728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Softeners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System

36,400-Grain Water Softener System

The WATERBOSS 36,400-Grain Water Softener features a built-in sediment filter for clean operation and a safety shut-off system for safe water softener use. The water flow rate helps provide minimal pressure drop to your shower and appliances, and the 36,400-grain capacity makes the softener ideal for large families. The high-efficiency tank design helps conserve water and salt and also saves space so you can easily find a place for it in your home.
Overall rating:
3.477 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product28 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product28 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
Review 1 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Las Vegas, NV

Great Little Softener

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I laughed when I read the other review for this product. I bought my first Water Boss softener on the recommendation of the sales rep at Home Depot over three years ago. I'm moving to another home and I was looking up the same softener online just to see Home Depot's current price. I couldn't believe it when I saw that it had only one review, and that it was for 1 out of 5 stars. I never write reviews (this is my second ever), but I had to reply. First of all, the 1" valve is better than the 3/4" because it doesn't restrict the flow to your house. Of course if you really want the smaller one, buy the 700 model instead of the 900. I've lived in areas with high iron content where I had a sand media filter in front of the water softener. I liked the idea of a self cleaning sediment filter built in to the softener. Now after owning this for three years I can tell you that this little softener delivers! The regen time is less than 30 minutes, it hardly uses any salt (compared to other softeners I've owned). And all of my guests confirm that I have some of the softest water they've ever experienced.
Just a couple of negatives:
I have a family of six (we do a lot of laundry, baths, and showers) and the Las Vegas water is very hard. There have been occasions when after doing the dishes, 6 loads of laundry and 6 showers, we have exceeded the capacity of the softener. When this happens I simply manually regen the softener and within a half an hour the water is perfectly soft again. Additionally the clock seems to drift more than a digital clock should. I have to reset it a couple of times a year. Lastly, because the softener is shorter than standard I had to solder a couple of 90s to connect it to my softener loop. If you're not soldering copper pipe than this wouldn't be a factor.
Overall, it's a great little softener and that's why I'm buying my second.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Thing Works Period!!!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this two years ago. I live in Northern Florida and my old outdoor water softener that came with the home when we bought it failed. Thought about rerouting everything in to the garage so we could buy a major name brand.
I started doing research and heard great things about WaterBoss...Made in the US, great cutover service etc. Also many reviews as well as the WaterBoss website said you could use it outdoors in non-extreme environments. This saved me a whole lot of time energy and money because I didn't have to reroute everything. Set everything up within an hour by just modifying pvc with a few elbows and pvc cement.
I then called WaterBoss support to ask how to set it up the best way (the directions were detailed but I would rather just have a real time walk through). Other than adding salt this thing just works....and it saves on salt...I use half as much as I used to.
Recently I heard the WaterBoss beeping. I called them and they simply said unplug it and plug it back in and it will go back to its originally programed settings. It did just that.
After two years things works like a charm. I recently bought a cheap garbage can and cut a 5 inch width from to to bottom and placed it over the unit to further protect it from the harsh Florida sun.
Breakdown:
It is less expensive
It just works
Great customer service
made in USA
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Naples, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water has a green/yellow tint after install

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've installed 2 of the 900 units in 2 different homes. Plumbing is 100% PVC.
Hardness is 15, iron is .1, no copper, ph is 7.5, I live in Naples, FL.
Raw water from well is crystal clear (and still is) and the water to the house was also crystal clear
with my old water softener.
After installing this unit, the water to the house now has a yellow/green tint to it.
Talked to Rick at customer support (Ohio) and it was not a very nice conversation. He claimed that
the color came from 2 different metals in the plumbing. As stated, the plumbing is 100% PVC.
Both units will be going back to Home Depot and I'll find another system.
Please do your research before purchasing these Water Boss units.
I will say that they work very well, run a lot faster than the "regular" softeners, and use way less water.
Perhaps with city water they will work great. Well water will obviously be an issue and you won't get
much help from customer service.
Sorry but that's the way things have worked for me. Hopefully not you...
Home Depot has nothing to do with this at all.
As stated, I've installed 2 of these units in 2 different homes with the same tinted water issue.
AND, I've installed no less than 5 water softeners over my 60+ years with no problems what-so-ever!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Arizona must be hard on softeners.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Somebody had a bad experience with this product in Arizona, or wherever and is stinging all over this product. He must have had a bad experience and is really taking it out on Water Boss, big time. At any rate, I have one that has been in my home for over 15 years. It was here when I bought the place and I thought it was a funny looking little thing, but why replace it if it works, and work it has. I had to clean the valve one time. Besides keeping salt in it, that's it. I'm going to buy another and so I got online to check prices and was shocked at the review rating on the Home Depot site so I did a little reading. I am at a loss to understand how so many people have had such serious trouble with these things. The same 33 people have given it one star on Amazon, too. I'd suggest to anyone to be careful when reading these ratings. The ratings of one star are absolutely not warranted, no way. I'm not affiliated with Water Boss in any way and in fact I could not care less. I'll unload on a piece of junk but the number of horrible ratings for this product just don't add up.
The bottom line is this. I'm spending 500 bucks on another one. It will save that much in salt. I know they work.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Reunion, Colorado {Commerce City}

