728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Choose our innovative Pruning Stik Telescoping Tree Pruner for a level of control traditional pruners with exterior ropes can’t match. The rope-free design means you can use both hands to maximize your power and accuracy, and an easy-to-grip sliding handle makes the pruning action smooth and simple. The lightweight pole extends up to 12', and an actuating ball at the end of the shaft lets you reach even farther and still prune with precision. An included 15"" saw blade makes it easy to take down thicker branches, and the cutting head rotates up to 230º to let you prune and saw at tough angles. With the Pruning Stik Telescoping Tree Pruner, there’s no cut you can’t make. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
3.328 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product34 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product34 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Review 1 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemingly functional design, but really $80 worth of junk

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Perused the various pruners available at my local HD, and thought this would be my best bet to reach taller trees. I also thought the lack of a traditional rope to activate the pruner would result in less tangling in branches, etc. It was the most expensive pruner they had in stock and I thought "Well...you get what you pay for." I couldn't have been more wrong.
After pruning roughly 8 branches, the pruning blade became locked in the closed position. Nothing I did would release it, including oiling, loosening bolts and attempting disassembly, and even trying to force it open with a giant pipe wrench. It is now in what appears to be in a permanent closed position, locked, and even REMOVING the blade will not get the chain/rope to retract back into the pole. So, I spent $10 a branch on 8 half-inch sized branches. Money NOT well spent.
I will be returning this garbage and looking for a basic pruner from another manufacturer. Don't buy this...it is not well built at all.
Plus side: the attachable saw blade works well (which I guess is hard to screw up), but the bracket that holds it onto the pole is flimsy and I'm sure would break with any rigorous use.
Photo: jammed closed apparently forever.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used for 6 months, then belt broke inside the head of pruner

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is advertised as a lifetime warranty, but be careful because Home Depot defers you back to mfg. I filled out the online warranty request and waiting on their response. It's an awkward part to ship and since Home Depot doesn't support the manufacturers lifetime warranty, then I'd question buying this product again. For now, I wouldn't recommend this product.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Useless purchase

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the pruner 3 times before it stuck shut. Tried using lube, prying it apart, opening the head up and more. The only way it opened was when I opened the head. I thought great it will work now. Put it back together, slid handle to close the pruner and that is how it still is...closed. Tried looking online for manual or at least directions to fix it. No info on the pruner head, just on how to replace the 'rope'. Very disappointed. Now I have to go spend more money to get a different tool to try and get the needed work done during the available time I have to do the work.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, broke after 3 uses
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Honolulu
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

false advertising

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main feature advertised on the packaging of this pruning stick is that it is ROPELESS. Well, after about 10 banana leaves cut, the blade got stuck. My wife didn't seem to apply any force to the handle, but the blade just didn't spring back. Since the stick is ropeless, it was not clear what held the blade. Something got stuck inside the aluminum pole. So i removed the screws on the top, and opened the blade holder. The chain that pulls the blade was held by a thin black plastic ROPE, going from the handle to the chain inside the pole. I guess "ropeless" for Fiskars means that the rope is inside the pole. Since the rope is thin, it tangled really badly. Since it is attached to the handle on one side and to the chain on the other, it got tangled entirely on its own, and no one can reach it. Since no one can reach it inside the pole, no one can untangle it. The packaging says: "No Ropes to Tangle or Snag!" (capitalized just like this, also in Spanish). I think someone at Fiskars has by now grown a long wooden liar's nose, but we can't prune it because the pruner is stuck.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Pacific North West
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good pole pruner for small branches

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is very easy to work with as far as adjusting the pruner head angle and the length of the pole is concerned. A lot of pruning work can be done quickly as long as the braches are not much over 5/8ths of an inch.
The power stroke pruner takes some getting use to. The pull stroke has to be quick and deliberate, and the blade at a 90 degree angle to the branch. If you take your time and don't put a lot of energy into the pull stroke, it will jamb up on the branch and drive you nuts. I used up a lot of cuss words getting use to how it works. It won't cut a branch of hard wood that fills the cutter opening like a rope pruner will. If you go much over 3/4th of an inch, the nylon ribbon stretches too much and won't pull the blade through the branch.
I found the flexible nature of this pole saw pruner at full extension to be no worse than any other two piece pruner I've used in the past. I got a lot of work done with it in tight spaces because of the ease of adjustment of the head and pole.
I'm not sure how long the ribbon will last. In three days of typical PNW large tree pruning use, the ribbon has already started to fray.
I would recommend this tool if most of your pruning work will be on small braches and in softer wood, and anything larger than 3/4th of an inch you understand will be cut with the saw. If you are accustomed to the cutting power of a rope pole pruner, you may be disappointed. The nylon ribbon is the weak link in the design. Otherwise, this is a nice well balanced tool to use once you get use to the violent nature of the pruner pull stroke required to get this thing to cut.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Thumb of Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good enough for my needs

