728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

The RIDGID 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump pumps at 4,920GPH at 0 ft. of lift or 3,840GPH at 10 ft. of lift. It has a high performance energy efficient motre that lengthens the life of the switch and the electrical components.
Overall rating:
2.894 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product54 of 116reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(19)
3
(6)
2
(16)
1
(45)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product54 of 116reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Villa Park, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 of these pumps in 4 years.....

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I decided to to put in a Watchdog back up sump pump 4 years ago I decided to change out my original sump pump that had been working just short of 20 years(yes, 20 years). I figured I had gotten my money's worth out of it and was due for it to quit at any moment and why not change it out while I'm re-piping for the WatchDog. The first Ridgid lasted just 18 months, but with their warranty they just swapped it out for a new one. No big deal right? Well the next lasted 2 1/2 years and this time it took a little convincing for them to honor their warranty because they didn't do any paperwork on the first exchange. But they did and I appreciate it and their customer service gets an A+ for that.
So the good about the sump pump - it installs easy, is quiet, has the power to do the job, and if you like to change out the pump every few years the warranty is good(note that the the original lifetime warranty is now 3 years).
The bad - a sump pump of this price should not have to be replaced every few years. The first pump just stopped working and the second pump the switch went bad.
If you do buy this sump pump get the WatchDog Back-Up with it - the second time this pump went bad I was on a 10 day vacation and the WatchDog did its job perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not last long
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Howell, MI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Something that's made to spend it's life SUBMERGED IN WATER.......

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Should NEVER rust! After about 4 years it died.. Not the motor, not the switch but the metal rods that connect the whole thing rusted through and it came apart. I'll be looking elsewhere for the replacement. Unacceptable cheap engineering on this model. Any machine is only as good as its weakest link.
Cons: rusted to the point of failure in 4 years.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Catonsville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rusting Sump Pump Parts - seriously?

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Rigid SP-500 worked for 3 yrs before the bolts that secured the base to the top eroded. This caused the pump to run continuously, not able to create suction to remove water. Timing of the failure during hurricane Sandy made for anxious days until it could be replaced.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: rusting hardware, rusted hardware built into the cast iron base
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Totally worth it!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I came home from vacation to find the drains in my basement had a little bit of water coming up from them because my old sump pump was trying to kick on, but couldn't. Picked this up and installed it within an hour. A couple weeks later, the Detroit area was hit with the really heavy rainfall that flooded our expressways. Because I got out of work late and the roads were all flooded I couldn't even get home to check on my house. I feared that my basement had flooded like everybody I knew in the area. Next morning, I come home and find my basement bone dry. I was literally the ONLY house on the block that did not flood! While other sumps couldn't pump the water out fast enough, this one kept my basement floor bone dry! As a result, this little guy paid for itself ten fold! Since my sump is in a sealed pit, it's a little hard to take a picture of it in action so I included a picture of my basement floor, bone dry, the day after the massive flooding. I took a picture of it because I can't express to you how happy I was to see it. Great purchase!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This pump has worked great for me :)

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this pump for about 3 years. It has worked great for me. I just installed a flood sensor in my sump pit in case the power goes out, or the pump breaks. Then I decided to go onto Home Depot's website to buy another one of these pumps to have as a backup and seen all of these bad reviews :( I called Ridgid and asked them what is going on with these pumps. The guy was real professional and nice to deal with. He explained to me the reason why so many people have had the switch go out is because they did not install a check valve, or waited to long to change out the switch like it says to do in the manual (every 2 years). I took the time to install mine right in stead of using the geturdone method most people seem to be using these days. I plan on buying another one of these pumps for backup, despite all of the bad reviews because in my experience Ridgid makes quality products and they stand behind them ;)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

Junk Pump, No not buy this product.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After living in our current house for a year I had to replace the sump pump. (Zoeller) I went with the the Rigid 1/2 hp from Home Depot and it lasted about 2 years before it stopped working. We were very fortunate that I discovered it was not working before the basement flooded. I took the pump back to Home Depot and they replaced it with no questions asked. Again I went with the Rigid 1/2 hp pump, thinking that the first might have been bad luck. Fast forward about 2.5 years later and the pumped stopped working. Unfortunately it was not caught in time and our finished basement was saturated with rain water. It must have stopped sometime in the night, and I did not check the basement before I left for work. Needless to say it was a big mess, and it took a restoration company 5 days to dry it out. In my haste to get the water level down, I took the pump back to Home Depot and they swapped it one more time for another Rigid 1/2 hp pump. Home Depot informed me if this happened again they would not take the pump back, and I would have to go through Rigid. I contacted the manufacturer, but since I didn't have the pump anymore there was nothing they could do.(They wanted to test it) So I plan on pulling the Rigid out and replacing it with a Zoeller, which is what I should done in the first place. Bottom line do not buy this pump.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: works for about 2 years and then it fails.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed after 2.5 years

