728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap

Havahart two-door cage live mouse trap is ideal for the trapping of mice, chipmunks, shrews, and voles. The Havahart two-door cage live mouse trap has been designed with the safety of the small animals in mind. This humane mouse trap, with its two gravity action doors, has many features to allow safe, quick and easy catches. This Havahart two-door cage trap is constructed of sturdy rust-resistant wire mesh with steel reinforcements for long life and galvanized for maximum resistance to rust and corrosion. It contains mesh openings, smaller than competing traps of comparable size, which help prevent escapes and stolen bait. Two gravity-action doors allow an animal to enter from either direction. Sensitive trigger ensures quick, secure capture that targets the specific animal's size, eliminating undesired catches. Solid door and handle guard protect the user during transportation, while smoothed internal edges protect and prevent injuries to animals.
Overall rating:
3.617 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product29 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product29 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Review 1 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Sue430
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product REALLY works!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found I had a mouse. I did not not want to use a "kill"
trap and went looking for a way to trap the mouse so I could relocate it. The Havahart mouse trap looked like it was worth a try. When it arrived I was somewhat doubtful that it would work as It looked light weight and I had some concern that a very small mouse might be able to get out. You have to work with it a bit to set it but once you've done that this trap is a real winner. I caught my mouse. Then I caught 8 more mice! All have been transported to good new outdoor homes. I will continue to set it for the next week or so but I do hope there aren't many more to catch. I'd suggest using chopped nuts or sunflower seeds for bait. I used peanut butter the first time; the mouse didn't eat it and it was a mess to clean up. I tried setting it with only one door open but found it works much better with both doors open. I've attached two pictures, one of the set trap and one showing a trapped mouse. I hope you can see the mouse.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
rs322

Workable, but challenging to set

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the trap does catch mice, I found this particular model to be challenging to set up. The other Havahart traps I used had just one door and an easy to set up spring and lever that the animal steps on to close the door. Model 1020 has two doors and a bait pan that swings freely, making it impossible to keep the bait in the pan unless it is stuck on with peanut butter. The bait pan has to be level and the two door levers have to be hooked just right to the bait lever or else the trap won't work. Model 1020 also lacks the top handle that makes transport easier. I recommend spending a little extra money on the traditional #0745 one-door Havahart extra small trap if you are looking for an easier setup.
Pros: low price humane option
Cons: challenging to set this trap
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
skiouting
from Cleveland, Ohio

It Works!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a mouse and after several web suggested live traps failed, I found this trap. The mouse is now living in a field far away and I am enjoying my mouse free home. 3 Mouse Tips; (1) Until you get this trap, leave crushed peanuts out so that he doesn’t search your kitchen for a meal. (2) He will probably take the bait after dark. (3) Don’t forget to lock the trap after you hear it triggered. I caught him and went to bed. Result, evening = mouse, morning = no mouse. He pushed the entry open and escaped. If nothing more, my failure proves that this trap is highly effective. The mouse was caught both times within an hour of setting it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Greg
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked just great!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a chipmunk problem but the trap did a fine job of catching them. I was able to take them to a field nearby to set them free.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
customer

This trap worked for me

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had old fashioned snap traps down for weeks with no result. I bought this live trap because I honestly didn't want to find a mouse dead (or worse; only injured!) in the snap trap. I put this live trap down and caught 4 mice in 2 days and i only had the trap out overnight both days. It felt nice to not kill them--they are kind of cute after all.
The only drawback is that you have to take the trap with you to release the mouse and then it isn't set all day. But I still think it's worth it. I used dog food as bait because that's what they were eating anyway.
Pros: actually works, not messy, good for karma?
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
AnimalFriend

Works Perfectly!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to catch the little mice that were living in my garage and relocate them. It was extremely easy to set up and caught them day after day until they seemed to be gone and I did not see anymore indication that they were still living there. I left the trap out, but haven't seen any since.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Grumpy1
from Ijamsville, MD 21754, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A better mouse trap?

