728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump

1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump

The Flotec 1.5 HP High-Capacity Sprinkler Pump has a durable, fiberglass-reinforced thermoplastic housing and can handle up to 30 sprinkler heads. The pump is corrosion resistant and self primes after the housing is initially filled with water. It is great for use with automatic sprinkler systems. This pump has a high-output, dual-voltage motor and can lift water from a depth of up to 20 ft.
Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product26 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product26 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
Review 1 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Arizona
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great deal

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pump works well if you don't have to draw. I pump from a ground level tank through a 2 inch line, 450 ft long.
at the end of the line with good flow I get 45 pounds pressure. at the pump without pumping load the pressure is 90 pounds-not recommended except for short testing. The only problem is the turbine ring clamp nut is a the bottom. Before installing the pump you should loosen it and turn the nut to the top or the side-see photo--makes for easy cleaning later, if needed. oh yeah. . . the factory over-tightened the lower bleed bolt and broke the head off. The leak stopped by replacing the bolt.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, spin the turbine ring clamp bolt to top or side
Cons: Leaks, leak was a simple fix
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Naples, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great pump with very good performance

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a similar model years ago that seemed to be a little on the cheap side and it lasted 4 to 5 years. I replaced it with a Myers sprinkler pump and it ran well for 8 years. The performance of this pump is much better than the old one. Good job Flotec.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: none so far
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent pump

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 50 foot well and i am irrigating a 3 zone, 7 head each sprinkle system with this pump.. This pump has enough pressure to meet my requirements.
Based on posts here and because it is an "Sprinkle Pump" instead of a "shallow well pump", I thought that this pump would not be able to draw water from my well. on the contrary, it does and I haven’t had any problems.. I have it connected to my sprinkle timer and it has worked every time.. very happy with my purchase
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pump is an excellent low cost work horse. Caution on allowing pump to run dry.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used several of these pumps over the last 14 years and they are great. Never had a motor issue but units are enclosed in a ventilated shed. The only issue I've had is when they fail to build pressure (due to piping or control issues, no fault of pump, entrained air and low flow condition) and they run without water flow. There is no internal safety so they continue to run until the water in the housing boils and the plastic parts deform. The pump amazingly continues to operate afterwards but at reduced capacity. Rebuild kits are available however at about a third of the replacement cost of the pump. I have since added a pump circuit that only runs the pump when the timer AND pressure switch call for it to run.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: no safety for "low flow" operation
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product, easy online purchase

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like that I can review products at home and then place the order online and pick it up at the store shortly after ordering it.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality, ordering online makes shopping at home depot easy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Amelia City, FL 32034, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great pump

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has been working great. It has a lot of pressure and easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Detroit area

Great Lake Pump for the $$

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a $1000 Sta Rite HD lake pump that cracked with this $200 special at HD 3 years ago and its given me great service each of those 3 years. I have a 6 zone system that sprinkles an acre of land. Some of the distances to draw water from the lake I am on are as much as 400ft away and this pump does it all, with pressure to spare.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Orlando, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced basically an identical pump.

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had a Sears pump for probably over 15 years that started to get noisy. It worked fine, but I think one of the bearings were freezing up because of a high pitch whine that could be heard a few houses down the block.
I tried Sears, but they didn't carry that one any more. Checked Home Depot, and it looked strangely identical. Did some measurements between my old one and the new one, and they matched. I purchased this one, got it home and all I had to do is open up the ring clamp that holds the front impeller to the motor on each unit and separate them, then disconnect the power from the old one, rewire the new one, put the new motor to the old impeller, button everything up, power it up and it works perfectly. VERY quiet also. Doing it that way kept me from having to cut the suction and discharge PVC lines.
All in all, it works just great!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump

Excellent pump for irrigation.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided to try this pump based on good review after the new and 2x more expansive pump (JP10S) can not do the job. I am glad I bought this Flotec 1.5 HP pump. It is very easy to install and work better than expected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought this one for my Daughter.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought mine two years ago, WORKS GREAT.
Using in shallow well 16ft depth to water; Runs eight Rain-Bird impact sprinklers in each Zone @ 40PSI.
Bought this one for my Daughter to use in Pond to irrigate large lawn. I have owned 5 or 6 irrigation pumps, this is best one over-all.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Northeast Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leak problems

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have had the pump for several years and last year noticed it was started to drip on the bottom from the joint ring. Tried to tighten up the ring and that didn't help. Removed the ring and took unit apart and found the 9 1/2 seal washer crimped. This was installed improperly at the factory as you could see the mark on the plastic and on the ring. I have never had unit apart, called company for replacement and received it in two days. Unfortunately they wouldn't replace it FREE even though installed improperly.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Jacksonville, FL

Easy to install and maintain

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this pump to replace a green pump of the same size and type. I like the feature of being able to open a plug at the top of the pump to prime it with water. I also like the way it comes apart so that you can clean it out. I am using it to suck water out of a drainage ditch, and I get between 48 and 52 PSI depending on the zone. I have no need for pressure switches as I only use it for my sprinklers and I have a pump start relay connected through my rain gauge to the Sprinkler Controller panel. The only thing I do not like is the pump moter gets a bit warm when it is run for a while.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Melbourne, FL

Flotec 230v

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Top quality materials and assembly. Went together and cranked up without a hitch. Runs like a greased weasel. I would recommend it to anyone for a residential sprinkler system.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Orange Park, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This pump is very durable

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought one 13 years ago and have used it daily for lawn watering needs. It pulls water up 15 feet and produces great pressure. Tree root broke the well pipe and put pieces in the impeller assembly, parts were easily found and replaced, still going strong. I highly recommend this pump!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump

Highly recommended

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd time I've purchased this pump because I liked the first one so much. (No problems with the pump, the motor gave out after 6 years left out in the weather, and I consider that my fault.) Easy to prime, no maintenance (by me) other than draining when the weather turns cold. Think I'll build an all-weather cover over my new one this time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump

Great Pump for Power

PostedJune 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cheap and easy to install these. It did get hung-up on leaves but only after the pump was off for several weeks. This pump has serious power and I have two of them each for over 5 years. I did have to open them up a couple of times but it was no problem. Great pumps for the money!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This pump is strong, quiet, light weight, and durable

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the Flotec this Summer to pump water from our lake in an effort to water plants and trees which were suffering due to the drought here in Missouri.
This pump lifted water from the lake and carried it up hill about 250 feet supplying ample volume.
The heat wave, associated with the drought, brought temps above a hundred for weeks, and our pump never overheated once!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Quiet, stays cool
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pump

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My pump lasted 19 years until the pest control tech let it run dry. It still pumps water but at reduced pressure. Just noticed that the pump housing is also cracked so I'm off to buy a replacement. It has run my 4 zone system and pond fill system faithfully
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Someone else installed it but he was impressed with the pump and how well it works.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1.5 HP High-Capacity Thermoplastic Sprinkler Pump

Great Start!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We set this pump up to draw from our small neighborhood lake, and it pulled water almost immediately upon startup. We are using it to water our lawn and are very pleased with the water pressure it puts out. We are still working on the sprinkler end of the project, but anticipate a great system when finished.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>