728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Custom Building Products LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment is used to level sub-floors prior to installing new flooring such as carpet, tile, wood flooring or stone. The underlayment can be applied up to 1 in. thick. LevelQuik RS is formulated to cure quickly and achieve a high early strength for a quick installation.
Overall rating:
3.861 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product102 of 138reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(71)
4
(31)
3
(12)
2
(11)
1
(19)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product102 of 138reviews
Customer questions and answers:
121 Questions | 216 Answers
Customer reviews for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
Review 1 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad product at all. Just learn from my mistakes

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Tools you will need:
2 people
Measuring bucket
1/4 nap paint roller for primer
Egg Beater style mixer
Quality 1/2" corded drill (Milwaukee, DeWalt, Craftsman, etc)
Libman Flex Blade Squeegee (this worked perfect)
Mixing and pouring buckets (depending on size of the job)
I bought a cabin in 2010. The main room sits on a slab that at some point, cracked and settled. I've been keeping an eye on it and since I've had the cabin and it hasn't gotten any worse. The previous owner had vinyl tiles down and I want to upgrade to ceramic. Not knowing whether the existing tiles contained asbestos, I was reluctant to pull them all up. So I decided to only remove the ones that were over the crack. My nephew sprayed them down while I removed them.
I filled the exposed crack with a concrete silicone to prevent the leveling compound from entering. You will see I used duct tape to cover along the base of the walls. You will need to do something like this because this stuff will seep into any crevice it can find. I'm putting cedar tongue and groove on the walls once the floor is installed so I didn't really care about the duct tape showing.
After reading the specs for the levelquik primer, I noticed that it did not state it could be used over vinyl substrates. So I after extensive research, I bought some Ardex P82 primer. This stuff worked outstanding for my application. The levelquik primer is probably fine over wood and concrete subfloors though.
I did quite a bit of research (read forums, watched youtube videos, etc) before attempting this job. I knew I couldn't do the entire job in one pour. Being I had a large area to cover. I bought a 20 gallon trash can to mix in. I mixed 4 bags on my first pour. The directions state 5.25-5.75 quarts of water per bag. I went with an even 6 quarts in hopes of buying me a few extra minutes to work with it..
I bought an egg beater mixer with a 30" shaft. to blend it all together. You will need a high quality drill to mix this amount at once. It doesn't have to be a super high torque drill but a high quality standard corded drill with a 1/2" chuck will do the job. We poured all the pre-measured water into the trash can. While I was running the drill, my nephew started dumping bags. Make sure you mix this outside as dust will fly everywhere.
I bought two 2 gallon buckets so my nephew could fill one while I poured the other. Once the trash can was light enough, we dumped it. This stuff will drip everywhere. So if you're going through a finished area of your house, make sure you put down something to catch the drips. The first pour went flawlessly.
The biggest mistake I made was I didn't wait long enough to do the second pour. I wasn't sure how long to wait, I started the second batch to soon. I waited about 30 minutes before starting my second pour. This time I did 3 bags. I used the same mixing ratio (6 quarts/bag) and I started pouring. I got a little excited and poured to much by the first pour. When they overlapped, I could see there was a lip. So I used my squeegee to pull it back. The problem was the first pour was still soft and I dented it up reaching out and pulling back the second pour. The squeegee did a great job collecting the compound and I could feather it really good. Besides the little dents, you can't even feel a transition from one pour to the other. My advice is to wait at least an hour before attempting a second pour.
I don't really have any complaints about the product itself. The only thing I wish they had was better instructions. I downloaded the instructions from the custom builders website and it doesn't say how long you should wait before pouring another batch. It just says if you wait more than 24 hours, you will need to primer the existing compound.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Great stuff!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't have a very large area to level but since it's something I've never done before, I was a little nervous. I purchased the primer along with a couple bags of the mortar. Some reviews say to use the primer and others say it's not necessary but I tend to err on the side of caution. Whether you use the primer or not, this material is incredibly easy to work with. Make sure you have the right amount of water and this is an easy one man, one bucket job if you have less than 100 square feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Fallsburg, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needs more water that the recommended

