728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Freestanding Stoves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace

3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace

It's no wonder we call this the work horse of our stove family. The Add-on Furnace can hook into your home's ductwork to supplement your existing heating system, or you can dump the heat directly into a garage, shop or other large area. The large, 850 CFM blower with thermostat pushes hot air through an 8 in. hot air outlet on the top of the stove, and if this hot air is routed into your homes existing ductwork, it can heat up to 3,000 sq. ft.. And we were the first to put a viewing glass on the door of our furnace, which means that you can check on your fire from the top of your stairs if it's in a basement, or from across the room if you place it in a large work area. This furnace burns wood, and were talking about big wood: the firebox accepts logs up to 25 in. long, and a huge ash pan below the firebox means that you will have ample room to collect the ash from those big logs.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product75 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 86 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product75 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
Review 1 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from brant lake ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor parts departemt

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
we have heated your home with it for over 10 years works great heating, BUT when you need parts look for parts somewhere else, my blower motor went bad called and ordered a new one and it took more than a day and a half to have usp pick it up from them to deliver it to me. If it was july and I ordered a blower it would be fine but if your blower stops working in November and its 18 outside and you heat your home with it I think a good parts dept. could get it in a truck to get it to a customer faster if they cared about customer service! Its not the shipper its the dealer not caring! This is not a review of home depot, it's Englander. Its not that the blower went bad, everything wears out, the price was fine its just the slow, in my opinion shipping time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: poor customer service
-17points
3out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from westmoreland, nh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not reccomended

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
stove performed far below expectations. house is under 1600 square feet and even running stove wide open could not get inside temp above 62 degrees. had to replace blower after 2 months and found blower to be under powered. usually use 4 cord of wood per year, but with this stove used 4 bought another 1 and ran out before winter was over. bought this stove after much research and reading the reviews. believe the reviews were generated by company and not by consumers.
Pros: good price
Cons: poor performance
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Sparta, TN 38583, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Think twice about this Englander.........

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only two good things I can say about this stove are that when it is full of wood and really burning good it produces heat and also the price was great. I am so disappointed in this model for many reasons: when lighting a fire in it, smoke will come out the vent damper above the door and smell up the room, smoke will also come out of the door when it is opened and it smells up the room, in order to get it good and hot so the heat output is where it should be the ash door has to be left cracked open, the ash pan is smaller than the depth of the stove thus dragging ashes out onto the floor when it is emptied, my automatic thermostat has kicked off only twice on it thus running all day after the fire has burnt out, it burns a ton of wood and won't burn all night even if loaded heavy at bedtime and there is no fan speed control on it. It is wide open or off. I have a super draft in this house, where these smoke problems should not be an issue. My last stove sure did not do these things. There are alot of design aspects that could have been engineered differently that would have made this a nice stove but the current design is very poorly crafted. If I had to do it over again I would not have bought this stove and it may come out after this first season.
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Tennessee
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just didnt do it

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I liked the stove and liked the price but it did not heat my house. Their were factors that I know were not perfect in my situation but I still felt like it should have done the job when advertising 3000ft2. My home is 2400 ft2 with 9 foot ceilings. I had to set my heater a significant distance from the heat and air inlet. All i am saying is before you buy make sure things are perfect if you expect to get that kind of warmth. There is no return so you are sucking cold air. I am not a pro though. It could have just been me. I sold it after 1 winter.
-8points
5out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Western New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this stove didnt reach my expectations

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this stove says it heats 3000 sq ft. I have a 2 story house with a full basement i added up each floor and came up with 2435sq ft and if we werent having such a mild winter i think i would have 2 put my old wood stove the coldest it has been so far is 13 degreese the stove will only keep it about worm for about 6 hrs if i dont check it through the night it will only be 60 in the downstairs and maybe 50 upstairs the warmest i can get the house is 77 where the regular wood stove kept it between 75 and 98 and would last 10 hrs so if u r looking for a stove 2 fill and have it last i wouldnt recomend this one unless u have a 2000 sq ft house or less
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace

pleased

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
although they say 6-8 hrs burn time that will be seen. this is affordable and so far so good
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Charlevoix, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Wood furnace

