728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ducting & Venting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

Nashua Trusted Tapes get the job done right, the first time, every time. No toolbox should be without Nashua Stretch & Seal. This self-fusing silicone tape has no adhesive and bonds only to itself when STRETCHED and WRAPPED around a material. Stretch & Seal conforms to almost any surface to create a permanent, watertight seal. It is easy to remove and leaves no sticky residue.
Overall rating:
2.867 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product15 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(14)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product15 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Review 1 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a terrible product

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a terrible product. I think that the people in the YouTube videos demonstrating this product are like the carnival barkers that show you how easy it is to make a basket or toss a ring onto a bottle. I tried two different applications today, neither remotely worked. The first one was automotive. The second, a pinhole leak in a half inch copper pipe at the brazed elbow junction. Perfectly smooth, easily accessible copper tubing. No excuses for a poor fit.
The water under the tape blew up the tape like an aneurism. The water found various points in the tape job to squeeze out of, albeit an inch or so to the right and left of my original leak. Something is wrong with this product. The instructions, the limited set of applications where it works, etc. It doesn't work.
I'm completely disappointed that Home Depot would even carry this product. I noticed on the reviews that some reviews that liked it did not detail the conditions of their application when they praised it. To me, that indicates that they haven't even tried it yet.
In case you're wondering why my photo shows yellow, I figured I'd post on the black in order to help more people find feedback for this product which is available in multiple colors. SKU 42366 01176. I can get my money back so I'm not mad at Home Depot, but this product wasted hours of my time that I could have put toward a genuine solution.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Boston,MA

Doesn't stop leaks!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I has a small leak and was looking for a temporary repair. Bought two rolls of this tape just in case. The water line was a very low pressure line so this tape was just the ticket, WRONG!!!! This stuff sticks to itself so easily that it makes working with it nearly impossible. I wrapped the area VERY tightly and overlapped the tape quite a bit to ensure a good seal. Used an entire roll on this small leak and as soon as the water was turned back on it promptly leaked again. Complete waste of money
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Richardson Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of time

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not work and I am taking it back. I wrapped it on a pinhole leak in the blue water main coming into the front of my house under ground. After turning the water back on at the curb, it blew thru the tape like it was not there. It was a pain wrapping it on the pipe because the tape doubles over on itself turning into a piece of string after a wrap or two.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Oldsmar Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't work in tight places,

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was excited to try this product I had a pipe that was broken below ground level I turned the water off chipped a few inches around the pipe away and tried this product. I could not even get it to stick to itself let alone anything else. Total waste of time and a trip to Home Depot. If anyone else has had better luck they must have had the perfect environment to use it in. In the perfect situation I would just cut and sweat a new piece in. Thank You Home Depot for allowing me to return the product with out a problem!
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from El cajon, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worked for me

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used it to cover areas during powder coating. don't tell them they raise the price. there is no way this product or any other quick fix tape will seal copper pipe. average psi is 70. a bad pressure regulator i have seen the pressure over 200 psi. but it doesn't state it will do pressurize pipes. drain pipes yes unless backed up majorly.. wrapping up wires even outside should work great cleaning up wires under the hood, i can see several ways to use this tape
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Syracuse ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

terrible and no good

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it does not work I practiced etc. IM 60 years old and have tried many things this one is bad.
Pros: does not work i read reviews tried im stupid, none
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, no good for anything, no good, no good at all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this to repair a garden hose and it still sprung a leak. Might work for some applications but not that problem
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok in a pinch...

