728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ducting & Venting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. No toolbox should be without Nashua Stretch & Seal. This self-fusing silicone tape has no adhesive and bonds only to itself when STRETCHED and WRAPPED around a material. Stretch & Seal conforms to almost any surface to create a permanent, watertight seal. It is easy to remove and leaves no sticky residue.
Overall rating:
2.895 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product20 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(17)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product20 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Review 1 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

Stretch and seal tape

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the Blue tape on a pinhole leak on my water line...does not work. Wasted so much time and ended up using a Shark Bite. About then same amount of time and money and really works. Other products like this may work...like Blue Monster or Xtreme.
Cons: does not work on water lines
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

So far so good

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Discovered a leak in drainage pipe in my basement - more like a crack about 2" long. Original pipe so must be iron (house built 1925), which was painted and grimy.
Cleaned it off best I could and used almost the whole roll wrapped around the pipe. That was a month ago - just checked last night for the first time and no more leak.
It is a bit difficult to handle and wrap - it sticks to itself very well and will not come apart while you're handling it, so be careful or some will end up unusable.
I doubt that this would work for any water line under pressure, but for plain drainage it's working fine for me so far.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a terrible product

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a terrible product. I think that the people in the YouTube videos demonstrating this product are like the carnival barkers that show you how easy it is to make a basket or toss a ring onto a bottle. I tried two different applications today, neither remotely worked. The first one was automotive. The second, a pinhole leak in a half inch copper pipe at the brazed elbow junction. Perfectly smooth, easily accessible copper tubing. No excuses for a poor fit.
The water under the tape blew up the tape like an aneurism. The water found various points in the tape job to squeeze out of, albeit an inch or so to the right and left of my original leak. Something is wrong with this product. The instructions, the limited set of applications where it works, etc. It doesn't work.
I'm completely disappointed that Home Depot would even carry this product. I noticed on the reviews that some reviews that liked it did not detail the conditions of their application when they praised it. To me, that indicates that they haven't even tried it yet.
In case you're wondering why my photo shows yellow, I figured I'd post on the black in order to help more people find feedback for this product which is available in multiple colors. SKU 42366 01176. I can get my money back so I'm not mad at Home Depot, but this product wasted hours of my time that I could have put toward a genuine solution.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Kihei, HI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The tape is good quality tape, but not what I needed for my repair. It helped stem the flow with the aid of clamps until i could get a couple of sharkbite fittings and some pex pipe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from atlanta, ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worthless

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not work at all, I tried it at 3 different time on the same problem but just expands and leak. the hole was barely 1/4 inch
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

two rolls 1/2 in line

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not only did it take up two rolls it failed. I used something like this in the military but that was alot thicker. Do not use on water line. Can not stand up to the pressure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from NJ

Amazing Product

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A 2" main steam pipe in my house was spewing steam at a rusted out area about 1/8" x 3/4". Anything I tried would melt instantly or wouldn't seal. Plumbers wanted $200 or $300 to replace the pipe. About 16" of this stuff has kept it perfectly sealed for the last 5 years.
The area should be as clean as possible, and you really have to stretch it - you'll need at least two hands, and it takes a bit of work. But it's $6, and it works.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No plumber needed

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased to stop a leak in an under-the-kitchen sink drain pipe. As other reviewers stated, not the easiest to work with but absolutely stopped the leak. I was done in less than a half hour.
Pros: Very Adhesive
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most versatile product - A Must Have

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product in various applications; Sealing a leak quickly and easily. The key is to stretch the product during the application process to create a strong, durable seal. In addtion, I have use this product to wrap each end of rope that I use on my boat. The self fusing tape creates an outstanding bond which prevents the rope from fraying and/or unraveling. The silicone tape structure works well in marine applications were exposure to water is prominent. I used it to protect electrical connects from potential water/moisture. I really like the benefit of addressing these applications with no residue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Boston,MA

Doesn't stop leaks!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I has a small leak and was looking for a temporary repair. Bought two rolls of this tape just in case. The water line was a very low pressure line so this tape was just the ticket, WRONG!!!! This stuff sticks to itself so easily that it makes working with it nearly impossible. I wrapped the area VERY tightly and overlapped the tape quite a bit to ensure a good seal. Used an entire roll on this small leak and as soon as the water was turned back on it promptly leaked again. Complete waste of money
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from New Jersey

It works!!! Super product!