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works very well, but I wish the fire box would hold a bit more. No better stove on the market at this price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace

Owned for 6 years

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Stove heats my 2400 sq ft house and 1500 sq ft basement. I even kick heat out to the garage. I have 3 ducts in house, 1 in basement and one in garage (which stays 54).
I'm replacing the blower,($212.00) but it runs 24/7 3 months a year.
Love the stove, would like a little larger blower, there is enough heat....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Kearney, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT HEAT, EASY TO USE

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works easy, and after 3-4 burns you too can be a pyro pro. The dampers work well and the ash box cleans quickly. I have had some trouble with the heat shield/air damper in the top of the stove falling down but over all it works well
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: heat shield falls down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Coffeyville, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to start a fire,burns a 10hrs without refilling

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good stove would be nice if it had two hot air outlets
my house is 3500 sqft with unfinished basement
will probably put in a boosterfan in the duct to reach the far end of the house, just put in last week i tyed into a existing line , will have to run a direct line a few feet back , but all in all a great stove,door gasket leaked ,emailed the company,
they shipped a new one no problem, great service
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS WELL BUT BLOWER IS VERRY NOISY AND VIBRATES

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
PEFORMS WELL AND DOES A GOOD JOB
IF IT WASN'T SO LOUD WOULD IT WOULD BE GREAT
IT CAN BE HEARD THROUGH THE HOUSE
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, good quality
Cons: verry noisy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Cresco, Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did everything it was described as doing including the blower

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Englander puts out a good product in this stove, features and functions are well built and the quality of welding surpasses many others. Allthough the write up on the page states 6-8 hours of burning, I found that with good seasoned wood I got about 4-5 with damper closed and air knob just cracked open. I have a 3400 sq ft home and installed this unit in a 3 season porch and it takes care of my whole home heating it to 65-70 deg. with the outside temp at -5 for the past 2 days.
Great stove for any price, just a bonus that it was only $1100.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received shipment of this wood furnace on Friday afternoon October 11th. Off loaded it to my small flatbed trailer to uncover and inspect before the trucker left. It was in good condition, the trucker told of one he had delivered on Thursday that was pretty beat up. I took it to where I had a brush pile, added a bit of stove pipe to the flue system then built a nice fire in the furnace. I let it burn all night Friday and almost all day Saturday to burn off any oils and paint so the fumes would not be in the house. The owners manual says to open the windows to allow the home to air out while it is burning the first time. I am glad I took that step as I had black smoke rolling out the air draft vents and white smoke come out around the fuel fill door. I spent Saturday removing my old 28 year old wood furnace which was a lot heavier than the England. I got the England in the basement Saturday afternoon late. Monday I got new flue/stove pipe to hook it up to my chimney. I also at that time bought some 8 inch pipe to hook up to my heating ducts, the old furnace had a 12 inch transfer pipe.
First fire in the home went well with just a little bit of fumes from the new flue/stove pipe, smoking around the doors was gone too. Starting a fire in this furnace is strange to me as I am not used to leaving the fuel door open for a ½ inch up to 20 minutes. I do it as the owner’s manual says to. Is going to take some getting used to.
I was worried about this furnace not having a shaker grate as my old one didn’t either. For 28 years I have let the fire burn out then used a round shovel to take the ashes out the fuel input door as trying to poke them thru the grates was a royal pain in the kister. The grate is so much better in the Englander the ashes just about all fall thru when they have been burnt to dust quality. I do wish the ash pan had a center fold down handle to ease the removal till you can get to the handle in the rear of the pan. I will probably make one for it.
So far after having a fire in it for over two weeks I am happy with the unit. I haven't even ran the fan except to make sure it worked. It is supposed to heat an area much greater than units costing 2 to 3 hundred dollars more. I can’t wait to get some real winter weather to see if it lives up to the 3000 sq. ft. heating capability. I have been getting by with loading it twice a day at this time with well-seasoned Ash.
I would rate this at a 5 except for the opening windows in the house part in the owner’s manual. They should tell people to fire it up outside for the first time I believe.
I also wish it had a optional stand or legs of some sort. At just 6 foot I find it lower than my liking to fill with wood and take the ash pan out. I think putting it on concrete blocks even in a basement furnace room tacky.
As for the window in the door, At first My wife had to keep checking to make sure there was no fire outside the stove as the old one didn't have a window. I can take it or leave it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Mantua Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heat, but needs to be hooked up to ventilation system

