728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Choose our innovative Pruning Stik Telescoping Tree Pruner for a level of control traditional pruners with exterior ropes can’t match. The rope-free design means you can use both hands to maximize your power and accuracy, and an easy-to-grip sliding handle makes the pruning action smooth and simple. The lightweight pole extends up to 12', and an actuating ball at the end of the shaft lets you reach even farther and still prune with precision. An included 15"" saw blade makes it easy to take down thicker branches, and the cutting head rotates up to 230º to let you prune and saw at tough angles. With the Pruning Stik Telescoping Tree Pruner, there’s no cut you can’t make. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product29 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product29 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Review 1 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Mark
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used for 6 months, then belt broke inside the head of pruner

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is advertised as a lifetime warranty, but be careful because Home Depot defers you back to mfg. I filled out the online warranty request and waiting on their response. It's an awkward part to ship and since Home Depot doesn't support the manufacturers lifetime warranty, then I'd question buying this product again. For now, I wouldn't recommend this product.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
DIYer
from Pembroke Pines
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Find!!!!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I wanted was to trim the small branches that were touching my house ...Called several tree companies,,,spoke with a guy ...said he would call ..did not...one guy wanted $200.00 .....by a fluke i saw this and decided to buy it...after all if it did not do job i could return it......Well I can not say enough about how well this worked...most cases did not need a ladder ...extended all the way and stood on solid ground....Again this is for smaller branches and it cut like a hot knife through BUTTER!!!!
Pros: Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
HughJ

Brilliant Idea - Horrible Execution!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll be the first to admit that this is a brilliant concept... but it's one that was HORRIBLY executed.
The extension pole literally bent where it connects to the primary pole... It bent due to the stress that the cordless designed forced on the extension pole while I was trimming a feeder branch!!! It's difficult to explain to anyone who hasn't seen this thing up close, but the "cordless" design isn't actually cordless... It's a flat ribbon-like cord INSIDE the primary pole that runs along the OUTSIDE of the extension pole. You don't have to be a NASA engineer to understand where the design flaw is here!
I expect something that costs $80 to be a LOT more durable...
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
D01757
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A unique tool - best for medium-duty home use

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my Fiskars Pruning Stik 10 years ago at Home Depot in Bellingham MA. After 10 years of service, the extension pole cracked where the flat cord enters it. Fiskars is sending me a new unit free under the lifetime warranty. At various times, I've used both the cutter and the saw, and they both work great. This is a medium-duty unit, best suited for occassional home use, but it works very well. It's so lightweight, you can even hold it over your head and pull on the end of the cord (instead of the handle). With this method, I've cut 1" branches 25ft off the ground (my reach+the pole+step ladder). The rotating cutter head, the sliding handle and the lightweight, all combine to allow a homeowner to trim branches easily which could otherwise not be reached. I have several fruit trees and this unit has been a lifesaver for trimming them. I've also cut branches from many shrubs & trees all around my yard. I can stand on the roof of my ranch-style house and angle the cutting head just right to reach branches that are hitting my gutters. No other branch cutter has the versatility of this unit. The only drawback is that it's only a medium-duty unit - you have to take care to avoid excessively rough use. But, with the llifetime warranty, if yours finally does break as mine did after 10 years, Fiskars will send you a new one.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Krakski
from Lake Tahoe, United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works OK

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I hesitated before buying this at $80, but I really needed a tool that reached pretty high and this seamed to do the job. I used it for several years and found that it was ok for light to medium duty homeowner use, and I feel I got my moneys worth before all the plastic parts in the head and saw holder broke. The plastic is not durable enough and the design would not be satisfactory for professional use. At times different parts come apart because they arent strong enough and you have to take a time out and put things back together again... very annoying. The cutting of branches with the clippers is a bit weak but suitable for smaller deciduous tree branches. Cutting the dead branches off of evergreens which are hardier proved to bring out the flimsyiness of this tool. Later I had the opportunity to borrow my neighbors Stihl Pole saw, now that tool is great. No clippers but the articulation angle and the teeth of the saw cut 4 times easier and faster, and the extensions are super solid even at 18' (6' more extension). Of course at thrice the price that is one expensive tool, I dont need clippers any more, so I am looking to replace with a Stihl now if I cant get the replacement plastic parts for the FIskars. My time and wear and tear on my body saved is worth paying the extra money for the Stihl. I still recommend the Fiskar for someone who wants a one tool does it all light to medium use around a residence.
Pros: Multi Use, good versatility all in one., works ok
Cons: Not Durable, falls apart, plastic parts eventually break
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
sleeperdvr
from fort myers, fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor to fair

