728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 40-Gallon 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater has a 40-gallon tank that provides ample hot water for your household. High-altitude compliant up to 10,200 ft. above sea level, this heater has a short design that offers versatile installation in a variety of indoor spaces. The Piezo ignition system saves you the effort and hazard of lighting matches, and the automatic shut-off function enhances your safety.
Overall rating:
3.621 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product18 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product18 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be sure to open the box and do a visual inspection before taking the water heater home.

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first water heater lasted 4 years; warranty was pro-rated as expected. The new replacement was defective; the anode rode was cross threaded and shot out of the top when filling the water heater. The third water heater was dented but it works. I would have taken it back but it was late at night and the store was now closed. The service at the store was excellent but the product lacks quality. Be sure to open the box and do a visual inspection before taking the water heater home.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hope this one lasts longer...

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought my first one in March of 2010, and just last night (12/1/12 I found water on the floor around the base of the tank. This morning I called my local HomeDepot and customer service told me to drain it and disconnect it and bring it back. They swapped my leaker for a new one of the same capacity, and warranty level (9 years). I was glad the HomeDepot stood by their warranty!! Thanks, HomeDepot!!
Pros: Easy to Install
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Council Bluffs, Iowa

9 year 40,000 BTU gas (short) water heater

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought & installed water heater thru home depot.
Purchased a 12 year 40,000 BTU gas, when the
plumber tried to put in, was to tall. Was brought back
and exchanged for the 9 year 40,000 BTU gas (short).
Plumber did excellent job, and explained how to increase, or decrease the water tempature. So far--
water heater is working great. Also, for $60.00 more
purchased the extension for labor for years 2 thru 9.
Warranty covers parts & labor tor 1st year and then
just parts for years 2 thru 9th year.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Albany, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install, No Leakage

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this unit, added a riser base to keep it off the wooden floor. Installation was easy and no leakage occurred with the TPV or otherwise. Fired up after a few minutes of purging the air from the nat. gas line. I do recommend to inspect the electrical insulating sleeve on the piezo igniter, one other review had the same scenario I had: the sleeve slipped down from the wire joint, and the ignition shorted to the casing of the water heater. Adjusted sleeve, and all was well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Leaked after 7 years

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this exact model in 2005 and never had any trouble until it started leaking (2012). I don't have hard water and kept the temperature set as recommended. My previous Rheem lasted 12 years even though it had a shorter warranty. On the positive side GE readily agreed to replace it at no cost under the 9 year warranty - just took the original back to Home Depot for replacement. I was responsible for the labor but did the work myself - still a hassle.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, excellent warranty support
Cons: Leaks, shorter than expected life
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Sheboygan Wi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had my old hot water heater go out with a leak out of the bottom,,this heater had been here for years before we bought the house but I figured the tank had rusted through. I went to Home Depot and saw this one. I had read about it online and it fit exactly where the old one went, I got it home ,,disconnected the old one and hooked this up and it started right up. Very easy install, I noticed the leak at 10:30 in the morning and had it up and running by 1:30 in the afternoon
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from usa

2ND TIME AROUND

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
INSTALLED THIS UNIT IN JAN 2010. NOTICED WATER AT BOTTOM OF TANK IN NOV 2012 !!! NOT EVEN 3 YEARS LATER, FOUND MY SELF REMOVING & REPLACING UNIT. GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS THEY STOOD BEHIND THIER WARRANTY. HOPE TO GET MORE THAN 2 YEARS 10 MONTHS OUT OF THIS ONE!!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Mooresville, NC

The reviews really helped me pick this one.

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After our old water-heater went out I went to a competetor(blue in color) and all their water-heaters had very bad reviews.
After reading several reviews form Home Depot I went with this one. I am not a skilled handyman but I do what I can. I installed this by myself and it was easy. The only problem I had, was when I had to solder the cooper fittings. It took longer than I thought(4 1/2 hr) but I got it. We had hot water within the hour.
I must say that I like the Piezo ignition. It made for easy lightling.
The water-heater worked great and is very quite. It has been over a month and no problems as of yet.
I would recommend this to others.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Cypress, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Depot exceeded my expectations

