728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment

LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment

This Custom Building Products LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Rapid-Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment is used to level sub-floors prior to installing new flooring such as carpet, tile, wood flooring or stone. The underlayment can be applied up to 1 in. thick and is formulated to cure quickly and achieve a high early strength for a quick installation.
Overall rating:
3.904 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product60 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(15)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(10)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product60 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
77 Questions | 126 Answers
Customer reviews for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Review 1 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
JerZGrl
from New Jersey
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 48-year old single mom to 2 cats, and if I can do it so can you! I tend to research things to death and I found an online home improvement site that said to make sure the leveling compound is the consistency of pea soup when you pour it. If it's the consistency of pancake batter, its already too thick. That turned out to be great advice. Also, you must use the liquid primer before you pour the leveling compound! If you don't, all the water from the compound will get sucked into your unprimed floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
ibslic
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow the instructions and you will be amazed when finished.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the pro to the home owner this is a product you can
depend on. I am a home owner, in construction all my life
but 1st time ever doing this type of job.
DO,s -Read the INSTRUCTIONS twice so you dont forget
the steps.
Follow the INSTRUCTIONS so you dont mess up.
Have a container marked with the amount of water
needed per bag acordding to the INSTRUCTIONS.
Have a 1/2" CORDED drill WHEN you start.
Have a helper, one mixes while the other adds the
water and product.
Have a squege ready just in case you need it.
Have the border of the area sealed off befor you
start. i used painters tape. ( it will escape if it can )
Have a mask
Mix away from the job area
Buy more than you think you need, then return
unused bags.( you dont have time to run back )
DONT,s - DO NOT STOP UNTILL JOB COMPLETE.
My girlfriend and i used 14 bags for 1/2 of our unlevel
basement floor. Floor looks great like a pro job untill you see where i STOPPED and then started again. gonna buy more next week and fix that area. been 8 mths now and has held up to alot of traffic.
Excellent Product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+111points
117out of 123found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
OKL1

Easier than I thought with a great smooth finish

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Debated about lifting some existing tiles and leveling the floor in a basement bathroom. Almost seemed like too much trouble. Couldn't have been further from the truth. Tiles came up easily and this Levelquick was easy to mix with cordless drill (needed both batteries) and the mixing bit the associate from HD gave me. Added the mix slowly to the water (three heaped garden trowel fulls at a time) , mixed well, and went on the floor smooth. Used a hand hand grouting tool to spread it out a bit, but didn't have to do much. Re-tiling should now be much easier. Very happy.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Tommyboy
from Mineral City, OH 44656, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Read and follow the directions and this stuff works great. I was afraid to do this alone so I had a friend of mine who had used it before help me out. We mixed one bag at a time in a five gallon bucket. We put the proper amount of water into the bucket and slowly added the product while running the mixer until the entire bag was emptied. We continued to mix for about 1 minute until the consistency of pancake batter. Then we poured it onto the floor starting at the low end and allowed it to do it's thing. We didn't move it by hand at all just let it settle on it's own. We then mixed another bag and did the same thing until the floor was covered. It couldn't have been easier. I would suggest you make certain you have the areas you don't want it to go (toilet ring, under cabinets, doorways) are blocked off since this stuff really flows out everywhere to find level. We poured 11 bags in a 10 x 12 room in about an hour.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
measureoncecuttwice

