728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Choose our innovative Pruning Stik Telescoping Tree Pruner for a level of control traditional pruners with exterior ropes can’t match. The rope-free design means you can use both hands to maximize your power and accuracy, and an easy-to-grip sliding handle makes the pruning action smooth and simple. The lightweight pole extends up to 12', and an actuating ball at the end of the shaft lets you reach even farther and still prune with precision. An included 15"" saw blade makes it easy to take down thicker branches, and the cutting head rotates up to 230º to let you prune and saw at tough angles. With the Pruning Stik Telescoping Tree Pruner, there’s no cut you can’t make. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
3.222 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product40 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product40 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
Review 1 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used for 6 months, then belt broke inside the head of pruner

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is advertised as a lifetime warranty, but be careful because Home Depot defers you back to mfg. I filled out the online warranty request and waiting on their response. It's an awkward part to ship and since Home Depot doesn't support the manufacturers lifetime warranty, then I'd question buying this product again. For now, I wouldn't recommend this product.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seemingly functional design, but really $80 worth of junk

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Perused the various pruners available at my local HD, and thought this would be my best bet to reach taller trees. I also thought the lack of a traditional rope to activate the pruner would result in less tangling in branches, etc. It was the most expensive pruner they had in stock and I thought "Well...you get what you pay for." I couldn't have been more wrong.
After pruning roughly 8 branches, the pruning blade became locked in the closed position. Nothing I did would release it, including oiling, loosening bolts and attempting disassembly, and even trying to force it open with a giant pipe wrench. It is now in what appears to be in a permanent closed position, locked, and even REMOVING the blade will not get the chain/rope to retract back into the pole. So, I spent $10 a branch on 8 half-inch sized branches. Money NOT well spent.
I will be returning this garbage and looking for a basic pruner from another manufacturer. Don't buy this...it is not well built at all.
Plus side: the attachable saw blade works well (which I guess is hard to screw up), but the bracket that holds it onto the pole is flimsy and I'm sure would break with any rigorous use.
Photo: jammed closed apparently forever.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Miami
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept,poor repair

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Finally something that looked like it would work for high to reach branches without the hassles of tangle ups. Used it around my yard and my sons place maybe 30 times over a year. Then it would not recoil and was stuck hard in the closed position. I searched for 'how to fix' and found nothing but 'how to use'. I took it apart and found the small round cord all tangled. I could not put 'humpty' back together again. I saw where others had similar problems. Home Depot should have a program with the Manufactures that if any product fails for any reason within a reasonable time frame, return it and get a new one, No Hassles, No Problems, Happy Customers...
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Useless purchase

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the pruner 3 times before it stuck shut. Tried using lube, prying it apart, opening the head up and more. The only way it opened was when I opened the head. I thought great it will work now. Put it back together, slid handle to close the pruner and that is how it still is...closed. Tried looking online for manual or at least directions to fix it. No info on the pruner head, just on how to replace the 'rope'. Very disappointed. Now I have to go spend more money to get a different tool to try and get the needed work done during the available time I have to do the work.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, broke after 3 uses
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Disappointed - Not a good purchase

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing jammed after like my 3rd cut, then the spring got stretched out. I constantly have to pry the blades open with pliers. They're stuck shut right now.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Keep Looking

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought this would be a great product, especially for the $80 price tag. Yes, the blade sticks as the other reviews state. That alone deserves a one star. However, I also found that the way the handle is positioned, it puts a tremendous about of torque on your shoulder. Actually injured my shoulder because of this piece of... Did it twice. Shame on me the second time. There is not lever point on the handle to minimize the pull, just a straight down slide at the end of the pole, without any leverage. Had this had a lever, it would have been so much more effective. In my opinion I do NOT recommend this product until they redesign the blade to stay open and redesign the lever to be used with less stress on the body.
Cons: Not Durable, poor design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Austin, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll kiss $80 goodbye

