728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

The Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit requires no digging or concreting for installation. It is constructed from red cedar and is pre-notched for assembly. It fits standard and large size mailboxes. All assembly and mailbox mounting hardware is included.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
Review 1 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Wilmington, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for me

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 25 year old elementary school teacher whose husband is currently deployed. I'm mildly handy, in that I can use a drill and mow the lawn, but as soon as you start asking me to mix concrete and dig even holes we are going to have problems. I came home one afternoon to find our mailbox on its side and, being that I couldn't let it wait until hubs gets home, I set out to Home Depot to figure out my options. I was able to put this post up, with ease, on my own. It was not in the 10 minutes that everyone else described - but we can chalk that up to my "mild handiness". It is strong, sturdy, maybe a little tall, but will be sufficient as a mail box.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed Easy

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an older woman and I installed this myself with no help. It's good and sturdy and better quality than I expected. Make sure to use a level and it might help to pre-drill the holes for the 8 screws securing the mailbox platform and the mailbox.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy install, nice price

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this post was installed within minutes, with just a hammer. one tip would be to put the post on the peg before installing the mailbox make for an easier install
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Pontiac, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple install and nice looking

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not the handiest person when it comes to tools but this was about as easy as it gets. Drive stake into the ground, drive cedar post onto stake and down to ground level, attach a few screws to the post and mailbox and you're done. Took maybe 20 minutes. Kept an eye on keeping it level and straight and took my time. Very nice looking! Sure beats digging post hole and adding cement.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Easy to install mailbox post.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The mailbox post was easy to install, nice looking, and required few tools.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Works but wobbly

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install but best for use with a lightweight mailbox, this post will do the trick if you are in a hurry. The metal spike is easy to drive into the ground if you use sledge hammer. The post can then be driven onto the spike's metal, above-ground extension. The hole in the post is slightly under-sized, allowing you to rotate and position the post first, then drive it home with the spike firmly embedded in the wood. Attaching the cross piece and mail box is easy using the supplied screws. A power screwdriver makes the job easier.
The only drawback is with the design itself. The steel spike flexes slightly at ground level, so the post and box are a little wobbly. If you live in an area with enthusiastic or aggressive letter carriers, or if your mailboxes are routinely victimized by bat-wielding youths, you should consider this a quick fix until you can create a more permanent, bat-shattering solution.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wobbly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Ponca City, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better then expected

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read some reviews before buying this and expected it to be kind of flimsy. It's not really. It is difficult to get it level and straight. Because the metal post that you beat into the ground first doesn't give you much length to work with when leveling. We pounded it in with a rubber mallet and even though it seemed level it was hard because there was only about 6 or 8 inches sticking up out of the ground once it was in. When we put the cedar post over the metal spike it turned out to be leaning a little. Otherwise looks good. Really fast to install. About 10 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: difficult to level
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

excellent!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price. Easy install. Looks great. Just be sure to drill pilot holes - goes much faster
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Boston, MA

wobbly

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was easy to install, but I found the post wobbly and had to drive stakes in the ground along the sides of the post to secure it to my liking. The spike was definitely not loose in the ground, so I think the spike's fit with the cedar post is the issue. There should be a screw or two which secures the post to the spike. Maybe this is in the deluxe model which I wasn't aware of. If so spend the extra money.
I also had to plane the joint of the cross member to get it as straight as I wanted. This is a nit since I'm a perfectionist and probably nobody would have noticed it.
On the positive side, it looks and smells great. Someone walking by confirmed this Better than a pressure treated post.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Eau Claire, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ok product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ok an ok product. The platform broke when trying to install it.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

did not like this

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
well to me this was a terrible buy..the cedar post cracked in two places.had to just make it work with extra screws.it also says it was compatible with a large a b c or d box but it wasnt.so spend the extra money and get something better.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Great value

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted by others, it does wobble a bit once installed, but is sturdy enough for the job. I eventually plan to firm it up a bit with some braces, but it works fine as-is. My mail carrier stopped by when I was installing it and gave it the thumbs up.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wobbly but stable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

We'll see

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It went into the ground fairly easily, but as stated in other reviews, it does wobble. Don't think this is an issue as our mailbox is not set at the curb. The steel v shaped post is pounded about 18" into the ground with a rubber mallet. Then, the cedar post which is pre-drilled, is pounded down on the v shaped until this is flush with the ground. One of the comments suggested digging it out, and resetting it into concrete. I guess that might work o.k. to make the metal pole firm into the ground. It is not possible to set the wood post into the ground as the post is not long enough to sink into the ground.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wobbly
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Had to strengthen it with cement

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The first one I got was so roughly sawn, that I had to trade it in for a smoother one. It was easy to install into our hard ground, but it was rather weak and wobbly. Looked good, but wobbly. I dug a little footing and put up a little form and bolstered its strength with concrete. Now it's great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: was wobbly until added concrete.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Drive in post kit

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Decent value / looks for the price. It will wobble some depending on the soil. Best bet, dig out the spot and use quickrete post cement, I also put 1 1/2" of the wood post in the cement also. So if your mailman is concerned (mine isn't) about 39" vs 41" high simply add a 1" thick board to the top. Looks good no wobble...
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: may wobble w/o cementing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from nebraska

very simple

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchased a new house and had to put in a mail box. You just use a mallet and pound the stake in the ground. Then position the post onto the rest of the stake sticking up and pound away. Took about 10 minutes and it is snug. The only problem I had was after you put the cross arm on it had a little wiggle. So just drive in a couple of extra screws from the cross arm into the post. Looks great with the cedar mailbox.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from Wilton, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for a Quick fix, but wobbly in most soils

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's cold, February in CT, and my mailbox rusted out; previous homeowner had a metal post and box. It finally gave out. I needed something quick to stick into a soft, from snow melt , but rocky soil.
It was easy to install the post, but it the metal is small and not super deep. Granted this facilitated a quick, easy install while leaving the post a bit vulnerable to being wobbily. I plan on pulling it out in the summer, and digging a deeper wider hole that I will fill with quickcrete. I'm sure that will do the trick.
That being said, while the instructions were clearly NOT written by an native English speaker, they were adequate. It went in easily and well. Plan on using a power drill to help it go faster. The wood was good and clean. The screws were a little cheap, and you may want to switch them out. Still, it took very little time to install and looks good.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

awesome

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this cedar mail box & post was ideal for our home. it was something i wanted to purchase for a while but procrastinated untill someone ran over my old box that was the normal style. this one is perfect because it matched the style of my home so i painted the new mailbox to match my home... looks great. so i greatly recommend it to you & your home.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit

Fair quality given the price

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The mailbox sits a little higher than most if you follow the directions. Not as sturdy as I hoped, but should be fine for a few years.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cedar Drive-In Mailbox Post Kit
from North Carolina

Gibralter Cedar mailbox kits

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Looks very nice. Post stake is not good for hard ground as it bends and top of post goes out of round for post to slip over. Should be used on softer ground or pre-drill the ground for post.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>