728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Base or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding

20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding

The ROPPE 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Moulding is made to resist shrinking and separating from walls to help maintain a smooth and attractive appearance. Low cost and good looks highlight Roppe's Vinyl Base. It's extremely durable without sacrificing attractiveness, and very economical because it's made from PVC vinyl.
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product6 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product6 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
Review 1 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
from Fish Haven, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

worked exactly as expected

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 -20 ft. rolls of this base and installed it in my mechanical room. I had read some of the "1-star" reviews before I installed it and have to say I was a little skeptical about trying this self stick product and even called Roppe Customer Service rep. who answered my questions and eased my concerns about going ahead with the installation. I laid the vinyl base out flat for 2 days, heated it a little with a hair dryer right before I stuck it to the wall, and the installation went great. No problem with it sticking to my freshly painted (Porter latex semi-gloss) drywall wall. This was my first experience with installing any kind of wall base and I won't hesitate using this one again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: have be be careful shaving for outside corners
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding

Self-stick wall base molding

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shipped quickly, easy to install. Be sure to roll it out and let it become flat before securing to wall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
from Sacramento, CA

No problems

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had no problems installing this vinyl baseboard. I left it unrolled for at least 24 hours before using and even heated it a bit with a hair dryer before installing, It went on very easily and has stayed attached to the wall. In fact, once it was pressed to the wall, it was impossible to reposition it. Not sure why the other reviewer had so many problems. Maybe it was old and the adhesive had dried out somewhat, or the surface was not properly prepared. I would not hesitate to use this product in the future,
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding

Vinyl review

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this moulding to protect water from going under the wall in my garage when washing down the floor. I applied it to fresh drywall that was painted with Dulux Satin finsh exterior paint.. Since it comes rolled up it is best to first unroll it and put something over the ends to keep it flat. When applying to the wall make sure that it is free of dust. Wipe the wall down with a solution of mild soap and water and dry with a towel. Starting from one edge of the wall, cut the end so it is square with edge, then unpeel part of the backing and stick to edge. Carefully align the bottom edge with the floor and peel the backing aprox 2' and lightly stick it to the wall. Continue until you reach the end of the wall and then cut carefully with scissors or razor knife. Now go back and check alignment, if satisfied then firmly press moulding against wall. Use a heat gun to any area where the glue is not adhereing well. Let stand 24 hours before washing. It is best to apply to non pourous textures such as ceramic.
Pros: Looks Great
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding

worked exactly as expected/hoped

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unrolled the product and left it lay flat for 2 days. cut it to size, peeled backing off and installed. stuck right away and has remained in tact. Very easy! would purchase again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
from May, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesnt stick well at all

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The adhesive isn't that good at all. Especially if you have anything other than a smooth as glass wall to stick it to. I have a small amount of light texturing on the wall. Every other day I have to press it back down. Guess I'll have to buy some adhesive to apply to it and re-install..
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor adhesion
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks good, very basic moulding, easy to install

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its been over a week since I installed this moulding, very easy to do and haven't had any major separation between the wall and vinyl moulding. I layed it out in the hallway (room temp. 70 deg. F) for over 24 hours, cut to size, heated with a hair dryer slightly, unpeeled the paper and stuck right away. Works good for the price, very basic.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
from Phoenix

Disappointing Product

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, installing this was a very unpleasant experience. I purchased four rolls to finish a newly constructed workshop with painted drywall and a concrete floor. Two of the rolls had defective adhesive that came off when the release paper was removed.
After getting these replaced (and leaving them unrolled for 24 hours prior to installation), the actual installation proceeded smoothly. Unfortunately, by the next morning, most of the wall base had separated from the wall. The adhesive was still tacky, so I reattached the base and rolled over the surface with a hard roller to firmly bond the base to the wall. To no avail- by the next day, the base had separated again.
Stick with a conventional baseboard. In the long run, its faster and less expensive...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding

Bad product!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not stick , it doesn't cover gaps between floor and wall very good, they just don't make this stuff like they used to anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 ft. x 4 in. x 5/64 in. Almond Vinyl Self-Stick Wall Base Molding
from Spokane WA

Do not buy this!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem, followed directions perfectly, would not stick to the wall, reattached and next day it separated again. When I finally did get it to stick, the adhesive still oozed out on the top and bottom. Now, over six months later, it still oozes out just enough to make everything stick to it and it looks awful. Terrible product!!!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.