728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

This cleaner is designed to clean the dirtiest pine, cedar, redwood, cypress and birch decks and siding; asphalt shingle and cedar shake roofs; and badly stained and oil spotted concrete in the fastest and easiest way possible, removing dirt, grease, tree stains, baked-on pollen, mildew and algae stains, and weathering. It restores original color to your wood and makes asphalt and cedar shake shingle roofs look new. It cleans and whitens concrete, vinyl siding and fiberglas. This product is a concentrate that dilutes 9:1 with water, making 10 gallons and will clean about 2000 square feet. It is water based, nontoxic, biodegradable and contains no solvents, phosphates or bleach. Being free of bleach, it will not harm shingles or bleach wood.
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
Review 1 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Southern New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advertised

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Applied it on my deck through my power washer on low spray level. Used a stiff brush with light pressure to work it in a little better. Let sit for about 10-15 minutes, making sure it didn't dry by lightly spraying every 5 minutes, and power washed it off at medium to high pressure. Deck wood looks almost new. Removed all the mildew, dirt, and grease spillage from my BBQ grill. Deck is about 15 yrs. old and hadn't been cleaned in 3-4 years. Even loosened up the old peeling stain to help removal with power washer. Good product...worked as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Plainville, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You have GOT to get this stuff

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Believe me, I have tried everything to clean the algae and mold off the deck and the side of the house where there is minimal sun. I have tried Bleach, shock and other deck cleaners. My neighbor told me to use this. Not only did he tell me to use this, he came over and cleaned my shed to prove it to me. I am SOLD. You have GOT to use this stuff if you have any cleaning to do on your deck or siding (vinyl or clapboard).
I diluted it out 1 gallon to 5 gallons. they say to make 10 gallons. I have a pump sprayer and I sprayed it on the most mildew-y part of the house. It was green. I just sprayed it on lightly so that it was all covered. I let it sit for 15 minutes. I used a soft brush...like you would use on your car...after a light rinse and the stuff came off almost completely. No strenuous labor. No scrubbing the paint off. A light brushing and then I rinsed off the mold, mildew and algae. My house looks almost brand new.
Really...I am trying to tell you what a great product this is. It saved me a TON of time and it WORKED. A second coat of this stuff and the house really is cleaner than it has been in the 5 years I've lived here.
It doesn't kill the plants. It is GREAT. And after you rinse it off and see what a great job it does, in a few hours, it will look even cleaner.
It is hard to get across how good this is. When reading these things, you see some good...some bad. For the people who did not think it did a good job...I really have no idea what could have gone wrong.
Pros: Easy to Use, it works!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded my expectations

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced my roof shingles 5 years ago with a light tan color and oak trees hanging over the house had resulted in "tree scum". I was hesitant about harming the new shingles but used M-1 as directed and rather than using a pressure washer, I used a high pressure nozzle on a water hose to rinse. The result is that the affected shingles now look new like the rest of the roof. Azaleas planted directly in the roof drip line were not harmed in the process and I did not cover them. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

clean roof

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sprayed on roof as directed. Waited 20 min. Hosed off with garden hose ,wasn't really happy with cleaning pressure so I used my power washer .great results . The roof. Looks brand new ,I am very happy with this product . It works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i have been using this product for more than ten years now.i found that if you are cleaning your deck its best to do it on a rainy day,because the deck needs to stay wet the whole time. mix it 9 to 1,and spray it several times and just keep it soaked with the cleaner and a wet surface for an houre and rinse ,when the sun dries it out it will be cleaner,clean enough to stain.never p.w. a deck it will ruin the wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Pennsylvania, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff!

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't waste your money on anything else! I used in on a deck and roof shingles and the dirt and crud came right off. Anything else I've tried didn't work as well as this stuff.
It doesn't have a bad smell at all, and it needs only 10 minutes to work. My deck is small, so I have probably enough left to last me for 10 yrs.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Salem Va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not so much...

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most of these products are like snake oil with high hopes, big promises, and less than spectacular results. It didn't do anything to my deck with heavy algae except get it wet. I went to 50/50 bleach and water and it lightened the deck nicely for a fraction of the price.Nothing works like bleach! I don't know of anything that will remove the heavy algae except pressure washing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works as advertised, namely it works!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've cleaned siding, our paver patio, and with a different mixing ratio, stripped our deck. It is the best product I've seem in years. Power washing after application yields excellent results.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

Did not improve my roof

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used bleach and water on my roof trying to remove stains and though it did lighten the stains slightly it did not remove the stains so I decided to try this product and it worked just the same as the bleach did. I would not recommend this product for roof stains. Bleach is cheaper.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Laguna Vista, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

work great

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
well works on assome on shingle....what i did is spray it and wait 10 min and wash it w/ water and scrub my friends ,i used a small scrub broom make sure u dont used a heavy duty beacused u will damaged the shingle grave and , scrub ,scrub just spay it and dont be lazy , come on u can take couple of your minutesof your time nothing is free and scrub trust me it work good frist time for me to used this material and goin to used again ....
thanks
and samething on deck dont spary it and wash it , dont be lazy scrub scrub doesnt hurt to get a little wet ...
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs
from Gastonia,NC

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow mixing directions wash off with pressure washer and WOW it does a GREAT job,
-11points
15out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff works. I used it on my roof last yr. and power washed after. I powered washed other areas without using this product and at the time it didn't look any different. But a yr later the area I did spray with this is completely clean of all mildew and moss. The other areas I didn't use the product are brown again. Summary It works great and you have to wait a yr to really see the end results.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: wait a year for results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

Not on a deck!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work. You need too much water pressure to use on a wooden deck. It raised the fibers and made the wood fuzzy and didn't clean to boot. My deck looks worse than before I used it.
Cons: doesn't work
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

Good but need higher pressure to get great results

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good stuff for roof but I tried to get away with water pressure less than 300 PSI which they say to use. You need to get an electric or some kind of pressure washer for it to really work well. Otherwise, great product and cleaned away moss and growth from the roof as promised, but you need something better than just plain pressure from garden hose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Deck and Roof Cleaner, Cleans Decks and Roofs

best deck cleaner

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best deck cleaner I have ever used. Follow the directions, wet the deck, then spray the mixture with a pump sprayer, let it sit, best results if you give a brush with a stiff brush then spray with a power wash, not to strong. Will not damage plants if you rinse after using.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.