728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant

10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant

3M 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant maintains its hold for up to 2 hours in fire and heat. Use the sealant to help protect your indoor windows and floors from damage. It bonds to numerous materials, including wood and metal.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product4 of 5reviews
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product4 of 5reviews
Customer reviews for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant
Review 1 for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant
from Eden Prairie,MN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Building my own smoker

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product worked great for sealing up the cracks and holes.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant
from Matthews NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

10.1 FL )Z fire-barrier sealant

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
or
the product work exactly as it should. simple to use and cleans up well.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant

Expired Product

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had the same issue as one of the reviewers, who was told it might be expired. I did some digging online, the code is:
Example: 8183AS
8 = Last digit of year manufactured
183: = Julian Date
AS: = Random to distinguish between lot numbers
So, I was able to determine that my product, bought 3/25/15, expired on 6/4/14. It's going back tomorrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant

Too Thick

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff was way too thick to actually be applied as a caulk. It basically came out as plastic. Threw away the open tube and returned the second one.
Cons: hard to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By 3M Product ExpertDecember 16, 2014By 3M Product ExpertDecember 16, 2014
Please check the expiration on the sealant. It sounds like the product has expired.3m-homeenergy
Review 5 for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant
from 1004 Taft, Houston, TX 77019
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, City of Houston approved project and requested this particular product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10.1 fl. oz. Fire-Barrier Sealant
from MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High Temp Application

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed a new Aprilaire 800 Series steam humidifier in my house. I needed a product to seal the the steam injector spray head into the ductwork. This was the least expensive of the 2 choices (same brand) that were handy for immediate purchase as I was in a hurry to get the job done. The product worked flawlessly and after 3 weeks, no sign of leakage. It did it's job well.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.