728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trash & Recycling or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can

31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can

The Behrens 31 gal. steel trash can is made of durable, pre-galvanized steel. Ideal for trash, yard waste, bird seed and pet food storage. Rodent proof and won't absorb odors. The can has large side handles for easy transport and a wire-reinforced rim. Built to last in the USA.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
Review 1 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can

good value

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 4 of the 31 gallon cans and 3 of the 6 gallon cans to use for chicken feed and dog/cat food. Thank you to the reviewer who warned about the cans sticking together, it took a while to find a stack I could seperate. These are not the heavy duty cans I remember from childhood, but for chicken feed they are perfect. Lids fit tightly but I could see them denting easily if used as a trash can. All that aside I think it is a good value.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can

Made in U.S.A.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has a tight fitting lid and is rust resistent. The construction is of high quality also. It is great for protecting bird food, pet food and bagged goods from foraging pests too.
Pros: Cost Effective, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Brooklet, GA

Unusual uses...

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a middle school band director. I bought 14 of these cans to use with my percussion ensemble. They can sure take a beating, and with a little tuning, they sound great.
I'm not kidding.
+61points
64out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from New Jersey, USA

Sturdy but small

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We were having trouble with squirrels chewing through our older garbage cans and purchased these. Problem solved with these steel cans. However, a family of 5 will need to purchase several of these since they are on the smaller side and can only hold about 2 (not that big) bags of garbage each. There are no wheels so you will also have to carry these down to the curb. However, there are handles that make this somewhat easier.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: Small
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Laguna Hills
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

steel can

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought two cans to store horse feed. Had these for a short time but they have already dented and the finish has rubbed off a bit. Otherwise, they are a good size and seal well.
Pros: Effective
Cons: durability?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can

Great for keeping squirrels out of trash

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got these cans after squirrels ate through all of our plastic ones and even our neighbor's heavy duty (expensive) rubber ones. These metal cans with lids do the trick. Only issue: getting them to the curb (no wheels). Would like to buy the cart but the online reviews aren't good for the cart. Great cans, though! No trash on driveway!
Pros: High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: harder to get to curb than cans w/ wheels, handles could use rubber padding-carrying hurts!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Item

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item holds up greatly. Exactly what I wanted.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

Metal trash cans rule

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After critters or stray dogs made a mess of my yard twice I decideed to get these trash cans. problem solved. Thanks HD.
Pros: High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A GREAT FARADAY CAGE

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
THESE CANS WILL HOLD ALOT OF AT RISK ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT IN THE EVENT OF AN EMP OR SOLAR DISRUPTION. A GREAT CHEAP FARADAY CAGE. JUST MAKE SURE TO LINE THE INSIDE WITH SOMETHING TO INSULATE THE ELECTRONICS AND KEEP THEM FROM TOUCHING THE METAL. BETTER SAFE THAN SORRY.
Pros: Fast Results, Effective
+15points
22out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Pensacola

Nice can.

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this can to use while bagging leaves and other outdoor chores. Worked out great. It's been hit with footballs, baseballs, and everything else and it's still here. Made in America!!
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from HOUSTON,TX

HAnDY!

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
USE MINE ON THE OUTSIDE FOR CANS ,SO THEY DO NOT BLOW EVERYWHERE.KEEPS THE WATER OUT ,JUST FINE.STURDY,LONG LASTING.THANKYOU.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can

Great Can

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Fulfilled my needs. High quality. Highly recommended
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from n las vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Outdoor Project Storage

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Storing Garden Soils & Supplements Was No Problem with the 6 Garbage Cans w/lids.The Order Was Ready When They Said It Would Be,The Young Man Who Helped Me Load Them Into Our Little Car Was a Little Hesitant But Did As I Requested.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from tacoma wa

great can

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after a bad wind storm our garbage can was still there we put a 20lb bag of sand in the can but ater branches and wat not hiting it, it was still there
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from New York, NY, USA

Solid sturdy bin

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a perfect bin for the patio or shed. It’s very solid and fits most rubbish bin liners. The only complaint I would make is that like a lot of metal bins the lid can stick.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 31 gal. Galvanized Steel Trash Can
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a trash can, what can I say?

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased a metal trash can on line for in-store pick up. It's a trash can, what can I say? I did note that the rivets that hold the handle on to the lid look poorly made but only time and use will tell how they stand up.
I would probably recommend the trash can. It appears to be identical in quality and price to the ones being sold by other similar retailers.
Cons: Inconvenient
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.