728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 40 gal. 12 Year Medium Electric water heater provides a ample supply of hot water for a 1 - 2 bath home. This unit comes with two 4500 watt elements, a factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and requires a 240 volt electrical connection for installation. The automatic thermostat keeps the water at desired temperature. The 12 year model features a stainless steel upper element which resists dry firing and scale build-up. This model also comes with a self cleaning system that helps reduce sediment and increases tank life and is easy to maintain. This model has a 12 year tank and parts limited warranty.
Overall rating:
3.37 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product16 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(10)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product16 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

There's nothing like it!

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've owned a few water heaters over the years. But I've never owned as many of the same brand and model as I have of this GE water heater. I wish I could say it is because they are good heaters. They are not. I've owned three of these things.
You're probably saying, "Why would you keep getting them if they're so bad?" Simple, the first one was warranted for 12 years. It started leaking after about 6 years. The second heater was installed about 2.5 years ago. After just 2 years the bottom heating element went bad and had to be replaced. The heater worked fine for another 6 months. Then it started leaking at the top of the tank. Now I have a third one of these.
Installation is really pretty simple because I had Home Depot's contracted installers do it.
When the heater works, it does a good job of making water hot. However, it is pretty expensive to operate. I suggest if you have natural gas service to get a natural gas water heater. I have one in my other home and it is much less expensive to operate.
If you do buy this water heater (don't do it) you'll find the company that guarantees it is very helpful. I've spoken to them several times now and they are very friendly and knowledgeable.
Pros: Easy to Install, company that gurantees it are easy to work with.
Cons: Leaks, it's a clunker!, heater elements rot quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a charm. Gives me hot water when I want it and has quick recovery. I'm especially happy that it has a brass drain valve instead the usual cheap plastic drain. I also think it's worth a little more to have the stainless steel upper element and the self-cleaning system. Of course, the 12 year warranty is nice too.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Lakeland, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely happy with this water heater

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this water heater on 3/1/12 to replace our 16 year old water heater. Our house was built in 1996 and it was new with the house. My husband and I had this new water heater installed in about 40 minutes and we had hot water in about 30 minutes after that. This water heater produces plenty of hot water and we have yet to run out once. I take "hot" showers that are usually around 20 minutes long on average. I can take my shower and then my husband can take one right after me and there is still plenty of hot water. We are very happy with this water heater purchase!!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Solid Tank

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a small apartment manager and have installed about 20 of these tanks in the past few years. I haven't had a problem with a single one yet and plan to install about 20 more. I did think I had an issue once, but it turned out to be a slab leak that was totally unrelated to the heater. I called for warranty service and they sent a plumber out to look at the heater and told me it was working fine and that I actually had a slab leak, and upon calling another plumber to verify, they were correct. I was not charged for the call. So, good product and good support. Im not sure where all the bad reviews have come from, as I have not experienced any of these problems. Wish they made a tall tank version with the 12yr warranty (hence the 4 stars for ease of installation), but usually all you need is some longer connector lines if you are replacing a tall tank. Two thumbs up for this heater!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Bullhead City, AZ.

Great Product

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were going to purchase the 9 yr. electric water heater but the HomeDepot dept. associate was so helpful and knowledgeable she told us about the 12 yr. heater (for $20.00 more) with the lifetime parts and labor extended protection plan for only $99.95. We were convinced that was our best way to go. We have bad water here in AZ. and tanks don't last very long. The one we replaced only lasted 5 yrs. This one has some nice features with it and boy is it nice to turn on the shower and have hot water once again!!
+38points
40out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product very energy efficient

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this water heater 3 years ago for our vacation home in Maine. I bought the 12 year product because it has a lot of insulation and I thought it would be more efficient than the 6 year warranty product. We had to replace a 40 gallon propane water heater because the state of Maine no longer allows propane water heaters on the first floor of houses. I am amazed at how efficient this new water heater is! Our electric bill is only $43.00 a month and we only now use the propane tanks for cooking. So our propane bill was cut in half. Amazing, what a great investment, this water heater actually has saved us a lot of money. Thank you Home Depot!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Exeter, NH

Excellent hot water heater

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the purchase of this 12-year GE hot water heater. There is plenty of hot H2O and it's really nice that after a bit of jury-rigging of piping, the installer was able to fit this into my exterior utility closet of my mobile home. In addition to the $450 price of the unit, I also paid $450 for installation in a mobile home (with extra man charges) and bought the extended 12-yr warranty on parts and labor. All totalled, we dropped $1000 for this, but we don't plan on having to do anything for another 12 years. If that changes I'll let you know!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

LEAKING TANK AFTER ONLY 15 months!

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Decided to step up to a 12 year warranty water heater to replace old water heater which is located in a bad spot in house if it leaks. After 15 months, it sprang a leak in middle of tank (not thermostat), luckliy caught after only one room had water damage. HOME DEPOT was GREAT about replacing tank! No problems at all with H. Depot. However, dealing with manufacturer is an entirely different story. All I wanted was cost to replace one room of carpeting. No labor/clean up costs. Mfg'er claim's dept. is HORRENDOUS. Just brutal to deal with..over <$500 claim caused by clearly defective tank.
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unit bad. warranty good