Key to a great pour? Mix and drop it all at once

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I happen to prefer Ardex self-leveling, but it's more expensive and sold at HD supply. Regardless of which you use, however, the key is to mixing it all at once and laying it down all at once.
I just did a 4 bag bathroom. That is, it took 4 bags of self-leveling compound to cover the bathroom (for tile). Do not, and I repeat do not mix one bag in a 5 gallon bucket and then mix the next bag in another bucket and so on until you have 4 buckets done. By the time you are done mixing your 4th bag, the first bag will already be setting up (hardening). And you might as well throw in the towel at that point.
So, for my 4 bagger, i bought a 20 gallon trash can - also, conveniently, at Home Depot (and cheap). I added water for all 4 bags of mix and had a buddy drop in one bag after the next while I was mixing the whole shebang with a mixer on a power drill. It took roughly 4 minutes to put in and mix all 4 bags, with an additional minute to make sure it was all well combined and lump free. Note: i put the 20 gal garbage can in the bathroom and that's where we did the mixing - waaaay too heavy to move with all that compound and water. Then I used a 5 gallon HD bucket to pull the stuff out of the 20 gal container to spread it around. At the end I emptied the 20 gal container in the middle and I was done. Pulled the ziplocs off my feet (over my socks, another tip) and stepped out of the bathroom. The stuff flowed like a charm and I was a heck of a lot less sweaty than I would have been had I been doing 4 separate buckets - that's just madness. If you have a 2 bag job, get a 10 gallon bucket/garbage can for mixing.
I think that 4 bags is the practical limit for this method, because that's really the most compound you can reasonably mix with a drill mixer. If you have a bigger job just rent one of those revolving cement mixers. I did that for a dining room job that required 12 bags and it worked well. Still need to move fast, though.
Good luck to you.
+58points
60out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Randy
from Delta, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best leveler I've ever used!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Very easy to mix. If you've never used this product, figure the amount you need by the amount of water and remember the volume will increase when you add the Levelquik. Do not hand mix unless you have a mixing rod on a drill and keep adding the leveler within a 5 minute mix period and then use ASAP. The thicker the leveler the less likely it will run through a nail hole. Oh yes it will, if it's thin enough to run in to fill and level it will seep through even a nail hole. Excellent product and I won't use anything but LevelQuik.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
RAnst4038
from Jacobus, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

6 X 8 ft With 3/4" Droop, Worked Great

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First time I ever did this. Split 50 lb bag into 2 batch. Poured the first 50 lb in the center & it self leveled to where the 8 ft 2x4 I was using for a float didn't touch it. Went & got 2nd bag, mixed & poured that. Spread it with a 3 ft squeegee & drug the 8 ft 2x4 back & forth across the pool a couple times. Came out perfect.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+57points
66out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
buckeyes1t

Great product, will use again

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used two bags of RS 50 level quik to level out a 3' x 5' area where i installed a shower base. two bags was probably overkill as the finished surface was about 3/4" thick. did a great job, perfectly level.
i split each bag in half to make it easier to mix in a 5 gallon bucket. i had a helper pour that half bag into another 5 gallon bucket with exactly 3 1/4 quarts of water while i mixed. poured it into the floor area and it spread out on its own. didnt need any spreaders or tools to work with it. i just poured the 2nd, 3rd and 4th mixed buckets into the same area where i poured the first and it worked great.
it did take a lot longer to cure than specified, but i poured it onto a cold slab in my basement in the middle of winter. once it finally cured, its rock solid.
im going to get 2 more bags to level the floor of the remaining basement bathroom area before i tile.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+43points
54out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
BasementFinish
from Utah, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't listen to the bad reviews just USE THE PRIMER!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews I was scared to use this product. It is easy to use and works out well as long as you prep the surface. My first pour was on an unprepared surface. It absorbed the water and dried too fast to even get it level, just what some of the negative reviews say. I learned my lesson. USE THE PRIMER! The primer will seal the surface and stop water absorption. Once I figured that out it was one of the easiest things I have done in finishing my basement. I had plenty of time to work the product and troweled it out close to level and let it do the rest of the leveling itself. I checked it with my level and it turned out better than I thought it would. I am guessing that a lot of the bad reviews are due to poor surface prep. I even did it by myself. I weighed out 25 pounds and used a five gallon bucket, so half of the bag at a time. Having a second person would have helped, but I managed to do it myself. Cleanup was easy. I washed out the bucket and cleaned the trowel just by spraying them with water and it came right off.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Butch
from Northeast PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed as advertised and just what I needed

