728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

The RIDGID 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump pumps at 4,920GPH at 0 ft. of lift or 3,840GPH at 10 ft. of lift. It has a high performance energy efficient motre that lengthens the life of the switch and the electrical components.
Overall rating:
2.92 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product62 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(21)
3
(7)
2
(16)
1
(51)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product62 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Howell, MI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Something that's made to spend it's life SUBMERGED IN WATER.......

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Should NEVER rust! After about 4 years it died.. Not the motor, not the switch but the metal rods that connect the whole thing rusted through and it came apart. I'll be looking elsewhere for the replacement. Unacceptable cheap engineering on this model. Any machine is only as good as its weakest link.
Cons: rusted to the point of failure in 4 years.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
36out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Catonsville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rusting Sump Pump Parts - seriously?

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Rigid SP-500 worked for 3 yrs before the bolts that secured the base to the top eroded. This caused the pump to run continuously, not able to create suction to remove water. Timing of the failure during hurricane Sandy made for anxious days until it could be replaced.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: rusting hardware, rusted hardware built into the cast iron base
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+32points
36out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Villa Park, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 of these pumps in 4 years.....

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I decided to to put in a Watchdog back up sump pump 4 years ago I decided to change out my original sump pump that had been working just short of 20 years(yes, 20 years). I figured I had gotten my money's worth out of it and was due for it to quit at any moment and why not change it out while I'm re-piping for the WatchDog. The first Ridgid lasted just 18 months, but with their warranty they just swapped it out for a new one. No big deal right? Well the next lasted 2 1/2 years and this time it took a little convincing for them to honor their warranty because they didn't do any paperwork on the first exchange. But they did and I appreciate it and their customer service gets an A+ for that.
So the good about the sump pump - it installs easy, is quiet, has the power to do the job, and if you like to change out the pump every few years the warranty is good(note that the the original lifetime warranty is now 3 years).
The bad - a sump pump of this price should not have to be replaced every few years. The first pump just stopped working and the second pump the switch went bad.
If you do buy this sump pump get the WatchDog Back-Up with it - the second time this pump went bad I was on a 10 day vacation and the WatchDog did its job perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not last long
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This pump has worked great for me :)

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this pump for about 3 years. It has worked great for me. I just installed a flood sensor in my sump pit in case the power goes out, or the pump breaks. Then I decided to go onto Home Depot's website to buy another one of these pumps to have as a backup and seen all of these bad reviews :( I called Ridgid and asked them what is going on with these pumps. The guy was real professional and nice to deal with. He explained to me the reason why so many people have had the switch go out is because they did not install a check valve, or waited to long to change out the switch like it says to do in the manual (every 2 years). I took the time to install mine right in stead of using the geturdone method most people seem to be using these days. I plan on buying another one of these pumps for backup, despite all of the bad reviews because in my experience Ridgid makes quality products and they stand behind them ;)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Frankfort IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and effective

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed very quickly. No weep hole necessary when installing this sump pump. Very quiet. Does not take up a lot of room in sump pit because of the vertical float. I liked it so much I will be buying another one for my rainwater sump pit
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from DARIEN, IL.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

STOP PUMPING

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT A 1/2 HP PUMP. IT LASTED ABOUT 6 DAYS. I TOOK IT OUT BECAUSE IT STOP PUMPING. I TESTED THE SWITCH ON THE FLOAT AND IT WASN'T WORKING. I TOOK IT BACK TO HOME DEPOT AND GOT THE SAME THING. TO EARLY TO TELL IF IT'S ANY GOOD. IT HAS ONLY BEEN IN THE WELL FOR ABOUT 3 HOURS. TO EARLY TO RECOMEND.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

Junk Pump, No not buy this product.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After living in our current house for a year I had to replace the sump pump. (Zoeller) I went with the the Rigid 1/2 hp from Home Depot and it lasted about 2 years before it stopped working. We were very fortunate that I discovered it was not working before the basement flooded. I took the pump back to Home Depot and they replaced it with no questions asked. Again I went with the Rigid 1/2 hp pump, thinking that the first might have been bad luck. Fast forward about 2.5 years later and the pumped stopped working. Unfortunately it was not caught in time and our finished basement was saturated with rain water. It must have stopped sometime in the night, and I did not check the basement before I left for work. Needless to say it was a big mess, and it took a restoration company 5 days to dry it out. In my haste to get the water level down, I took the pump back to Home Depot and they swapped it one more time for another Rigid 1/2 hp pump. Home Depot informed me if this happened again they would not take the pump back, and I would have to go through Rigid. I contacted the manufacturer, but since I didn't have the pump anymore there was nothing they could do.(They wanted to test it) So I plan on pulling the Rigid out and replacing it with a Zoeller, which is what I should done in the first place. Bottom line do not buy this pump.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: works for about 2 years and then it fails.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed after 2.5 years

