728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener

Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener is the solution to the most common drain stoppages. It utilizes a strong, non-acid formula that dissolves hair and creates heat to melt grease. Safe for all pipes and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.868 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product65 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(64)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product65 of 67reviews
Customer reviews for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Review 1 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
ladyvamp

proved me wrong

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I doubted this product would work for my bthrm sink that was very slow to drain. I have a bad landlord so I took matters into my own handhl. Put this product down the drain..............let it sit for at least 6hrs. Then boiling hot water down the drain. Ran smoothly. No need to call a plumber. I felt empowered as a single woman so yah!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Kate
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I'm a convert.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried multiple cleaning products, even previously having tried corrosive ones to no effect. My drain has been terrible since I moved into my apartment. I read the reviews saying that some people had to let it sit overnight... and half a bottle and an overnight soak later... no more ankle-deep showers for me that I have to continuously rinse to get free. No more trying to get the last tenant's gross hair out of the drain and no expensive plumber. Didn't even take hot water the next morning - it just worked. $5.88 well spent on the 1L size and I still have half a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Russ
from Amherst, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great -- Just Be Patient

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a huge clog somewhere in my 50 foot kitchen drain pipe that defied clearing with my 15 foot snake. So I decided to try this stuff before I went out and rented a longer auger. My local Home Depot sold it in 1 liter size (about 34 oz.), so I bought one. The directions called for putting 1 to 2 cups in the drain, waiting for 15 minutes, and then flushing with hot water. This didn't work, so I resigned myself to renting the auger. I still had half of the bottle left, so poured it down the drain and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning the drain was clear!
So, great stuff, just be prepared for waiting more than 15 minutes for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: give it more time to work than instructions say
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
KonaTom
from Big Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as Advertised!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been struggling with a sluggish shower drain for over a year. Tried pretty much all the commercial drain cleaners, the best one gave me about two days of slightly better drain performance. I admit I was so frustrated that I didnt follow the dose chart...I poured the entire 67 ounce bottle down the drain. In the morning I boiled up about a gallon of water and poured it down the drain. My heart sank when I heard the pipe filling up (as though it was going to overflow)..but then WHOOOSH!!! Everything went down in a few seconds. I could hear water hitting the pipe at the bottom of the drain. LOL OH JOY!! I'm a happy camper!! Aside item...I THINK I saw on the bottle that you're not supposed to use it in sinks..but on here it says you can, and some people said they do...be careful.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
balmer03
from altooma pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The BEST!!!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product after reading the reviews and must say it works Great!! I used other products that helped,but drain remained slow. I put this product in at night and waited till morning, turned on hot water in morning and after running hot water for about a minute I heard a Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Great product Buy and try it it works
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Kristoff
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works When All Others Have Failed...