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Heard a noise in the basement and went down to find the sump pump running with no water in the pit. I unplugged it and unbolted the pit cover. When I removed the pump I noticed the float in the bottom of the pit. I went back to Home Depot and looked at how it was supposed to work and discovered the float goes up and down on a steel rod. The bottom of the rod has a small ball on it to hold it in a rubber flap. The rod being steel and living in water rusted. the bottom portion was missing. This all could have been avoided by using stainless steel or something that don't rust.
Fortunately I had saved my receipt and Home Depot exchanged it no questions.
Seems like several others have had the same problem. I paid a little more to get the Rigid name and now I have to wonder why??
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Des Moines, IA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sump Pump

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used rigid pumps for about 10 years, very dependable, have not failed me to date.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bottom line: don't let this pump get wet

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The switch initially failed to close after about 18 months; I managed to get it working again; and the switch failed again after another 18 months.
I installed a simple tethered float switch to hopefully last through the Northwest's rainy season so I can replace the whole thing with something more trustworthy. Many of its parts have substantial rust, so it might not last that long.
To the pump's credit, it ran continuously for 12+ hours to pump out the water it had let in, twice. But I expect a more reliable overall unit when it costs as much as it does. I can't imagine how this pump could be better than cheaper options.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Worthington, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Life saver!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not only was this sump pump easy to install (my husband is very handy), it took less than five minutes to install. Then as soon as we plugged it in the water was gone, in the blink of an eye. And I personally love anything with any type of warranty. Overall very happy we took the very helpful salesman's advise and spent more. Its quality.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Basement flooded twice.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Flotec lasted 20 years. This one only lasted 3 weeks. Flooded basement twice in 3 weeks. Money back from Home Depot but no other help at all. Buyer be ware.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from West Jefferson Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doing exactly what I need.

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replaced one that I had for 3 years that would not shut off. So far so good but I expect that. See if it will last longer than 3 years this time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

i will never buy another Ridgid product

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i already reviewed this. the pump did not work and ridgid told me to return it to home depo, which i explained that "my" home depo did not stock "ridgid" sump pumps, that is why i ordered it online. I will never buy another ridgid product. i went to a plumbing supply store and bought another brand sump pump. from now on if home depo does not carry, in store, what i need,,i will NOT order on line and run into this same problem. i do not blame home depo, but it does reflect on them because home depo is selling this product. the ridgid customer support guy i got on the phone would in no way try to help with my problem.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from rushville, in
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

built to last

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took 5 minutes for installation with existing plumbing.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Barrington, IL

Switch design flaw

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The switch is the weakest link on this pump. My old sump pump lasted nearly 15 years before it went out. Bought this pump to replace it. The new pump failed in less than 3 months, which caused flooding in my crawl space. The "diaphragm" switch appears to be defective by design. When I plugged the motor in without the switch, it was completely dead. I'm guessing the switch got stuck in the "ON" position, causing the motor to run continuously until it burned out. Fortunately the pump was under warranty and Home Depot offered an exchange. I do not recommend this pump at all, or any other brand of pump that uses a diaphragm switch. Buy something like a Zoeller or Flotec.
The only good thing about this pump was that it was very quiet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Batavia, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Average quality

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have to buy one of these pumps every 3 years. The warranty is for 3 years and the pumps usually about 1 or 2 months after the warranty expires. I use it in a production atmosphere and it runs everyday about once an hour for about 2 minutes at a time. Most people will never have to run the pump that much, so for the average persons basement this would make an excellent product and probably last at least 7 to 10 years without fail.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, stainless steel body so very little corrosion
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

never again

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After replacing my pump for the third time (ALL SWITCH PROBLEMS ) I am done with ridged JUNK
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: switch is junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Catonsville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Securing bolts rust away in 4yrs

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pump itself has worked well for 4 years; however, during hurricane Sandy a separately purchased water alarm sounded as water began to rise in the sump. The long bolts that secure the bottom of the pump to the upper chamber had rusted away so the pump opened at the base and could not gain suction to remove water. A temporary fix with plastic zip ties put it back in service, but we were perplexed as to why the design permitted the use of materials which rust in these key locations.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: water sensitive hardware
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Canton, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this product because it's easy to install and less noise.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

Rusty bolts, now does not work

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others mine lasted 5.5 years until a bolt rusted and down it went? Good thing mine was with the life time replacement, they are sending out a new one. After this one goes, then I am. on my own after 3 years.
They changed the warenty to 3 yrs as most probably last around that long getting them off the hook.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>