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've always had a good impression of the Fiskars brand. My brother in-law, who owns a large landscaping company, has used their products professionally for years. This pruner appeared to be of decent quality and design, but that turned out not to be the case. This is strictly a very light-duty, light use product. My yard is 1 1/2 acres with 60+ older, smaller live oaks in the 20-40' range. Most pruning consists of dead branches in the 1"-3" range, but there are a lot of them.
The first thing that goes wrong, as others have noted, is the pruner begins to lock closed. My opinion is that the metal used is simply too lightweight, and normal wear and tear causes it to bend slightly, eventually causing binding. Then the orange lever that locks the pruner angle adjustment completely strips. The next thing you'll encounter is the telescoping feature becomes useless. The only part of the mechanism that isn't plastic is the clamping screw and nut. Especially when using the saw (which cuts well), the telescoping parts begin to slip in both directions. Eventually it becomes impossible to tighten the plastic clamp pieces enough to maintain a set length, or even keep the lower piece from coming completely out. I finally discarded the lower piece and began using it strictly as a short reach tree saw until....
If you look at the picture, the entire black headpiece is plastic. It is ribbed and reinforced, and looks sturdy -- in the store. But using the saw on 1" branches, taking care not to torque it to the side, it still developed a fatal crack near the blade mount.
If you have only the lightest of needs and only use it occasionally, you might have a better experience. But if your needs are anything like mine and you buy this, you'll wind up like me -- $80 farther away from buying a decent, well-made tool.
Pros: blade cuts well
Cons: innovative design negated by cheap materials, manufacturer should warn against heavy use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Hampton, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Telescoping Pruner

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tool, excellent warranty, excellent customer service- I have had excellent success with this pruner for 4 years- cutting pine, oak and gum limbs from around my yard. It is light, strong and very handy. Recently my neighbor was cutting a branch that was too large for the pruner head and broke the unit. I filled out the online lifetime warranty claim, included a picture of the pruner and in 2 weeks I received a brand new pruner from Fiskars delivered to my doorstep You can't get much better than that.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, lifetime warranty
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Manassas VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pleased with product

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the adjustability and reach and general ease of use, much faster and more convenient than sawing style pruning blade units. Have used this product to prune both high and low small limbs for 3 years without a hiccup. I take time to clean and lubricate (WD 40) cutting head prior to storing. Only challenge I have occasionally had is when making multiple cuts for limbs that are too large a diameter to cut through with single stroke. I have wedged bits of wood between the jaws and they have stuck shut. This has been remedied by using needle nose pliers to dislodge the wood sometimes combined with lubricate (WD 40). Additional advantage is the ability to control limbs on the way to the ground if you consciously maintain the jaws shut to place the limb vs. release the handle immediately to allow the jaws to reopen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Metairie, la
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fair to poor

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great on 1/4in to 1/2in limbs anything over that it doesn't work. You can forget a 1in branch. The blade sticks after each cut. The only advantage is the blade goes straight in to the branch without tension arms , springs and ropes getting in the way.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: poor cutting over 1/2in, blade sticks every time
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick

Brilliant Idea - Horrible Execution!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll be the first to admit that this is a brilliant concept... but it's one that was HORRIBLY executed.
The extension pole literally bent where it connects to the primary pole... It bent due to the stress that the cordless designed forced on the extension pole while I was trimming a feeder branch!!! It's difficult to explain to anyone who hasn't seen this thing up close, but the "cordless" design isn't actually cordless... It's a flat ribbon-like cord INSIDE the primary pole that runs along the OUTSIDE of the extension pole. You don't have to be a NASA engineer to understand where the design flaw is here!
I expect something that costs $80 to be a LOT more durable...
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Pittsburg KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk Total Waste Of MONEY!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it less than 45min and the Saw broke off! Then went to the next tree using the cutters and it locked up. Took the head apart and tried to pull the rope and was stuck, finally got the rope pulled free put it back together pulled the handle and STUCK AGAIN! DO NOT BUY THIS WORTHLESS PIECE OF JUNK!
Pros: none
Cons: everything about it is a con.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Honolulu
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

false advertising

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main feature advertised on the packaging of this pruning stick is that it is ROPELESS. Well, after about 10 banana leaves cut, the blade got stuck. My wife didn't seem to apply any force to the handle, but the blade just didn't spring back. Since the stick is ropeless, it was not clear what held the blade. Something got stuck inside the aluminum pole. So i removed the screws on the top, and opened the blade holder. The chain that pulls the blade was held by a thin black plastic ROPE, going from the handle to the chain inside the pole. I guess "ropeless" for Fiskars means that the rope is inside the pole. Since the rope is thin, it tangled really badly. Since it is attached to the handle on one side and to the chain on the other, it got tangled entirely on its own, and no one can reach it. Since no one can reach it inside the pole, no one can untangle it. The packaging says: "No Ropes to Tangle or Snag!" (capitalized just like this, also in Spanish). I think someone at Fiskars has by now grown a long wooden liar's nose, but we can't prune it because the pruner is stuck.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from slidell,la
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great purchase