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product on Sunday evening of the Memorial Day weekend to replace an existing water heater that started leaking. Given that my water heaters are located in the second floor attic of my home, it is not an easy chore to replace one. My dad came over on Memorial Day to help me get the new one into the attic and get the old one down. We left the unit in the box while hauling it up the attic stairs in order to prevent damage. After getting into the attic and cutting away the box, we discovered that the outer shell was severely damaged (caved in). Although it appeared that the inner tank was undamaged, I decided to take a picture of the damage and discuss the problem with the sales associate at Home Depot. He recommended I swap it out with an undamaged one to ensure I wouldn't have a problem down the road due to unseen damage to the inner tank. After I explained all the effort we put into getting it into the attic, I asked if they could just give me a discount - I really didn't want to take the damaged one down and haul another one into the attic, so I was willing to take my chances that it wouldn't experience an early failure. He asked me to wait a few minutes while he went and talked to his manager. Upon returning, he said they wanted me to get what I paid for. Home Depot actually offered to deliver a replacement, place it in the attic, and remove the damaged one at no cost to me. That was an offer I couldn't refuse, and I'm extremely pleased with their attention to customer service. They went above and beyond the call of duty and greatly exceeded my expectations. I'd like to recognize Anthony and the other two guys who delivered the new one and hauled it into the attic, as well as their manager, Ross, for a job well done.
Regarding the features and performance, it seems to be a reasonably good product, but as with any hot water heater, it is impossible to know for sure until I see how long it lasts.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Didn't work and then they voided my warranty

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After my plumber installed it, it would not fire up. He tried several times but it wouldn't light. Then my plumber did some kind of work around to light it to at least give me hot water in the meantime and told me to call G.E. to send new parts. When I called GE they admitted that was a common problem but then got all defensive and said they had to void my warranty because of what my plumber did to get their poor quality product to work. They sent me free parts but refused to pay for the labor to install the parts. This will be the last time I buy anything from GE for a long long time. I'm disappointed Home Depot stocks such a poor quality product.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE but made by Rheem

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the 15 year old Reliance yesterday. Checked other stores before buying this one from Homedepot. Seems all models with 9 year warranty cost $100 more than the 6 year models. Not sure why it costs so much more for only 3 extra years of warranty.
Only the label on the shipping box and one sticker on the tank say GE.Everywhere else says Rheem. Maybe Rheem is a subsidiary of GE, but this kind of labelling is misleading. If I want Rheem, I would have bought a a heater directly from Rheem.Two mistakes in the Homedepot description. System is only certified to 7,700 feet instead of 10,200 feet (minor) and labor warranty is only for 1 year, instead of 2 years.
Wish the industry would standardize the tank dimensions and fitting locations. But since the new one is all different from the old, I had to buy accessories, such as flex water and gas hoses and an exhaust duct extension to make the connection. Another $50.
Otherwise, installation was ok, nothing unexpected happened. Unit ran really quiet as others mentioned and first tank heated up very quickly. Seems to be a very efficient unit even though the BTU says it is only 10% higher than the old one.
One more thing. The piezo-electric spark generator did not generate a spark everytime it was pressed. It sparked once with 3 or 4 presses. Took me a while to start up the pilot. Also the manual said "depress" the button. But the button works horizontally. So the motion is more like pushing it sidways instead of depressing it down.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from The Doorway to Amish Country, Ohio

All in a Name!

PostedMarch 28, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have had a Rheem for more than 10 years and it started to leak, about the same length of time as the Rheem before. ( The first one was over 30 years old and it was replaced because of the controls, never leaked)
Anyway off to Homedepot and came home with this GE, thought I would try a diffrent brand this time. Inside the box everything says Rheem. Maybe GE owns them I don't know. Was a surprise to not find GE inside.
Do not get me wrong the old Rheems worked fine and were the cheepest I could find at the time. Was happy with both.
The new one was plumbed in and it is better with the pilot Ignition system. No more trying to stick a match in the right place to light the pilot or dealing with both doors getting there. Also it is impressive how quiet it is when the main burner is running. All the other tanks I could hear from across the basement, the difference is like night and day. The max temperature is listed as 160 degrees. Since we no longer have young children to worry about burning the extra temperature can take less hot water to fill the bath tub. ( You have to be careful, but it is an option)
While the base sits nicely on the floor, not sure how the damp cement floor will work with it. Past models had three legs and allowed a bit of air flow under them.
GE or Rheem so far I would recommend it to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Meadville, pa

First Lasted 3 years but was replaced promptly!

