728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wood Conditioners & Oils or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish

1-qt. Tung Oil Finish

The Minwax 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish penetrates wood pores and revitalizes dry interior wood surfaces such as furniture, antiques, woodwork, cabinets, doors and paneling. The finish provides a hand-rubbed luster that is easy to maintain, and it can be applied over stained and unstained wood. It is formulated for an application with a brush or cloth.
Overall rating:
3.133 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
Review 1 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from America, The Beauty-full
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Results

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to rag on, wipe off. Application takes at least two coats (depending on how much of a sheen you're looking for) and 24 hours of dry time in between coats. Used this to finish an 1850's barn beam for a mantel. Only needed to wipe clean with mineral spirits to prep. This tung oil really brings out the color of the oak, without looking too finished. great to work with, love the results.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use, great results

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been using this product for years, and was nearly scared off by the hyperventilating labeling police. It still works as it has always promised. If you want to use tung oil, pay $70 a quart. If you want a reasonably priced, extremely easy to apply product that produces an excellent finish when you follow the simple directions, use this one.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from Rogers, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Deception irritates me

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In researching oils finishes for wood, I discovered that "tung oil finish" products may contain a mixture of tung oil with other thinning/finishing agents. I learned this after I paid 20 bucks for this product, which I thought was 100 % "Tung Oil." After using this to finish 2 cane projects, I kept wondering why it smelled strongly of mineral spirits, so I looked on the can. It doesn't tell you the ingredients. I looked at the online MSDS sheet and it contains 65% mineral spirits. O.K. It does not show having any tung oil, at all. I did more research and wikipedia says: "It should be noted that many products labelled as "tung oil finishes" are deceptively labelled: polymerized oils, wiping varnishes, and oil/varnish blends have all been known to be sold as tung oil finishes (sometimes containing no tung oil at all)." More research tells me I can use boiled linseed oil as well as tung oil (more expensive) and make my own blend of "tung oil finish" product for a lot less. Marketing deception is very irritating--thus far, I cannot find anything that states this product has any tung oil in it. Such deception causes me to want to boycott all miniwax products. Regarding quality of product, I'll have to wait and compare it to use of real tung oil/linseed oil. My guess is, that when i create my own mixture it will far exceed this product, as my research also indicates the veteran experts on oil finishes create there own mix as oppossed to being duped by some marketing ploy. This product label should read: Tung oil "like" finish, and clearly state it does not contain tung oil. Wonder how that would effect sales. See my point.
+64points
68out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from Fairview NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DISOPINTED WITH INGREDIENTS

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I also thought this had at least a part tung oil mixed in with the minerial spirits. the coverage works but if you're doing regular finishing rethink your options.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish

One star for deceptive labeling

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like another reviewer, I also bought this product thinking it was pure tung oil. However it does say "Tung Oil Finish" so I should have figured it was more of a varnish product and not a pure product. Please note: A Tung Oil Finish product should not be used as a flooring finish, use only for woodworking projects. And if you have nut allergies (tung oil is made from nuts) - be careful when and where you use this. And if you need the real deal 100% Tung Oil - it will be labeled as such and Home Depot does not carry the pure Tung Oil.
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from San Diego, CA.

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Min-wax "Tung Oil" Is an excellent product for finishing wood projects with ease. Correctly applied, this product will enhance the wood's grain with a smooth satin luster.
I have used this product on many woodworking projects over the years and the finish it gives to the wood is fantastic. After it has fully cured I also apply a light coat of wax with a hand rubbed finish. If you are wondering what finish to use for your next woodworking project, I recommend this one. Of course you understand that this product has its limits as far as protection from the elements. That said, I've actually used it on some wood railing with the final wax application and it has held up very nicely after two years !
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from North Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but way over priced

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff worked great.
However I just needed a few ounces to do a small job but had to spend nearly $20 to get it. It should be sold in a smaller container so you can buy just what you need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: over priced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from washington dc

poor substitute for the real thing

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a varnish with 65% mineral spirits or naptha solvent - the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) has conflicting information. The other 35% is not listed apart from a 0.2% of a cobolt compound which is used as a drying agent in paints and varnishes.
Cons: misleading name
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very dissapointing performance.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want the performance of Tung Oil i.e. a solvent free, oxidizing oil wood finish then this is NOT the product for you. It is a deceptively labelled wiping varnish containing no tung oil but containing 65% mineral spirits.
If you have experience with real tung oil you will be greatly disappointed with the fumes and poor results.
Cons: poor performance, fumes
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from Yonkers, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Refinished many a milsurp stock with this stuff

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this on milsurp stocks for years now. Many a Garand and '03 stock has been redone with this stuff in my house, usually after the "dishwasher method" has removed all the old finish. Highly recommended!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish

Too EXPENSIVE!!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Despite the ratio of indgredients and it's misleading labeling people have written about referring to the amount of actual tung oil mixed with mineral spirits; this product does work pretty well and gives a nice finish for hardwoods. I've always found that it brings out the natural colors of the wood quit well. My only complaint on this product is that it is getting more and more EXPENSIVE!! I would ask Minwax & Home Depot to PLEASE find a way to lower the price back to at least $17.00 per can if not less!
Pros: Good Protection
Cons: too expensive
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish

Good Stuff/ Cost too Much

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This Tung Oil is great for preliminary finish coats to protect and bring out the beauty of hardwoods. However, Home Depot has this product priced way too high, and I wish they would lower the price or put this product on Sale occasionally.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Protection
Cons: high price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish

Dont blame Minwax for your lack of knowledge

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is clearly labeled as a Tung oil FINISH, not Tung oil. A oil finish is known to be an oil (linseed or Tung), Mineral Spirits, and varnish mixture. That is why you smell the spirits because that is what it is supposed to have in it. Yes you can do this yourself and many do because it is cheaper but you are paying for convenience here. You always pay more for convenience.
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from Baltimore
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As the label states. Tung Oil Finish.. This is not pure. Its a mix. Read labels before buying something is what its all about.. This is a amazing product and gives a great finish if you know how to use it!
I make Drums and after 15 coats this stuff looks better than lacquer and is easily repaired if dinged. Great and Would recommend to everyone
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-qt. Tung Oil Finish
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Tung oil is a great, fun to use, durable, historic finish!

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even though it has limits in its resistance to moisture, it was used for that on old wooden ships. It just had to be applied and reapplied. I have some water rings that need to be fixed on an old pine chest (that looks like a lot like cherry, with a rich look that's hard to get in pine), but in all, it's pretty moisture resistant. And there is more: give your item a hand-rubbed finish (that is, check to make sure any additional ingredients are safe for this): you will not believe what it does for your hands! No wonder those old sailors had such soft hands.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.