728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

HardieBacker 1/4 in. cement board for floors and countertops is America´s best selling 1/4 in. backer board. Produced with James Hardie´s proprietary cement formulation, this no-mesh board cuts easily, even in tight, awkward spaces. HardieBacker cement board is available in a 3 ft. x 5 ft. and 4 ft. x 8 ft. size; the 3 ft. x 5 ft. sheet features the exclusive EZ Grid recessed fastener pattern to make installation even easier. HardieBacker cement board provides superior protection against moisture damage and mold growth and is backed by a limited lifetime product warranty.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Connecticut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install over old subfloor!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to do a 425 square foot tiling job. The subfloor was 2 layers of 3/4" plywood (for a total of 1-1/2" thickness), which was nailed/screwed to floor joists. This subfloor was still strong, but it was old, dirty, wavy, and a bit rotten at the surface. I replaced the most rotten sections of subfloor to be safe, but could not afford to replace the whole subfloor. I also could not afford to clean the subfloor via sanding. So, these HardieBacker boards saved the day! These boards are secured to the subfloor with both thin-set AND corrosion resistant screws. The thin-set helped to level the wavy areas, and the screws ensured a secure attachment to the subfloor in the dirty locations. Here are the exact materials I used: 1) This hardiebacker board Model # 220022. 2) Thin-set mortar Model # CBTSG50 (to bond the hardiebacker board to the subfloor). 3) Corrosion resistant cement board screws Model # 23410. 4) Thin-set mortar Model # MTSG50 (to fill the gaps between the hardiebacker board and to bond the tiles to the hardiebacker board). 5) 2" cement board tape Model # FDW8246-U (this tape is pressed into the wet thin-set mortar when filling the gaps between the hardiebacker board). IMPORTANT NOTES: 1 bag of thin-set mortar provides JUST enough material to lay 4 hardiebacker panels. 150 screws are JUST enough to secure 3 hardiebacker panels. The official HardieBacker website has awesome videos to guide your installation. Good luck!
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product for Tile Underlayment

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's a great product, and my company uses it regularly. A couple tips for the uninitiated: Be sure to mortar it down with thinset. That's what gives hardibacker its resistance to deflection. Don't screw too close to the edges as it's brittle. Leave a 1/16" gap between panels, and stagger the layout to keep from having 4 corners come together anywhere. Seam tape and thinset all of the seams where water is going to be an issue, otherwise it's not necessary. We use an autofeed screwgun with coated 1 1/2" screws, but hardiscrews will do fine. Good Luck!
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

Nice under tile

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this backerboard under about 500 square feet of tiling. Having never tiled before this was easy to use.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Kaneohe, HI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For those that use the thinner backer board, you can break it over a sharp edge instead of cutting which saves time. Then use the mesh tape to cover seams.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Egg Harbor City, NJ

Hardi Board

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a tile setter I use this product just about daily, and it is by far the best cement board to work with. It's lighter and much easier to cut than Durock and similar products, not to mention much easier to see your cut and layout lines on.
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

Did the trick

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this cement board for a bathroom remodel. Didn't break apart while installing and hung level on walls. Will use again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Los Angeles

Better than the others

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure why Hardy board is cheaper than regular backer board because its much better quality. It cuts easier, has a smoother surface along with an imprinted grid finish that helps tile to adhere. This is definitely the right choice.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Provo, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as stated

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is hard to cut, without a saw. It will take a while to lay. Best bet for me was to use my tile saw.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love Hardibacker for my floors.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hardibacker installed based on manufacturers recommendations makes for a very solid floor that you can have confidence in lasting for a very long time. I have been using this for years.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very easy to use, easy to cut, easy to attach. Had never used cement board before and this product made it a pleasure.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I always use Hardie products

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Spend a few dollars more and buy Hardie products you won't regret it. Very good product and gets the job done without headaches.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Loveland, CO

Hardie Back Concrete Board

PostedAugust 11, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found HardieBacker™ concrete board to be very consistent in size and quality. The new versions even have an embosed one inch grid on one side to make alignment easier. Of course, they have marks or indents where the fastening screws should be placed. Once layed with a thinset cement to glue it to your old surface, one has a nice even and level (or vertical in the case of 1/2 inch backer board on walls) surface to lay your tile. I use it for all tiling on walls, floors and counter tops.
+9points
23out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Rockville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product Good Service

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is clean to cut and easy to use.
I also received a lot of help with my purchase from Jose F.
Thanks for the help!
Pros: Looks High End, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Kansas

Easy to use, strong

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I layed this down over my sub floor in my bathroom to lay tile down. It was easy to cut with a razor blade and easy to install. I used hardiebacker screws and thin set to lay it. Tiles stuck to this extremely well also.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

Hardie backerboard

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built a full shower in the corner of my basement.
I built the shower area ( 3 foot x 3 foot ) and used this backer board on concrete block ,I used firring strips spaced 12 inches apart then fastened the backer board to the firring strips with drywall nails, the nails go right into it.
I use my circular saw to cut the board,makes dust so use a mask. It was easy to cut,but I have seen previous posts that use a utility knife and score it. Sounded like too much work plus all the blades you up. I then useda latex adhesive to put up my 4 x 4 ceramic tile on it. Best thing I ever did ,it was so easy ,just square up the back board ( it has lines on the one side ). The tile was easy to glue on and was stright as an arrow. Glad I bought this instead of the concrete board which is very heavy and not really a smooth finish to lay your tile on. Trust me, this is the way to go as far as setting tile on. As I mentioned before I did space out my firring strips 12 inches because of the thickness ( 1/4 ") as oppossed to the 16 inch centers with the 1/2' cement board. I just thought it would make the backer board more sturdy,but that's just me.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+5points
19out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

Reliable

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As complete amateurs, we found this board fairly easy to work with. A word to the wise for novices though: be sure the use a saw that is sharp enough! We went through about 12 blades doing 300 sq. ft. of floor.
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Trenton

hardie backer

PostedApril 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product on formaldihide safe for home use
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard

Easy to place

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Does smell a bit until the tile is placed over it
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Carpentersville, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product is excellent for it's intended purpose, but not mine.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For my purpose or use, the impressed "squares" for ease in laying tile, take away from my use which is a work surface for blowing glass. I believe that at one time, the surface was very smooth with no indentations.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: product changed
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 5 ft. x 3 ft. HardieBacker Cement Backerboard
from Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow!!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started this project with nothing more than a trip to home depot. Saw the backer board and thought...why not!
Got about 30 sheets with screws (what board doesn't need a lot of screws). By the time I was done, the whole room looked great! Had my soccer team over for a party afterwards and everyone signed their names on it. Now I wondering...what's next?
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 >>