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment for the first time today and it worked great. I read several of the reviews and can add: It mixed easy (used 3/8inch corded drill and it was actually too powerful. The bag recommends 650 rpm and the B&D drill was rated at 1300 rpm. Variable speed was a MUST. I tried the mixer first in a 5 gallon container with just water in it. Good thing I did. At full speed I got drenched. When I proceeded to actually do the mix with exactly 6.5 qts of water and starting off very slow with the drill speed it was a cinch.
Strongly agree with the reviews that it takes 2 people for best results. My wife added the mix by scoop at first until she could lift the bag and add remainder. I was surprised how quickly it mixed to a "pea soup texture." It poured easily and I had sufficient time to spread the mix and feather a couple places that didn't actually need the mix. Very pleased and now ready to install flooring and new vanity from Home Depot.
Pros: Great Instructions, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Handyhomeowner
from Baton Rouge, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Your Homework Before Using This

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Be advised - this product sets up fast, very fast - which means it stops "self-levelling" within only a minute or two after pouring. Taping off the area is essential because you will need to work quickly - and if you need to spread it, or level it off, have your tools ready. We did a large sloping area (about 150 sq ft, and after pouring 10 bags over a week, we still aren't finished or completely satisfied with the results. If you can just pour this product into an area and NOT have to spread it, it will probably work very well.
If you have a large area to do, then I'd recommend multiple buckets, pre-measured with the water, and THREE or bettter yet, FOUR people - so you can mix and pour it all very quickly.
I agree with many of the comments herein -- Home Depot should offer the Extended Set product, because most ot the reviews seem to be concerned with the resulting "level" - which is after all why we bought this in the first place. To the manufacturer, I'd recommend 25lb bags, because they would be easier to lift and pour. Pouring 50lb bags into a 5 gallon bucket while drill-mixing will work, but it is awkward and/or messy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install, instructions for levelling could be better
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
JCLATX

Does the job!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Perfect for filling in dips and irregularities in the subfloor prior to tiling. Be sure to use the primer - if you don't, this product may separate from it and you'll hear a hollow "tapping" sound when you walk over that part of the tile, and eventually it may fail. (I made this mistake on one job.) Also, for filling deep holes, heed the directions about not doing more than 1-inch thickness at a time - put it down in layers, and prime between each layer! Although this product is a bit pricey compared to others, it performs exactly as advertised.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Eldoradogreen

Not the best mixing instructions...

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently used this product for the first time and found the mixing instructions slightly incorrect. I did all my homework, watched videos, followed the directions to a T and the first pass I did, the mixture started to harden right in the bucket leaving the last part of the floor I did bumpy and scored with drag marks from the soft trowel.
Had to do a second pass for that reason and also because the floor was incredibly unlevel. Once again, followed the instructions but mixed half a bag this time and discovered the same results and I also ran out of mixture which doesn't make sense for the size of the room I was leveling leading me to believe that the mixing instructions on the bag created a compound that was too viscous.
Finishing the floor, I mixed the rest of the bag with slightly more water and lo-and-behold, the mixture leveled itself incredibly well and was smooth. Also had trouble with a lot of little clumps in the mixture even though I used a standard mixer and power drill.
My word of advice - add about one more cup of water than the bag calls for. Your mixture should be slightly thicker than water - like the consistency of cream or syrup not pancake batter which is what you get when you follow the bags instructions.
Cons: Difficult to Install, bad mixing instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
butch
from tulalip, wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Level Quick, great product...

