728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Clamps, Vices & Fastening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

General Tools specializes in bringing customers with high quality, specialty items for jobs of all types. The General Tools 1/4 in. Grommet Kit includes a hardened-steel hole cutter, a matched mandrel/anvil pair, a hardwood backer block and an assortment of grommets - everything you'll need for repairing or adding grommets to tarps, tents, awnings and pool covers.
Overall rating:
4.553 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product44 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product44 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Chantilly, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gromet kit is easy to use

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this gromet kit so I could use bungee cords to secure a chaise lounge cover which the wind liked to remove. The instructions were easy to follow. Have only installed four, but I'm glad to have the remaining kit for future projects.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Boston, MA, USA

great for keeping gloves on you during a job

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wrote a review under the 3/8 grommet refill kit - here's the picture of how to use this with gloves to keep them on you with a carabiner clip.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Southlake, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and works great

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem I had was that the flat side of the grommet is very thin and they tend to stick together. When I finished the box, I had one half of a grommet remaining. I had used 2 of the flat sides on one spot and ended up wasting a grommet. Count and separate the pieces before you start.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

Followed directions, Works great

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was used to attach a shade fabric over a pergola. The hole cutter wasn't the sharpest edge. Scissors helped. Only used them a couple of days ago so nothing about longevity of the grommets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Indian River, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for household use

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for household repair. While I would question the durability if used daily or for heavy duty applications, it works wonderfully for that occasional repair use around the house.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from SE PA

Outstanding tool

PostedJune 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool having never put together a grommet. This tool works perfectly. It is simple and perfect. I put together about 28 grommets on a tarp I was fixing in less than an hour.
Definately 5 stars.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first time installing grommets, and the tool was so easy to use. The grommets (for a theater curtain repair) looked good and were sturdy enough to hold up the heavy curtain.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Long Beach, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good, works great

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased a grommet tool before and this one works just as well.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Pueblo, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it on a banner to provide a place to tie banner to poles. It worked excellently to do the job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Sumner, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worked as advertised

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product... handy for reinforcing my boat cover tarp
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Brass Grommet Kit

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was very easy to use and very accurate. Will use this tool again to add grommets to any of my tarps.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Ridley PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helpful tip!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was having a HUGE amount of difficulty hammering a hole through a thin layer of canvas. No sure if that was the ideal fabric but it was listed on the back of packaging with the rest of recommended materials so i expected it to work ... Finally came up with the idea to put the hollow punch into an electric drill and it worked like a charm!! Save me hours of time and frustration. Grommets were easily assembled once the holes were in place. Happy with my replacement canvas for the boat and ended up saving a lot of money doing it myself.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Rick 357
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well. Good quality. Could use more grommets.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This grommet tool works very well. The instructions are a series of drawings which leave a little to the imagination but it is easy to figure out. What I would like to see is the same kit sold with more grommets. It is a bit odd to sell such a nice tool with only 12 or so grommet sets to have a bit of a surplus for future use. You have to store the tool parts anyway so storing some extra grommets with it seems simple enough to do. Finding extra grommets for it can be a bit of a problem if they are not in stock locally and not available on-line.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good value for the money

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good Value for the money, easy to use, compact storage requirement
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from lore city ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/2 in. solid-brass grommet kit

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to use and product was better than what came with the item that i used it on
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

very easy to use

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the kit to add grommets to a 4x8 outdoor banner. It was very easy to use and the grommets that I added looked and functioned as well as the ones from the sign shop.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

works great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and does what it is suppose to. Used to put grommets in shade cloth for a porch.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

Easy to use

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to put grommet holes in a laminated sign. This kit did the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
from Vermont, USA

Got the job done

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit got the job done...the little block of wood did not hold up however.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

Exactly what I needed!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality, reasonable price. It is very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>