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I had little faith in this product as I have used many others that have failed miserably. My Wife owns a Hair Salon with 3 Shampoo Bowls that have consistently backed up due to the amount of hair that was being washed down the drains. I have tried several other industrial products that did not do what I felt would be at least a sub par job. When I saw this product and read the reviews I figured it couldn't hurt to give it a shot since there was a 100% money back guarantee. To my Surprise I used the one 67.6oz bottle between the 3 Shampoo Bowels, let it sit overnight, and voila !!! All 3 sinks drain as if they were NEW!! To think that I almost bought 2 bottles thinking that there was NO Way that one would do the job I was proven Wrong. I will be buying another bottle to use on my stubborn house tub & sink and will be spreading the word on the Wonderful Job that this product has done for me. Don't Think Twice about purchasing this product for any Tough Jobs you may have : )
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
MM2013
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought a house and had a slow drain in the bathtub. I bought an auger trying to be a do it yourselfer but was unsuccessful in the attempt. I went back to home depot and one of the workers told me to try it, WOW!!! forget a plumber..this is a plumber in a bottle! I did what the rep told me, poured it in, let it sit about 15-30 minutes came back and flushed it with hot water for about 10 minutes and the drain was cleared! Try this before shelling out hundreds on a plumber!! Liquid gold in a bottle!
Pros: High Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
BellaBlue
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best drain cleaner EVER!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needs more stars. After taking the PVC pipes off the bathroom sink and cleaning them,I found that the blockage was past the visible pipes. It was in the pipes in the wall. I tried a 10 foot snake and ZEP Drain Build Up Remover which did NOTHING. Not wanting to call a plumber I went back to Home Depot and bought Instant Power Hair and Grease Drain Opener. The directions said use 2 cups and let it sit for 1 hour or overnight. I used 3 cups and waited overnight. In the poured boiling water down the drain and heard the lovely Whoosh sound and immediatelly the drain was open. Don't bother with the other products that claim they work, they don't. This is the only one that does and I will buy no other!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
DMLR
from Mount Laurel, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME PRODUCT!!!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So very happy we gave this product a shot! Our kitchen sink was completely backed up. Being a novice "DIYer" I had to try to clear the clog myself before calling a plumber. My first attempt was with baking soda and vinegar, which failed multiple tries. I then headed to Home Depot to buy a snake. My husband suggested that prior to trying to snake, I should pick up a chemical drain cleaner. After rolling my eyes, as nothing we have ever tried before really worked, I said I would check. After selecting my snake, I headed to the plethora of chemical products knowing that this would be a waste of $$ and time. I noticed that of all the products displayed, one was especially depleted and figured it must be a good seller. After reading the 100% money back guarantee and that it wouldn't harm my plumbing, I added it to my cart. BEST MONEY I EVER SPENT on a drain clearing product bar none!! I brought it home, read the full directions, then call the Instant Power customer service 800 number because I was concerned about mixing the Hair and Grease with the vinegar and baking soda. Did not have to press one for English. The customer service rep told me run about ten gallons of water through as the it would lessen the effectiveness of the Hair and Grease. I did and waited for the water to trickle out. When the water finally emptied, I poured in the Hair and Grease waited 24 hours then boiled a couple gallons of water and poured it into the sink. To my total amazement, it worked. Running out today to buy more, just to have it on hand! Couldn't be happier and I can't stop telling friends and family about this awesome product.
Pros: Easy to Use, really works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Haney
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the "Miracle" Stuff You need!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Believe me I don't usually do reviews but felt I had to with this Miracle product. I had tried snaking, using a plunger , thought maybe the drain was frozen and then found out about this product. My bathtub drain would not budge not a drop would go down. Even in a little standing water I poured about a 1/4 of the bottle in. After approx. 2 hours I heard a gurgling sound and "Bam" the Clog was gone. I poured the rest of the bottle in for good measure, and ran hot water after about 20 minutes. I was about to call a plumber and this stuff came along. This is the "miracle" you are looking for. Buy it, Try it, and then go and enjoy the rest of your life. Yes It Is "That Good" and no smell no mess, just Success!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
jmw19
from State College, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me, but not the product's fault

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried this on a stubborn kitchen drain clog, which ended up being at least 2 inches of solid grease mixed with bean bag pellets. The moral of this story is don't clean your shop vac out inside.
Anyway, I removed the trap and got as much standing water out of the drain pipe as I could, then added a full large bottle of this stuff. After 12 hours and a full kettle of boiling water, there was no evidence of draining.
A 50 foot auger and lots of elbow grease finally made it through the grease plug and got water flowing again. The auger brought back a 2-inch thick section of grease and styrofoam, so the plug was at least that thick. I don't know that any chemical could have made much progress against that.
I plan to give this stuff another try when the bathtub starts draining slowly again, though - I like that it doesn't contain bleach, which really doesn't do much but smell bad.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Jeff
from Crawfordsville, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my wife and I moved into a rental home the basement drains seemed to be hopelessly clogged. We tried liquid plumber, plunger, auger but nothing worked.
I poured half of the bottle into each drain then let it set for 24 hours. The standing water had disappeared and when I poured hot water down the drains they drained very quickly.
We use this now every few months on the bigger drains and especially in the showers and tub to keep them free of hair. We also pour a few ounces down the sink drains once a month to break down any grease buildup.
This is the best product I've used and short of pouring straight HCl or H2SO4 down the drains and running the risk of eating through the cast iron there isn't any other product that comes close to how this stuff works. It is also VERY cheap compared to other products that are out there.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Mosa

Worked almost immediately

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked amazingly well and fast. I used another declogger previously, and saw no improvement. Used a bit of the instant power and was pleasantly surprised.
Pros: works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Segatech
from Ypsilanti MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't believe the hype!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this stuff didn't work for me, it made things worse because it had to be drained out. You must wear safety gear when using this stuff or you will suffer chemical burns! I gave this stuff 2 days to do its job on a small blockage in my sewer pipes that was grease build up. I know this because i snaked it out, I had standing water in my duel sinks I poured 1 gallon of this stuff in there waited 48 hours with no luck just acid soup in my sinks it did eat at some of the corrosion though just didn't penetrate the actual blockage!
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
hckl8913

