728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Waterproofing & Sealers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer

5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer

The DRYLOK 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer is a low-odor paint formulated to protect any interior, exterior, above- or below-grade masonry surface. This waterproofing paint can withstand 10 lb. of hydrostatic pressure equivalent to water pressure at a depth of 22 ft. This ready-mixed formula requires only 2 hours to dry to the touch and 3 hours to accept recoating for quick task completion.
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
Review 1 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Applied this paint to the basement walls of an investment property and I am very happy with the outcome. Made the old grey cinder block walls look like new.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from Reading PA

JUNK. does not work!!!!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I spent $400 a few years ago on this product and 20 hours of my time. I have a block foundation and I prepped the surface with the etching solution and wire brushed any spots that needed it. I followed the directions!!! I have an entire wall that the Drylock is peeling off. I contacted the Manufacturer and they tell you that it will stop water but not Efflorescence ( they now have this on their website but when I bought the product it was not there!!!). Efflorescence is the white crystal that if left behind when water dries......so it will stop the water but once the water dries and the efflorescence appears the paint will peel off and you are out of luck and have wasted you money and time. UGL the maker does not stand by their product, when you contact them they get defensive right away. AGAIN>>>THIS STUFF IS JUNK!!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer

Easy to apply

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Drylok went on concrete foundation easily & seemed to seal it well. However, we just applied it so can't be sure how well it will hold up in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from Chicago

This Paint Rocks!

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although the guarantee says ten years, I got FIFTEEN years of dry walls! We are repainting the entire basement this time, not just the leaky parts. P.S. Great Tip for cleaning this rough surface paint for any mildew that appears in very damp places: Mix up a 50/50 bleach & water solution and spray the walls with a mister. Mop op the floor and the walls look liike new with no scrubbing!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from Chicago, Illinois

Great Product; Worth the Investment

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was used to help seal the walls for the finishing of a basement in which the outside grading of soil was not ideal. Although the soil outside pitched towards the house minimally, it did create problems because of the older nature of the house’s brick foundation. Additionally, because of the porous nature of the brick, seepage was constant. After two coats of DryLok, there has been no seepage, which allowed for the basement to be finished. The first coat requires a stiff brush and the second coat was rolled on. Although the product may appear expensive, it is worth the peace of mind knowing that behind your finished walls no moisture is coming through. If you are thinking about finishing your basement and have seen any moisture, I would highly encourage the use of this product to mitigate any seepage.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer

great product

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff seems to be working fine on sealing the basement walls. Although, if you have serious water issues, you better resolve them on the outside of the house and not depend on this paint to stop leaks forever. It's low odor. Noticable and a fan is probably best to move the air in the room. But not overpowering like other paints I've worked with. I put two coats on walls and also on floors. Seems to be working so far after a wet summer. If you get the 5 gallon, make sure you have a electric drill with a mixing bit on it to mix the paint as it settles from sitting so long on the shelves.
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from knoxville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Would not suggest

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product did not resolve my issues. Called UGL to see what warranty covered and what I could do to resolve. Found that warranty does not cover what they call (efflorescence) seepage from the walls. I wasted 200 dollars to find the product doesn't work for me. And they wanted me to buy more of there product that might or might not work. Don't think so. MAKE SURE YOU READ THE WARRANTY INFO CLOSE.
Cons: Leaks
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from Philadelphia, PA

drylock is ok

PostedAugust 11, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had two days to drylock our 90 square foot basement. Product mixed easy and was pretty easily applied. Hardest part was the first coat that needed to be brushed on using a masonry brush. I was able to roll the second coat. First coat took about 6 hours, second around 3. Fumes weren't really a big issue, we luckily have two windows with fans running.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from Maine

Amazing stuff that works! Tried & Tested.

PostedMay 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 areas in my basement had dampness & trickling through the cement. The former owner, too. We both tried different products, with nothing completely stopping the wet coming thru the cement with heavy rains. I read about Drylok on the internet & an HD rep had used it on their home so I tried it & it rained heavily for 3 days with dry dry dry!!!!
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

nice solid coating

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used this on above grade cement wall (and sloped ceiling). The first coat was zissner and this by comparison was a little thicker and had a little more texture, thus a little better for my purposes. The first coat has to be put on by brush. I used a roller for some sections and the gaps and holes (of old concrete) were pronounced (even with a high nap roller). Put a thick coating on that held back some heavy rain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer

Poor coverage

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Previously used Baer and had good results. Bought Drylok because initial cost was cheaper. After 3 coats the coverage was not as good as 2 coats of Baer. 2 1/2 gallons only covered 162 ft/2. Drylok application not as user friendly as Baer either.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer
from New Bedford, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So easy to use.

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Water would leak up from the floor and through the walls in my cellar, so i tried drylok, and it works. .. I can not believe how it works .. love it... love it... love it...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-gal. White Masonry Waterproofer

Not for all uses

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to paint the outside of a poured wall. It went on easy and cleaned up easy. The bad part, it does not cover little holes well. We used a drylock masonary product that we mixed with water, and two coates completely sealed and covered the interior. The Behr product still did not cover all the pinholes and slightly larger holes with three coates.
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.