728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 80 gal. 12 Year Tall Electric High Efficiency water heater provides a ample supply of hot water for a 3 plus bath home. This unit comes with two 5500 watt elements, a factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and requires a 240 volt electrical connection for installation. The automatic thermostat keeps the water at desired temperature. The 12 year model features a stainless steel upper element which resists dries firing and scale build-up. This model also comes with a self cleaning system that helps reduce sediment and increases tank life and is easy to maintain. This model has a 12 year tank and parts limited warranty.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Fantastic

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Glad I spent the extra money on this one. The cheaper "Good" GE 80 gallon (GE80T06AAG) only has 4500watt elements and is physically smaller, so that tank has less insulation. This tank is always cold to the touch.
Installation went really well. Don't forget to prop up the tank on bricks or spacers BEFORE you fill it! (ask me how I know, lol). I used Pergo floor samples (FREE and very strong) from Home Depot to shim my tank off the ground and actually did it while the tank was full. It was very heavy but eventually I got it.
I've yet to run out of hot water in my 2 family house with 3 bathrooms. Initial heat up took about 1.5hrs to get really warm, but I guess that's to be expected with that much water! Haven't had an issue since I installed in Oct 2011.
I say go for this one. It's quality, the replacement elements are at Home Depot, and the warranty is great. Last heater was a GE and they took care of me when I needed them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

installation

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Can't say much as to the quality, as I just had it installed today. I did however, blow the breaker a half of a dozen times bringing it up to temperature. The 30 amp circuit with 10 gauge wire is to code, and within specs. I do, however, have a well. I loaded 80 gallons of 55 degree water into the tank.
The electrical circuit is designed for a 30 amp draw, just not for an hour continuously. When it tripped, I just gave the breaker a 5 minute 'cool down', and put it back in..
We are up to temperature now. I have more hot water than I know what to do with. As far as I am concerned, no problem. Just be aware of what may happen on the initial startup.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from New England
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value - Great performer by Rheem

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this installed by a professional plumber. It took 3 guys, 3 hours to replace my existing tank going from an indirect 41 Gallon Amtrol, to this.
I've doubled my tank size to 80 Gallons with this unit. It's sturdy, good looking and works great. It's got the higher wattage 5500W elements as opposed to most tanks that have 4500W. This translates to faster heat times as well as faster recovery times.
I ran out of hot water with my last 41 Gal tank twice. I've yet to run out with this 80 Gallon. Also, when we first turned on the unit, I checked the amperage going through it - approximately 7Amp when filled with cold well water - heated it up to 125 degrees in 75 minutes. I adjusted the thermostats up 5 degrees from default which was easy to do. In other words, this unit appears to sip electricity.
I ordered this online and picked up in the store - good experience and they helped me load it into my truck.
For accessories, I got a 30amp disconnect, 10/2 wire, 2 30amp fuses for the disconnect, a 26 inch plastic drip pan, and 3 - 2 inch tall cement blocks to place the tank on. I already had the 30Amp breaker in my possession. I ran my own electrical. The installation looks great and this appears to be a high quality unit (not necessarily what I expected from Home Depot).
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks, fast heat times, efficient in a good way
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Northern Minnesota

Ge 80 gallon tall water heater

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this 80 gallon water heater in 2003 and have been more than satisfied with the amount of water when needed and the energy efficiency of having a larger tank. I have a large home with 5 bathrooms so I do need a large tank. Recently I needed a new tank for my attached apartment and also a half bath. I have a jacuzzi single bath tub in the apartment so I need a fair amount of hot water to use that tub. Because of the excellent quality in the tank I installed in 2003 I put the same tank in the apartment. It provides ample hot water for the tub. If you have the space for this large of a tank I would highly recommend installing this in even a smaller home
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Nashville, TN