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We moved into our new house two months ago. The hot water heater was placed in August 2007 and started leaking in August 2010 from around the Anode Rod(about a 2 cups per hour). I pulled it out, retaped it, then put it back and it slowed the leak (about 2 cups per day). Two days after retaping water started pouring out from around the Anode Rod thru the insulatoin. I called the number on the tank and they told me head in to Home Depot and get a new one (only had the 9 year parts warranty). I installed today with no problems. Had hot water within the hour. Our old tank was plenty big for my family of 5 on the mid range setting (the new one is looking at doing the same). I only gave it a 4 because I had to replace it 3 years into it's life, but the customer service was great and I was happy with how they handled it, so I kept the rating high.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from CT

Easy install

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water heater blew at 11:00am. I got a call at work that it was leaking all over the place. When i get home I see the mess and need to make the decision to get a new one tonight or wait for a plumber. I came here and read reviews on the water heaters and saw the good ones for this one. We went and picked one up and got it home. Luckily the gas was at the same height as our old one (an old A.O. Smith about 20yrs old) and hot/cold spaced about the same distance apart. All we had to do were make a few cuts, undo the gas union (installed a new 2" nipple) and make a few solder connections. We did have to trim the flue since the new water heater was a few inches taller. Heater started right up (Ignitor was really nice to have!!). We had hot water in less then an hour, and i took a shower not long after. Took us about 3hrs total to install, including the removal of the old tank. Good buy! Will update if anything changes.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Not impressed with 800 service

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
When I installed this tank and filled it ,I immediately saw it starting to leak out the bottom.. I called the 800 # and was advised to call back the next day. They said they would notify a contractor who would call me back the next day. When I was not called the next morning I again called the 800 # And obtained the contractors # who made an appointment to look at the tank the next day. The contractor looked at the tank and confirmed it was defective, however they did not swap out tanks! The 800# told me they would hook me up with another contractor who would take care of the problem. When I called that contractor the next day he informed me that he did not do tank replacements for Home Depot because the process was too cumbersome.Finally after 6 days and mopping twice everyday someone came and replaced the tank and the problem was resolved. My advice to anyone who purchases 1 of these tanks and has problems is to immediately notify Home Depot and exchange it.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Homewood, AL

New Year, New Hot Water Heater

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old hot water heater ruptured Jan. 2nd, 2010. Fortunately I was sitting about 10 feet away and heard the water begin to hit the pantry floor and was able to shut off the water before any major flooding. Picked up this unit from my local Home Depot for a reasonable price. The salesperson recommended the new Shark Bite braided stainless hoses to connect the heater to my 3/4 copper supply lines. I used them and a new 3/4 shutoff valve to complete the installation. I like the fact that the unit is actually manufactured by Rheem, a brand I've known all my life which is manufactured here in Alabama. It has excellent internal insulation - so good that the manufacturer does not recommend the use of an external insulation blanket. The sealed combustion chamber and piezo ignition is nice. You can light the pilot without matches and it is very quiet when the burner is on. It produces hot water quickly from startup and recovers very fast after use. The 9 year warranty is also a plus over many of the units on the market today.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

CHECK THE BOX BEFORE LEAVING THE STORE!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Based on numerous other reviews, I checked the water heater inside the cartoon before leaving the store. I was glad I did. The exterior of the box was in perfect condition, however, when the cartoon was removed to inspect the water heater I discovered 3 sizeable dents in the water heater. Because it was the last one at the store I was forced to take this one despite the dents.
Cons: height of water heater not accurate on website
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Knightdale, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Started leaking after 4 years

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this water heater to replace one that had been in my home for about 13 years. This one only lasted about 4 years. So I had to spend a day replacing this way too soon.
Home Depot gave me full credit on a gift card. I then purchased a model with larger capacity and a shorter warranty because that's what they had in stock.
While I appreciate Home Depot's great customer service and return policy, I still had to take the time to replace this and will pay a large water bill this month because of the leak.
They just don't make things like they used to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Haverhill, Ma.

Soooo quiet....

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has only been installed for a week but just love how quiet it is.When we first lit the pilot and turned it on we had to keep checking the pilot to see if it was lit because it was so quiet.. Will update if there's any issues in the future..
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 gal. Short 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Acworth, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great replacement, so far so good

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this tank to replace a 5 year old similar model, now discontinued. Warranty afforded this new one - props to GE and Home Depot for making the whole process easy and fast. This tank went in very easy, easy to light, plenty of hot water on default settings, and seems to work great so far. The only thing is I wonder why the very similar old one started leaking after only 5 years...?
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>