728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

The RIDGID 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump pumps at 4,860 GPH at 0 ft. of lift or 3,720 GPH at 10 ft. of lift. It is able to replace most pedestal sumps without any plumbing changes. The pump's stainless-steel motor housing/fasteners and its cast-iron impeller and pump housing offer protection from corrosion and abrasion.
Overall rating:
2.72 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product42 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(16)
1
(43)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product42 of 102reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
RXscot
from Howell, MI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Something that's made to spend it's life SUBMERGED IN WATER.......

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Should NEVER rust! After about 4 years it died.. Not the motor, not the switch but the metal rods that connect the whole thing rusted through and it came apart. I'll be looking elsewhere for the replacement. Unacceptable cheap engineering on this model. Any machine is only as good as its weakest link.
Cons: rusted to the point of failure in 4 years.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
rickV
from Catonsville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rusting Sump Pump Parts - seriously?

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Rigid SP-500 worked for 3 yrs before the bolts that secured the base to the top eroded. This caused the pump to run continuously, not able to create suction to remove water. Timing of the failure during hurricane Sandy made for anxious days until it could be replaced.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: rusting hardware, rusted hardware built into the cast iron base
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
yimmy2112
from Villa Park, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 of these pumps in 4 years.....

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I decided to to put in a Watchdog back up sump pump 4 years ago I decided to change out my original sump pump that had been working just short of 20 years(yes, 20 years). I figured I had gotten my money's worth out of it and was due for it to quit at any moment and why not change it out while I'm re-piping for the WatchDog. The first Ridgid lasted just 18 months, but with their warranty they just swapped it out for a new one. No big deal right? Well the next lasted 2 1/2 years and this time it took a little convincing for them to honor their warranty because they didn't do any paperwork on the first exchange. But they did and I appreciate it and their customer service gets an A+ for that.
So the good about the sump pump - it installs easy, is quiet, has the power to do the job, and if you like to change out the pump every few years the warranty is good(note that the the original lifetime warranty is now 3 years).
The bad - a sump pump of this price should not have to be replaced every few years. The first pump just stopped working and the second pump the switch went bad.
If you do buy this sump pump get the WatchDog Back-Up with it - the second time this pump went bad I was on a 10 day vacation and the WatchDog did its job perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not last long
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Drrot
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed after 2.5 years

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Heard a noise in the basement and went down to find the sump pump running with no water in the pit. I unplugged it and unbolted the pit cover. When I removed the pump I noticed the float in the bottom of the pit. I went back to Home Depot and looked at how it was supposed to work and discovered the float goes up and down on a steel rod. The bottom of the rod has a small ball on it to hold it in a rubber flap. The rod being steel and living in water rusted. the bottom portion was missing. This all could have been avoided by using stainless steel or something that don't rust.
Fortunately I had saved my receipt and Home Depot exchanged it no questions.
Seems like several others have had the same problem. I paid a little more to get the Rigid name and now I have to wonder why??
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Natidawg68

Junk Pump, No not buy this product.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After living in our current house for a year I had to replace the sump pump. (Zoeller) I went with the the Rigid 1/2 hp from Home Depot and it lasted about 2 years before it stopped working. We were very fortunate that I discovered it was not working before the basement flooded. I took the pump back to Home Depot and they replaced it with no questions asked. Again I went with the Rigid 1/2 hp pump, thinking that the first might have been bad luck. Fast forward about 2.5 years later and the pumped stopped working. Unfortunately it was not caught in time and our finished basement was saturated with rain water. It must have stopped sometime in the night, and I did not check the basement before I left for work. Needless to say it was a big mess, and it took a restoration company 5 days to dry it out. In my haste to get the water level down, I took the pump back to Home Depot and they swapped it one more time for another Rigid 1/2 hp pump. Home Depot informed me if this happened again they would not take the pump back, and I would have to go through Rigid. I contacted the manufacturer, but since I didn't have the pump anymore there was nothing they could do.(They wanted to test it) So I plan on pulling the Rigid out and replacing it with a Zoeller, which is what I should done in the first place. Bottom line do not buy this pump.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: works for about 2 years and then it fails.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Eric
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This pump has worked great for me :)

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this pump for about 3 years. It has worked great for me. I just installed a flood sensor in my sump pit in case the power goes out, or the pump breaks. Then I decided to go onto Home Depot's website to buy another one of these pumps to have as a backup and seen all of these bad reviews :( I called Ridgid and asked them what is going on with these pumps. The guy was real professional and nice to deal with. He explained to me the reason why so many people have had the switch go out is because they did not install a check valve, or waited to long to change out the switch like it says to do in the manual (every 2 years). I took the time to install mine right in stead of using the geturdone method most people seem to be using these days. I plan on buying another one of these pumps for backup, despite all of the bad reviews because in my experience Ridgid makes quality products and they stand behind them ;)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
GUnderP
from Coventry, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet - very fast