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Heard a noise in the basement and went down to find the sump pump running with no water in the pit. I unplugged it and unbolted the pit cover. When I removed the pump I noticed the float in the bottom of the pit. I went back to Home Depot and looked at how it was supposed to work and discovered the float goes up and down on a steel rod. The bottom of the rod has a small ball on it to hold it in a rubber flap. The rod being steel and living in water rusted. the bottom portion was missing. This all could have been avoided by using stainless steel or something that don't rust.
Fortunately I had saved my receipt and Home Depot exchanged it no questions.
Seems like several others have had the same problem. I paid a little more to get the Rigid name and now I have to wonder why??
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Matteson
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sump pump

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have two sump pumps. The other on has a swing cable float, This pump has a vertical arm. Alignment of the float was a little tricky. It works well and I have not had any problems since the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought Two Pumps One Failed, No Warranty Service In Houston

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two (2) of these "Rigid" pumps in September 2014, both were put into service in October 2014. Both pumps operate in similar applications on my property in Houston Texas to remove rain water. One of the two pumps failed this month (May 2015). The pump is advertised by Home Depot with a 3 year warranty - problem is there is no way to get warranty service.
The warranty info sheet on the Home Depot website provided a link to find the closest Rigid service center which was near downtown Houston. I spent my lunch hour taking the pump to the service center only to be told they could not work on the pump, that it was not manufactured by Rigid. The warranty info sheet gave an email address of 'csridgid@waynewatersystems.com' to which I emailed my information to twice with no reply.
I paid more for this pump because of the Rigid name but I'm pretty sure this is a Wayne pump. My advice is stay away from this product.
Cons: you cannot get warranty service, pump is not manufactured by rigid, this is a wayne pump
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bottom line: don't let this pump get wet

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The switch initially failed to close after about 18 months; I managed to get it working again; and the switch failed again after another 18 months.
I installed a simple tethered float switch to hopefully last through the Northwest's rainy season so I can replace the whole thing with something more trustworthy. Many of its parts have substantial rust, so it might not last that long.
To the pump's credit, it ran continuously for 12+ hours to pump out the water it had let in, twice. But I expect a more reliable overall unit when it costs as much as it does. I can't imagine how this pump could be better than cheaper options.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Colerain Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Pump I've used

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pump is a snap to install but I would suggest a new check vale at the same time.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Don't Buy

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this pump last summer and as I was placing it in the shopping cart a customer told me not to buy it; he said it would burn out. I didn't listen and bought it anyway. This spring after some heavy rains during which it got a heavy workout, it burned out. Fortunately, I had a spare on hand. Choose another brand!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet opeartion

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have had pump installed for about a month and it is working fine. Especially like how quiet it is. Seems to be well made.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Canal Winchester, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

solid pump

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to install. The rest of this is fill for the required lenght
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Totally worth it!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I came home from vacation to find the drains in my basement had a little bit of water coming up from them because my old sump pump was trying to kick on, but couldn't. Picked this up and installed it within an hour. A couple weeks later, the Detroit area was hit with the really heavy rainfall that flooded our expressways. Because I got out of work late and the roads were all flooded I couldn't even get home to check on my house. I feared that my basement had flooded like everybody I knew in the area. Next morning, I come home and find my basement bone dry. I was literally the ONLY house on the block that did not flood! While other sumps couldn't pump the water out fast enough, this one kept my basement floor bone dry! As a result, this little guy paid for itself ten fold! Since my sump is in a sealed pit, it's a little hard to take a picture of it in action so I included a picture of my basement floor, bone dry, the day after the massive flooding. I took a picture of it because I can't express to you how happy I was to see it. Great purchase!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from MICHIGAN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Would not buy again

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought our pump on November 30th 2014, I was going out of town and wanted to make sure I was not going to have any problems. I received a phone call letting me know that my basement was flooded and the sump pump was smoking and quit working, which was about 2 weeks after it was installed.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: don't last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Barrington, IL

Switch design flaw

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The switch is the weakest link on this pump. My old sump pump lasted nearly 15 years before it went out. Bought this pump to replace it. The new pump failed in less than 3 months, which caused flooding in my crawl space. The "diaphragm" switch appears to be defective by design. When I plugged the motor in without the switch, it was completely dead. I'm guessing the switch got stuck in the "ON" position, causing the motor to run continuously until it burned out. Fortunately the pump was under warranty and Home Depot offered an exchange. I do not recommend this pump at all, or any other brand of pump that uses a diaphragm switch. Buy something like a Zoeller or Flotec.
The only good thing about this pump was that it was very quiet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Mundelein IL.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great customer service !!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great customer service !!!
I just got off the phone with Ridgid's customer service for a float rod that rusted to the point that the float was stuck and the pump would not operate. They sed they will send out the part today and I should have it in 2 days. no charge and no hassle.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Indianapolis, IN

Switch lacks longevity

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my fourth pump of this model and every one has had the switch go bad right around 18 months of use. I live in the midwest and we do tend to get a lot of rain in the spring. The pump usually works pretty hard in the Spring and barely runs the remainder of the year. I don't want to incorrectly guess as the number of times the switch has been activated over the 18 month life of the pump. I can only say that in my house, this model stops working reliably after that long. I will try my luck with another brand.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>