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all do use there primer and let dry. Pre measured water into 6 buckets and had ready to go. Mixed up great with 1/2in drill motor and 22 inch mixer paddle. Lots of dust... Had 3 people to help and went really smooth, one to mix, one to pour in bucket, one to put on floor and spread and one to clean buckets and tools as you go. 9'x12' floor looks really great. Will put new floor on tomorrow. Used chaulking around the edge to seal gap between concrete and 2x4. Also worked good. Have any dams in place such as door way. Good luck, will do my self again.. BK
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Tony

Seems very expensive at first, but what a job it does!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is amazing, takes uneven weird shaped surface areas and bridges the gap. Not entirely sure why it is so expensive, but it is worth its weight in peace of mind!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
meCzech
from Yorktown, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good stuff

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I wanted to put new flooring over existing wooden floors in my old house living room. First I asked contractor, whether old floor could be sanded and saved. But the condition of floor was so poor, that all he could suggest was taking all wood out and to lay wood new. it was too costly solution for my pocket. For moderate fee I asked Home Depot specialists to come and advise me what flooring to use over existing floor. They arrived, made few measurements and the verdict was: nothing else but carpet. The carpet was exactly only thing I did not want. Then I learned, that from all affordable flooring on the market the Allure vinyl flooring is the most forgiving flooring when it comes to leveled floor underneath. The largest differences in elevations we patched with different thicknesses of boards and the finer tuning was done with this product. You follow instructions and it works exactly as is said. It's a very good and useful product for situations as was mine. I just thought it could be little less costly. It does leveling work itself. It was big help. And now thanks to this product I am enjoying very nice floor which looks like wooden boards.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Effective
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
DIYHomeUser

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to level out my sub-floor and it worked like a charm. This is a two person job if you want good results. I was able to mix and pour 3 bags in less than 30 minutes with the help of my wife. I could use a couple more bags but it did an awesome job on leveling the floor.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Oscar94
from Florida

Sets too fast

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to level about 100 sf of floor. Mixed three bags per instructions. We were unable to blend one batch with the next even though less than 5 minutes passed between batches. There are ridges and valleys that never leveled out, and areas that are smooth are not completely level. This product may work well for a small area, but if more than one bucket is needed, try something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
NHjoji
from Manchester, NH

First Time Self Level User

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a DYI, never installed tile before. Read the other POSITIVE reviews on ths product before trying, Thank you for your feedback.
I was working on an old floor for tiling. I started out using a patch compound to level a key transition between the original old house and it's new addition. I just couldn't get it level to speak of, concrete dust everywhere.. So I decide I was going to use this self leveling compound. What a BREEZE it was to pour and spread on the floor. I used a good driveway sealer sqeegee to spead the leveler, mortar mixer with my 1/2" rotary drill, and 6 gallon bucket.
I wished I had used this GREAT Product before i used the patch compound. It would have saved me time, that I could've used to install the tile. The home project consisted of an entryway, two closet, eat in kitchen (cutout for fridge and dishwasher), hallway leading to four bedrooms, a bathroom. I used 10 - 50lb bags in total.
Great product, Wicked easy to apply to the floor. .
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LevelQuik 50 lb. Rapid Setting Self-Leveling Underlayment
Dave
from California

This stuff works!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not sure what others here are talking about. This stuff works and it works well. I am remodeling our master bath and laying this down over top of a concrete slab that has had the drain moved. I wanted to ensure that before I start with pitching the shower pan, that i had a nice clean flat and level surface. A few tips on how this worked for me.
1. Clean the area thoroughly and get all of the construction dust away. I used a shop-vac with a bag. The bag is fairly important as it greatly increases the dust collected.
2) Make sure you have a way to "box in" what you are tyring to level. I was pouring a shower floor so I had walls on all sides. I used calk in the seems between the 2x4 framing and the concrete slab to ensure a good seal.
3) Use the latex primer as directed. It basically lays down a sealed membrane that traps the underlayment and prevents it from escaping the application area.
4)Use two people to mix the stuff. Trying to do it yourself would be a challenge and would probably end up with spilled powder which would throw off your mix ration.
5) try to spread it as you pour. If done right, you shouldn't need to push it around with a trough or squeegee.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>