728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard

HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard

HardieBacker 1/4 in. cement board for floors and countertops is America's best selling 1/4 in. backer board. Produced with James Hardie's proprietary cement formulation, this no-mesh board cuts easily, even in tight, awkward spaces. HardieBacker cement board is available in a 3 ft. x 5 ft. and 4 ft. x 8 ft. size; the 3 ft. x 5 ft. sheet features the exclusive EZ Grid recessed fastener pattern to make installation even easier. HardieBacker cement board provides superior protection against underlayment moisture damage and mold growth and is backed by a limited lifetime product warranty.
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
Review 1 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Connecticut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install over old subfloor!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to do a 425 square foot tiling job. The subfloor was 2 layers of 3/4" plywood (for a total of 1-1/2" thickness), which was nailed/screwed to floor joists. This subfloor was still strong, but it was old, dirty, wavy, and a bit rotten at the surface. I replaced the most rotten sections of subfloor to be safe, but could not afford to replace the whole subfloor. I also could not afford to clean the subfloor via sanding. So, these HardieBacker boards saved the day! These boards are secured to the subfloor with both thin-set AND corrosion resistant screws. The thin-set helped to level the wavy areas, and the screws ensured a secure attachment to the subfloor in the dirty locations. Here are the exact materials I used: 1) This hardiebacker board Model # 220022. 2) Thin-set mortar Model # CBTSG50 (to bond the hardiebacker board to the subfloor). 3) Corrosion resistant cement board screws Model # 23410. 4) Thin-set mortar Model # MTSG50 (to fill the gaps between the hardiebacker board and to bond the tiles to the hardiebacker board). 5) 2" cement board tape Model # FDW8246-U (this tape is pressed into the wet thin-set mortar when filling the gaps between the hardiebacker board). IMPORTANT NOTES: 1 bag of thin-set mortar provides JUST enough material to lay 4 hardiebacker panels. 150 screws are JUST enough to secure 3 hardiebacker panels. The official HardieBacker website has awesome videos to guide your installation. Good luck!
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product for Tile Underlayment

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's a great product, and my company uses it regularly. A couple tips for the uninitiated: Be sure to mortar it down with thinset. That's what gives hardibacker its resistance to deflection. Don't screw too close to the edges as it's brittle. Leave a 1/16" gap between panels, and stagger the layout to keep from having 4 corners come together anywhere. Seam tape and thinset all of the seams where water is going to be an issue, otherwise it's not necessary. We use an autofeed screwgun with coated 1 1/2" screws, but hardiscrews will do fine. Good Luck!
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard

Nice under tile

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this backerboard under about 500 square feet of tiling. Having never tiled before this was easy to use.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from ann arbor, mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Build up for shower curb

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this to cap a shower curb made of 2x4s. This was my first time using cement boards. I had trouble using the snap method for pieces narrower than 4". Even when it did work, the edges were more ragged than I wanted. I also used a jig saw to cut pieces out (wearing a dust mask and outside). A blade with large teeth worked best.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Great Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Egg Harbor City, NJ

Hardi Board

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a tile setter I use this product just about daily, and it is by far the best cement board to work with. It's lighter and much easier to cut than Durock and similar products, not to mention much easier to see your cut and layout lines on.
+42points
44out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Portland, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cracker Board

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was used to traditional 1/2" cement board but saw this light weight, smaller board and thought this 1/4" board looked great. I liked the markings and overall appearance, but found it very difficult and fragile. When screwing it on place for a shower conversion, it often cracked and disintegrated. I was cutting an opening for a light switch and the panel broke in three pieces. I now call it "cracker board".
I won't touch this stuff again.
Cons: Difficult to Install, fragile, brittle
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Kaneohe, HI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For those that use the thinner backer board, you can break it over a sharp edge instead of cutting which saves time. Then use the mesh tape to cover seams.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Los Angeles

Better than the others

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure why Hardy board is cheaper than regular backer board because its much better quality. It cuts easier, has a smoother surface along with an imprinted grid finish that helps tile to adhere. This is definitely the right choice.
+26points
30out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this to install tile in my bathroom floor. everything went well with no issues. My only complaint is that the grid stamped into the board for the measurements were off by about a 1/16th of an inch. not a big deal it just made cutting and breaking a little tricky at times.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love Hardibacker for my floors.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hardibacker installed based on manufacturers recommendations makes for a very solid floor that you can have confidence in lasting for a very long time. I have been using this for years.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Provo, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as stated

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is hard to cut, without a saw. It will take a while to lay. Best bet for me was to use my tile saw.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Tucson, Az.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So much easier to work with than the 1/2", which is what I usually use, got the 1/4" to compensate floor transfer will use it in the future when I can,
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective, durable easy to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Loveland, CO

Hardie Back Concrete Board

PostedAugust 11, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found HardieBacker™ concrete board to be very consistent in size and quality. The new versions even have an embosed one inch grid on one side to make alignment easier. Of course, they have marks or indents where the fastening screws should be placed. Once layed with a thinset cement to glue it to your old surface, one has a nice even and level (or vertical in the case of 1/2 inch backer board on walls) surface to lay your tile. I use it for all tiling on walls, floors and counter tops.
+10points
24out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is very easy to use, easy to cut, easy to attach. Had never used cement board before and this product made it a pleasure.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Kansas

Easy to use, strong

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I layed this down over my sub floor in my bathroom to lay tile down. It was easy to cut with a razor blade and easy to install. I used hardiebacker screws and thin set to lay it. Tiles stuck to this extremely well also.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I always use Hardie products

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Spend a few dollars more and buy Hardie products you won't regret it. Very good product and gets the job done without headaches.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Trenton

hardie backer

PostedApril 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome product on formaldihide safe for home use
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard

Hardie backerboard

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I built a full shower in the corner of my basement.
I built the shower area ( 3 foot x 3 foot ) and used this backer board on concrete block ,I used firring strips spaced 12 inches apart then fastened the backer board to the firring strips with drywall nails, the nails go right into it.
I use my circular saw to cut the board,makes dust so use a mask. It was easy to cut,but I have seen previous posts that use a utility knife and score it. Sounded like too much work plus all the blades you up. I then useda latex adhesive to put up my 4 x 4 ceramic tile on it. Best thing I ever did ,it was so easy ,just square up the back board ( it has lines on the one side ). The tile was easy to glue on and was stright as an arrow. Glad I bought this instead of the concrete board which is very heavy and not really a smooth finish to lay your tile on. Trust me, this is the way to go as far as setting tile on. As I mentioned before I did space out my firring strips 12 inches because of the thickness ( 1/4 ") as oppossed to the 16 inch centers with the 1/2' cement board. I just thought it would make the backer board more sturdy,but that's just me.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+5points
21out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard

Reliable

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As complete amateurs, we found this board fairly easy to work with. A word to the wise for novices though: be sure the use a saw that is sharp enough! We went through about 12 blades doing 300 sq. ft. of floor.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HardieBacker 3 ft. x 5 ft. x 1/4 in. Cement Backerboard
from Rockville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product Good Service

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product is clean to cut and easy to use.
I also received a lot of help with my purchase from Jose F.
Thanks for the help!
Pros: Looks High End, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>