728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

The Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit requires no digging or concreting for installation. It is constructed from red cedar and is pre-notched for assembly. It fits standard and large size mailboxes. All assembly and mailbox mounting hardware is included.
Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product33 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product33 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
Review 1 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from West Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in town and really don't need a mailbox post out front but my cat tore up my mail when it came through the mail slot in my front door, so I purchased this as a solution. Very easy to install. I used a sledge hammer to pound in the metal post, just be sure it is level in both directions. I dug out around the stake a couple inches so that when I pounded in the cedar post, it would be a couple inches below ground level to help secure it. It isn't wobbly at all.....of course not as solid as cement would be, but sufficient for my purposes. Just be sure the post is level both front to back and side to side. I almost forgot to measure both ways, but I wasn't too far off and it looks great. The post comes with a pine mounting board about 3/4 inch thick. I did predrill all the holes first. You definitely want to on the mounting board because it is so thin. I bought a small Gibraltar mailbox, black steel to mount, and it fit the mounting board perfectly. I wasn't sure it came with the mounting board, so I was very pleased to see it in the box with the post. It mounts to the cedar crossbar with four stainless steel screws that were included. The crossbar attaches to the post with two longer 2 1/2 inch stainless steel screws. Also four screws were included to use to mount the mailbox to the mounting board. All in all, a great setup for the price. Got the post kit and mailbox for $50 and some change.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Wilmington, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for me

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 25 year old elementary school teacher whose husband is currently deployed. I'm mildly handy, in that I can use a drill and mow the lawn, but as soon as you start asking me to mix concrete and dig even holes we are going to have problems. I came home one afternoon to find our mailbox on its side and, being that I couldn't let it wait until hubs gets home, I set out to Home Depot to figure out my options. I was able to put this post up, with ease, on my own. It was not in the 10 minutes that everyone else described - but we can chalk that up to my "mild handiness". It is strong, sturdy, maybe a little tall, but will be sufficient as a mail box.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Wobbles a bit and is 4 inches too short for postal regulations.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Easy to install as directed, but not really super sturdy. It was mounted at street level because we don't have curbs or sidewalks in our area. I was willing to call it "ok" but the second day after installing I got a note from the postman indicating it is 4 inches too short. The bottom of the mailbox is right at 41 inches. Not sure what to do now. Maybe stack more wood on top and then remount the metal box? Dang, I didn't want to have to mess with it but now I have to, or pitch it and buy some other taller post. Not cool.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done.

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This kit provides a low cost way to quickly replace a mailbox post that has failed. The steel angle iron piece driven into the ground does not provide the most sturdy support (the post flexes somewhat after installation) and is likely to rust fairly quickly, but as a temporary mailbox mount, this will work until a more permanent post is installed.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Works but wobbly

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install but best for use with a lightweight mailbox, this post will do the trick if you are in a hurry. The metal spike is easy to drive into the ground if you use sledge hammer. The post can then be driven onto the spike's metal, above-ground extension. The hole in the post is slightly under-sized, allowing you to rotate and position the post first, then drive it home with the spike firmly embedded in the wood. Attaching the cross piece and mail box is easy using the supplied screws. A power screwdriver makes the job easier.
The only drawback is with the design itself. The steel spike flexes slightly at ground level, so the post and box are a little wobbly. If you live in an area with enthusiastic or aggressive letter carriers, or if your mailboxes are routinely victimized by bat-wielding youths, you should consider this a quick fix until you can create a more permanent, bat-shattering solution.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wobbly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed Easy

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an older woman and I installed this myself with no help. It's good and sturdy and better quality than I expected. Make sure to use a level and it might help to pre-drill the holes for the 8 screws securing the mailbox platform and the mailbox.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

good product

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The post was very easy to assemble and install. It had good color with the cedar aroma.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Victoria, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, missing parts

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent value for a mostly high quality product. It was not as easy to assemble as other reviews indicated nor was it a less than 30 minute job. My box had NO instructions (printed them from Home Depot website) and had NO screws (went back and bought the correct items) with which to attach the parts. Fortunately, all of the major parts were in the box. From start to finish and the extra trip I made back to Home Depot, it took over 2 hours to complete the entire mailbox and post installation.
Pre-drill the holes necessary in which to insert the screws if they are not already there. Use a rubber mallet or a sledge hammer. I only had a regular hammer and made do with that. Had to use an extra 2x4 to keep from damaging the top of the post/cross piece using the hammer. Put the cross piece on the post before inserting into the ground. I did not use the flat wooden mount as it did not have holes for the screws pre-drilled and it appeared to be more trouble than it was worth to work with it.
I did purchase a universal mount kit and installed that on the cross piece. I had pre-drilled those holes and had to install the mount and new mailbox after I put the post in the ground.
I also used a level per comments of other reviews and fortunately managed to get my post level in all directions. I also dug out about 2 inches more dirt so the post itself would be inserted into the ground. Right now, it appears to be sturdy and only a little wobbly, but that could be due to wet ground. One suggestion would be to soak the ground before inserting the post which should make that part easier.
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, not as easy as it seemed, missing screws
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Ponca City, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better then expected