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
had my doubts at first however upon using the product it works as said.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Fort Myers, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, easy to use light tool

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lopping blade is very sharp and easily and cleanly cut oak branches. Use common sense on picking branch diameters for max performance. Saw attachment very effective on the larger limbs. Was able to re-shape two mature oaks in an afternoon. More than paid for itself with the one job.
Pros: Sharp, easy and ready to use
Cons: hoping for durability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Phoenix, AZ

Sweet, easy cut and multiple functions

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I planned to purchase the Fiskars 14' pruner at half the price of this model, but the clipper piece on this model appeared much sharper. It FAR exceeds my expectations. Couple of things: 1. it is both chain AND cord operated, 2. the clipper head is completely rotational, 3. it is not shaky when fully extended, 4. the clipper easily cuts branches to about 1¼", and can cut to about 1½" with a little effort, 5. the saw will cut larger branches. You slide the orange piece down the handle, toward yourself, to operate the chain drive, but the flat nylon cord pull is attached all the way to the bottom of the pole and does not swing out of reach. I was able to get tremendous reach and still utilize the chain drive (which requires a short reach) by fully extending the pole, getting a "bite" on the branch with the clippers by using the cord from the very bottom of the pole, releasing the cord and pulling the branch closer, then reaching for the orange slide to finalize the cut with the chain drive.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from van nuys, Ca.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a excellent pruner

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got six good years of use out of this pruner and the neighbor borrowed it all the time also. The rope did break after tons of use on branches up to 3/4". Mine had a saw attachment for the thicker branches. Never needed to attach it once. Only complaint I have is that It's near impossible to figure out how to repair the rope and get it back how it was. The website directions show you but it's very confusing. In all fairness I got 6 good years out of it and feel I got my monies worth. I've tried the other kind with the exterior rope. No comparison. All these bad reviews probably haven't tried the alternative yet.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke in a few months

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this expensive pruner. Big mistake. Cord snapped after a few months use, and the spring mechanism on the pruning head flew off. Fiskar sent replacement parts, but taking this thing apart and reassembling it was such a nightmare that after 2 hours of trying I just threw the whole thing in the trash. DON'T BUY IT.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A unique tool - best for medium-duty home use

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought my Fiskars Pruning Stik 10 years ago at Home Depot in Bellingham MA. After 10 years of service, the extension pole cracked where the flat cord enters it. Fiskars is sending me a new unit free under the lifetime warranty. At various times, I've used both the cutter and the saw, and they both work great. This is a medium-duty unit, best suited for occassional home use, but it works very well. It's so lightweight, you can even hold it over your head and pull on the end of the cord (instead of the handle). With this method, I've cut 1" branches 25ft off the ground (my reach+the pole+step ladder). The rotating cutter head, the sliding handle and the lightweight, all combine to allow a homeowner to trim branches easily which could otherwise not be reached. I have several fruit trees and this unit has been a lifesaver for trimming them. I've also cut branches from many shrubs & trees all around my yard. I can stand on the roof of my ranch-style house and angle the cutting head just right to reach branches that are hitting my gutters. No other branch cutter has the versatility of this unit. The only drawback is that it's only a medium-duty unit - you have to take care to avoid excessively rough use. But, with the llifetime warranty, if yours finally does break as mine did after 10 years, Fiskars will send you a new one.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 ft. Telescoping Pruning Stick
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

They do the job but break easily.

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've gone through at least three of these in the last five years. The pull mechanism doesn't seem to hold up. I use it less than once a week. I haven't found any other brand that makes one similiar to this so I keep buying it because it's what I need. I'm also in Hawaii, so that limits my shopping options.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>