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
on first use the blade broke after using about one hour. the blade seams to be made of pig iron and if the cut attempt torques the blade it breaks. This is most likely if the pole is fully extended and you are extending yourself to reach the highest tree limbs. Unfortunately this was the reason I bought the pruning stick. I don't know (yet) but,a similar review indicate there are no replacement blades options. If this is the case I don't know what the lifetime warranty means.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Maggie3
from Phoenix, AZ

Sweet, easy cut and multiple functions

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I planned to purchase the Fiskars 14' pruner at half the price of this model, but the clipper piece on this model appeared much sharper. It FAR exceeds my expectations. Couple of things: 1. it is both chain AND cord operated, 2. the clipper head is completely rotational, 3. it is not shaky when fully extended, 4. the clipper easily cuts branches to about 1¼", and can cut to about 1½" with a little effort, 5. the saw will cut larger branches. You slide the orange piece down the handle, toward yourself, to operate the chain drive, but the flat nylon cord pull is attached all the way to the bottom of the pole and does not swing out of reach. I was able to get tremendous reach and still utilize the chain drive (which requires a short reach) by fully extending the pole, getting a "bite" on the branch with the clippers by using the cord from the very bottom of the pole, releasing the cord and pulling the branch closer, then reaching for the orange slide to finalize the cut with the chain drive.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Rickny
from New York
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke After Cutting 3 branches

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The plastic that holds the spring broke after cutting 3 limbs. I bought the other Friskars (14 ft) for about 1/2 the price and the parts are made of metal and was able to cut about 30 branches with no problem. This item is NOT durable.
Cons: Not Durable, cheap plastic
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Landscaper
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

They do the job but break easily.

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've gone through at least three of these in the last five years. The pull mechanism doesn't seem to hold up. I use it less than once a week. I haven't found any other brand that makes one similiar to this so I keep buying it because it's what I need. I'm also in Hawaii, so that limits my shopping options.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Yankee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great and much better then the old rope models. Would recommend to everyone.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Tylerfullstick
from Los Angeles

Finally - design with intelligence

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First, most or all of products from the Fiskars line include a lifetime warranty. Customer service is excellent - either do it all on line, or on the telephone. Take a picture, complete the online form, attach pic, and your new product arrives - no shipping fees, no returning the item. Plain and simple. That being said, this Telescoping Pole pruner is sweet. Lightweight, indestructible plastic, with no rope to get tangled - works like a charm. Secondly, the most valuable feature is the angled, pivoting blade head, which means you are never in the wrong place to make that cut - you can angle and lock the head nearly upside down and just slide the pole mechanism swiftly and cleanly - perfect cuts, no shredding. Comes with an attachable large machete like blade, haven't needed to use it yet. Telescoping feature means no ladders. Advice: limbs fall directly down, usually where one is standing - protective head and eye gear recommended. Pricepoint - reasonable; add the lifetime warrantly - you just can't lose.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
John
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA

Innovative but Soft Steel

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fisker's innovation of using a contained tape in place of the customary nylon pull rope reduces snarls. Despite that commendable advance, the lack of replacement blades for purchase and soft steel of the blade itself means I only could use the polesaw for a week and a half before the blade curled over useless.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Walt
from New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ease of operation

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have the short version and enjoy that so I decided to get the longer model for the reach. I have pruners with ropes but the fact that I can just come under the branch and no pulley to get in the way I like. When fully extended do not use on thick branches because there will be too much strain on the pole. Treat with care and you will be happy.
Pros: Functionality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Bfoxy2
from Franklin, NC

AN OLE TIMER !