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is installed in our seasonal vacation camp in northern ME. After 9 years of seasonal use (4 months per year, the other 8 months it is drained and dry) it developed a tank leak. Because it is seasonal it technically has only been used 3 years! Sure, they'll replace it free, but I either have to pay someone to fetch a new one and install it, or drive 7 hours to my camp to fix it myself (when I should be on vacation instead). I am assuming that I'll be repeating this again in a few years unless I take the loss on the warranty and buy another brand from a different retailier.
But GE & HD were good about honoring the warranty.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from East Greenwich, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

do not buy this tank

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
installed tank fairly fast, aprox 1 hour to drain & remove old tank. cut existing 1/2 in. copper lines and put in shark bite lines for ease. Wired electricity filled tank and started leaking below nipple of intake. Nipple was fully tight as well as threads on shark bite line. Used Teflon tape on all threads and it still leaked. Save your time and spend a little extra money & go to your plumbing supply store and get a Bradford White
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The heater installed easily and worked as it should have, it heats much better than my old one and it works. What more can you say about a water heater? It sits there and does it's job for hopefully the next 12 years or so, and does it well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Tennessee

4500 watt ge electric water heater

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit performs better than expected. The 40 gal. GE electric water heater seems to never run out of hot water. I thouroughly tested my new unit with a slightly higher water temp and it performs. Installed 5 weeks ago.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Biddeford, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This was a good price for a family of 5. Mostly teenages.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and son installed it alone. We didn't have an electric one before and it took time to install it because we need to do the wiring first. It was very easy to plumb it into existing plumbing. We have continuous hot water for house full of teenagers and they play sport. I won't hesitate to recommend it to someone else. The other thing was that I ordered it on line and it was waiting up front when we got there. We didn't have to waste time waiting for help.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Santee, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have always had a gas water heater in our home and after installing a solar system five years and we decided to go electric. The 40 gallon electric with the 12 year warranty was the b est deal in california with a $100 rebate.
I looked at many water heater brands and even when I can get a wholesale pricing from my plumbing supply, I went with Home Depot. there I could look at and compare several brands at one time. This model with several bells and whistles looked great.
I installed the 208v electrical line to the unit with a disconnect and installed the cold and hot water lines. After purging the air was out of the system I turned on the unit. Wow what a difference. The electric model puts out quick hot water and is silent in operation. Looking forward to many happy hot water years.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Piece of Junk

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed our water heater 12/14/12 and it is now broken as of 7/25/13. Parts and labor are covered for a year and only parts after that. Have fun taking cold showers while you deal with GE customer service. They act like its such a bother to speak to you and will refuse to do anything till you go buy a multiunit and do your own testing. If parts and labor are covered why do I have to go use my gas, time, and money to buy a multiunit. If they are going to sell junk products that require customer testing to be fixed they should come with a free multiunit. They also make it a big deal to send a plumber out to you which by the way is on their time schedule not yours so you can also miss a day of work or school. Eventually they will fix it, but if they are going to sell such a poorly made product they shouldn't make getting it fixed such a pain. I will never buy another GE product ever again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: works less than a year
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Apex, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quick Install, Inaccurate Temps, Slow Paperwork

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Got an in-store estimate for purchase and install of the GE (made by Rheem) 40 Gallon 12 Year Warranty Hot Water heater from Home Depot (exclusive seller). That part was easy, but because I did not decide to purchase until I called Delta Mechanical the next day, and decided to add the 12 year labor warranty (protection plan not mentioned at the store), the paperwork got a bit messed up. It took 3 days for the purchase to appear in the Home Depot computer before I could get a receipt, and the price was different than the quote (though in my favor so a nice surprise, though it caused me concern that the price was wrong or added warranty was missed). But the paperwork side of my purchase ended okay on my second visit to the store.
Now to the product. This is a good, but not great, water heater. It looks nice, seems well insulated with foam, and install by Delta Mechanical was excellent. But the heater is supposed to be set to 120 degress at the factory, and that was hotter then I wanted. Getting it set lower, but not too low, has been an ongoing hassle. The thermostats are the old screw type, requiring removing 2 covers and insullation, and turning a screw head marked by a small arrow to the heat setting. But there are only 3 heat settings marked on the dial (90, 125 and 150), so it becomes a guessing game. Seems no matter where I set it, and I have inched it up 6 times now, the temp the next morning is too low. I am now at a setting higher than where it was set at the factory, and water temp is 109. Makes me think it was not set to 120 when it arrived, and that the range between low and high water temp on any setting must be at least 5 degrees. But the water at the tap is 109 now and I will be happy if it is still anywhere near 109 in the morning.
Overall, a nice looking and well insullated tank, but made as they were decades ago without a nice digital interface, so difficult to change temp settings. Will see as time goes by whether it has issues that other reviewers have noted.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, good foam insullation
Cons: hard to change temp settings
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Charleroi, PA 15022, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heating element goes bad

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product in 2011 with the recommendatiton of my plumber. I have since had a heating element replaced and now on the verge of replacing another. The water is normaly just warm at best eventhough it is set on the recommended temperature. I would not buy this product again!
Cons: heating element gone bad
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Fort Pierce, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The hot water heater stopped working after 6 days. Bottom element burned out.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My neighbor bought the same one his lasted 3 days. The repairman came out and replaced everything inside and said this happens to over 50 percent of the units sold. Do not buy this!!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

I didn't realize this was rated for household of 2 or less until I saw the box. Would be best to have this information befor

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great supply of hot water but only 1 person in household.
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 gal. Medium 12 Year 4500-Watt Double Element 240-Volt Electric Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Rafael, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water Heater, tile, lumber

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The device was there waiting for me at the front, with my name all over the packaging. The staff were very attentive, courteous and enthusiastic. It saved me a great deal of time by ordering it up online... Thank you.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>