Best drain opener ever

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My bathroom drains have been clogged for about 2 weeks. Take a shower and it doesn't drain do laundry and it backs up in to tub and toilets, toilets will not flush or drain ( gross I know). I have tried everything and thought maybe my outside pipes had broke since house was built in 53. Saw the reviews on this and though ok lets try it what do I have to loose. Poured half of the bottle in the drain and waited 3 hours, flushed with boiling water and the water backed up in the tub. Thought oh well something else that did not work. Took a shower and went to bed, when i woke up in the morning tub was empty and when I poured water down the toilet it went down. This stuff is amazing. Only drain cleaner I will ever buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Eric
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A miracle for clogged drains

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our washing machine (and adjacent utility sink) drain was clogged up after years of washing. Regular products did nothing at all to break up the clog and the sink would fill with waste water every time the washer emptied.
I put in 6 cups of this (4 cups in the washer pipe and 2 cups down the sink drain) and waited 3 hours. Overnight is highly recommended but I was impatient.
Flush it with the hottest water you can. The sink filled once again with water but I decided to run a small quick washer load. The sink filled up from the washer water but after 10-15 minutes the water started going down and the drain was completely clear!
It may help to have water pressure like that to finish off the clog and flush it down. Waiting overnight for the product to work probably would have been a good idea, too.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
Emme
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than LiquidPlumber and Drano!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Okay, here's the story. I have an atypical shower because I live near the beach - it is essentially an outdoor shower that happens to be indoors. There is only one hole in the floor, no alternate drain access or unit. When I first moved in, I noticed that the "unique" setup might be a problematic (small price to pay for living on the beach, I thought). Two weeks later and the shower is starting to clog. "Ok, no big deal," I think. And I buy the "Max" Drano brand - a large container. Somehow this makes the clog even worse. So, I ask my mom who suggests I get a auger snake thing but try another chemical. So, I try the LiquiPlumber brand - again, a large container. The clog gets even worse! This time the shower becomes unusable for a week (thankfully my gym isn't too far, so I get ready there for a week). Meanwhile, I have time to stop by Home Depot and talk to their resident plumbing professional. He says that snake may not work for my particular "unique" shower setup and recommends this stuff instead. I tell I'm super-skeptical but he convinces me and away I go with a regular-sized bottle. After letting half the bottle sit for 30 minutes and rinsing with *hot* water (not water that gets hot gradually, but filling a bucket of hot water from another source) - the clog is 70% better. For one, it actually drains after an hour (not overnight, like before!). So, I use the last half of the bottle, pour down some more *hot* water, and voila! The clog is GONE.
It works! Now I'm not sure why the other stuff doesn't work quite so well, but oh well.
Side note: I will also be getting a finer grain mesh for the shower drain as I'm not a fan of chemicals, in general, for household use. But for a short-term, emergency fix, this does work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: be sure to rinse with hot water from other source
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
SoSatisfied
from Bronx, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The ONLY thing that has actually worked

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had two clogged tubs and kept purchasing the most expensive products which contained very few ounces and smelled so harsh I had to leave my own home. This product worked better and faster than any other.... I will recommend this to all my friends.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
suspence

Believe all the reviews!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff works like a champ. I did exactly like everyone else said, dump in directly to the drain, let it sit overnight, boil a big pot of water in the morning and pour down. I had two drains (shower and sink) that were slow to drain. I could only take a shower for a minute before it got so bad. I used this product and I can take relaxing showers once again!
I used half the bottle for each drain, rather than the directions which calls for less. I feel a little bad for dumping chemicals down my drain, but I was at my wits end. I bought an auger and it seemed to only push down the problem farther. I will definitely buy this again if my drains want to act up.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 67.6 oz. Hair and Grease Drain Opener
m1712
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is awesome!!!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After about 3 months of issues with my clogged bathtub, I needed something that would really get rid of the problem. I tried Draino and the baking soda/ vinegar combo, and just about everything I saw online but that would only fix the issue for a few days and we'd be back to showering with our ankles covered with water. A coworker told me about Instant Power Hair & Grease drain opener and I finally got around to getting it last night. I put it in my bathtub drain and let it work all night. This morning I woke up and poured a gallon of hot water straight down the drain!!! It worked great! I don't think I've ever heard water rushing down the drain and that's what it did this morning. I'm so happy that I finally found something that works!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>