728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Iron Reduction Filter

Iron Reduction Filter

The Waterboss 900IF is a whole-house water treatment system designed for severe water conditions. The 900IF also reduces iron bacteria and up to 1 ppm of Hydrogen Sulfide.
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product47 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product47 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Iron Reduction Filter
Review 1 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally a filter that does remove the iron

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We tried several different methods to reduce or eliminate the iron in our well water. We had the reddish brown stains in the tubs and on our white clothes. We had the odor in the water when we took a shower. We stopped drinking the water because it smelled and did not taste good. The Waterboss iron reduction system is taking care of us. I am writing this review almost a year after we installed it. My husband and I installed the system ourselves. The only complaint is that the chemical is not available at Home Depot.
Pros: Nice Design, great iron reduction
Cons: chemical not sold at home depot
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Rochester NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing piece of equipment

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We live in New England and we have high iron, so bad that your water stinks. We had our water tested and the only real issue was the amount of iron. I called a local water installer, showed him my results and he quoted me $2900.00 for a system. I thought it was overkill, so I did some research and found this product. The day after it was installed, the smell went away and the water is so much better. No rings in the toilets, no stains on the glasses. Great product and for the cost, it makes it very easy to rationalize the cost.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
Cons: home depot delivery
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Iron Reduction Filter
from linden va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the unit works very well but?

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the waterboss iron reduction system works great but you have to purchase potassium permanganate before you can turn the system on. the unit does not come with this chemical and it can be very hard to find. what bothers me most is home depot sells the unit but in this case it was for my daughter in linden,va. the store in winchester va. sells the unit but not the chemical to start it up. do you think there is something wrong with this picture? why not include a start up package and increase the price or even better yet why does home depot not carry the chemical for the product they sell? so if you are going to install this unit on a weekend with this being your only water supply you better find this chemical prior ti installation. when questioned about this at the winchester,va. store they were lost for words much to our dismay.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: see remarks
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Inglis, FL
Age Range:65 or over

Water Boss Iron Reduction Filter 900IF

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When we purchased our mobile home in Levy County, FL, we were faced with an extremely horrible smell of rotten eggs (sulfur), extensive rust in our bathtubs and showers and toilets and also rust in our dishwasher and washing machine. It was impossible, even with spending a lot of money on products, to even try and wash anything white and have it not come out brown. We had our water tested and went to two local companies which said our ph was over 12 (acceptable) and our iron and sulphur was bad, which we already knew. So they quoted us $2000 and $3000 respectfully for their "in line" solutions which would take care of our problem. We did not have that kind of money and immediately went to research ourselves online and found Home Depot's Water Boss Iron Reduction filter for $399. We had gotten to the point that my wife had to hold her nose to go in and take a shower so we went to Home Depot. The system went in for me (I am in my 70s) fairly easily in a day although I had to readjust some of my plumbing into the unit. Within TWO DAYS we are so thankful that we have no more smell at all and no more rust and iron going into the toilets. We were told that even with a $2000 system that we could not get rid of the smell. Granted we have only had the system less than a week, but we are SO happy that we found an affordable system. If you are in FL and have this problem, stay away from the expensive brands and try this first.
If you go to Home Depot in Crystal River, it may take some doing to make sure you are getting the same $399 unit. The Model is 900IF and some of the sales people will try and pull down the wrong box (it normally sits up on second tier). Be persistent and take a printout of what you want.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Iron Reduction Filter
from New Holland, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says but instructions are vague

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While the it reduces the iron, that's all it does, so this is not an all in one solution. Also, the instructions were very vague on installation and even perplexed the professional plumber we ended up hiring to install it.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Brockway Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase I Could have made

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have well water I recommend the Water Boss system to anyone who has terrible test results on their water. I'am a DYI I double checked on programming on the system with the people from Water Boss the know there stuff. My neighbors system put in his house by a local firm would have cost me $7,000 to install at my house. I have $1,500 in the Water Boss. After flushing the lines when I looked and tasted my water I about feel thru the floor it was that good. No more bottled water for my coffee. The test strips after were perfect. Like I said my water bad when I called Water Boss to check what system I needed I gave them analysis figures. Great people at Water Boss know their stuff. No more "Culligan "experience
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: none
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Michigan

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this iron filter last year and works wonderfully! We used to get rust stains and black stuff in our toilets and since we installed this, there are no more water problems. Be careful when reading the other reviews, as I think they may be reviewing the water "softener" that takes softener salt as it looks exactly like this one. Also, with this filter you are supposed to have a water softener plus this filter. The potassium pom that it takes we could not find at Home Depot store, but Menards carries it on-line and at their stores.
Pros: wonderful
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Berkeley Springs, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy far the best purches I ever made.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worth every penny, I've gotten guots of 3500$, thats nuts, we got 6PPM iron and the water stincks, the iron is gone, the water smells good, & tastes great, it regens once a week, & your not a slave to those heavy salt bags every month, 5LBS every 3 to 6 months, but as a retired well driller, have your water tested first, this unit will not work with all types of water, thank god it does with mine!
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Iron Reduction Filter

Good product

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The filter definitely works in removing iron. I had it installed so I can disconnect it and bring it from my cabin to home to avoid freezing the winter. The one draw back is the cost of the potassium permanganate.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Heavy, cost of chemical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Gresham, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet operation!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Model 345 Iron reduction filter does what it says. Removes the iron in my well water. Can actually drink my water now! Very quiet operation, when in the regeneration cycle.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Iron Reduction Filter

