WILL USE THIS PRODUCT FAITHFULLY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Big Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as Advertised!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been struggling with a sluggish shower drain for over a year. Tried pretty much all the commercial drain cleaners, the best one gave me about two days of slightly better drain performance. I admit I was so frustrated that I didnt follow the dose chart...I poured the entire 67 ounce bottle down the drain. In the morning I boiled up about a gallon of water and poured it down the drain. My heart sank when I heard the pipe filling up (as though it was going to overflow)..but then WHOOOSH!!! Everything went down in a few seconds. I could hear water hitting the pipe at the bottom of the drain. LOL OH JOY!! I'm a happy camper!! Aside item...I THINK I saw on the bottle that you're not supposed to use it in sinks..but on here it says you can, and some people said they do...be careful.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked in 2 hours

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd been dealing with a slow tub drain for quite some time. An all woman household generates lots of hair and using coconut oil after showering doesn't help. I tried plunging, vinegar and baking soda, zip tools and even Cascade Complete which is strong enough to strip wallpaper - none of it worked. After reading reviews on this product I stopped at Home Depot today, poured all 67 ounces in and walked away. I was going to leave it overnight but was too impatient. I just filled the tub with hot water, pulled the plug and held my breath. Fantastic! Drain is clear and it only took 2 hours. SO worth it!! I just saved time off work and the cost of a plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from CROWN POINT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to put in sink and works fine . drain started working and no problems . very good product and works fast . read instructions and it will work for you .
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from altooma pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BEST!!!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product after reading the reviews and must say it works Great!! I used other products that helped,but drain remained slow. I put this product in at night and waited till morning, turned on hot water in morning and after running hot water for about a minute I heard a Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Great product Buy and try it it works
Pros: Easy to Use
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had tried a couple other drain chemicals prior to this one on my clog and also tried to free it up with drain auger. None of that worked so thought I would try this one after seeing other reviews.
Poured in about 1/3 of the bottle and in 25min it was clear and running free.
Very good product and works well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional and Amazing Product!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
During a HUGE Thanksgiving dinner/family reunion at our 50-year old house our kitchen sink stopped up and we were left with a pile of dirty dishes and zero drainage. I suspected it was a heavy grease plug.
I already have a plumber's snake auger but figured I'd try the chemical route before breaking out my tools and opening any pipes. The auger was my last resort because the PVC pipes were sound and cleanup can be messy. I did have some concern that the PVC pipes would melt.
Doing some online research I was impressed by all the positive reviews for this product. So I picked up a bottle up at HD and poured about one cup. The directions say to use half a cup and wait 15 minutes to run hot water. I used around one full cup and waited 20 minutes (timed!) for good measure.
Once I ran hot water the blockage disappeared and now, as one reviewer put it, it's as if there are no pipes underneath the sink. To add to my relief the PVC pipes haven't melted.
Color me impressed!
Pros: safe for pvc, works as advertised
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought a house and had a slow drain in the bathtub. I bought an auger trying to be a do it yourselfer but was unsuccessful in the attempt. I went back to home depot and one of the workers told me to try it, WOW!!! forget a plumber..this is a plumber in a bottle! I did what the rep told me, poured it in, let it sit about 15-30 minutes came back and flushed it with hot water for about 10 minutes and the drain was cleared! Try this before shelling out hundreds on a plumber!! Liquid gold in a bottle!
Pros: High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>