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tricky part is removing just a bit of the plastic cover on one side of the tape, and stretching the product around what you are fixing, so it will fit tightly AND stick to itself. Used on a leaky sink elbow--sealed the leak as tight as can be--don't have to call a plumber now to replace.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is great! No more leaks!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this to wrap around the threaded ended of my PVC standpipe. It had been leaking since we installed the washer. Since doing so I have absolutely no problems with discharge leaking allover the basement floor.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from El cajon, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worked for me

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used it to cover areas during powder coating. don't tell them they raise the price. there is no way this product or any other quick fix tape will seal copper pipe. average psi is 70. a bad pressure regulator i have seen the pressure over 200 psi. but it doesn't state it will do pressurize pipes. drain pipes yes unless backed up majorly.. wrapping up wires even outside should work great cleaning up wires under the hood, i can see several ways to use this tape
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Texas

Inferior Product

PostedApril 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used similar products before to patch pinhole leaks in water hoses. It was always easy - wrap a couple of layers around the hose and turn on the water. I tried this following the directions carefully. I wrapped overlapping2/3 on each turn and went over the area twice. This stuff stretches or doesn't adhere well to itself. After two attempts, I still had a leak that sprayed just as much water as the hose did without any tape at all.
Don't be turned off by the "tape seal a leak" method. Like I said, I have used similar products in the past with great success. Those patches are still on the hose after at least 3 or 4 years and don't leak.
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this to repair a garden hose and it still sprung a leak. Might work for some applications but not that problem
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Space Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money on this brand

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used other brands of silicone tape in the past, with excellent results. This brand of tape is so difficult to use, I literally wasted half of the roll before even applying to the hose I was trying to repair. When using most of these types of tape, they stick to themselves when stretched, but you can pull apart easily and reapply at will. With this particular brand, once the tape touches another part of tape, that's it! Permanently stuck together, or breaks when trying to remove! This makes it difficult to apply, and wasteful! Not happy with this product at all. Stick with name brand...it's worth the extra $$!!
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I use it for electrical work

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this to insulate wires on 12v automotive/motorcycle wiring. Sometimes you cannot use heat shrink tubing. Sometimes you wrap a job with black electrician's tape & want to secure the end from unwrapping. Sometime you want to secure some wires together or hold them in place. For this it is most expeditious. I always have a roll or two around.
Now I have not used this particular brand for plumbing leaks. About 30+ years back I did repair a small leak in a feed pipe under my mother in law's sink. Told her to call the plumber next day as we were leaving town that night & I wouldn't be back to do a better repair. Years later I happened to go under the sink & there was the same tape, no leak. She had forgotten to call plumber & it was bone dry. Don't know what brand.
Can't testify to this but strange some people find it useless & others found it worked great? Why? Wish I knew. Goodbye all!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Carolina Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to use and solved the problem immediately...thank you
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok in a pinch...

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this after accidentally grazing a copper water pipe with a saw while doing some demolition work. I needed something to patch the pipe for a week before the plumbers came to re-route the piping in our bathroom to accommodate a new vanity. The first time I wrapped it, I used maybe 1/3 of the roll and proceeded to turn the water back on. Unfortunately, after about 1-2 minutes, the slow leak had built up enough pressure that it burst the tape. I shut the water off again, and proceeded to wrap the rest of the roll around the leak (to the point of looking a bit absurd). I had the water off and on over the next week, and it never leaked again. However, since I wasn't living in the home at the time, I never trusted it enough to leave the water on while I was gone. If I was in a pinch, I'd probably use it again for a small leak such as the one I had, but it is definitely not a long-term repair for a pressurized pipe.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: might not hold up long-term under pressure
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Norfolk VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not for my project, mending water hose

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sticks to itself, as expected, but not to the hose.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: not for my project
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>