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I poured this on new concrete cured for 10 days and I also applied the primer.
I followed instructions but this bags need about six quarts of water instead of the 5.25 to 5.75 recommended. It will work but will not find its own level easily.
I mixed two buckets at once and poured them at the same time. One was with the recommended water amount and didn't give me a perfectly flat level surface. The other had more water and worked perfect.
I am going to install ceramic floor tile on top of it and despite the wavy appearance, I have a level surface anyway. The Thinset will help.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Kerrville, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works wonders on "wavy", uneven floors. Make sure to follow the mixing instructions on the bag, as they have recently changed the amount of water needed per bag. If you have one person mixing and one dumping the bucket and spreading the installation is even easier.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow the instructions and you will be amazed when finished.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the pro to the home owner this is a product you can
depend on. I am a home owner, in construction all my life
but 1st time ever doing this type of job.
DO,s -Read the INSTRUCTIONS twice so you dont forget
the steps.
Follow the INSTRUCTIONS so you dont mess up.
Have a container marked with the amount of water
needed per bag acordding to the INSTRUCTIONS.
Have a 1/2" CORDED drill WHEN you start.
Have a helper, one mixes while the other adds the
water and product.
Have a squege ready just in case you need it.
Have the border of the area sealed off befor you
start. i used painters tape. ( it will escape if it can )
Have a mask
Mix away from the job area
Buy more than you think you need, then return
unused bags.( you dont have time to run back )
DONT,s - DO NOT STOP UNTILL JOB COMPLETE.
My girlfriend and i used 14 bags for 1/2 of our unlevel
basement floor. Floor looks great like a pro job untill you see where i STOPPED and then started again. gonna buy more next week and fix that area. been 8 mths now and has held up to alot of traffic.
Excellent Product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+162points
175out of 188found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive results!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a bit nervous to tackle a big leveling job in our basement but am so glad that I did -- the results are fantastic! We had an uneven concrete slab previously covered in carpet that needed leveling prior to laying vinyl planking. With the help of two friends, I was easily able to mix and pour four bags in each of two rooms. I mixed using a corded drill; one friend poured in the concrete mix into a 5-gallon bucket; and a third friend measured and pour water. This worked perfectly, and I was able to feather the edges and make sure everything was level prior to the concrete setting. All-in-all, we fixed a 1" - 2" unevenness in both rooms and have a nearly level subfloor for our new flooring. Highly recommended in conjunction with the floor prep mixture.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Easier than I thought with a great smooth finish

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Debated about lifting some existing tiles and leveling the floor in a basement bathroom. Almost seemed like too much trouble. Couldn't have been further from the truth. Tiles came up easily and this Levelquick was easy to mix with cordless drill (needed both batteries) and the mixing bit the associate from HD gave me. Added the mix slowly to the water (three heaped garden trowel fulls at a time) , mixed well, and went on the floor smooth. Used a hand hand grouting tool to spread it out a bit, but didn't have to do much. Re-tiling should now be much easier. Very happy.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+36points
40out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

it's not a perfect science

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use self leveling products frequently and sometimes they work perfectly, sometimes not so much. Read and follow the directions to the letter and have help on hand if you're mixing more than 8 bags for a lift. The most common mistake is NOT mixing at the prescribed speed for the prescribed time. 800 rpm's is faster than most heavy duty drill motors turn and 2 minutes seems like forever. Lastly, maintain a wet edge to assure mixing of batches on the floor otherwise it looks like an alluvial plain after the water recedes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Jacobus, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

6 X 8 ft With 3/4" Droop, Worked Great

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First time I ever did this. Split 50 lb bag into 2 batch. Poured the first 50 lb in the center & it self leveled to where the 8 ft 2x4 I was using for a float didn't touch it. Went & got 2nd bag, mixed & poured that. Spread it with a 3 ft squeegee & drug the 8 ft 2x4 back & forth across the pool a couple times. Came out perfect.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+66points
79out of 92found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Great product, will use again

