728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

Havahart two-door cage live mouse trap is ideal for the trapping of mice, chipmunks, shrews, and voles. The Havahart two-door cage live mouse trap has been designed with the safety of the small animals in mind. This humane mouse trap, with its two gravity action doors, has many features to allow safe, quick and easy catches. This Havahart two-door cage trap is constructed of sturdy rust-resistant wire mesh with steel reinforcements for long life and galvanized for maximum resistance to rust and corrosion. It contains mesh openings, smaller than competing traps of comparable size, which help prevent escapes and stolen bait. Two gravity-action doors allow an animal to enter from either direction. Sensitive trigger ensures quick, secure capture that targets the specific animal's size, eliminating undesired catches. Solid door and handle guard protect the user during transportation, while smoothed internal edges protect and prevent injuries to animals.
Overall rating:
3.763 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product40 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(12)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product40 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Review 1 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Cleveland, Ohio

It Works!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a mouse and after several web suggested live traps failed, I found this trap. The mouse is now living in a field far away and I am enjoying my mouse free home. 3 Mouse Tips; (1) Until you get this trap, leave crushed peanuts out so that he doesn’t search your kitchen for a meal. (2) He will probably take the bait after dark. (3) Don’t forget to lock the trap after you hear it triggered. I caught him and went to bed. Result, evening = mouse, morning = no mouse. He pushed the entry open and escaped. If nothing more, my failure proves that this trap is highly effective. The mouse was caught both times within an hour of setting it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked just great!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a chipmunk problem but the trap did a fine job of catching them. I was able to take them to a field nearby to set them free.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

Workable, but challenging to set

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the trap does catch mice, I found this particular model to be challenging to set up. The other Havahart traps I used had just one door and an easy to set up spring and lever that the animal steps on to close the door. Model 1020 has two doors and a bait pan that swings freely, making it impossible to keep the bait in the pan unless it is stuck on with peanut butter. The bait pan has to be level and the two door levers have to be hooked just right to the bait lever or else the trap won't work. Model 1020 also lacks the top handle that makes transport easier. I recommend spending a little extra money on the traditional #0745 one-door Havahart extra small trap if you are looking for an easier setup.
Pros: low price humane option
Cons: challenging to set this trap
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product REALLY works!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found I had a mouse. I did not not want to use a "kill"
trap and went looking for a way to trap the mouse so I could relocate it. The Havahart mouse trap looked like it was worth a try. When it arrived I was somewhat doubtful that it would work as It looked light weight and I had some concern that a very small mouse might be able to get out. You have to work with it a bit to set it but once you've done that this trap is a real winner. I caught my mouse. Then I caught 8 more mice! All have been transported to good new outdoor homes. I will continue to set it for the next week or so but I do hope there aren't many more to catch. I'd suggest using chopped nuts or sunflower seeds for bait. I used peanut butter the first time; the mouse didn't eat it and it was a mess to clean up. I tried setting it with only one door open but found it works much better with both doors open. I've attached two pictures, one of the set trap and one showing a trapped mouse. I hope you can see the mouse.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Havaheart X-Small animal trap.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well , this trap succeeded in trapping "Supermouse" where all others failed!
The trap is a bit tricky to set , but you`ll get the hang of it. I gave up on trying to set it with both doors open , so just used one. It trips very easily , but that`s a good thing in this case.
I baited with Peanut Butter and Birdseed.
The trap is quite small , so only good for mouse-sized critters.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Lancaster, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great but requires patience

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the trap to catch a chipmunk and that did not take long. Once set the trap works great. It requires a lot of patience to set the trap. The bait tray requires perfect balance to set the trap. The slightest movement will trip the trap. I guess it is to be expected when you are trying to trap something that small. Yes wind and rain may be enough to trip the trap. I would recommend it if you have patience to set the trap.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wanted

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product but the chipmunks aren't
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

small animal trap

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set once you get the hang of it. We have caught 7 chipmunks and 1 mouse and released them in a heavily wooded area.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

This trap worked for me

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had old fashioned snap traps down for weeks with no result. I bought this live trap because I honestly didn't want to find a mouse dead (or worse; only injured!) in the snap trap. I put this live trap down and caught 4 mice in 2 days and i only had the trap out overnight both days. It felt nice to not kill them--they are kind of cute after all.
The only drawback is that you have to take the trap with you to release the mouse and then it isn't set all day. But I still think it's worth it. I used dog food as bait because that's what they were eating anyway.
Pros: actually works, not messy, good for karma?
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Purchase

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product before so I was familiar with it and, of course, as soon as I purchased it (purchased 2, in fact!) the problem ended!! But now I will be ready should it ever happen again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The 'humane' trap worked vewry well...caught the 2 mice who set up residence in my shed. Product functioned as expected.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We were looking to find a more humane way to capture and release a family of mice in our shed. I don't like to see dead or suffering animals of any kind. I was pleased with the product but would have liked a better graphic to see how to set the trap. I haven't set a regular trap for some years so I needed some help. It was not intuitive to the store employee I had asked as well. Once I got the precision setting for the trap to spring it was all good.
Good trap (2-side entry) and a little peanut butter and all worked out well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: no detailed graphic on setting trap
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Orland Park, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal, the price is right and got it very fast!!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works fairly well, with the exception of setting the trap - very tricky since it is extremely sensitive which is not a bad thing.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

Works perfectly

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had 11 moles and 2 mice in my garage. Each time one entered the trap I took it to the creek a few blocks away from my house. It would have been terrible if I used a snap trap & had to see all the brains or guts each time. I felt no need for killing them & when they are released it's just nature if they are food for the hawks, etc. anyway.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from New York

Best trap used

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best mouse trap ever. caught mouse over night. I will be buying more, from home depot who has the best prices on everything for the home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was easy to set up and lightweight which made it easy for us to handle outside. Will purchase another one for the backyard. We like that it does not hurt animals, just catch and release
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Columbus, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great, Unfortunately Online Only

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The reviews indicate this is an excellent product but it's unfortunately an online only item. When people have a mouse they don't want to wait a few days for a package to arrive.
Cons: online only item
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

Works Perfectly!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to catch the little mice that were living in my garage and relocate them. It was extremely easy to set up and caught them day after day until they seemed to be gone and I did not see anymore indication that they were still living there. I left the trap out, but haven't seen any since.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from sylacauga ala
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worse purchase ever

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
i am not really happy with it because it is not made that well.i have a hard time setting it,but i made the purchase.I
Cons: Not Durable, flemsy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from Cincinnati

Simple to use

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was reasonably priced and very easy to set up. The only thing missing is a handle to pick it up once something has been caught.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
from River Vale, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works great. It protects the mouse, pets who might otherwise eat poison or set off a snap trap and children. Once inside the mouse stays put until released. With mice though, if you capture 1 you still have 10 somewhere else and the price is too high to buy enough traps to set around the house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>