728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock

1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock

Use the Mueller Global 1/2 in. x 12 in. Brass Anti-Siphon Sillcock to provide a year long source of water to areas of a structure that are subject to freezing. Its integrated backflow device prevents back siphoning.
Overall rating:
1.222 / 5
1.2
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
4%of customersrecommend this product1 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
1.2 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(25)
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4 out of 5
Value 
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4 out of 5
4%of customersrecommend this product1 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Lafargeville, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money!

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this worthless valve two years ago. It failed the first spring. The internal o-ring was partially out of its seat preventing the flow of water. I disassembled the valve and re-seated the o-ring and everything was fine until the second spring. It happened again! Same problem. Only then did I find out the valve was freezing. A "Frost Free" sillcock FREEZING!. I tossed the valve because I could not repair it a second time.
This time I did some research and the Woodford sillcocks were recommended. They are an old style seat valve that won't freeze up like this 1/4 turn valve. They are available at the store with the Blue Logo as opposed to the Orange Logo!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: it freezes up and the o-ring blocks water flow
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst product I have ever seen.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a plumber by trade and purchased two of these sillcocks for my home. I installed them side by side outside so I could hook them up together so I can wash my car with warm water. Both sillcocks leaked. I took them apart and put new washers in them and them put them back together. Turned the water back on and they still leak. I examined them and found nothing wrong, however they continued to leak. Since they both leaked around the handle I took the handles off and turned them back on. The leak was coming up through the stem and out the hole where the screw holds the handle in. In my mind this is an extremely poor design. I wouldn't waste my money on these pieces of garbage.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overpriced Junk

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed unit last spring, worked great all season. Hooked up the hose this spring, opened the valve and the water trickled out! Disconnected supply inside basement and blew compressed air through thinking there may have been a blockage or insects inside, no improvement in flow! Replaced it with 1/4 turn ball valve hose bib.......end of problem! Don't waste your money on this pricey bit of junk!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Littleton CO

Best use is as a CLUB!

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great idea, doesn't last. Not worth your money or time. Can't get repair parts either. Go back to the traditional sillcock that lasts for a decade or two or three. This doesn't deserve 1 star!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hardly freeze proof...

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed this spigot this past fall (2013) while doing some home improvements. It has worked well for an outside faucet during warm weather...until it actually froze. It's absolutely worthless as a freeze-proof faucet. Do not buy if you have temperatures below freezing.
For what its worth, I have taken it apart, thawed it out, reassembled it, and it froze back up within an hour at temperatures around 20F. I have a second outside spigot that is 18 years old and it has yet to freeze.
Pros: no pros
Cons: freezes!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy it.

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On my second one in three years. First one wouldn't let water out so I just replaced the whole thing. The latest one dribbles water out when turned off. Took this one apart, and cannot see what might be wrong. So, if you can't replace a washer or do something simple, = waste of money. I'm not a plumber, but very handy and can usually fix simple plumbing problems things like this.
Both problems occurred when turning the water on for the first time in the spring. Each fall, I do shut the water off from the inside, and open the value to let excess water drain out.
Much to high a failure rate. Spend a few more dollars and buy something of better quality.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock

Poor design, leaks

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others, I found that this sillcock leaks after 3 seasons of use, in an unusual way, through the stem. This is the result of bad design and replacement parts cannot correct it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Custom washer inside tears

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When this product leaks, you can take teh stem out and see that the flat washer where cartridge meets the stem is the culprit. This then lets teh water leak out past the stem. Home Depot doesn't offer parts for this, Mueller has no way to order parts on their website, I contacted them to ask how to get parts, we'll see what happens.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Tennessee

Worthless

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others' posts seem to confirm, this item is worthless. We've bought two of them--both began dripping after about a month. We installed the repair kit--started dripping the moment we hooked it up. We've spent the better part of two days dealing with a defective product that appears to be almost universally reviled. Home Depot, when 23 out of 25 users give a product one star, it's time to find a reliable brand.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Denver
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GARBAGE!!!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just a piece of GARBAGE!!!!
I am a contractor and this is Garbage!!!
Cons: Leaks, garbage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks after 1 year

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was able to use the threaded design so install was easy. Started leaking outside just before the handle after 12 months. Leaks now at about 1 gallon per 30 minutes , had it for 5years now. Its time to buy different brand now. Will see what the store has.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for an Ice skating rink in the backyard!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed this in 2008, and needless to say I will be replacing it in the spring of 2014. In the beginning of Dec.2013 I had an iceskating rink in my backyard. The valve either cracked or just let loose because water was gushing out. I do not have a shut off inside the house because I didn't think it was necessary with this type of valve. So I had to shut the main off, cut the line to the valve and just cap it for now. All this at 10pm in the evening and temps in the 20's. Do not waste your money! Get a ball valve for the inside and shut it down in the winter!
Pros: none
Cons: Leaks, not worth money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock

GIVE THIS ONE ZERO STARS!!

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst piece of trash I've ever seen. I've replaced the cartridge 4 different times (free "fix" from manufacturer) and it has yet to last more than a few months before leaking, malfunctioning, or putting out no water at all. Guaranteed to NOT work in the spring after being idle all winter. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock

Piece of junk

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased and installed this sillcock for a retired neighbor. Same stem leak as other reviews. No repair parts available at HD. Salesman said we sell tons of these. I have been a long time customer of HD but their contiuned sale of a known zero quality product will drive me away. I now must find, purchase, and reinstall another brand sillcock because HD sold me junk. Buyer beware!
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor choice

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this product. No one has repair parts for anti siphon device. The rubber parts crack and the hose bib leaks badly. Both rings are replace and the parts should be readily available at the store of purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: availability of parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fails to open after winter season

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two seasons in a row the faucet sticks shut when I turn on the water supply to it in the spring (I have a shut off valve further inside of the garage). The first season I had to pressurize the pipe between the faucet and the valve with an air compressor to pop it open (at the drain on the ball valve). The second season I could not get it open and will have to replace it.
Cons: not reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Troy, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic Handle, Metal Stem not good!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Three faucets, two with broken plastic handles that broke where the handle grips the metal stem of the faucet. I suspect a turn past the open or closed points of the quarter turn handle was the cause, but the design is poor when torque is applied to plastic against metal. Also, both leaked through the screw hole where the handle is held to the frost free faucet.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No longer stocked

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well, I bought two of these and installed them a couple of years ago. They worked great! So when I decided to add a hose bibb on the side of the house, I went back to buy another. NO LONGER STOCKED! In fact, they didn't have any frost-free hose bibbs at all!
So I must have been in the minority with my good luck with this hose bibb. Apparently, they're not working reliably for the majority . . . .why else would they discontinue them?
My 5-star rating is based on my personal experience and not that reported by others. Now I'm disappointed and also concerned that mine will eventually suffer the same fate as the other reviewers' units.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: no longer available
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Voorhees
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a learning experience!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I never soldered plumbing before, but I did ok. No leaks.
But I used to much heat and damaged the ceramic valve.
I did notice, after the fact, a disclaimer on the sillcock that states excessive heat will screw it up.
Then I watched a "this old house" video and the plumber did the same thing. btw, just remove the nut and pull the stem straight out with pliers.
live and learn. Seems to be a good product, but time will tell.
Pros: No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 12 in. Chrome Plated Brass Anti-Siphon Frost Free Quarter Turn Sillcock
from Detroit Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Negative Experience same as the others

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well for the summer. Then the same problem, leaks through the stem handle mounting hole.
Around the stem handle a steady flow of water. ..was looking this part up for replacement parts after reading these reviews looks like I am going to replace them
Cons: Leaks, no replacement parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>