728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fastening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit

This easy-to-use General Tools 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit provides an economic solution for repairing tarps, pool covers, canvas tents, awnings and much more. Centering cone on mandrel helps ensure grommet pieces match accurately. Easy-to-use kit includes 12 grommets, a hole cutter, a matched mandrel and anvil pair, a backer block and grommet refills.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product32 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product32 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
steveinchantilly
from Chantilly, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gromet kit is easy to use

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this gromet kit so I could use bungee cords to secure a chaise lounge cover which the wind liked to remove. The instructions were easy to follow. Have only installed four, but I'm glad to have the remaining kit for future projects.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Producer
from Boston, MA, USA

great for keeping gloves on you during a job

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wrote a review under the 3/8 grommet refill kit - here's the picture of how to use this with gloves to keep them on you with a carabiner clip.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
yesgen4
from Southlake, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and works great

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem I had was that the flat side of the grommet is very thin and they tend to stick together. When I finished the box, I had one half of a grommet remaining. I had used 2 of the flat sides on one spot and ended up wasting a grommet. Count and separate the pieces before you start.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
jimkrafty
from Sumner, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worked as advertised

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product... handy for reinforcing my boat cover tarp
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Rick357
from Rick 357
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well. Good quality. Could use more grommets.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This grommet tool works very well. The instructions are a series of drawings which leave a little to the imagination but it is easy to figure out. What I would like to see is the same kit sold with more grommets. It is a bit odd to sell such a nice tool with only 12 or so grommet sets to have a bit of a surplus for future use. You have to store the tool parts anyway so storing some extra grommets with it seems simple enough to do. Finding extra grommets for it can be a bit of a problem if they are not in stock locally and not available on-line.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
ohjoyce

Exactly what I needed!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality, reasonable price. It is very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
AJM23456
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Brass Grommet Kit

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was very easy to use and very accurate. Will use this tool again to add grommets to any of my tarps.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Allen
from Pueblo, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it on a banner to provide a place to tie banner to poles. It worked excellently to do the job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
DIYUSER

Easy to use

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to put grommet holes in a laminated sign. This kit did the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
TheaterDoc
from Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first time installing grommets, and the tool was so easy to use. The grommets (for a theater curtain repair) looked good and were sturdy enough to hold up the heavy curtain.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
RevDennis
from SE PA

Outstanding tool

PostedJune 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool having never put together a grommet. This tool works perfectly. It is simple and perfect. I put together about 28 grommets on a tarp I was fixing in less than an hour.
Definately 5 stars.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Depotman
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The tool was easy to use.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Use of the tool was easy to use. The grommets that was provided with the kit is for light duty use.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Gatorfan05

very easy to use

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the kit to add grommets to a 4x8 outdoor banner. It was very easy to use and the grommets that I added looked and functioned as well as the ones from the sign shop.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
clay

works great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and does what it is suppose to. Used to put grommets in shade cloth for a porch.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Ljn44
from Vermont, USA

Got the job done

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit got the job done...the little block of wood did not hold up however.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
fasteddie452
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Over all a great buy!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tool n brass fitting work great,just wish the pac. had more!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
llwalsh
from Utica, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this worked great for my project.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this project to make covers for our garden boxes and it worked great.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
anonymous

Worked as advertised

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've got absolutely no complaints about the tool or the handful of grommets that came with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
amanda
from New Jersey

As expected

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was what I needed and worked as designed. I wonder if there's some kind of plyer-like tool that would do this.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. Solid-Brass Grommet Kit
Fernando54
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple gromet tool to use

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Straight forward tool that does the job inexpensively
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>