728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

Havahart two-door cage live mouse trap is ideal for the trapping of mice, chipmunks, shrews, and voles. The Havahart two-door cage live mouse trap has been designed with the safety of the small animals in mind. This humane mouse trap, with its two gravity action doors, has many features to allow safe, quick and easy catches. This Havahart two-door cage trap is constructed of sturdy rust-resistant wire mesh with steel reinforcements for long life and galvanized for maximum resistance to rust and corrosion. It contains mesh openings, smaller than competing traps of comparable size, which help prevent escapes and stolen bait. Two gravity-action doors allow an animal to enter from either direction. Sensitive trigger ensures quick, secure capture that targets the specific animal's size, eliminating undesired catches. Solid door and handle guard protect the user during transportation, while smoothed internal edges protect and prevent injuries to animals.
Overall rating:
3.803 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product50 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product50 of 66reviews
Customer reviews for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
Review 1 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Preferred by cats and mice alike! A++++

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't often eat mice. But, when I do, I prefer ones that aren't laced with a lethal toxin. That's why my butler and maid bought me this Havahart trap.
Pluses:
Durable. The butler tried other cheaper live traps from this very web site and they were destroyed by the mice.
Effective: Once inside, the mice found a way out of the cheaper traps. This one works almost every time!
Entertaining: Who doesn't like a good floor show?
Saves time and effort: This gets a task off my list, less time keeping up appearances means more time to sleep and hang out with my friends!
Rumor: I hear that the mice don't like the digs, but they get a nice meal and a new home in the woods.
Minuses:
Lonely: It's a big trap but only holds one mouse.
PG-rated: The butler doesn't like to set this trap and is often heard using salty language when he has to do it.
Price: This is one of the most expensive traps in it's class but Home Depot has one of the best prices around.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Cleveland, Ohio

It Works!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a mouse and after several web suggested live traps failed, I found this trap. The mouse is now living in a field far away and I am enjoying my mouse free home. 3 Mouse Tips; (1) Until you get this trap, leave crushed peanuts out so that he doesn’t search your kitchen for a meal. (2) He will probably take the bait after dark. (3) Don’t forget to lock the trap after you hear it triggered. I caught him and went to bed. Result, evening = mouse, morning = no mouse. He pushed the entry open and escaped. If nothing more, my failure proves that this trap is highly effective. The mouse was caught both times within an hour of setting it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from north bangor, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

purfect for the job.

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
some starnosed moles had taken up residence in my heat ducts and were coming out to steal our cat's food(not a good mouser?. i didn't want to kill them, so i caught them in the trap and relocated the. it worked like a charm.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked just great!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a chipmunk problem but the trap did a fine job of catching them. I was able to take them to a field nearby to set them free.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Denver. Co
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Purchase!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was really a great trap! Caught 1 mouse a day and was happy it had an easy release for the mice I tried another trap before this that was frustrating and caught zero mice Thanks havahart
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

This trap worked for me

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had old fashioned snap traps down for weeks with no result. I bought this live trap because I honestly didn't want to find a mouse dead (or worse; only injured!) in the snap trap. I put this live trap down and caught 4 mice in 2 days and i only had the trap out overnight both days. It felt nice to not kill them--they are kind of cute after all.
The only drawback is that you have to take the trap with you to release the mouse and then it isn't set all day. But I still think it's worth it. I used dog food as bait because that's what they were eating anyway.
Pros: actually works, not messy, good for karma?
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

Workable, but challenging to set

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the trap does catch mice, I found this particular model to be challenging to set up. The other Havahart traps I used had just one door and an easy to set up spring and lever that the animal steps on to close the door. Model 1020 has two doors and a bait pan that swings freely, making it impossible to keep the bait in the pan unless it is stuck on with peanut butter. The bait pan has to be level and the two door levers have to be hooked just right to the bait lever or else the trap won't work. Model 1020 also lacks the top handle that makes transport easier. I recommend spending a little extra money on the traditional #0745 one-door Havahart extra small trap if you are looking for an easier setup.
Pros: low price humane option
Cons: challenging to set this trap
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product REALLY works!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found I had a mouse. I did not not want to use a "kill"
trap and went looking for a way to trap the mouse so I could relocate it. The Havahart mouse trap looked like it was worth a try. When it arrived I was somewhat doubtful that it would work as It looked light weight and I had some concern that a very small mouse might be able to get out. You have to work with it a bit to set it but once you've done that this trap is a real winner. I caught my mouse. Then I caught 8 more mice! All have been transported to good new outdoor homes. I will continue to set it for the next week or so but I do hope there aren't many more to catch. I'd suggest using chopped nuts or sunflower seeds for bait. I used peanut butter the first time; the mouse didn't eat it and it was a mess to clean up. I tried setting it with only one door open but found it works much better with both doors open. I've attached two pictures, one of the set trap and one showing a trapped mouse. I hope you can see the mouse.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