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used two bags of RS 50 level quik to level out a 3' x 5' area where i installed a shower base. two bags was probably overkill as the finished surface was about 3/4" thick. did a great job, perfectly level.
i split each bag in half to make it easier to mix in a 5 gallon bucket. i had a helper pour that half bag into another 5 gallon bucket with exactly 3 1/4 quarts of water while i mixed. poured it into the floor area and it spread out on its own. didnt need any spreaders or tools to work with it. i just poured the 2nd, 3rd and 4th mixed buckets into the same area where i poured the first and it worked great.
it did take a lot longer to cure than specified, but i poured it onto a cold slab in my basement in the middle of winter. once it finally cured, its rock solid.
im going to get 2 more bags to level the floor of the remaining basement bathroom area before i tile.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+47points
61out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Warren, MI
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used this product to level a cement basement floor before laying vinyl tile planks (Trafficmaster Allure Ultra). We did use the primer on the area to be leveled before spreading the self-levelor. The product did a great job, but we found it better to add more water than recommended to thin it for easier use. The thinner product self leveled better with needing only minimal feathering at the edges. It also provided a little more 'work' time as the product does begin to set up quickly. The least amount of touching it, the better. The coverage seemed less then we expected from reading the bag (even with thinning it) and we ended up using more than one bag to get our desired result.
After drying, it was crack free, durable and is working perfectly under the floor.
If needed, we would use this agian on other leveling products.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from New Jersey
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a 48-year old single mom to 2 cats, and if I can do it so can you! I tend to research things to death and I found an online home improvement site that said to make sure the leveling compound is the consistency of pea soup when you pour it. If it's the consistency of pancake batter, its already too thick. That turned out to be great advice. Also, you must use the liquid primer before you pour the leveling compound! If you don't, all the water from the compound will get sucked into your unprimed floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+91points
92out of 93found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not real thrilled with the results.

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product twice now. The first time was a small one bag job and I was a little dismayed at how quickly the product became unusable. When the manufacturer says the pot life of the product is 15 minutes, they mean 15 minutes MAX!. My second job was a 54 foot hallway, and this time I was ready for the quick setup time. Had two people mixing and carrying buckets to me as fast as they could while I spread the material along the hallway just as fast. In spite of all my prep work using the proper primer, amount of water, mixing and application speed, I wound up with a number of spots where the material did not flow out very well and left ripples. I spent a great deal of time planning this job out to make sure all conditions were perfect to the letter per manufacturers instructions and while the finished job is not horrible by any means, I had hoped for better results. In hindsight I really don't know what I could have done different to come out with a better result. If there is a next time, I will definitely use a different product in spite of the fact most of them cost more.
Pros: Sturdy, cost
Cons: sets very fast, didn't flow well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from San Marcos,Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading numerous reviews I was concerned about using this product. The reason for my concerns were the many reviews stating this product sets up too quickly. I did read 1 particular review which verified my thoughts on this subject. Mix the compound using more water than the directions called for.I did exactly that.and it worked perfectly. I added 2 additional quarts of water to the mix and the result was an amazing finish.
I will provide additonal advice. You will need someone to help unless you are doing a small area and will only be using 1 bag of compound. You will need to work fast because even with additional water to the mix this will set up quickly. The bag will say you must use their primer(I did not). The bag will also say if you are using this on plywood or OSB subfloor you will need to use metal lath(I did not). You will need an electric drill and a mixing bit to mix this. Do not tattempt to mix by hand. You will also need to seal any holes or cracks in your floor. This stuff will seek the low points and will run through small cracks. Caulk works excellent.
In summarry: I did 2 rooms with this compound over and OSB subfloor. I had never used this product or anything similar.I had my wife help me mix with the addittional water. We used a cheap 3/8 drill and it was more than enough by using the extra water and adding the compound slowly. After the compound was mixed I poured the buckets onto my very unlevel subfloor and did not touch it with anything. I repeat, I did not touch it with anything. It worked exactly as indicated, leveled itself, and I had 2 perfectly level rooms to isnstall flooring on. It's that simple. USE EXTRA WATER !!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Mineral City, OH 44656, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Read and follow the directions and this stuff works great. I was afraid to do this alone so I had a friend of mine who had used it before help me out. We mixed one bag at a time in a five gallon bucket. We put the proper amount of water into the bucket and slowly added the product while running the mixer until the entire bag was emptied. We continued to mix for about 1 minute until the consistency of pancake batter. Then we poured it onto the floor starting at the low end and allowed it to do it's thing. We didn't move it by hand at all just let it settle on it's own. We then mixed another bag and did the same thing until the floor was covered. It couldn't have been easier. I would suggest you make certain you have the areas you don't want it to go (toilet ring, under cabinets, doorways) are blocked off since this stuff really flows out everywhere to find level. We poured 11 bags in a 10 x 12 room in about an hour.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Marengo, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good stuff for an off brand product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was pretty easy. It is better if two people are mixing while another person works the last pour. It will set up quickly if you don't mix quick enough. We had a slight issue, but is was mainly because there was just two of us mixing and working the product. It set up a little quicker than I would have liked.
I does leave a nice flat surface which you can lay your floor on very soon after putting the mix down. I would recommend it and use it again. I would definitely put this up against the higher priced name brands.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Tawas MI

