728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix

8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix

This 8 qt. resealable bag of Better-Gro Phalaenopsis Mix was developed to provide the proper moisture control for encouraging Phalaenopsis plant and root growth. It is an organic, fertile mixture of Canadian chunk peat blended with western fir bark, hardwood charcoal and coarse sponge rock. Use this mix when re-potting your orchids to give them the drainage, air flow and root ventilation they need to thrive.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
Review 1 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
Gender:Female

Good mix

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I repotted all of my orchids with this mix. It's been a few weeks & I've seen major improvements. It was shipped quickly & packaged well.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
from Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is exactly what I needed

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased another product that was supposed to be for re-potting orchids from another garden store , but it did not do the job. My orchid almost died.
This Phaleanopsis mix is just what I needed. My orchid is now starting to thrive.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, perfect potting mix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix

great product

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My phalaenopsis love this mix. They started putting out new leaves almost immediately. Home Depot price is the lowest I've found for this product.
Pros: Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
from Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like all the different choices of orchid mix that Home Depot offers-I don't have to go to a specialty orchid grower.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like all the different choices of orchid mix that Home Depot offers. I don't have to go to a specialty orchid grower to get what I need for my orchids.
Pros: great for orchids
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
from Ashland, OH 44805, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Orchid mix was exactly as described. The mix was exactly how I would expect a phal orchid mix to look and act. My plants are very happy in this mix. Great for my area since it dries very fast, and humidity is very high here. Maybe use with caution in a area of low humidity because you may need to water more often then you would like.
Pros: Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
from Winter Haven, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great mix. plants are doing great, Nice price, large bag, very clean to use.
Pros: Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
from Cordova, AK 99574, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Orchids & I love this product

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product and so does my orchids. I had purchased many different kinds of orchid potting mediums and none were good enough until purchasing this. My orchids have become so much more healthier, new leaves are growing, new stocks are appearing, and this mix does not cause white water stains on the base of the plants. In other words, it stays dry and moist like it is supposed to. The bark is perfect too.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 qt. Phalaenopsis Mix
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The size of the fir bark is too big.

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The size of the fir bark is too big. I had to break those bark before I can use it. It's time consuming and not an easy job.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.