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got tired of trying all the plastic models of humane traps, finally bought this metal version. The mechanism is difficult to set as you have to balance the pin just right on the side but after getting it set... caught 4 mice in 4 days. Catching and releasing the mice is important to me.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong
Cons: hard to set but after set its good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
OhioScott
from Columbus, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great, Unfortunately Online Only

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The reviews indicate this is an excellent product but it's unfortunately an online only item. When people have a mouse they don't want to wait a few days for a package to arrive.
Cons: online only item
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
buzzard
from Copley, Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good animal safe trap

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Trap is just a little too sensitive with both doors in the open position, keep one door closed and locked when using made the trap more effective for my use. Also, I added a small stone on the set door to close it faster since the chipmonks got out before the door closed all the way.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Strong
Cons: too sensitive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Syfigal

Does the Job

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Lightweight but effective. It would be better if it had a top handle. Did not like having to touch sides of trap to lift it and release the critter. Not easy to clean because it's small but use an old toothbrush to reach tray inside for cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
MrRoberts
from Potomac, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

hit and miss

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The trap has been successful in catching chipmunks and one field mouse. To our surprise we have observed that some chipmunks are clever enough to wiggle and jiggle the trap causing the doors to close before attempting to enter them. Smart critters!
Pros: Durable, Strong
Cons: easily outsmarted by some chipmunks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
JohnInNJ
from River Vale, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works great. It protects the mouse, pets who might otherwise eat poison or set off a snap trap and children. Once inside the mouse stays put until released. With mice though, if you capture 1 you still have 10 somewhere else and the price is too high to buy enough traps to set around the house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Tools4me
from Cincinnati

Simple to use

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was reasonably priced and very easy to set up. The only thing missing is a handle to pick it up once something has been caught.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Betty

Quick, simple, and painless!

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I set up my Havahart trap and put a little peanut butter and oatmeal inside. I ran to the grocery store and when I came home, the doors of the trap were closed and the little mouse was tucked inside. I took it several miles away, opened the door of the trap, and the mouse scurried out and under some leaves. It was so easy!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
AnimalLover1
from Ridgefield, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, Clean, Sturdy and works great!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best trap i've ever had. Very sustainable unlike the plastic one thats on the market which was more expensive, hard to use and broke after a few uses. This is easy to use, easy to clean, its metal construction will last forever and we have caught and relocated many furry friends in it! I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality, sustainable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Notasquirrelfan

The Squirrels Loved It!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I set this trap numerous times and in a variety of places. The squirrels repeatedly ate the peanut butter but none of them tripped the trap. Very frustrating!
Cons: didn't work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Ronnie
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does the job well

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
east to bait and set up.Have used the larger traps with great results so I wanred to try the small trap.Works great
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Martincomet

Works perfectly

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this trap is easy to use, very simple and very light metal.
and most importantly humane. good product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
ChipmunkShack
from Indiana, USA

Doesn't work ...

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The basic design is great, but the hair trigger makes it difficult to set -- and stay set. A slight bump setting it on the ground springs it. The chipmunks bumped it going in, springing the trap and bringing the door down on their backs -- but until the door is fully down, it doesn't "lock", and the critters can back out. The hair trigger results from the trigger wire sliding too easily off the trigger set piece (which is flattish). A slightly more concave trigger set piece that would "hold" the trigger wire better would probably cure the problem. Side comment: the thing is small -- as it needs to be for little critters -- but baiting the trap (the bait platform is in the center) is difficult for even a medium-sized hand.
Cons: hair trigger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Small 2-Door Animal Trap
Bopper
from Suwanee, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent trap and it's working. Takes a bit to learn how to set it and it's touchy, but mice are tiny and the trap needs to be sensitive.
I just wish HomeDepot carried these traps in store, but they don't! I had to order online then pick up at the store.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>