728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Iron Reduction Filter

Iron Reduction Filter

The WaterBoss 900IF is a whole-house water treatment system designed for severe water conditions. The 900IF also reduces iron bacteria and up to 1 ppm of Hydrogen Sulfide.
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product36 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product36 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for Iron Reduction Filter
Review 1 for Iron Reduction Filter
from linden va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the unit works very well but?

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the waterboss iron reduction system works great but you have to purchase potassium permanganate before you can turn the system on. the unit does not come with this chemical and it can be very hard to find. what bothers me most is home depot sells the unit but in this case it was for my daughter in linden,va. the store in winchester va. sells the unit but not the chemical to start it up. do you think there is something wrong with this picture? why not include a start up package and increase the price or even better yet why does home depot not carry the chemical for the product they sell? so if you are going to install this unit on a weekend with this being your only water supply you better find this chemical prior ti installation. when questioned about this at the winchester,va. store they were lost for words much to our dismay.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: see remarks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally a filter that does remove the iron

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We tried several different methods to reduce or eliminate the iron in our well water. We had the reddish brown stains in the tubs and on our white clothes. We had the odor in the water when we took a shower. We stopped drinking the water because it smelled and did not taste good. The Waterboss iron reduction system is taking care of us. I am writing this review almost a year after we installed it. My husband and I installed the system ourselves. The only complaint is that the chemical is not available at Home Depot.
Pros: Nice Design, great iron reduction
Cons: chemical not sold at home depot
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Inglis, FL
Age Range:65 or over

Water Boss Iron Reduction Filter 900IF

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When we purchased our mobile home in Levy County, FL, we were faced with an extremely horrible smell of rotten eggs (sulfur), extensive rust in our bathtubs and showers and toilets and also rust in our dishwasher and washing machine. It was impossible, even with spending a lot of money on products, to even try and wash anything white and have it not come out brown. We had our water tested and went to two local companies which said our ph was over 12 (acceptable) and our iron and sulphur was bad, which we already knew. So they quoted us $2000 and $3000 respectfully for their "in line" solutions which would take care of our problem. We did not have that kind of money and immediately went to research ourselves online and found Home Depot's Water Boss Iron Reduction filter for $399. We had gotten to the point that my wife had to hold her nose to go in and take a shower so we went to Home Depot. The system went in for me (I am in my 70s) fairly easily in a day although I had to readjust some of my plumbing into the unit. Within TWO DAYS we are so thankful that we have no more smell at all and no more rust and iron going into the toilets. We were told that even with a $2000 system that we could not get rid of the smell. Granted we have only had the system less than a week, but we are SO happy that we found an affordable system. If you are in FL and have this problem, stay away from the expensive brands and try this first.
If you go to Home Depot in Crystal River, it may take some doing to make sure you are getting the same $399 unit. The Model is 900IF and some of the sales people will try and pull down the wrong box (it normally sits up on second tier). Be persistent and take a printout of what you want.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Rochester NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing piece of equipment

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We live in New England and we have high iron, so bad that your water stinks. We had our water tested and the only real issue was the amount of iron. I called a local water installer, showed him my results and he quoted me $2900.00 for a system. I thought it was overkill, so I did some research and found this product. The day after it was installed, the smell went away and the water is so much better. No rings in the toilets, no stains on the glasses. Great product and for the cost, it makes it very easy to rationalize the cost.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
Cons: home depot delivery
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Brockway Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase I Could have made