Waterboss Full House Water Softener

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Waterboss 900 over 5 years ago a week after our home was finished. The city water here is so terrible that after washing dishes, glassware and silverware twice (In the top of the line GE Triton dish washer) the silverware & glass were becoming opaque and nasty. My wife even became ill from drinking the water that was filtered thru' our fridge's filter. I Had the city check our water for bacteria & any other bad stuff & testing came back fine. But, never the less the water is so hard and nasty that to 1) Protect our health, 2) to protect our dish waher from crudding up as well as our water heater, clothes washer, faucets etc. I bought a Waterboss and except for general maintenence it has and still is performing just as well as it did 5 years ago when it was new. I use sodium phosate instead of salt for regeneration, but the softener works well with either. Salt is real inexpensive compared with sodium phosfate but that is a personal preference. It is a well designed and works great and installation was not too hard. I recommed it to anyone! There are also several different models to fit anyones' needs, even for well water.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Tucson, AZ

Happy Long Term Owner

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a Sears softener about 10 years ago and this unit has worked flawlessly ever since. I also replaced my Mom's Sears softener about 8 years ago. I had to clean the turbine section that is part of the cycle system about 6 years after installing that unit. It is still in service at my Mom's home and working without problems. In one of these reviews, a gentlemen had a tank burst, that may have been due to excessive service line pressure. That has been an issue at my Mom's home and it was fixed after replacing two supply line pressure regulators. Her pressure problem destroyed an RO system and the Sears softener. I am looking to buy one as a gift for my son and his wife and probably will. I think these have a simple but reliable and sturdy design and are well built compared to the Sears (I think the Sears are/were made by GE).
Pros: Takes Less Space, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Las Vegas, NV

connecting a nightmare!

PostedNovember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I live in Las Vegas, and the water is extremely hard, and since our old softener wore out, we purchased this one. The first difficulty was that my house connection is 3/4 inch, while the softener connection is 1 inch, so I had to compensate for that. Then, the washer that is included that is to keep the rubber tube in place is worthless. I followed the instructions to the letter, and the rubber tube kept coming out of the water softener; one rubber tube popped out which I was unaware of, and I don't know how many gallons of water were wasted. Finally bought a stainless steel adapter for about $35 which seems to be working. As to it actually treating the water, I will comment on in a later review. All I know is that the parts that are included to keep the rubber tube in place in the water softener are worthless.
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2nd one - first one burst

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had this model for about 5 years and it worked ok until the valve got jammed. I was able to order a replacement then the tank ruptured. I was going to get another brand, but realized I'd have to re-plumb the connections and was a bit strapped for time, so I decided to get another one. Unfortunately the connections weren't the same height, so I still had to make some changes to get it in. Pressure read on the input is within specs, but getting a warranty claim appears to be a hassle based on other reviews I've read, so I didn't even bother (Ship 105 lb tank back to the Manufacturer and hope they don't deny the claim - really?). I don't understand why they don't have a pressure valve built in to the system if it's this big of a deal. I'm on City water, so pressure shouldn't be too big of an issue, but no way to tell.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Convenient, Takes Less Space
Cons: plastic controls strip if you get a valve jam, needs built in pressure valve to avoid warranty is
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System

Does great job, start repairs after five years

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this for our well water not long after buying our home. Our water was extremely hard and left rust stains on everything. This unit does a great job in removing the hardness and rust. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to be made to last. The first quality issue I noticed is that the screws in it are regular steel instead of stainless. In a salt water environment it doesn't take long for them to rust. I had to replace the motor at the just past five year mark. Then the power terminal corroded but a quick sanding had us back in business. Now at the 6-7 year mark, the control panel died altogether.
So to summarize this unit does a great job for the first five years then it will be repair time. There are parts quality issues (in my opinion) but you should get at least five hassle free years of use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
Cons: parts quality
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Chandler, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk, customer service is horrible

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this system based on the fact that it is small and uses less salt. I quickly found out that it did not use any less salt then the GE model we are replaced. The worst is that I have to install a water pressure regulator because it won't work properly without it. That is an added cost. Ok, so then it worked intermittently, I called service center, you would be lucky if you could get a hold of them. They would never call you back if you left a message. I owned it for about a year now and i could not recall if we had soft water more than a month total. I am about to yank this system out and throw in the trash. Forget the 3-year warranty as claimed by WaterBoss, btw, it only covers parts and not service, even it is not your fault. That is the most ridiculous i had ever heard.
Pros: Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, does not work, bad cust service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is one of the smallest and best units on the market. Well worth my MONEY!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit because my neighbor has had one for years and loves it. I got rid of the large bulky unit that I leased from a door to door salesman. This unit is more than half the size and I already noticed that it is doing a better job. When I was setting it up the customer service department was very helpful. They took the time to help me set the setting based on my water. (They also are based in the USA) I notice that it is using less salt than the other one I had.
I am reading some of the other feed backs and had to tell you my experience. For the price this is the best on the market. I am going to buy one and install it for my parents as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay Away.....Very Poor Quality Parts