Easy to Install, Works Great

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All foul smell is gone. Took rust out of my washer, dishwasher and toilet bowls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference! Works great!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were depending on our softener to also remove iron - but you have to regen it 3x more often. I tried to space out the regen a little and turned the toilets and some clothes brown :(
Bought this at HD and had it hooked up in a few hours. Immediately noticed the difference. Does a great job at removing the iron. No more brown toilets or ruined clothes.
Install was not too bad if you're handy with plumbing. Get the Sharkbite softener connectors! Instructions were pretty good. Only complaint was where it said to "quickly cycle through the regeneration stages", but didn't really tell you how. I just pushed buttons until something changed.
Support only answers during biz hours...
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Keystone Heights Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes the Iron Out

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This really is a great product for the money. Took out the iron and the odor. Just remember to flush your lines after installing, your lines will run a little dirty at first. I recommend running the washing machine with nothing it in before washing a load.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: programming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Iron Reduction Filter

It works.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The filter came slightly damaged, it looks like it was laid on it's side contrary to the instructions on the package; the result was a superficial crack in the inner cover. The crack had no effect on performance and out took so long to get it I opted not to ask for a replacement.
There was a package with test strips for PH and hardness in the bag with the filter. The PH strips were fine but the hardness strips were all missing the test pads so they were useless.
The installation and setup were both pretty straight forward. After the first regeneration cycle the unit worked flawlessly, no more sulfur smell. Hopefully the iron stains will subside as well, but that will take more time to tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Hendersonville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase in Value and Price!

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I began having iron in my water about 6 years ago due to a rusting well casing. I've installed whole house filters and that began running into money as the price of the disposable filters kept rising. I bought a water softener; in iron removal, that worked for about 2 weeks. I went to the "other big box" store and bought their water filter system that I was led to believe would remove any water problems. Again, two weeks later, the iron returned!. I called the manufacturer of that filter and was told I needed an "iron removal" system. The "other big box" store had one for over $1,000; Home Depot's WaterBoss unit with the same features was $399 at the time!
It's been installed a week now, and I've never had better water! I left the water softener installed, cut out and flushed the rust out of the water heater, cut out the old holding tank and found the air bladder bag had ruptured and the inside of the tank was contributing to the rust.....new water tank as well.
Once all was re-installed and hooked up, the WaterBoss cleared my water up almost immediately! I'm very happy with my purchase; not only in price and value, buit I have a product that does what it promises! Thank you Home Depot and WaterBoss!
A WORD OF ADVICE THOUGH: If you have a concern over the water volume in your well, be advised that this unit uses 66 gallons of water to do a complete regeneration.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
Cons: Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Franklin Wi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is great! I have been fighting rust stains for 13 years.. using that worthless iron out salt, trying every kind of softner additive, firing culligan and installing my own softner but mostly just going through a TON of salt. Even then we had orange stains and the occasional bout of sulfer growing in the water heater. After adding this baby (installs like a softner) pre softner I now use 1/5th the salt and the water is great. One month later and not a single orange stain on anything. Even the drippy bathtub which in the past has stained up the same day that I cleaned it is still bone white. I normally don't go waxing all poetic about products, but after all the dissapointments in the water department this thing came in and kicked butt and took names. Only issue is the first time I recharged it it started blowing black granuals out the discharge, that freaked me out and I thought something was wrong but the tech support was helpfull and the rest of the install was smooth and like I have said it works great.
+43points
45out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Walden, NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had purchased thirty years ago.

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed and waited two months before commenting. Within two days, all traces of hydrogen sulfide odors were gone. Once stains were cleaned, they have yet to return. In a house with just two people, we regenerate every tens days. Might be able to go to twelve. Used a softener for years to keep iron out (as well as the hard water). This is vastly superior. I don't regenerate the softener as often, so salt usage dropped. Water tastes better (no more filtered water to buy) and the organic material in the water closets have virtually disappeared. Toilet bowl cleaning is basically flushing, no more hanging cleaners or blue water to help hide the ugly. Wish I had put this in 30 years ago. When the softener dies Water Boss will be the replacement. VERY HAPPY.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, does an excellent job which is why one buys it.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Kokomo, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Iron Filter Review

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The iron filter does a superb job of removing iron from our well water. This unit replaced the same unit - except the OLD unit was around 20 years old. I felt it was better in the long run to just replace the entire unit with a new one. Works like a charm; does a great job of giving us great water-even for drinking; and is absolutely worth the price!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, set it and forget it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works even better than I expected.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 900IF is rated to remove up to 15ppm of clear water iron. Ours was only 0.6ppm but it was enough to turn things yellow over time. After it was in service for two days, iron could not be detected in a test sample. It was easy to connect near our well and pressure tank since all of the piping was PVC and a bypass was already in place. There was a problem with the controller when it arrived. I called the Waterboss 800 number and a very nice service rep helped me find the problem in a few minutes. A new controller arrived in a couple of days. Alyssa, the service rep helped me set it up in about five minutes and it has operated fine for the two weeks that it has been online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Akron, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Like the self-contained all-in-one unit.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Too early to give a relevant rating for quality and value. If the unit works well and is reliable, this is one really great value. Most of these systems are a collection of components that need to be assembled. This unit saves a ton of time..
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>