GE Hot Water Heater

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The first store I called didn't have stock, but the second one did. It is a tall unit, so make sure you have room for it. Installation was very straight forward. I was replacing a unit with 5500 watt elements, so I was wired for it, and wanted to stay with the faster heat times. The overpressure valve in on top instead of the side, so it took a little more time and trouble to run the piping from it, but not a big deal. We worked it hard catching up on household use, and it is doing fine! This unit is built by Rheem, and I've read many good things about their products! So far, so good!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Nashville, TN

another replacement water heater

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed and have been using the new water heater for a month now. Installation was straight forward. I was replacing a 50 gallon hot water heater with 5500 watt elements in it (which I'd installed 9 years ago) so my electric was ready for it. The unit is very clean, but taller than the others I've had, so I had to adjust my plumbing, and the stand I put it on. The over-pressure valve is on top instead of on the side, so I had to stub in a new pipe for it in case of emergency. Unit is working very well, and even with teenagers in the house, the supply of hot water has not failed us. Great unit, built by Rheem, with good reviews most everywhere. I'd buy the same unit again, but with the 12 year paperwork, I don't expect I'll have to buy another one very soon!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from West Palm Beach, FL.

Install to Hot Water in less than 2 hours!

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit to replace my 10 yr old A.O. Smith heater that was rusting and leaking. The GE unit is made by Rheem (its their Imperial brand) and I have always loved Rheem / GE products (I just replaced my Central AC witha Rheem). The installation could not have been smoother - it took more time to drain the old one and move it out of the way than it did to plumb and wire the new one. Filled with water and turned it on - I had hot water in 30 minutes. Great warranty too ( 12 years) - and a Stainless Steel Anode - which is why I chose this model. I was also looking at the Kenmore unit, but this one had better reviews, and of course, its a Rheem!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Longview, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Up to the task

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this as a replacement for a 13 year old 50 gallon heater before we had 15 family members visit for a week. No one complained of a cold shower in spite of laundry and dishes being done daily as well. Not sure about energy savings yet.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check inside the box before you leave the store

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I bought this I checked the outside of the box for damage. It looked good. Lugged it home, it's not a light unit!, Down into the basement finally..... opened the box and there was a very large dent in the side. The box did not show any damage and clearly the unit was packed damaged. I had to lugg it back to the store and Home Depot replaced it no problem...but I had it opened up and checked before I left the store! Appreciated store people's help. They repacked and loaded it for me.
Apart from that, the replacement unit installed easily and looks well made and solid. Worked fine, as advertised. Recommend Home Depot SharkJaw connectors - real easy. Cut the pipe, file the rough spots inside and out and push the connectors on. Could'nt be easier. Downed the score because of the dented unit. Manufacturer needs to improve his quality control.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Cleveland, OH

If you have the room, get it!

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having an all electric house, we are stuck with the slow recovery times inherent to electric hot water tanks. I finally lost all my patience with my Whirlpool water heater, and decided to give GE a try. I was delighted to find that this 80 gallon unit, though large, would fit in my utility closet. It is significantly harder to man-handle than the 50 gallon unit I was replacing, but it was worth it! Some how, this unit heats 80 gallons of ice cold water to 125F faster than my old 50 gallon unit ever could. Not only that, but with 80 gallons of hot water on hand, I will be hard pressed to ever exhaust my supply! Now my wife can take her 45 min showers, and I don't have to hear her complain about running out of water.
If you are in the same boat I am, and gas is not an option, this is definitely the way to go. I am glad I spent the extra cash and stepped up to the 80 gallon GE unit. The 12 year warranty is a nice touch, too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water Heater

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Super easy install, followed suggestions of others, and the job was done in well under an hour. Works like a charm. We have a 6 ft Kohler soaking tub and it fills it perfectly with wonderful HOT water. 15 minutes later you could take a hot shower as well. Terrific, couldn't be happier. The only reason I am not saying excellent on quality is it was just installed, and I haven't seen the electric bill yet, but so far we are very pleased.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Happy Valley, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast and Efficient

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were straight forward. Packaging was easy to negotiate. After installation, I was shocked as to how fast hot water was restored. I figured I'd be having a cold shower 15 minutes after turning it on, but was I ever wrong! We were running our dishwasher within the hour. Quality seems good. If I had one wish, it would be that the pressure valve could be turned to a different direction. Oh well, a few pipes and elbows later, I had it directed to where I needed. And as for the color, hey, it ain't Harvest Gold like the one I removed!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Vienna, Virginia

Great Water Heater! Heating very fast.