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned 2 Water Boss 900's over the past 5 years. The first one had a brine tank explosion after 1.5 years of operation. I contacted Water Boss and they shipped me another. When it arrived the box was smashed and many parts were broken. Rather than wait for another I returned to HD as defective and got a brand new one. The second one lasted 2 years and all of the valve screws rusted out causing the gaskets to leak water constantly inside of salt tank. This caused fast dissolve of the salt which ran about 40 lbs every week. Take this review for what it is worth. Not all may be bad but I received 2 pieces of garbage.
Pros: Takes Less Space
Cons: poor quality parts
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Gloucester Courthouse, VA 23061, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Again

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchase price is good, but, you get what you pay for. Warranty is good for 3 years, well, guess what, the 3rd year I had an issue. Needed to replace the Turbine. Customer service was good about sending the part for free, installation was not easy, and then there were leaks after that. Could not get it to stop leaking. Customer service wanted me to send the entire unit back, at my cost, leaving me WITHOUT a softner for???they did not know how long and could not tell me if the repairs would be covered. I had a plumber come and look at it, his opinion - "these are through-away units".
I will not buy another one !!!
Pros: Convenient
Cons: customer service not great
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Dayton, OH

Do Not Buy this Product

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product a month ago. I hired a residential building contractor to install it. A month later, three conversations with the service department at Water Boss, and a still non-functional unit, I am returning it. The machine never worked, leaked all over my garage, and the "warranty" provided by Water Boss does not cover service. I.e., for my machine that NEVER WORKED, they refused to send someone out to look at it, and told me "it worked when it left here, there's nothing we can do about it." I am returning this unit, and buying the compact GE unit.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Eltopia, WA

Water Boss Model #900

PostedJune 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I draw my water from a well and it is very hard. 30 GPG of hardness. Looked at 8 different water softeners and bought this one. It is a relatively small unit & doesen't take up much space. Was easy to install and has detailed instructions for setup & operation. I've tested my water 3 times since installing & I'm down to 2 GPG of hardness. Very obvious in the shower. This unit uses about 1/3 of a bag of salt per week. All in all, I'm very pleased with it. For the money, you can't beat it. I would recommend it to anyone who has a water hardness problem.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this unit in my last house. Worked great for the seven years I lived there. One time the valve stuck allowing salt water to enter the house. The valve stuck due to salt build up. Cleaned the valve and all was good again. Purchased another unit for my next home. Installation is easy as a DIY with some plumbing experience. The 900 model is likely "overkill" for most cities. I run a "14" setting and "90" is the maximum for the unit. Likely the 700 model would be sufficient, but this model worked so well in the past I bought it again.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from FLA

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had for 3 yrs and a few months. Replaced power supply once (warranty). Replaced controller once(warranty). then Just over 3 years after buying and days after the warranty expired the it flushed itself for days while on vacation running water bill up into the hundreds. then once reset the alarm would go off and it stoipped softning and the tank started filling with water instead of flushing. Of course warranty is now expired. Hoped and thought it would last longer than the warranty but i was wrong.
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Waterboss 900 works great and then it dies.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit Feb. 2007 and it worked for 5 1/2 years and then it would not stop regenerating. The unit needed two parts - The brine valve assembly and the inside valve unit - $190. Waterboss didn't seem to know who services the unit in Phoenix and gave me one number but it belonged to another company. $500 for 5 plus years of soft water, you decide. It costs about $100 a year for soft water. Don't know if I'll buy another one. The Sears unit I had before this lasted about 13 years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
from Rio Rico, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dissapiontment

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After having this water boss 900 for 2.5 years, I am ready to trash it. I've had to repair it 3 times. First the drive unit then the control board and now the main case and the brine cabinet. Each time the company will not send out a tech. not even in the first 90 days. The yellowcard in the box that states" Do not return to store, call for help" disregard, return to the store ASAP. Stay away from water boss unless you are tech and don't mind changing out parts every 8 months
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space
Cons: Difficult to Clean, breaks down easly
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36,400-Grain Water Softener System
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value. needs little service

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought my 900 in 2008. Had to clean screen in 2010 and 2013. takes less than 10 min. Had a rental unit before this one and spent $44.00 + tax a month. Still had service people out to FIX it.. I do not understand the complaints about the service of the water boss unit. Don't service your car and see what happens. Oh!! They complain about that too!!! ALL water softeners need service if you want them WORK Right!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>