Does not flow

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Put exactly the amount of water as said on package did not flow ended up with high and low spots
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment

Key to a great pour? Mix and drop it all at once

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I happen to prefer Ardex self-leveling, but it's more expensive and sold at HD supply. Regardless of which you use, however, the key is to mixing it all at once and laying it down all at once.
I just did a 4 bag bathroom. That is, it took 4 bags of self-leveling compound to cover the bathroom (for tile). Do not, and I repeat do not mix one bag in a 5 gallon bucket and then mix the next bag in another bucket and so on until you have 4 buckets done. By the time you are done mixing your 4th bag, the first bag will already be setting up (hardening). And you might as well throw in the towel at that point.
So, for my 4 bagger, i bought a 20 gallon trash can - also, conveniently, at Home Depot (and cheap). I added water for all 4 bags of mix and had a buddy drop in one bag after the next while I was mixing the whole shebang with a mixer on a power drill. It took roughly 4 minutes to put in and mix all 4 bags, with an additional minute to make sure it was all well combined and lump free. Note: i put the 20 gal garbage can in the bathroom and that's where we did the mixing - waaaay too heavy to move with all that compound and water. Then I used a 5 gallon HD bucket to pull the stuff out of the 20 gal container to spread it around. At the end I emptied the 20 gal container in the middle and I was done. Pulled the ziplocs off my feet (over my socks, another tip) and stepped out of the bathroom. The stuff flowed like a charm and I was a heck of a lot less sweaty than I would have been had I been doing 4 separate buckets - that's just madness. If you have a 2 bag job, get a 10 gallon bucket/garbage can for mixing.
I think that 4 bags is the practical limit for this method, because that's really the most compound you can reasonably mix with a drill mixer. If you have a bigger job just rent one of those revolving cement mixers. I did that for a dining room job that required 12 bags and it worked well. Still need to move fast, though.
Good luck to you.
+77points
81out of 85found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Utah, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't listen to the bad reviews just USE THE PRIMER!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews I was scared to use this product. It is easy to use and works out well as long as you prep the surface. My first pour was on an unprepared surface. It absorbed the water and dried too fast to even get it level, just what some of the negative reviews say. I learned my lesson. USE THE PRIMER! The primer will seal the surface and stop water absorption. Once I figured that out it was one of the easiest things I have done in finishing my basement. I had plenty of time to work the product and troweled it out close to level and let it do the rest of the leveling itself. I checked it with my level and it turned out better than I thought it would. I am guessing that a lot of the bad reviews are due to poor surface prep. I even did it by myself. I weighed out 25 pounds and used a five gallon bucket, so half of the bag at a time. Having a second person would have helped, but I managed to do it myself. Cleanup was easy. I washed out the bucket and cleaned the trowel just by spraying them with water and it came right off.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+43points
46out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LevelQuik RS 50 lb. Self-Leveling Underlayment
from Manchester, NH

First Time Self Level User

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a DYI, never installed tile before. Read the other POSITIVE reviews on ths product before trying, Thank you for your feedback.
I was working on an old floor for tiling. I started out using a patch compound to level a key transition between the original old house and it's new addition. I just couldn't get it level to speak of, concrete dust everywhere.. So I decide I was going to use this self leveling compound. What a BREEZE it was to pour and spread on the floor. I used a good driveway sealer sqeegee to spead the leveler, mortar mixer with my 1/2" rotary drill, and 6 gallon bucket.
I wished I had used this GREAT Product before i used the patch compound. It would have saved me time, that I could've used to install the tile. The home project consisted of an entryway, two closet, eat in kitchen (cutout for fridge and dishwasher), hallway leading to four bedrooms, a bathroom. I used 10 - 50lb bags in total.
Great product, Wicked easy to apply to the floor. .
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>