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have well water I recommend the Water Boss system to anyone who has terrible test results on their water. I'am a DYI I double checked on programming on the system with the people from Water Boss the know there stuff. My neighbors system put in his house by a local firm would have cost me $7,000 to install at my house. I have $1,500 in the Water Boss. After flushing the lines when I looked and tasted my water I about feel thru the floor it was that good. No more bottled water for my coffee. The test strips after were perfect. Like I said my water bad when I called Water Boss to check what system I needed I gave them analysis figures. Great people at Water Boss know their stuff. No more "Culligan "experience
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Berkeley Springs, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy far the best purches I ever made.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worth every penny, I've gotten guots of 3500$, thats nuts, we got 6PPM iron and the water stincks, the iron is gone, the water smells good, & tastes great, it regens once a week, & your not a slave to those heavy salt bags every month, 5LBS every 3 to 6 months, but as a retired well driller, have your water tested first, this unit will not work with all types of water, thank god it does with mine!
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference! Works great!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were depending on our softener to also remove iron - but you have to regen it 3x more often. I tried to space out the regen a little and turned the toilets and some clothes brown :(
Bought this at HD and had it hooked up in a few hours. Immediately noticed the difference. Does a great job at removing the iron. No more brown toilets or ruined clothes.
Install was not too bad if you're handy with plumbing. Get the Sharkbite softener connectors! Instructions were pretty good. Only complaint was where it said to "quickly cycle through the regeneration stages", but didn't really tell you how. I just pushed buttons until something changed.
Support only answers during biz hours...
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Michigan

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this iron filter last year and works wonderfully! We used to get rust stains and black stuff in our toilets and since we installed this, there are no more water problems. Be careful when reading the other reviews, as I think they may be reviewing the water "softener" that takes softener salt as it looks exactly like this one. Also, with this filter you are supposed to have a water softener plus this filter. The potassium pom that it takes we could not find at Home Depot store, but Menards carries it on-line and at their stores.
Pros: wonderful
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Iron Reduction Filter

No more rust stains

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have high iron content in your water this filter will seriously improve your life. The iron in our water was so bad that to keep the toilet white I had to scrub it every 3 days. I finally stopped buying clothing that was light colored because the iron stains ruined them. Our water also smelled nasty and that too is gone. When we started filter shopping we were told that we were going to need a $3000.00 filter to fix the problem. I'm glad we kept looking! If you don't like to mess with plumbing it is a pain to install, but any filter system has to be plumbed into your water lines so I certainly wouldn't fault the unit for that. The only negative comment I have is that it requires potassium permanganate and Home Depot does not carry this product. We finally found it at one of the large hardware stores with the water softener products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Iron Reduction Filter
from front royal va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
after dealing with cleaning toilets & sinks and washing machine of heavy iron in our water every day we decided to try water boss 900if after installation and use which was real easy Its been 1 week since the install and no smell or iron stains
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
Cons: no con
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Iron Reduction Filter

Worth every penny!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cannot recommend this filter enough. We draw from a shallow well in Lutz, Florida and the water is absolutely horrible. The water would stain our toilets and showers orange within a day or two of cleaning. Incredibly high iron content! This product, combined with a GE 40,000 grain water softener, has completely changed the character of our water. Thank you Water Boss!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Iron Reduction Filter
from North Canton, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst purchase!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As you read this you may be thinking "this guy doesn't know what he's talking about" or "he didn't know how to install the unit" etc. because that's what I usually think about these negative reviews. Let me put your fears to rest by saying that I have been a contractor for over 13 years. I purchased this unit for my personal house. The unit never really worked as described. The water would come out purple as the unit was not rinsing properly after the regeneration cycle. As time went on more problems arose. The unit started getting clogged and required constant maintenance. If the injectors were not clogged, some other valve clogged and the unit would overfill with water. I spend more time servicing the unit than any other softener we have ever installed. I only wish I would have returned it to the store when it first started having problems (which was during the first week). I was sucked in by the cheap price and now I'm in the market for a different unit. Please do not make the same mistake I did. Furthermore, don't expect technical support to actually help you if you have problems. They are clueless. Stay away; spend more money on a unit that will perform without constant headaches.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Use, constant maintenance, does not work as advertised, hard to use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Franklin Wi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is great! I have been fighting rust stains for 13 years.. using that worthless iron out salt, trying every kind of softner additive, firing culligan and installing my own softner but mostly just going through a TON of salt. Even then we had orange stains and the occasional bout of sulfer growing in the water heater. After adding this baby (installs like a softner) pre softner I now use 1/5th the salt and the water is great. One month later and not a single orange stain on anything. Even the drippy bathtub which in the past has stained up the same day that I cleaned it is still bone white. I normally don't go waxing all poetic about products, but after all the dissapointments in the water department this thing came in and kicked butt and took names. Only issue is the first time I recharged it it started blowing black granuals out the discharge, that freaked me out and I thought something was wrong but the tech support was helpfull and the rest of the install was smooth and like I have said it works great.
+42points
44out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Iron Reduction Filter
from polk, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great purchase for iron removal

