728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wood Conditioners & Oils or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut

Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut

Howard 16-oz. Restor-A-Finish restores finished wood surfaces. It contains a small amount of stain to make minor scratches and blemishes disappear. The simple wipe-on, wipe-off application is ideal for restoring wood finishes to their original color and luster. It removes white heat rings, smoke damage, oxidation and water marks.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
Review 1 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If this rating system had provision for ten stars I would rate as such. Being both a woodworker and a skeptic, I had to see to believe. I had three bad white heat/moisture rings on my dining-table top and was prepared for the worst to restore it but within five minutes of application, they were all but gone. Another application will be necessary to completely remove the very faint spot on the worst one.
-
I also applied a coat to our 50 year old, distressed, fruit-wood finish bedroom set where the finish was actually beginning to turn milky white in many places from dryness and sun damage. My wife wanted to paint it - uh, no. This product restored it to like new almost immediately. Nicest part of all was that a 6-drawer dresser and 5-drawer high-boy took less than 30 minutes and under three ounces to restore and wipe down. This is a ten!!!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Flower Mound, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It saved my beloved dining room furniture

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hate to admit this, but for twenty years I have had a mixture of dogs that often "marked" on my dining room furniture. No matter what I did, I couldn't get them to stop. The legs on all of the chairs, sideboard, table and the bottom of my hutch were ruined and disgusting. Needless to say, the furniture was 100% mahogany and cost a small fortune and I thought I would have to either paint it, refinish it (at an estimated $5,000) or replace the entire set. So I read these reviews and thought "what the heck". This product is would it's weight in gold to me. I cleaned the damaged areas and in some areas, used steel wool. I then applied the Restor-a-Finish and topped it with a coat of the Feed &Wax. And I didn't have to break my arms to apply it...very easy. After it had dried I was absolutely STUNNED that you could not see any damage at all. It left a beautiful satin, hand rubbed finish that blended so well with the rest of the furniture that I couldn't tell any difference at all. I could not have prayed for a better result. And on the upside, the smell is gone and my dogs are no longer marking on the furniture.
Try this product. You have nothing to lose.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut

Believe the hype

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on a 95 year old interior door that likely never had any care. We found it in the garage when we bought the house. The finish was so dry and weathered it was almost like peach fuzz. I used steel wool to apply and with a good bit of elbow grease the results where better than I good have imagined. I finished with a coat of feed-n-wax and the door now has a wonderful satin finish. These two Howard products worked wonders.
Note: be sure the use a respirator when applying the restorer. It has a very strong solvent odor.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: smell
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Bedford, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional buy!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was skeptical at first but thought I had nothing to lose! So glad I tried it! We're talking bathroom cabinets from a house built in '85. I bought the Walnut coloring. Extremely easy to apply with the 0000 Steel Wool after cleaning first with mineral spirits. Bought the Feed n Wax product also and the cabinets came out beautiful. We don't have the money to replace cabinets so this find is terrific!!!! Any wood furniture, doors and cabinetry in the house will be spruced up within the next few weeks. Couldn't be happier with this product! Don't take my word for it, what do you have to lose?
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Wichita, KS

try it before you strip it!

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about this product--it does exactly what it says it will do. I used it in conjunction with the Feed-N-Wax and my furniture was basically revitalized. I was very skeptical, but the first piece I tried it on was in such sorry shape that I figured that I couldn't make it any worse. Surprisingly, it worked like a charm and now I have beautiful furniture that I don't have to strip and refinish, and the original finish looks better than ever, which is even better! I am so happy that I found this product I am planning on buying the other colors to try on other furniture!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do Not Use This Product!!!!!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product, while seeming on the surface to take care of scratches and finish loss areas, actually ruins your furniture finish. It is a colored oil/dye in a very powerful solvent that penetrates the wood and finish and permanently ruins your finish. Ask any furniture restorer, and they will tell you that this product makes it impossible to do any proper finish restoration after this has been applied. You can only keep applying this oil to the finish for the life of the object unless it is stripped and refinished. As usual, what appears to be a quick easy fix actually terms out to be just the opposite!!!
Cons: impossible to clean or remove, ruins existing finish
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing stuff!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is beyond amazing! Our remodel guy recommended it to us to use on the extensive woodwork in our home damaged by our 4 doggies. Wood was completely resurrected, even entire doors. It is truly wipe on, wipe off. We have also used this in investment properties to "re-finish" door and window trim that was beat up and looked as though nothing but complete sanding, staining and clear coat could recover.
Color selection is really good - does not have to be a dead-on match to blend in with whatever wood you have. I can't imagine how everyone doesn't know about product. Recommend = yes, yes, yes.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes worn finishes look NEW!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this product! Our 1990 builders-grade honey oak cabinets and household trim benefited greatly from this. It really does make all those small scratches and worn finish spots go away! It's really quite amazing; one of those products you really wont appreciate until you see for yourself how well it works!!
USE: I did not clean wood before hand... no need! Heck, I didn't even use a rage to apply it, just paper towels. Once applied, I made sure to wipe down the surface again with a clean towel to ensure ALL residual product was removed (you don't want someone rubbing up against the trim that hasn't been whipped down, it WILL get on their clothes).
ONLY downside: This product does have a very strong, harmful odor, so ensure you'd using it with the windows open, and even better, use a respirator mask too!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: strong odor
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a miracle.

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It brought the faded color and dull finish of my old wood kitchen cabinets back to almost new!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Granada Hills
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was recommended by a friend who was so enthusiastic about it that I was skeptical. She was right!
I restored a cabinet and a 1920's dresser. Wow!
A little spilled on my hardwood floor (circa 1957) and it was good there, too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was a lifesaver!

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a solution to fix water damaged cabinets under my kitchen sink for my new house. We bought it foreclosed and it needed a lot of work. I didn't have a lot of money and I found this product. After reading other reviews, I decided to give it a shot. What a wonderful product! Not only are my kitchen cabinets looking like new, I used it on all my scuffed furniture and took it to a friends house to repair scratched up wood panel doors! She thought she would have to paint them or replace them. This one can saved me from refinishing or replacing my cabinets and my friend from refinishing or replacing her doors! It saved us TONZ of money and we got it all done in a few hours! I can not praise this product enough! PS: I used latex gloves while applying so my hands stayed nice and clean!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

fantastic buy

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how well this worked. I had a very worn stair rail, and this wonderful product brought it back to life. So easy to apply, such a time saver! I used the dark walnut
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut

Great product

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow. I should have used this product years ago. It brought back to life the cherry cabinets in my kitchen and bathrooms. I highly recommend buying and using it!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut

Best Product Ever!

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an old library table that sat in my dad's basement for over 20 years. Someone had also left something wet on top of the table and there was severe water damage to the finish. I was very skeptical but wanted to try this instead of refinishing. I used the Restore-A-Finish with 0000 steel wool and Feed-N-Wax and it looks like a new table. It is GORGEOUS!!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Ogden, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The greatest wood restoration for water stains/grain problems

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I used this in all of our 12 apartments in Alaska. After we took over the apartments, we had to contend with the abuse renters gave the kitchen cabinets. Using this product with very fine steel wool brought back the richness of the wood cabinets. Recommend it to all.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Restor-A-Finish 16-oz. Wood Finish Restorer - Walnut
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would give it more than 5 stars if I could!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is awesome. I bought it as a last resort to use on my dining room table that had a serious water mark. I had gotten an estimate of $1000 to refinish the table top. Thinking that it couldn't hurt to try this product, and the fact that I am not handy with repairs, I tried it. Couldn't believe the results. Now I no longer have to cover the table with a cloth. Thank you.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.