728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Safes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe

14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe

Achieve peace of mind and protect your collection with the Sentry Safe 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe that accommodates up to 14 long guns. With a combination lock, solid-steel, pry resistant door, 3 steel, live-locking bolts and 3 dead bolts, the safe provides ample security against unwanted access. The adjustable shelf makes it easy to keep your items organized, and the fully carpeted interior helps protect against scuffs and other damage. The concealed hinges, chrome hardware and lever handle provide a stylish look, making this safe an attractive addition to your home.
Overall rating:
4.362 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product41 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(15)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product41 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Review 1 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
davehk40
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality less than expected considering the price.

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. Upon opening the safe, I found that the panel on the inside of the door was loose, I found that the several of the screws that hold it on had broken through the panel. I repaired it by installing small fender washers under the screws.
2. THE SMELL!! There is a very nasty smell coming from the interior of the safe. I sent an E-Mail to Sentry and they said it was the gule they use for the carpet on the floor of the safe. They said to leave the safe open by a window and put a large box of baking soda in the safe.
I didn't buy the safe to leave it open by the window.
3. I found today that when I open the safe and turn the handle to full open, the bolt on the bottom of the door comes out of alignment and will not close. I had to remove the panel from the door and realign the bolt. I now have to remember not to swing the handle full open when I open the safe. WHAT A PAIN!!
The safe serves the purpose for now but I will be replaceing it with a MADE IN THE USA safe soon!!!!
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Paulie17
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Start, feeling secure.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first safe to hold a few firearms. you can put in an additional shelf with ease and install pistol racks to increase usable shelf space if desired. I prefer the dial combination lock to the digital locks which is a plus for this model. I also bolted it to the floor and the wall giving it much more stability. The instructions recommended against doing that but use your best judgement. It was not terrible to move, needed a strap and a dolly and a second person. The weight and gauge of steel is a good value. Very happy with the purchase and the help I got from the store getting it into my vehicle. I would recommend this for anyone even if this isn't their first safe purchase. I also put in the extra shelf for passports and other important papers. And there is plenty of room for ammunition in the bottom. The interior cloth could be a little more friendly to velcro.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
NSCA12AL
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A Good Peace of Mind

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this safe to store some firearms and gun parts. Already own a bigger safe and needed this one for some extra stuff. Easy to move and install, be sure to bolt it to the wall or floor according to the instructions. Being a retired police officer I believe this safe would defeat the average home burglar. Looked at them before so when I went to the store it took five minutes to purchase it and then had two employees help load it in the back of the truck, done and on the way home in 10 minutes.
You can easily move this safe with a large hand truck and have it secured and ready to go in a matter of minutes.
Combo lock works great, opens easily. It is a stretch to say this is a 14 gun safe, ten went in easily without cramming them in and had room for some extra barrels.
Happy with the purchase, good security for the money.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
hardsellharry
from Vallejo, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Sentry 14 Gun 59 in Combination/Lock Safe is the BEST value for your money! Sturdy! Durable, Perect Size for Home!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Sentry 14 Gun Safe is a great value, it is sturdy, durable and looks great!
I painstakingly researched Gun Safes as I wanted a safe that was sturdy, durable, look good, and most of all at an affordable price.
I got everything I wanted and more in the Sentry Safe.
It is not the most exspensive, the biggest, the best rated safe but it is a safe that is affordable, and a great value for the price.
It was exactly what I needed and was looking for my home.
I recomend looking at the Sentry 14 gun Safe before you make your gun safe purchase, and decide for yourself, Sentry Safes are strong, durable and at a great value!
Just a quick note, I am not the easiest consumer to please, so coming from hardsellharry...
Sentry Safes are GREAT!
5 STARS!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Kosieroj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just What I Needed

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got it home, stuck it in the corner, and it does exactly what I need it to do. Prices take a big jump after this breakpoint, but the less expensive ones did not give me the peace of mind like this one. It took me and my two teenage sons to bring it in (empty). With all my junk in there now I'm sure it is well over 200 lbs. Can a bad guy still break in? I suppose, but not your average meth head with my own stolen crowbar from the garage. I got a little excited when the floor model at HD showed features not on this web page (inner lock box, webbing on door), but the delivered product was just like here. Solid feel to the dial and handle. I was scared by some of the negative reviews, but they must have gotten a different product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
John
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not as good as my current one

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went down to buy one last night. It looked like the same one I bought at HD a few years back which is a pretty sturdy low end safe. The similarity ended when I opened the door and noticed how thin the metal is. The walls of the "safe" are even thinner I believe and I was able to easily tilt the safe up on edge with little effort. In addition, the seperate locking interior compartment on the one I have at home is not present in this newer model. After a hands on look at it, I wouldn't call it a safe. I'd call it more of a locking cabinet/wanna be safe. I have since looked online and found what appears to be more robust construction for the same price elsewhere.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Bubba
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissapointed in the Workmanship

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this product online since the local stores didn't have it in stock. Comparing this Sentry Safe against an older version, this safe isn't even close in comparison. The newer version has thinner steel, a fixed interior and 1 shelf and weighs in at 170 lbs. The older version is over 300 lbs and has a do it yourself interior for a combination of shelves and long gun storage and has an interior lock box for added security. Very disappointing considering this safe was $150 more than the older version and has less to show for it. However, it is priced competitively with other manufacturers. Overall, I am not pleased with this purchase.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Buck
from Evansville, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great features for the price.

