728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. No toolbox should be without Nashua Stretch & Seal. This self-fusing silicone tape has no adhesive and bonds only to itself when STRETCHED and WRAPPED around a material. Stretch & Seal conforms to almost any surface to create a permanent, watertight seal. It is easy to remove and leaves no sticky residue.
Overall rating:
2.882 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product9 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product9 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Review 1 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to repair a hairline crack in a small section of 1/2" pvc water line between two couplings. The tape was not easy to work with, but not terribly difficult, either. Luckily, there was space between the pipe and the wall to fit the roll of tape through. The tape does like to stick to itself, but keeping the roll close to the pipe helped.
Unfortunately, even after following the directions (2/3rds overlap, stretch the tape as you go, finish by overlapping the section), it still leaked. So, I did it again. Still leaking!
I am now going to cut out a larger section of pipe and splice back in all the fittings. This tape was a complete waste of money.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok in a pinch...

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this after accidentally grazing a copper water pipe with a saw while doing some demolition work. I needed something to patch the pipe for a week before the plumbers came to re-route the piping in our bathroom to accommodate a new vanity. The first time I wrapped it, I used maybe 1/3 of the roll and proceeded to turn the water back on. Unfortunately, after about 1-2 minutes, the slow leak had built up enough pressure that it burst the tape. I shut the water off again, and proceeded to wrap the rest of the roll around the leak (to the point of looking a bit absurd). I had the water off and on over the next week, and it never leaked again. However, since I wasn't living in the home at the time, I never trusted it enough to leave the water on while I was gone. If I was in a pinch, I'd probably use it again for a small leak such as the one I had, but it is definitely not a long-term repair for a pressurized pipe.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: might not hold up long-term under pressure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No plumber needed

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to stop a leak in an under-the-kitchen sink drain pipe. As other reviewers stated, not the easiest to work with but absolutely stopped the leak. I was done in less than a half hour.
Pros: Very Adhesive
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from NJ

Amazing Product

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A 2" main steam pipe in my house was spewing steam at a rusted out area about 1/8" x 3/4". Anything I tried would melt instantly or wouldn't seal. Plumbers wanted $200 or $300 to replace the pipe. About 16" of this stuff has kept it perfectly sealed for the last 5 years.
The area should be as clean as possible, and you really have to stretch it - you'll need at least two hands, and it takes a bit of work. But it's $6, and it works.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most versatile product - A Must Have

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product in various applications; Sealing a leak quickly and easily. The key is to stretch the product during the application process to create a strong, durable seal. In addtion, I have use this product to wrap each end of rope that I use on my boat. The self fusing tape creates an outstanding bond which prevents the rope from fraying and/or unraveling. The silicone tape structure works well in marine applications were exposure to water is prominent. I used it to protect electrical connects from potential water/moisture. I really like the benefit of addressing these applications with no residue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

So far so good

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Discovered a leak in drainage pipe in my basement - more like a crack about 2" long. Original pipe so must be iron (house built 1925), which was painted and grimy.
Cleaned it off best I could and used almost the whole roll wrapped around the pipe. That was a month ago - just checked last night for the first time and no more leak.
It is a bit difficult to handle and wrap - it sticks to itself very well and will not come apart while you're handling it, so be careful or some will end up unusable.
I doubt that this would work for any water line under pressure, but for plain drainage it's working fine for me so far.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Space Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money on this brand

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used other brands of silicone tape in the past, with excellent results. This brand of tape is so difficult to use, I literally wasted half of the roll before even applying to the hose I was trying to repair. When using most of these types of tape, they stick to themselves when stretched, but you can pull apart easily and reapply at will. With this particular brand, once the tape touches another part of tape, that's it! Permanently stuck together, or breaks when trying to remove! This makes it difficult to apply, and wasteful! Not happy with this product at all. Stick with name brand...it's worth the extra $$!!
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Texas

Inferior Product

PostedApril 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used similar products before to patch pinhole leaks in water hoses. It was always easy - wrap a couple of layers around the hose and turn on the water. I tried this following the directions carefully. I wrapped overlapping2/3 on each turn and went over the area twice. This stuff stretches or doesn't adhere well to itself. After two attempts, I still had a leak that sprayed just as much water as the hose did without any tape at all.
Don't be turned off by the "tape seal a leak" method. Like I said, I have used similar products in the past with great success. Those patches are still on the hose after at least 3 or 4 years and don't leak.
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from New Jersey

It works!!! Super product!

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tricky part is removing just a bit of the plastic cover on one side of the tape, and stretching the product around what you are fixing, so it will fit tightly AND stick to itself. Used on a leaky sink elbow--sealed the leak as tight as can be--don't have to call a plumber now to replace.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from chicago il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waste of money

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a small leak on a copper elbow. I followed the instructions, I even waited an hour just to be safe. Turn the water on and the leak was still there.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

Great for many uses-not just plumbing-Love this product!

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first bought this product a few years ago for my car mirror, which had broken and was hanging by the wires. It held in place for two years! Because you stretch it as you wrap it around the object, it holds tight like a rubber band and stays tight in all types of weather. I keep this in stock in my home and often use it instead of other types of tape because it holds so well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Kannapolis, NC

Nashua Stretch and Seal Silicone tape.

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this tape on many occasions on different pipes, both pressure bearing and drainage pipes. I have found it to be a great fix for small leaks. If you use short pieces overlapping each other and pull it to stretch it when you apply it, pulling and wrapping - it works great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Georgia

great for Intex pool hose repairs

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Having an Intex pool with odd sized hoses that only last one season has been a pain. Even though I can get replacement intake and return hoses easily, the skimmer hose has been evasive because of the odd size. This tape has been a God Send in making inexpensive repairs that are lasting longer than the hose itself. When I finally breakdown and order another (expensive) skimmer hose, I'm wrapping the entire thing in this tape before I hook it up!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Overland MO

Do Not buy

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this for a leaky water pipe. The pip is galvanized and had a pin hole. Tryed it twice and it did not work at all.
Went an bought the old "saddle" thats been around for 100 years. It worked perfectly.
This tape might work for drainage pipes but no way for pressure pipes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

line under pressure (One Star)

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Probably a great product but not on a line under any pressure. I had a leak under my house that sprayed a small amount of water. I shut the water off cleaned it up and applied the whole roll being sure to overlap it properly, when the water was turned back on it just burst through the tape.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from middle Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was purchased to fix a small but persistent drip in my home water lines (PCV). The product does not adhere to the PVC and therefore does not form any seal whatsoever no matter how tightly it is stretched (dont pull too hard as this snaps the tape just like it will a rubber band). I would never recommend this for the purpose for which I purchased it
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from New Orleans, LA

Nashua Stretch and Seal Silicone Tape

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased product to stop a leaking bathroom faucet line. After applying over half the roll (comes in 1"x10' roll) and turning the water on, the leak continued. The tape will stick to itself and curl up (similar to plastic wrap used for food) even though it is not adhesive. Difficult to use when laying on your back under a faucet.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.