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this after accidentally grazing a copper water pipe with a saw while doing some demolition work. I needed something to patch the pipe for a week before the plumbers came to re-route the piping in our bathroom to accommodate a new vanity. The first time I wrapped it, I used maybe 1/3 of the roll and proceeded to turn the water back on. Unfortunately, after about 1-2 minutes, the slow leak had built up enough pressure that it burst the tape. I shut the water off again, and proceeded to wrap the rest of the roll around the leak (to the point of looking a bit absurd). I had the water off and on over the next week, and it never leaked again. However, since I wasn't living in the home at the time, I never trusted it enough to leave the water on while I was gone. If I was in a pinch, I'd probably use it again for a small leak such as the one I had, but it is definitely not a long-term repair for a pressurized pipe.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: might not hold up long-term under pressure
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

It works

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Water came out of a failed T connector weld. 3/4" copper pipe. Wrap it good and tight like those black rubber pipe connector. And put hose clamp on top of the leak.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No plumber needed

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to stop a leak in an under-the-kitchen sink drain pipe. As other reviewers stated, not the easiest to work with but absolutely stopped the leak. I was done in less than a half hour.
Pros: Very Adhesive
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Austin, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff ... easy to work with ... liked it a lot.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"Kind-a" expensive but really worked great ... so I'd say, go for it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black

So far so good

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Discovered a leak in drainage pipe in my basement - more like a crack about 2" long. Original pipe so must be iron (house built 1925), which was painted and grimy.
Cleaned it off best I could and used almost the whole roll wrapped around the pipe. That was a month ago - just checked last night for the first time and no more leak.
It is a bit difficult to handle and wrap - it sticks to itself very well and will not come apart while you're handling it, so be careful or some will end up unusable.
I doubt that this would work for any water line under pressure, but for plain drainage it's working fine for me so far.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this product

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stretch tape did wonders for adding extra seal protection to my water line pipes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to repair a hairline crack in a small section of 1/2" pvc water line between two couplings. The tape was not easy to work with, but not terribly difficult, either. Luckily, there was space between the pipe and the wall to fit the roll of tape through. The tape does like to stick to itself, but keeping the roll close to the pipe helped.
Unfortunately, even after following the directions (2/3rds overlap, stretch the tape as you go, finish by overlapping the section), it still leaked. So, I did it again. Still leaking!
I am now going to cut out a larger section of pipe and splice back in all the fittings. This tape was a complete waste of money.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from covington, ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for the use I needed it for

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Problem was a leaking corrugated pipe feeding from my well to my well pump. I had tightened and tightened to no end and still had a leak. So in the hopes that I would not have to take it back apart and then repurchase the pipes and accessories that would be needed to replace the pipe, as it required taking pipe back out of ground I bought this product in the hopes that it would work. And it did It has worked great. I wont say it will last indefinitely but it has been working for the approx 2 months so we shall see.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from NJ

Amazing Product

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A 2" main steam pipe in my house was spewing steam at a rusted out area about 1/8" x 3/4". Anything I tried would melt instantly or wouldn't seal. Plumbers wanted $200 or $300 to replace the pipe. About 16" of this stuff has kept it perfectly sealed for the last 5 years.
The area should be as clean as possible, and you really have to stretch it - you'll need at least two hands, and it takes a bit of work. But it's $6, and it works.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Concord NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent addition for tool box

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Their would not be 50 words I could think of to type----it's a roll of tape, black sticky self sealing tape, in cellophane wrapper--Amen, It is in my Tool Box to have in case of emergency, or stop gap to fix something, anything, where ever needed----ta--da
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most versatile product - A Must Have

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product in various applications; Sealing a leak quickly and easily. The key is to stretch the product during the application process to create a strong, durable seal. In addtion, I have use this product to wrap each end of rope that I use on my boat. The self fusing tape creates an outstanding bond which prevents the rope from fraying and/or unraveling. The silicone tape structure works well in marine applications were exposure to water is prominent. I used it to protect electrical connects from potential water/moisture. I really like the benefit of addressing these applications with no residue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from Norfolk VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not for my project, mending water hose

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sticks to itself, as expected, but not to the hose.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: not for my project
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 in. x 3.33 yd. Stretch & Seal Self-Fusing Silicone Tape - Black
from New Jersey

It works!!! Super product!

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tricky part is removing just a bit of the plastic cover on one side of the tape, and stretching the product around what you are fixing, so it will fit tightly AND stick to itself. Used on a leaky sink elbow--sealed the leak as tight as can be--don't have to call a plumber now to replace.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>