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought one. Shopped around and could not find the exact combination of features I wanted until I found this at The Home Depot. Fires get hot quickly. You must spend thousands to get a safe that actually protects. Most are a waste of money. That is one reason I went with this model. Another reason was the combination lock. One good magnetic pulse and you cannot get into your safe if you have electronic lock. This safe has good security and a manual lock. We guys that know safes know that Home Depot got this one right!! That price with manual locking......buy it!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
DonK
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this Safe

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Several reviews said the safe was flimsy. The steel is a bit on the thin side but is very tough and the safe feels very solid. I tried to drill a mounting hole in the back to match my stud location and I was at if for 10 minutes with a new bit and I could not drill a hole. I finally gave up and attached a piece of plywood to the stud and attached the safe to the plywood using the mounting holes already provided. I like the fact that it only has a dial combo. I do not trust keys or the electronic combo models. For the money you cannot beat this safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
RobD
from Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

If you need a non fire rated "true" safe this is for you.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read so many negative reviews about this unit but still went to the store to see for myself: its pretty good! Every other metal gun cabinet i looked at appeared too flimsy and i think could be broken into with a hammer so i wanted a "true" safe type unit that was big enough to hold at least 10 long guns plus pistols. This unit does it perfectly. my only complaints are: shelf is not movable and i think calling this a 14 gun safe is a bit of a reach more like 10 comfortably. over all i like it and would recommend it.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, the rugs are very smelly but should air out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
leblancfirearms
from Corpus Christi, TX

14-Gun Sentry Safe

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great safe for the price. There is plenty of room inside, and the top shelf allows for additional storage for ammunition and handguns. The 14-Gun Sentry Safe fits perfectly inside a small hall closet, or bedroom closet, with plenty of room to open up the safe door. I really enjoy this product, and have already recommended it to several of my friends; through the Home Depot website. Great price, durable, plenty of room for the up and comer gun collector, and fire resistenant. You can't beat a Sentry Safe.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Rickyvee
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sentry Gun Safe

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just picked up and installed this bargain safe. First and foremost I purchased this safe mainly to store firearms and some valuables. This safe is a pretty good deal and after installation inside a small linen closet it fits my needs perfectly. I am extremely satisfied with the quality as i only paid $399. Very easy to install. I own a few Glocks and this safe with keep them "safe" from my kids and thieves. The quality is great, paint is clean, nicely carpeted inside. Could use another shelf.
Pros: great safe for the price compared to other safes
Cons: generic hardware poor shelf.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Lefty
from Midwest
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable, good locking door,solid.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a lighter version of previous purchased sentry safes. Not a problem even allows me to move it alone. It took a beating coming from china top was dented and paint scraped off. Not visible for short people,so I accepted it. Cheaper insides than past units. Fabric covered notched barrel holders. Good value for the price. I was even thinking of peeling off insides and installing durock then putting insides back in after trimming making it. Possibly more fireproof. Done on the cheap.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no heavy liner in walls
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
snaketail
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I web shopped a lot before buying this safe. There are cheaper ones, and certainly more expensive safes, but this one is just right for me. I don't have a huge firearm collection, but don't want to get robbed again. At 200 pounds it could be carried off, but not by one person! Good build, lock is solid, looks good and fits into the corner of by apartment bedroom (makes a nice lamp stand too). Had a few paint scratches, but overall I'm happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
methatswho
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

not bad

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
got this safe since i had hd gift cards. overall i think the steel walls could be thicker and the lever and dial could be made much stronger (i think they are plastic). If someone breaks in, im pretty sure they arent gonna waste their time trying to break into it. it isnt a safe they are gonna be able to pry into. if you have the money get a more expensive one. if you dont? this is way better than nothing.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
hank
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the safe is very nicely setup. especially for the price.

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The safe is very compatible with others on the market but the price and customer service online is why I purchased this one. The safe is not as sturdy as there previous model which this one replaced and not as heavy so definitely bolt it down. but for the price its well worth it. You save about $200 compared to the other similar safes. And without all the hassel on shipping. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
mnmGarlandTX
from Garland, TX

Pretty darn good value!

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pretty darn good value. Installs easily in to a closet. Gives me peace of mind that its contents are more secure when we are not at home. I doubt a common thief will want to hang around working on this safe while time tick-tock-tick-tocks away. But most important, keeps firearms securely locked up and out of reach from the kids - my number one reason for wanting one!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
highlander

AN OK SAFE...

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
An ok safe, it was exactly as we expected. We were wanting one light weight and this one is. We actually purchased another one a month later. His and Hers! One lock actually works smoother than the other but no problems yet. Little rough on the inside in places but easily fixed. Very tight fit to put 14 guns in, I can only put 10 in with them not touching.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Chris
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great quality for the price. Just what we were looking for.

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Better quality for the price than other brands we looked at. My husband wanted a combination type lock and this works perfectly, very smooth operation. I expected a school locker type thing I think and this is definitely not that. The same smoothness as an electronic lock but with a combination. Bolt holes and bolts to bolt to wall or floor. Very nice.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-Gun 59 in. Combination Lock Gun Safe
Davemiami

Does the trick, nice safe.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lock doesnt spin freely like some would like. Other than that this is a good case of you get what you pay for. You could probably hack through the back of it or carry it away with 2 people if its not bolted down. Quality is better than expected for the price. This wont disappoint someone looking for a cheap quality safe.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>