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read some reviews before buying this and expected it to be kind of flimsy. It's not really. It is difficult to get it level and straight. Because the metal post that you beat into the ground first doesn't give you much length to work with when leveling. We pounded it in with a rubber mallet and even though it seemed level it was hard because there was only about 6 or 8 inches sticking up out of the ground once it was in. When we put the cedar post over the metal spike it turned out to be leaning a little. Otherwise looks good. Really fast to install. About 10 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: difficult to level
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from White Mountains, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

so far so good

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My last post lasted over 10 years so it might be too soon to judge. It was easy to set up . So far we are pleased.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy install, nice price

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this post was installed within minutes, with just a hammer. one tip would be to put the post on the peg before installing the mailbox make for an easier install
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Pontiac, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple install and nice looking

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm not the handiest person when it comes to tools but this was about as easy as it gets. Drive stake into the ground, drive cedar post onto stake and down to ground level, attach a few screws to the post and mailbox and you're done. Took maybe 20 minutes. Kept an eye on keeping it level and straight and took my time. Very nice looking! Sure beats digging post hole and adding cement.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Boston, MA

wobbly

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was easy to install, but I found the post wobbly and had to drive stakes in the ground along the sides of the post to secure it to my liking. The spike was definitely not loose in the ground, so I think the spike's fit with the cedar post is the issue. There should be a screw or two which secures the post to the spike. Maybe this is in the deluxe model which I wasn't aware of. If so spend the extra money.
I also had to plane the joint of the cross member to get it as straight as I wanted. This is a nit since I'm a perfectionist and probably nobody would have noticed it.
On the positive side, it looks and smells great. Someone walking by confirmed this Better than a pressure treated post.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

We'll see

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It went into the ground fairly easily, but as stated in other reviews, it does wobble. Don't think this is an issue as our mailbox is not set at the curb. The steel v shaped post is pounded about 18" into the ground with a rubber mallet. Then, the cedar post which is pre-drilled, is pounded down on the v shaped until this is flush with the ground. One of the comments suggested digging it out, and resetting it into concrete. I guess that might work o.k. to make the metal pole firm into the ground. It is not possible to set the wood post into the ground as the post is not long enough to sink into the ground.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wobbly
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

did not like this

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
well to me this was a terrible buy..the cedar post cracked in two places.had to just make it work with extra screws.it also says it was compatible with a large a b c or d box but it wasnt.so spend the extra money and get something better.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Easy to install mailbox post.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The mailbox post was easy to install, nice looking, and required few tools.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Great value

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As noted by others, it does wobble a bit once installed, but is sturdy enough for the job. I eventually plan to firm it up a bit with some braces, but it works fine as-is. My mail carrier stopped by when I was installing it and gave it the thumbs up.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wobbly but stable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from nebraska

very simple

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just purchased a new house and had to put in a mail box. You just use a mallet and pound the stake in the ground. Then position the post onto the rest of the stake sticking up and pound away. Took about 10 minutes and it is snug. The only problem I had was after you put the cross arm on it had a little wiggle. So just drive in a couple of extra screws from the cross arm into the post. Looks great with the cedar mailbox.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Wilton, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for a Quick fix, but wobbly in most soils

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's cold, February in CT, and my mailbox rusted out; previous homeowner had a metal post and box. It finally gave out. I needed something quick to stick into a soft, from snow melt , but rocky soil.
It was easy to install the post, but it the metal is small and not super deep. Granted this facilitated a quick, easy install while leaving the post a bit vulnerable to being wobbily. I plan on pulling it out in the summer, and digging a deeper wider hole that I will fill with quickcrete. I'm sure that will do the trick.
That being said, while the instructions were clearly NOT written by an native English speaker, they were adequate. It went in easily and well. Plan on using a power drill to help it go faster. The wood was good and clean. The screws were a little cheap, and you may want to switch them out. Still, it took very little time to install and looks good.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Had to strengthen it with cement

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The first one I got was so roughly sawn, that I had to trade it in for a smoother one. It was easy to install into our hard ground, but it was rather weak and wobbly. Looked good, but wobbly. I dug a little footing and put up a little form and bolstered its strength with concrete. Now it's great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: was wobbly until added concrete.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>