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was tired of the ropes always tangling on my old pruner and thought I would give this a try. I was happy with the way it cut most of the limbs and loved the long reach. It did work better on the softer woods - poplar, maple, pine, but it did not do well on the oak trees. Couldn't cut through anything much bigger than 3/4" diameter on the oak.
Tried the saw attachment and finally took it off because it kept getting in the way of the pruner. The price is a bit high for the quality, but like I said, it did the job I needed it to do and I didn't have to fight with ropes twisting and tangling.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: priced a bit too high
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Pittsburg KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk Total Waste Of MONEY!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it less than 45min and the Saw broke off! Then went to the next tree using the cutters and it locked up. Took the head apart and tried to pull the rope and was stuck, finally got the rope pulled free put it back together pulled the handle and STUCK AGAIN! DO NOT BUY THIS WORTHLESS PIECE OF JUNK!
Pros: none
Cons: everything about it is a con.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Ocala, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Fiskar Quality!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I experienced the head jam like many others. Sorry I purchased this product. Took the head apart and discovered the core of the activator rope core separated from the sheath forming a knot which caused the jam. Poor design! I will be far more careful about the next Fiskar product I purchase.
Pros: poor design
Cons: not repairable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Lascassas, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best birthday present

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not having an exterior pull rope to get tangled in other branches or the trimmed branch is the greatest plus. I have a lot of trees and talked my Son into giving this used trimmer to me for my birthday 2 years ago. Since then I have trimmed a lot of small branches up to the maximum jaw opening with the cutter and have even cut a few larger branches up to 4" with the attached saw. Because the pole is fairly flexable you cannot rush the sawing and works best when extend the length to only what is necessary. Only attach the saw when needed as it gets in the way the rest of the time. Keeping the cutter head in line with pole works best and reduces friction of the cutter head. I have never had to replace any parts on this tool but have on 2 other occasions received warranty replacement parts from Fiskars and the service from them was excellent.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Pembroke Pines
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Find!!!!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I wanted was to trim the small branches that were touching my house ...Called several tree companies,,,spoke with a guy ...said he would call ..did not...one guy wanted $200.00 .....by a fluke i saw this and decided to buy it...after all if it did not do job i could return it......Well I can not say enough about how well this worked...most cases did not need a ladder ...extended all the way and stood on solid ground....Again this is for smaller branches and it cut like a hot knife through BUTTER!!!!
Pros: Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Brilliant Idea - Horrible Execution!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll be the first to admit that this is a brilliant concept... but it's one that was HORRIBLY executed.
The extension pole literally bent where it connects to the primary pole... It bent due to the stress that the cordless designed forced on the extension pole while I was trimming a feeder branch!!! It's difficult to explain to anyone who hasn't seen this thing up close, but the "cordless" design isn't actually cordless... It's a flat ribbon-like cord INSIDE the primary pole that runs along the OUTSIDE of the extension pole. You don't have to be a NASA engineer to understand where the design flaw is here!
I expect something that costs $80 to be a LOT more durable...
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Soggy south Puget Sound
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior pole pruner

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using a 9' wooden handled rope and pulley pole pruner since sometime in the 1990's. Today I encountered a situation where it was just to heavy and short to reach the wood I wanted to cut. I went online, compared three of the pole pruners listed on the HD website, noted their location in my local store and went into town to look at them. I chose this one, despite the higher price. I went home and, in very short order, finished the work with the new pruner.
First, it's both longer and lighter than my old pruner. Second, it has a gear and strap operating system that, unlike rope and pulley pruners, does not get fouled by branches adjacent to the one you're after. Third, it telescopes easily and quickly, so you can tailor the length to your immediate task and adjust as you go. Fourth, the cutting head can be unlocked and rotated to work in the same plane as the pole or up to 90 degrees of angle to the pole. This also lets you adjust the pruner to the task at hand. Fifth, instead of having to yank on a rope to make a cut, you simply slide a handgrip toward the butt of the handle and the cutter head operates, via a strap, a gear and a bicycle chain - it's very smooth and easy.
Maybe this review is so positive because of the antiquated gear I had before, but this is the only pruner I saw with the strap and gear system. In my opinion this is an excellent piece of industrial design, a really innovative advance and a work saver.
Pros: Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Phoenix, AZ

Sweet, easy cut and multiple functions

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I planned to purchase the Fiskars 14' pruner at half the price of this model, but the clipper piece on this model appeared much sharper. It FAR exceeds my expectations. Couple of things: 1. it is both chain AND cord operated, 2. the clipper head is completely rotational, 3. it is not shaky when fully extended, 4. the clipper easily cuts branches to about 1¼", and can cut to about 1½" with a little effort, 5. the saw will cut larger branches. You slide the orange piece down the handle, toward yourself, to operate the chain drive, but the flat nylon cord pull is attached all the way to the bottom of the pole and does not swing out of reach. I was able to get tremendous reach and still utilize the chain drive (which requires a short reach) by fully extending the pole, getting a "bite" on the branch with the clippers by using the cord from the very bottom of the pole, releasing the cord and pulling the branch closer, then reaching for the orange slide to finalize the cut with the chain drive.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Tustin,CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stopped working

