728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Iron Reduction Filter

Iron Reduction Filter

The WaterBoss 900IF is a whole-house water treatment system designed for severe water conditions. The 900IF also reduces iron bacteria and up to 1 ppm of Hydrogen Sulfide.
Overall rating:
4.061 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product27 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product27 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for Iron Reduction Filter
Review 1 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Brockway Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase I Could have made

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have well water I recommend the Water Boss system to anyone who has terrible test results on their water. I'am a DYI I double checked on programming on the system with the people from Water Boss the know there stuff. My neighbors system put in his house by a local firm would have cost me $7,000 to install at my house. I have $1,500 in the Water Boss. After flushing the lines when I looked and tasted my water I about feel thru the floor it was that good. No more bottled water for my coffee. The test strips after were perfect. Like I said my water bad when I called Water Boss to check what system I needed I gave them analysis figures. Great people at Water Boss know their stuff. No more "Culligan "experience
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: none
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Berkeley Springs, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy far the best purches I ever made.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worth every penny, I've gotten guots of 3500$, thats nuts, we got 6PPM iron and the water stincks, the iron is gone, the water smells good, & tastes great, it regens once a week, & your not a slave to those heavy salt bags every month, 5LBS every 3 to 6 months, but as a retired well driller, have your water tested first, this unit will not work with all types of water, thank god it does with mine!
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Michigan

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this iron filter last year and works wonderfully! We used to get rust stains and black stuff in our toilets and since we installed this, there are no more water problems. Be careful when reading the other reviews, as I think they may be reviewing the water "softener" that takes softener salt as it looks exactly like this one. Also, with this filter you are supposed to have a water softener plus this filter. The potassium pom that it takes we could not find at Home Depot store, but Menards carries it on-line and at their stores.
Pros: wonderful
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference! Works great!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were depending on our softener to also remove iron - but you have to regen it 3x more often. I tried to space out the regen a little and turned the toilets and some clothes brown :(
Bought this at HD and had it hooked up in a few hours. Immediately noticed the difference. Does a great job at removing the iron. No more brown toilets or ruined clothes.
Install was not too bad if you're handy with plumbing. Get the Sharkbite softener connectors! Instructions were pretty good. Only complaint was where it said to "quickly cycle through the regeneration stages", but didn't really tell you how. I just pushed buttons until something changed.
Support only answers during biz hours...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Iron Reduction Filter
from linden va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the unit works very well but?

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the waterboss iron reduction system works great but you have to purchase potassium permanganate before you can turn the system on. the unit does not come with this chemical and it can be very hard to find. what bothers me most is home depot sells the unit but in this case it was for my daughter in linden,va. the store in winchester va. sells the unit but not the chemical to start it up. do you think there is something wrong with this picture? why not include a start up package and increase the price or even better yet why does home depot not carry the chemical for the product they sell? so if you are going to install this unit on a weekend with this being your only water supply you better find this chemical prior ti installation. when questioned about this at the winchester,va. store they were lost for words much to our dismay.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: see remarks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Franklin Wi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is great! I have been fighting rust stains for 13 years.. using that worthless iron out salt, trying every kind of softner additive, firing culligan and installing my own softner but mostly just going through a TON of salt. Even then we had orange stains and the occasional bout of sulfer growing in the water heater. After adding this baby (installs like a softner) pre softner I now use 1/5th the salt and the water is great. One month later and not a single orange stain on anything. Even the drippy bathtub which in the past has stained up the same day that I cleaned it is still bone white. I normally don't go waxing all poetic about products, but after all the dissapointments in the water department this thing came in and kicked butt and took names. Only issue is the first time I recharged it it started blowing black granuals out the discharge, that freaked me out and I thought something was wrong but the tech support was helpfull and the rest of the install was smooth and like I have said it works great.
+40points
42out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Walden, NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I had purchased thirty years ago.