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We originally bought this unit because of the great reviews and a friend's recommendation. We installed it in our basement hoping the heat would radiate or flow up the basement stairs. Unfortunately, on it's own, it does not. The basement (1800 sq ft) is a cozy 70 degrees, but upstairs is still at least 10 degrees colder, which means I'm running the heating system the same as if the woodstove was not working. We live in a rancher, so I was hoping the basement placement would be enough, but it seems the only way to get the heat up is to attach it to the ventilation system. I'm sure it's user error, since everyone raves about this woodstove. I'll post updates as they comes...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: heat coming from unit blower is not very hot
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Wisconsin

Love the Glow

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This wood furnace lights easy, draws well and heats nicely. The solid construction and well fitting parts make this unit 'feel' like it was made with care and attention.
We disassembled the unit and removed the firebricks to make it easier to move into the basement then we forgot how to re-assemble it. The manufacturers support email responded promptly with diagrams of firebrick placement.
The heat flue is standard 8" but the chimney flue is 7" and not a standard size in the shops around here.
It is a primal comfort to gaze into the fire chamber through the fire-glass and see the glowing and burning wood, So much so that we raised the furnace up a bit to make it convenient both for viewing and for loading with wood.
We've only had this furnace for a short time but are quite pleased with it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Bangor, ME, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We are staying warm with this efficient unit.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Besides being esthetically pleasing, the product was easy to install. We like the large glass window in the door and the capacity to hold a 25 inch log.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace

Haven't had a chance to use it!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was going to wait and review after using it. But Home Depot emails are consistently coming thru. I have several friends that use this add-on and I love it. Burn times are way longer than most reviews. My father in law ordered one immediately after seeing mine and was surprised at how solid and still good looking it is. Very controllable stove. And the delivery was completely painless. Would order again thru Home Depot
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Canaan, NH

Simply Wow

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the floor model for a steel only 1389. Had it hook up to my current ventallation system and running within 3 days. This unit Heats my basement and blows hot air to my existing Vent system for the main floor all by itself. My living space upstair is close to 1700 Square Ft and my unfinished basement is about the same. This unit has no problem heating both. The Heat from the basement radiates up through the floor to assist the air ducts. Easy to lite, I took reccomendations from previous review and it works like a charm. It is also very easy to control the Burn Zone by use of the 2 vent dampers on the unit. Great Buy loving it.
No Regrets.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Branson, Mo

what a buy

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the furnace because all the great review i had read.. I've have a 2700 sf home on one level. I install the stove myself it was quite easy.. Want to point out i took all the brick out, doors off, inside parts out--- makes it a lot lighter too move around.
The stove heats all of our house on those cold nights -- 28 degree's so far. .. before we were heating with two pellet stoves ( What a joke) It gets so warm in my room thats all the way down the hall that i open the windows and that with a small fire in the stove.
I've used a lot of different wood stoves in the past and i was going buy another when i came across this one.. Hands Down I'm very happy with the unit.
Also i didn't hook it up to the furnace duck work--- i just let it blow out the opening with a elbow
Great buy!!!! can't go wrong
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace
from Tennessee

Perfect Match

PostedJanuary 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received our stove.. Set up was so easy. It works great. It keeps us so warm. I used to stay up at night to keep our fire going. Don't have to now. It keeps all night. It is a perfect match for us. We have a open loft and a long hallway. It keeps all the rooms warm when the blower is on. Can't recommend this stove enough. Our house is 2300 square feet. It makes it all cozy. On the zero days ahead it is gonna be a blessing for us. For the price and quality, I would recommend this stove to everyone who is looking for value, and a good investment for your home.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>