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and is a valuable appliance for removing iron from well water.Eliminates iron stain and improves overall water quality.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Walden, NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had purchased thirty years ago.

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed and waited two months before commenting. Within two days, all traces of hydrogen sulfide odors were gone. Once stains were cleaned, they have yet to return. In a house with just two people, we regenerate every tens days. Might be able to go to twelve. Used a softener for years to keep iron out (as well as the hard water). This is vastly superior. I don't regenerate the softener as often, so salt usage dropped. Water tastes better (no more filtered water to buy) and the organic material in the water closets have virtually disappeared. Toilet bowl cleaning is basically flushing, no more hanging cleaners or blue water to help hide the ugly. Wish I had put this in 30 years ago. When the softener dies Water Boss will be the replacement. VERY HAPPY.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, does an excellent job which is why one buys it.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Kokomo, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Iron Filter Review

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The iron filter does a superb job of removing iron from our well water. This unit replaced the same unit - except the OLD unit was around 20 years old. I felt it was better in the long run to just replace the entire unit with a new one. Works like a charm; does a great job of giving us great water-even for drinking; and is absolutely worth the price!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, set it and forget it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Iron Reduction Filter
from chesapeake, va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wORST PURCHASE

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased unit Dec/ 2012 or jan2013. Installed myself BUT needed to confer with MARTY in service dept who was polite & helpful. Instructions are FAR from precise & confusing. I even suggested they review & reprint instructions. Over next few months after numerous new parts installed & BIG TIME flooded garage floor i gave up on expecting any solutions. Again Marty was helpful BUT that does NOT fix the product OR treat my iron problem which is reason i purchased this useless product. In short Iron Boss should discontinue no good product AND Home Sepot should stop carrying product since this is only item i have ever had problems with that i purchased at HOME DEPOT. I gave ONE STAR ratings ONLY because they dont have anything lower! SAVE YOUR MONEY NICE COMPANY BUT WORTHLESS PRODUCT. Charles
Cons: worthless
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works even better than I expected.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 900IF is rated to remove up to 15ppm of clear water iron. Ours was only 0.6ppm but it was enough to turn things yellow over time. After it was in service for two days, iron could not be detected in a test sample. It was easy to connect near our well and pressure tank since all of the piping was PVC and a bypass was already in place. There was a problem with the controller when it arrived. I called the Waterboss 800 number and a very nice service rep helped me find the problem in a few minutes. A new controller arrived in a couple of days. Alyssa, the service rep helped me set it up in about five minutes and it has operated fine for the two weeks that it has been online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Wesley Chapel, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in Florida and have a well.
Our water was disgusting! Rusting smell, taste and stains!
Not anymore! Just days after installation, we can drink our water straight from the tap!
Worth every penny!
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Iron Reduction Filter

works great

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
after years of trying to remove the iron out of my well water with softners I thought I would take a chance and try this iron filter and after a month of using it I can say it works just fine.My well water has 10ppm iron and after receiving the iron filter I was worried because it said water had to be at least 7ph and mine is 6ph but with this filter and my softner no more iron stains!!!
Pros: Takes Less Space
Cons: Heavy
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>