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was able to use this once to trim my avocado tree. The next time I went to trim a hedge and the cutter jams up every time I use it, making it useless. Something in the head where the chain goes into. I tried to oil it but no luck. So it goes in my piece of junk shack.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Silver Spring, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT limb/branch pruner

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I want to first say that I bought the Fiskars Ropeless 12' pruner w/ 15" WoodZig Saw Blade INCLUDED. It was a kit - and it was under $45 at my local Home Depot.
Needed to prune some dead branches from a massive Oak tree in my backyard. cut all the lower ones a few weeks ago, then got on the 16' ladder, and climbed up the tree to about 40' above the ground. Extended the Pruner w/ Saw blade attachment out to about 10' (going to 12' remains difficult to obtain adequate torque). Got into position and sawed away... sometimes I could only saw with one hand, due to my precarious position -- but the blade did all the work.
Cut through 3 branches of approximate 5" in diameter (2 dead and 1 live one). Yeah, just don't tell the wife about the live limb cut on accident and we're good to go.
At any rate, this pruner was exactly what I was looking for and has saved me $$ from hiring a professional tree pruner, plus I got to go climb up a tree like a kid - which most 40-year olds don't get too do too much.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A unique tool - best for medium-duty home use

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my Fiskars Pruning Stik 10 years ago at Home Depot in Bellingham MA. After 10 years of service, the extension pole cracked where the flat cord enters it. Fiskars is sending me a new unit free under the lifetime warranty. At various times, I've used both the cutter and the saw, and they both work great. This is a medium-duty unit, best suited for occassional home use, but it works very well. It's so lightweight, you can even hold it over your head and pull on the end of the cord (instead of the handle). With this method, I've cut 1" branches 25ft off the ground (my reach+the pole+step ladder). The rotating cutter head, the sliding handle and the lightweight, all combine to allow a homeowner to trim branches easily which could otherwise not be reached. I have several fruit trees and this unit has been a lifesaver for trimming them. I've also cut branches from many shrubs & trees all around my yard. I can stand on the roof of my ranch-style house and angle the cutting head just right to reach branches that are hitting my gutters. No other branch cutter has the versatility of this unit. The only drawback is that it's only a medium-duty unit - you have to take care to avoid excessively rough use. But, with the llifetime warranty, if yours finally does break as mine did after 10 years, Fiskars will send you a new one.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Seabeck, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was impressed, but not amazed, so it can't get a 5 star

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this item when it was first released, must be ten years now. I live in a forest with a +500 ft driveway, so I use it a lot. Yes, the cord gets stuck sometimes, but not when I'm paying attention or working within the limits of the tool. NOT FOR INDUSTRIAL USE! I am just now, looking to replace the saw blade and nothing else has broken. Perhaps the earlier tools were made better, but they seem the same to me.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Sharp, easy to use and effective for the homeowner.
Cons: blade availability
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Los Angeles

Finally - design with intelligence

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First, most or all of products from the Fiskars line include a lifetime warranty. Customer service is excellent - either do it all on line, or on the telephone. Take a picture, complete the online form, attach pic, and your new product arrives - no shipping fees, no returning the item. Plain and simple. That being said, this Telescoping Pole pruner is sweet. Lightweight, indestructible plastic, with no rope to get tangled - works like a charm. Secondly, the most valuable feature is the angled, pivoting blade head, which means you are never in the wrong place to make that cut - you can angle and lock the head nearly upside down and just slide the pole mechanism swiftly and cleanly - perfect cuts, no shredding. Comes with an attachable large machete like blade, haven't needed to use it yet. Telescoping feature means no ladders. Advice: limbs fall directly down, usually where one is standing - protective head and eye gear recommended. Pricepoint - reasonable; add the lifetime warrantly - you just can't lose.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Rego Park, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaper than calling a guy in ... and a whole lot faster!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many city homeowners with both tree lined streets and small backyard garden it really isn't cost effective to hire a tree arborist to take down the occasional tree limb. Exacerbating matters is the fact climbing extension ladders and over-reaching is a sure blueprint for disaster. I delayed this purchase until careful research and made the purchase after the recent storm and have NOT regretted on this purchase. This Fiskars tree pruner takes just seconds to use and adjusting the length is even easier. Envious neighbors have even requested I prune their trees each time I have it out. The only weak link to this 12-foot tree pruner is the locking lever which tends to distort/stretch then eventually break to an otherwise perfect tool. Fiskars requires detailed documentation of ownership/sales receipt/ and a hardcopy picture of the broken part in order to get a warrantied replacement part. Home Depot, btw, has the cheapest price even with taxes compared to mailorder...shipping on this extremely bulky item is very cost prohibitive. This is the nicest tree pruner presently out there....no doubt in my mind!
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

They do the job but break easily.

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've gone through at least three of these in the last five years. The pull mechanism doesn't seem to hold up. I use it less than once a week. I haven't found any other brand that makes one similiar to this so I keep buying it because it's what I need. I'm also in Hawaii, so that limits my shopping options.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>