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is actually my second of this same model - I admit I was not aware of the periodic cleaning and maintenance we should all be doing on our sump pumps so I blame my own lack of information for part of the reason for a new pump. The switch assembly became faulty on my previous pump and for $30+ I am going to buy a replacement switch and will have a back up ready in case this one fails (old pump still works fantastic - just needs a new switch). Looks like this model is discontinuing; I hope Ridgid continues to make a similar model to replace because the original sump that came with the house was super loud and not nearly as powerful and failed after 2 years which is why I bought by first Ridgid pump. I would recommend
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, Quiet, fast/powerful
Cons: price may be high for some (worth it)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
aaaa
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

never again

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After replacing my pump for the third time (ALL SWITCH PROBLEMS ) I am done with ridged JUNK
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: switch is junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
0lymp1an
from WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bottom line: don't let this pump get wet

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The switch initially failed to close after about 18 months; I managed to get it working again; and the switch failed again after another 18 months.
I installed a simple tethered float switch to hopefully last through the Northwest's rainy season so I can replace the whole thing with something more trustworthy. Many of its parts have substantial rust, so it might not last that long.
To the pump's credit, it ran continuously for 12+ hours to pump out the water it had let in, twice. But I expect a more reliable overall unit when it costs as much as it does. I can't imagine how this pump could be better than cheaper options.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
unsatisfied
from Boston

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
18 months old and it's completely rusted and dead. My last pump ran 12 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
BoulderBasement

Terrible. Died in 3 mos

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used as back-up sump pump, so it was running less often than the primary pump, but was still running every 4-5 minutes (after the Boulder CO floods). Just died in 3 mos. Float seemed to still work, no warning. Caused 1 inch re-flood, luckily I had a back-up pump at home, so damage was limited.
Many better pumps for the same or less money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
dstam015
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is so much more quiet than the old unit I had in.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
plumber406
from Northville, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rigid pump - NOT!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install for experienced do it yourselfer. Good thing, because I now have to replace it after only 3 years. The rod holding the float rusted away so the float came off and the motor ran continuously. I won't buy another Rigid pump.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
RFL615
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Residential Sump Pump

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ease of installation, right out of the box, is outstanding. The threaded 1-1/2 cast iron base with discharge port mated easily with the PVC discharge line in literally a matter of minutes.
I was replacing an older pump made by a different manufacturer because the older pump was noisy every time it came on. The RIGID pump is whisper quiet - absolutely amazing and greatly appreciated to myself and family.
Our home has 2 operating sump pumps and both are RIGID pumps. A better pump for the money, you won't find.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
vets
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pay more for same results

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was tired of replacing inexpensive sump pumps so I spent the $$$ for a Ridgid because of the lifetime warranty and name brand. It lasted a few years more than the $100 units. When I bought mine, Ridged offered a lifetime warranty, now it is 5 years. This one failed after 2 1/2 years. The motor works, but the float failed. Sounds like the float is always the weak link. Thinking of purchasing a separate float and using that if Ridgid makes me spend my $ on returning the unit and tries to pro-rate the original cost. Not happy with results. You would think a US Mfg could make something that lasts more than 2 1/2 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
thekid

Rusty bolts, now does not work

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others mine lasted 5.5 years until a bolt rusted and down it went? Good thing mine was with the life time replacement, they are sending out a new one. After this one goes, then I am. on my own after 3 years.
They changed the warenty to 3 yrs as most probably last around that long getting them off the hook.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Brandon
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It pumps the water out fast and quiet. I also like that the float is close to the pump. That prevents it from hanging up on the wall of the basin.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Jeff
from Lebanon, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and runs quietly, I have to check it sometimes it's so quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
rickV
from Catonsville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Securing bolts rust away in 4yrs

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pump itself has worked well for 4 years; however, during hurricane Sandy a separately purchased water alarm sounded as water began to rise in the sump. The long bolts that secure the bottom of the pump to the upper chamber had rusted away so the pump opened at the base and could not gain suction to remove water. A temporary fix with plastic zip ties put it back in service, but we were perplexed as to why the design permitted the use of materials which rust in these key locations.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: water sensitive hardware
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
gramirez2012
from Barrington, IL

Switch design flaw

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The switch is the weakest link on this pump. My old sump pump lasted nearly 15 years before it went out. Bought this pump to replace it. The new pump failed in less than 3 months, which caused flooding in my crawl space. The "diaphragm" switch appears to be defective by design. When I plugged the motor in without the switch, it was completely dead. I'm guessing the switch got stuck in the "ON" position, causing the motor to run continuously until it burned out. Fortunately the pump was under warranty and Home Depot offered an exchange. I do not recommend this pump at all, or any other brand of pump that uses a diaphragm switch. Buy something like a Zoeller or Flotec.
The only good thing about this pump was that it was very quiet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>