728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Custom Building Products LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment is used to level sub-floors prior to installing new flooring such as carpet, tile, wood flooring or stone. The underlayment can be applied up to 1 in. thick. LevelQuik RS is formulated to cure quickly and achieve a high early strength for a quick installation.
Overall rating:
3.847 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product96 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(28)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(19)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product96 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
113 Questions | 189 Answers
Customer reviews for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
Review 1 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Great stuff!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't have a very large area to level but since it's something I've never done before, I was a little nervous. I purchased the primer along with a couple bags of the mortar. Some reviews say to use the primer and others say it's not necessary but I tend to err on the side of caution. Whether you use the primer or not, this material is incredibly easy to work with. Make sure you have the right amount of water and this is an easy one man, one bucket job if you have less than 100 square feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Kerrville, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works wonders on "wavy", uneven floors. Make sure to follow the mixing instructions on the bag, as they have recently changed the amount of water needed per bag. If you have one person mixing and one dumping the bucket and spreading the installation is even easier.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive results!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a bit nervous to tackle a big leveling job in our basement but am so glad that I did -- the results are fantastic! We had an uneven concrete slab previously covered in carpet that needed leveling prior to laying vinyl planking. With the help of two friends, I was easily able to mix and pour four bags in each of two rooms. I mixed using a corded drill; one friend poured in the concrete mix into a 5-gallon bucket; and a third friend measured and pour water. This worked perfectly, and I was able to feather the edges and make sure everything was level prior to the concrete setting. All-in-all, we fixed a 1" - 2" unevenness in both rooms and have a nearly level subfloor for our new flooring. Highly recommended in conjunction with the floor prep mixture.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow the instructions and you will be amazed when finished.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the pro to the home owner this is a product you can
depend on. I am a home owner, in construction all my life
but 1st time ever doing this type of job.
DO,s -Read the INSTRUCTIONS twice so you dont forget
the steps.
Follow the INSTRUCTIONS so you dont mess up.
Have a container marked with the amount of water
needed per bag acordding to the INSTRUCTIONS.
Have a 1/2" CORDED drill WHEN you start.
Have a helper, one mixes while the other adds the
water and product.
Have a squege ready just in case you need it.
Have the border of the area sealed off befor you
start. i used painters tape. ( it will escape if it can )
Have a mask
Mix away from the job area
Buy more than you think you need, then return
unused bags.( you dont have time to run back )
DONT,s - DO NOT STOP UNTILL JOB COMPLETE.
My girlfriend and i used 14 bags for 1/2 of our unlevel
basement floor. Floor looks great like a pro job untill you see where i STOPPED and then started again. gonna buy more next week and fix that area. been 8 mths now and has held up to alot of traffic.
Excellent Product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+152points
165out of 178found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Easier than I thought with a great smooth finish

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Debated about lifting some existing tiles and leveling the floor in a basement bathroom. Almost seemed like too much trouble. Couldn't have been further from the truth. Tiles came up easily and this Levelquick was easy to mix with cordless drill (needed both batteries) and the mixing bit the associate from HD gave me. Added the mix slowly to the water (three heaped garden trowel fulls at a time) , mixed well, and went on the floor smooth. Used a hand hand grouting tool to spread it out a bit, but didn't have to do much. Re-tiling should now be much easier. Very happy.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
38out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Jacobus, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

6 X 8 ft With 3/4" Droop, Worked Great

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First time I ever did this. Split 50 lb bag into 2 batch. Poured the first 50 lb in the center & it self leveled to where the 8 ft 2x4 I was using for a float didn't touch it. Went & got 2nd bag, mixed & poured that. Spread it with a 3 ft squeegee & drug the 8 ft 2x4 back & forth across the pool a couple times. Came out perfect.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+62points
75out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from New Jersey
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a 48-year old single mom to 2 cats, and if I can do it so can you! I tend to research things to death and I found an online home improvement site that said to make sure the leveling compound is the consistency of pea soup when you pour it. If it's the consistency of pancake batter, its already too thick. That turned out to be great advice. Also, you must use the liquid primer before you pour the leveling compound! If you don't, all the water from the compound will get sucked into your unprimed floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+83points
84out of 85found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not real thrilled with the results.

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product twice now. The first time was a small one bag job and I was a little dismayed at how quickly the product became unusable. When the manufacturer says the pot life of the product is 15 minutes, they mean 15 minutes MAX!. My second job was a 54 foot hallway, and this time I was ready for the quick setup time. Had two people mixing and carrying buckets to me as fast as they could while I spread the material along the hallway just as fast. In spite of all my prep work using the proper primer, amount of water, mixing and application speed, I wound up with a number of spots where the material did not flow out very well and left ripples. I spent a great deal of time planning this job out to make sure all conditions were perfect to the letter per manufacturers instructions and while the finished job is not horrible by any means, I had hoped for better results. In hindsight I really don't know what I could have done different to come out with a better result. If there is a next time, I will definitely use a different product in spite of the fact most of them cost more.
Pros: Sturdy, cost
Cons: sets very fast, didn't flow well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Great product, will use again