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Adding a full bath in our basement, I need to replace our 7-year-old 50 gal electrical water heater with a bigger one. After research, I decided to get this one based on its excellent reviews and its efficiency number (0.92).
At beginning, because of its labeled weight (190 lb) , I was worried if I can handle it myself, since I am not a "big" guy (5'6, 140lb). After I went local HD store to "feel" the weight, I felt I could Do It Myself too.
With the help of HD store personnel, the box was loaded in my minivan (back seats removed). Carefully drove to home and to the back yard, unloaded the box myself, and shifted the box little by little from back yard into basement. Unpacked the box, and shifted the water heater into place. Connected and soldered water pipes, filled in water. Connected power lines, turned it on.
About 15 or 20 minutes after the water heater turned on, I took a hot shower to wash away the sweat I got when I shifted/moved the water heater. What a fast water heater! It's a 80 gallon water heater, and heats up in 20 minutes! I will never worry about running out of hot water in my house again!
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Conyers, Ga

Great buy, Recommend to Other

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant on buying this due to the price, but replaced 2 water heaters with this one and alot of hot watter
Great product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Easy to install, lots of hot water

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to install, recommend buying the sharkbite flex hoses for the water lines (no soldering). Provides lots of hot water for a full house of 4 adults.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Jupiter, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thiis is our second water heater in as many years. In fact, this heater's lower element corroded through after 8 months. We have a family of teenagers and this size water heater will try to keep up, but the water always goes cold when the garden tub is about half full. Very dissapointed in the quality and manufacture of this unit. Will return this for store credit and purchase another brand.
Cons: shoddy workmanship
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, PA 18612, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

First week after Installation is good

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, what an improvement for our family of 4 going from our 16 yo 50 gallon hot water heater. We are last minute people who shower first thing in the morning. So with our old hot water heater, I got the end of the hot water, which wasn't very hot at all. With this 80 gallon heater, we can take showers in our own bathrooms at the same time. My only disappointment was like the previous poster, my hot water heater had 2 dents in the shell. I called the store and they told me it should not make a difference because it was only in the shell and there was a lot of insulation underneath so it would not damage the tank. Now I am watching my electric bill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Hockessin Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hot Water Heater

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hot water heater was ready for pickup within the hour of ordering online. Installation was a snap and the water heater is operating perfectly. Thanks Home Depot!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Somerville, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Should have upgraded my water heater sooner. GREAT, my family really loves it.

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have just installed this 80 gallon water heater with the 12 year warranty which replaced my old 50 gallon heater. We have been using it now for almost a month. My household now has six individuals and two bathrooms. With this 80 gallon water heater we have ALL been able to take a shower, wash a load of clothes in the washer, and a load of dishes in the dishwasher without running out of HOT water in the same night. We had no installation issues with it but I advised you not to pick it by yourself because it is heavy. I had some help putting it in the catch pan and stand ( I made my own stand so it would handle the weight load when the heater is full of water.). I will try to post updates if I have any issues with this water heater. The only reason I did not max out the reviews is it's a new installation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 80 gal. Tall 12 Year 5500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Troy, IL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Water Heater Makes A High Pitched Ringing Noise...

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Landlord bought this water heater and installed it two days ago. I'm now hearing this annoying high pitched ringing noise every time the elements come on to heat the water. I've tried to find out what is causing the ringing noise to no avail.
Pros: No Leaks, heats the water great
Cons: makes annoying ringing noise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>