728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Closet Organizers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod

SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod

The ClosetMaid 48 in. SuperSlide Shelf Kit combines a shelf and closet rod to provide versatile storage options. The durable wire shelf mounts directly to your wall and holds up to 40 lb., while the attached rod provides 4 ft. of hanging space. The rod is designed to allow hangers to slide continuously for easy adjustment.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
Review 1 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Awesome and easy to install

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So I went to purchase this system last night at the local Home Depot and they have the best service. I made a couple of other purchases while I was in the store as well. I went home to install this shelving system for my now 2 year olds bedroom. The directions were so concise its easy to understand. I didnt even use a drill. I used my rubber mallet and the screws that came with the shelving kit. It took about an hour or so for me to install it. (My 2 year old kept moving the parts from upstairs to downstairs)
I actually like this shelving kit better than the builders grade that is already installed in the closet. As you can tell in the picture the builders grade shelf is the top shelf and it limits how much you can put on the shelf because it doesn't have a rod.
The shelving kit has a rod that has no limits or brackets and you can hang a lot more on the rod.
I should have installed the shelving kit lower but I will re position it later down the road.
I am very happy and please with this shelving kit with closet rod and would recommend this to anyone who wants to add more storage in their closet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Sheridan, WY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This product worked very well in our laundry room

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was ideal for added shelf space in our laundry room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Excellent product for a simple DIY project.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was very easy to assemble and instruction were clear and consice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Barefoot Bay, Fl.
Gender:Male

Worked great for my needs

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use 1X2's to mount this shelf to the wall. And also added a couple of braces. I wanted it extra strong to hold both some tool and also clothes. Might seem to much to do and added expense to some but I knew what I was getting and what I wanted before I purchased the shelves. Works great for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shelf is easy to install and I actually had to cut to fit my closet and it worked like a charm. Very sturdy!!!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Covington, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A great product, that is very versitial for your application

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Can adapt to any type wall and height to customize your closet needs. Very easy to install
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod

Functional

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have installed this before in a master closet. It was a great way to inexpensively and easily add a shelf and a rod. The second kit I purchased was missing its hardware, so check for that. Otherwise, the first kit had all the bells and whistles like the end caps to cover the sharp edges of the wire and wall anchors to easily mount in sheetrock. Some battery powered tools go a long way to making this install go fast.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Tulsa, OK, USA

It's all in the installation.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If installed well these wire shelf systems will give years of service.I have 6 of these in various configurations in my home. 4 are 35 yrs old, the other 2 have been replaced / exchanged for cosmetics. All have preformed well above their rated limits.
Installation tips: Keep all clips & hardware level & inline, Both side to side & front to back. locate and screw into the wall studs whenever possible (use a stud finder). Use both a back clip & support bracket at each stud utilized. 3 brackets 7 clips for this shelf. if using the plastic wall clips purchase extra clips & some 1/4 in. anchors & screws. take a few of the clips and snap off the anchor, use one as a template to mark your hole & clip positions. Alternate the clips, one right side up the next upside down. lay the clips out as evenly as possible starting and ending with a right side up clip. Use screws, not pins. Install the up clips first, & hang the shelf, then install the down anchorless clips. (Use those anchors you bought) Or just purchase a pack of the 7561 clips and simplify everything.
When installing the brackets position the fork end of the bracket with a front to back wire on the shelf between the fork. if you can't screw into a stud use a 1 1/2 to 2 in. washer behind each bracket. (distributes weight) Install the rod and your done! You will have a solid shelf/rack that will last years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, looks good
Cons: pain to clean if used in high traffic area, rod kits could use additional hardware
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from New York
Gender:Male

overall product is worth the money if they put all the parts in it

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was used to putting up wire shelving, so no problems doing so, but they shorted me one support bracket, which was aggravating. I improvised, as getting in touch or making a trip to get one was impossible (NYC location, was reason for having it shipped).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy
Cons: shorted me a support bracket on one of them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Clarksville, TN

Great Shelving Kit

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought two of the 6ft super slide shelf kits at my local home depot store.... a few bucks more than the 4ftr. The lady that worked there was really helpful and she cut the wire shelves a few inches so it would fit my closet. The only hard part was sawing the rods to length. All-in-all, it was money worth spent and I doubled my hanging and shelf space! I'd definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a simple shelf/rod kit.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod

Exactly what we needed

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought a home, and there was a wall in our walk in closet with nothing on it. We wanted to add another hanging bar for our clothes. This product was easy to install, and so far has been working great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Windsor, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This was a great product as it came with all the parts needed to install. It is perfect in my laundry room--it's sturdy .

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shelf is great for organizing my laundry/pantry with baskets. It had such great directions and everything needed for the install so we didn't have to make multiple trips to the store. Thanks for a great product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Very sturdy

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy-when properly installed. Used 1X4 for wall cleats, back wall and both ends-- (routered a pattern on bottom edge). One center angle bracket on center (stud anchored). Used supplied wall hangers (modified) to keep shelf from moving away from the back wall. Looks great, must have at least 50 lbs. of load on it; no sag or movement. Have used this system before; the hollow wall anchors work well for LIGHT duty only. I haven't had any good results with them.
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from 38004
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Decent quality for the price. All parts were included.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy instructions, Helps organize and all parts are included. Follow instructions and you should not have any problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Taylor, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Easy intallation. All parts needed were included.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple and easy to install. Like that all the wall inserts and tabs & supports were included in package. Perfect size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod

48 in. SuperSlide Shelf Kit with bar

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the product is what it is... easy to install and inexpensive. It is more fllimsy than I anticpated when ordering on line. Even mounted correctly it is a bit wobbly to even modest pressure. It was a quick fix for a shelf w hanging bar we needed in the laundry room. I imagine it will last us a few months or maybe a year and I will put up something heavier and more stable.
It works but a great definitive solution to shelving needs if you can afford better.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Anaheim, CA

Poorly designed product

PostedMarch 31, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had two of these installed in two different closet and both failed within 6 months of use. The problem with these are that the little brackets that hold the top shelf on the wall are not strong enough hold up the clothes on the hangers. This is probably one of the most poorly designed product I have ever seen. I guess you get what you paid for.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great product!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are using this in our laundry room, great product!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from MA

What a pain

PostedAugust 26, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 5 of these shelves and 2 of the 6 ft with pole for a bedroom closet. I admit I am not the most handy guy out there, but I figured wire shelves would not be a problem. It was. First of all it's poorly designed. The bracket that attaches to the front of the shelve to the wall, doesn't hold the shelve in place at all. Even when nothing is on the shelf, when I hammered other shelves, they would come apart. I thought maybe once there was some weight it would hold in place....no. I finally went back to home depot and found side mounts, which were relatively inexpensive, but none the less, I thought I bought a package that would do the job. Even these side mounts don't fit in perfectly, but it did the job, for now. Extra aggrevation and the fact that the mounts seems to hold the shelve the wrong way in front, I would not recommend this product. I would recommend buying the side mounts if you do decide to purchase this product.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SuperSlide 4 ft. x 12 in. Shelf Kit with Closet Rod
from Frederick, OK 73542, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Good buy for the money.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is a little time consuming to set up but not horribly. Looks nice and holds what it says it will. Very pleaaed that I was able to transform the closet and spend less than $200.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>