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used two bags of RS 50 level quik to level out a 3' x 5' area where i installed a shower base. two bags was probably overkill as the finished surface was about 3/4" thick. did a great job, perfectly level.
i split each bag in half to make it easier to mix in a 5 gallon bucket. i had a helper pour that half bag into another 5 gallon bucket with exactly 3 1/4 quarts of water while i mixed. poured it into the floor area and it spread out on its own. didnt need any spreaders or tools to work with it. i just poured the 2nd, 3rd and 4th mixed buckets into the same area where i poured the first and it worked great.
it did take a lot longer to cure than specified, but i poured it onto a cold slab in my basement in the middle of winter. once it finally cured, its rock solid.
im going to get 2 more bags to level the floor of the remaining basement bathroom area before i tile.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
59out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Mineral City, OH 44656, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Read and follow the directions and this stuff works great. I was afraid to do this alone so I had a friend of mine who had used it before help me out. We mixed one bag at a time in a five gallon bucket. We put the proper amount of water into the bucket and slowly added the product while running the mixer until the entire bag was emptied. We continued to mix for about 1 minute until the consistency of pancake batter. Then we poured it onto the floor starting at the low end and allowed it to do it's thing. We didn't move it by hand at all just let it settle on it's own. We then mixed another bag and did the same thing until the floor was covered. It couldn't have been easier. I would suggest you make certain you have the areas you don't want it to go (toilet ring, under cabinets, doorways) are blocked off since this stuff really flows out everywhere to find level. We poured 11 bags in a 10 x 12 room in about an hour.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Tawas MI

Does not flow

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Put exactly the amount of water as said on package did not flow ended up with high and low spots
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Key to a great pour? Mix and drop it all at once

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I happen to prefer Ardex self-leveling, but it's more expensive and sold at HD supply. Regardless of which you use, however, the key is to mixing it all at once and laying it down all at once.
I just did a 4 bag bathroom. That is, it took 4 bags of self-leveling compound to cover the bathroom (for tile). Do not, and I repeat do not mix one bag in a 5 gallon bucket and then mix the next bag in another bucket and so on until you have 4 buckets done. By the time you are done mixing your 4th bag, the first bag will already be setting up (hardening). And you might as well throw in the towel at that point.
So, for my 4 bagger, i bought a 20 gallon trash can - also, conveniently, at Home Depot (and cheap). I added water for all 4 bags of mix and had a buddy drop in one bag after the next while I was mixing the whole shebang with a mixer on a power drill. It took roughly 4 minutes to put in and mix all 4 bags, with an additional minute to make sure it was all well combined and lump free. Note: i put the 20 gal garbage can in the bathroom and that's where we did the mixing - waaaay too heavy to move with all that compound and water. Then I used a 5 gallon HD bucket to pull the stuff out of the 20 gal container to spread it around. At the end I emptied the 20 gal container in the middle and I was done. Pulled the ziplocs off my feet (over my socks, another tip) and stepped out of the bathroom. The stuff flowed like a charm and I was a heck of a lot less sweaty than I would have been had I been doing 4 separate buckets - that's just madness. If you have a 2 bag job, get a 10 gallon bucket/garbage can for mixing.
I think that 4 bags is the practical limit for this method, because that's really the most compound you can reasonably mix with a drill mixer. If you have a bigger job just rent one of those revolving cement mixers. I did that for a dining room job that required 12 bags and it worked well. Still need to move fast, though.
Good luck to you.
+74points
78out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Kissimmee,FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to use and great results,just follow the instructions on the bag.
Used it on a washroom sower pan installation,the floor was level all around the area after pouring the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Golden Co.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best product to level a surface. I was a tile contractor for 38yrs, nothing work's better.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is very easy to mix even with a margin trowel an electric drill with a mixer work's better if your doing a large area. Mix, pour and trowel it's as easy as that.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Utah, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't listen to the bad reviews just USE THE PRIMER!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews I was scared to use this product. It is easy to use and works out well as long as you prep the surface. My first pour was on an unprepared surface. It absorbed the water and dried too fast to even get it level, just what some of the negative reviews say. I learned my lesson. USE THE PRIMER! The primer will seal the surface and stop water absorption. Once I figured that out it was one of the easiest things I have done in finishing my basement. I had plenty of time to work the product and troweled it out close to level and let it do the rest of the leveling itself. I checked it with my level and it turned out better than I thought it would. I am guessing that a lot of the bad reviews are due to poor surface prep. I even did it by myself. I weighed out 25 pounds and used a five gallon bucket, so half of the bag at a time. Having a second person would have helped, but I managed to do it myself. Cleanup was easy. I washed out the bucket and cleaned the trowel just by spraying them with water and it came right off.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

beware fast setting time

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was unsuccessful in leveling a bathroom floor and had to chip it out (not very difficult) because I had bought the quick setting variety and didn't realize it. I recommend the slower setting type unless you are really fast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from IOWA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

get the right tools

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst fear that developed when I read 50 sq ft per bag and applies up to 1" thick was inadequate. Make sure you get a gauged spreader as recommended or rake, even though Home Depot, Lowe's or Menard's don't sell them, since this product is not self-leveling. I primed cement floor with Levelquick primer and extra 1/2 pint of water, but it still is to thick to simply fill low areas where water pools. Wish I'd had a four to six foot bullfloat to level it with. Broom and squeegee HD sold me just move it around. Will try to grind off high areas.
Pros: Great Instructions, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just Right

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this wine cooler to store several bottles of expensive wine bought on vacation. I wanted something that would fit on the counter and look nice. So far this product has met our expectations. It cools as described, is quiet, looks great and was inexpensive.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-87points
1out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Level Quick

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked as advertised. I was on standby with a trowel considering our dry, Southern Arizona climate and the advertised, quick set time. I didn't wait to see if I was going to need it, so I gave an assist, which may not have been necessary.
While it wasn't cheap, it did produce a smooth, hard finish. Compared to the cost of failure, it was a bargain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Delta, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best leveler I've ever used!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Very easy to mix. If you've never used this product, figure the amount you need by the amount of water and remember the volume will increase when you add the Levelquik. Do not hand mix unless you have a mixing rod on a drill and keep adding the leveler within a 5 minute mix period and then use ASAP. The thicker the leveler the less likely it will run through a nail hole. Oh yes it will, if it's thin enough to run in to fill and level it will seep through even a nail hole. Excellent product and I won't use anything but LevelQuik.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>