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed and waited two months before commenting. Within two days, all traces of hydrogen sulfide odors were gone. Once stains were cleaned, they have yet to return. In a house with just two people, we regenerate every tens days. Might be able to go to twelve. Used a softener for years to keep iron out (as well as the hard water). This is vastly superior. I don't regenerate the softener as often, so salt usage dropped. Water tastes better (no more filtered water to buy) and the organic material in the water closets have virtually disappeared. Toilet bowl cleaning is basically flushing, no more hanging cleaners or blue water to help hide the ugly. Wish I had put this in 30 years ago. When the softener dies Water Boss will be the replacement. VERY HAPPY.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, does an excellent job which is why one buys it.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works even better than I expected.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 900IF is rated to remove up to 15ppm of clear water iron. Ours was only 0.6ppm but it was enough to turn things yellow over time. After it was in service for two days, iron could not be detected in a test sample. It was easy to connect near our well and pressure tank since all of the piping was PVC and a bypass was already in place. There was a problem with the controller when it arrived. I called the Waterboss 800 number and a very nice service rep helped me find the problem in a few minutes. A new controller arrived in a couple of days. Alyssa, the service rep helped me set it up in about five minutes and it has operated fine for the two weeks that it has been online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Iron Reduction Filter
from windermere, fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good price

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, check up and first programing insstructions lacking. seems to work well, no rust resdue
Pros: Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Iron Reduction Filter

works great

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after years of trying to remove the iron out of my well water with softners I thought I would take a chance and try this iron filter and after a month of using it I can say it works just fine.My well water has 10ppm iron and after receiving the iron filter I was worried because it said water had to be at least 7ph and mine is 6ph but with this filter and my softner no more iron stains!!!
Pros: Takes Less Space
Cons: Heavy
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Machias NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've been fighting with Iron for 12 years! Not any more!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had "professional" water guys try to charge me big money for their systems. I took a chance with the water boss. It works as advertised. For years this water stained every thing it touched legend has it ... it caused a girls hair to turn red. No more.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
Cons: it uses potassium permanganate to regenerate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Money

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had the Iron Filter installed about 2 months now along with a Waterboss water softener model 900
and I have to say it has improved the water quality to the point that we can drink the water with no after taste.w hen we tested the water we had iron in the range of 2.2 - 3.0ppm.The installation was easy enough even if your not a DIY person.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Iron Reduction Filter
from MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has made our hard well water so much better! No more rust stains in tub or laundry, and it even tastes better.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Eustis, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with good customer service back-up.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Water Boss 900if we ordered was exactly as we expected and should be carried in your stores for anyone on a well with iron water.
Pros: Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Iron Reduction Filter
from central florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

thumbs up!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great iron filter! Went from orange water to clear water just like that!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Iron Reduction Filter

Decent machine

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this filter to go along with the matching water softener. We have had to replace several parts on it so far. Some good aspects are that these units are short enough to put one above the other to save much needed space. Our water is running about 14ppm Fe, and a fair amount of sulphur. I imagine it would be way less prone to problems with levels lower than ours. I can say that the customer service is really good. Minimal time on the phone, and they sent replacement parts out right away.
Pros: Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Iron Reduction Filter
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product But it is Messy

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was not that difficult to install and works great but the liquid has to be stirred every two weeks and it is almost impossible to accomplish that without getting your hand stained.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Convenient, Takes Less Space
Cons: stirring liquid gets your hand stained
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

arrived on time and in good condition

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install.
Activation takes a few hours to allow green sand to absorb
water and back wash.
Works great, good value and easy to maintain so far.
simple programming.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design, works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Iron Reduction Filter
from Mesa AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Constant maintenance

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having moved frequently, I have owned several water softeners. This is by far the greatest disappointment. When the water gradually gets harder I find some minor malfunction such as clogging of lines, pressure problems etc.. After repeatedly fixing things it seems I'm always waiting for the "next shoe to drop."
On the positive side, when I needed a component replacement the service department was very responsive and friendly (in English too!!) I chose it for the small, compact size but after 4 years I am replacing it with a unit with which I have had more reliable service.
Pros: Portable, Looks Great
Cons: series of maintenance problems
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Iron Reduction Filter

A Total Waste of Money

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit has only been installed for a short period of time - but has clogged on minute amounts of sediment almost immediately every time it is put into service. It backwashes tremendous amounts of the cleansing agent into my water - if it works at all. I paid $400 for this unit, and have spent over $300 to date in installation and repairs. It's useless - I would return it, but it will cost more to take it apart and get it out of here than I will recoup.
Cons: clogs on minute amounts of sediment -
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>