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my 15' Pruning Stik for several years and it's one of my favorite tools, so much, that I also own the shorter one
as well. Both, are the only pruning tools I ever use, their that good! I love the fact that they are "Lifetime Warrantied".
I wore the short one out last year (it was about 7 yrs old) and Home Depot gladly exchanged it for a new one,
Thanks Home Depot. You can also use the pruners jaws to pick-up limbs and save your knee's from bending down to pick them up.
I RECOMMEND BOTH SIZES, AS YOUR "BEST" PRUNING SOLUTION...
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Dangerousdan
from Hendersonville, NC

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the pruner on several occasions and have been very pleased with it. It allows me to reach limbs and that I could not reach without the telescoping handle. The cutting blade is very sharp and is able to cut through fairly large limbs. I recommend it to any homeowner who does much of his own landscaping and pruning.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Sabine123
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disaster on a stick.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the shorter version of this pruner --the 54 inch and I love it, so I thought I would also get this longer one for my taller bushes and trees. This thing is a disaster. The cord keeps getting stuck and it keeps locking up. Plus when it is fully extended it is heavy--maybe it is how the weight is distributed (?). I've had the one with the external cord and never had any of these issues. I will be taking this thing back to Home Depot. Lots of money for an inferior product. -- As mentioned the short one (54") is great though!
Pros: not many
Cons: cord jams up constantly--real hassle, bad weight distribution
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
JRJR
from Seabeck, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was impressed, but not amazed, so it can't get a 5 star

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this item when it was first released, must be ten years now. I live in a forest with a +500 ft driveway, so I use it a lot. Yes, the cord gets stuck sometimes, but not when I'm paying attention or working within the limits of the tool. NOT FOR INDUSTRIAL USE! I am just now, looking to replace the saw blade and nothing else has broken. Perhaps the earlier tools were made better, but they seem the same to me.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Sharp, easy to use and effective for the homeowner.
Cons: blade availability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Jody
from Houston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Disappointed

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one of these to trim my trees (a 4 year old willow and a crepe myrtle) 8 days ago. The same day I bought it, the plastic head that held the cutter broke. I exchanged it for another one that day. The second one broke today. This time, the nylon pull cord came out from the head. I did not cut the cord, instead it detached from the part of the tool that holds the chain mechanism. There is no way for me to reattach the nylon cord.
The idea of this pruner is great, but the execution is terrible. I would not purchase another one.
Pros: Sharp, the idea of an internal cord is fantatic
Cons: Not Durable, the nylon cord detaches, plastic part that holds the blade weak
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
joe62
from Lexington MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have known better

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
All of the clap-trap at the head of conventional telescoping pole pruner takes the fun out of trimming branches in tight canopy areas but the Fiskars Telescoping Pruning Stick promised to solve that problem with its sleek configuration and innovative ropeless ‘PowerStroke’ cutting action design. It was more than twice the price of a standard pole pruner but how can you put a price on such clever engineering. When you cut that first ½” branch you will congratulate yourself on your wise purchase. That first ¾’ branch requires a little denial but when you get to that first 1” branch you know that you’ve allowed yourself to be had. There is no engineering magic here and I should have known better. A ‘Power’ stroke that is half that of a conventional bypass pruner results in a cutting force that is also half. All you have left now is a lifetime warranty on an expensive toy instead of favorite tool. I expected better engineering from Fiskars.
Cons: not practical, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
LAWNMAN
from Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Tool

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great tool compared the string "yankers" I've struggled with for years and tossed. This tool works! I find it surprising the other reviews making claims which are really not accurate nor do they compared to my other neighbors who all love and highly recommend their Fiskars 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick!
I suspect they are written by the "yanker" folks!!!!! That's all I got to say about that!
Pros: Strong, Great Quality, Effective
Cons: no downside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>