-SMALL 2-DOOR LIVE ANIMAL CAGE TRAP

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was a little difficult to set but it works! Caught a mouse every time!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Columbus, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great, Unfortunately Online Only

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The reviews indicate this is an excellent product but it's unfortunately an online only item. When people have a mouse they don't want to wait a few days for a package to arrive.
Cons: online only item
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The 'humane' trap worked vewry well...caught the 2 mice who set up residence in my shed. Product functioned as expected.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We were looking to find a more humane way to capture and release a family of mice in our shed. I don't like to see dead or suffering animals of any kind. I was pleased with the product but would have liked a better graphic to see how to set the trap. I haven't set a regular trap for some years so I needed some help. It was not intuitive to the store employee I had asked as well. Once I got the precision setting for the trap to spring it was all good.
Good trap (2-side entry) and a little peanut butter and all worked out well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: no detailed graphic on setting trap
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Sacramento, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic animal trap

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This two door mouse trap is FANTASTIC! My son catches two at a time with this contraption. He uses blue cheese for bait and the mice just LOVE it. Then, he takes the critters out in the country and turns them loose. There's plenty of room inside for either little mice or bigger ones. He puts the traps under his kitchen sink to trap them. I bought two units. They are WELL built, to last a lifetime. Been using them for over two months already.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works! Mouse Caught!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent, humane alternative to poison, glue/snap traps, etc.
Got this when I discovered an annoying field mouse in the house.
Below are some personal recommendations to using the product effectively.
* Patience
----for a first few days or even a week or two you may not get any results. don't let your attempts or the mouse frustrate you into radical measures (like calling an exterminator or resorting to deadly measures). Keep at it, discover the best method, plan, and look closely to see why the mouse is not getting caught. In our case we had issues with bad cage setup, bait.
* Ensure the trap is set properly.
-----Initially, the trap mechanism takes a little getting used to, but pay close heed to the manual and test the bait step to ensure sensitive and proper reaction. (The product could have helped by giving a larger high resolution pictures). [I will post a picture later]
* Discover the best bait
-----The typical peanut butter do not work for all mice. Ours in particular was attracted to rice flour, which we use as decoration in our floors (we noticed tiny amounts missing each morning). Notice similar signs and use this to plan your bait
* Use repellents to help keep the mice relocate to a different location (optional)
----- You may not need this, but as a precautionary measure we bought an ultrasonic repellent to ensure that the mouse does not hide out in our pantry.
* Make sure the only food souce is inside the bait
----Initially, we used peanut butter, sugar, etc., but the mouse always preferred the easy to access decorative rice flour to the sweeter bait. So to catch the mouse, we vaccumed up all the decorative flour and placed a small amount of flour in the cage bait step. Next day early morning, a tiny mouse was trapped inside :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: little complicated setup
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

Highly effective humane trap

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the same trap that Havahart has been making for at least 30 years, since I grew up with it. It's highly effective at catching mice--I recommend using small pieces of chocolate. Setting the trap requires some patience as the tripping mechanism is very sensitive, but it's worth it if you are not up to the gruesome sight of mice brains all over which traditional kill traps result in.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Havaheart X-Small animal trap.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well , this trap succeeded in trapping "Supermouse" where all others failed!
The trap is a bit tricky to set , but you`ll get the hang of it. I gave up on trying to set it with both doors open , so just used one. It trips very easily , but that`s a good thing in this case.
I baited with Peanut Butter and Birdseed.
The trap is quite small , so only good for mouse-sized critters.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Lancaster, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great but requires patience

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought the trap to catch a chipmunk and that did not take long. Once set the trap works great. It requires a lot of patience to set the trap. The bait tray requires perfect balance to set the trap. The slightest movement will trip the trap. I guess it is to be expected when you are trying to trap something that small. Yes wind and rain may be enough to trip the trap. I would recommend it if you have patience to set the trap.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

Don't even bother...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bigger versions of this might work for possums or whatever else, but mice are simply not heavy enough to set these traps off. Countless times, I have checked the trap and noticed that the bait (peanut butter) had been eaten off of the plate without the trap setting. It might as well be a little food bowl rather than a trap at all, I'm just encouraging the mice to stay at this rate.
The one time that it did function properly, the mouse was quick enough to get out of the opening before the doors fully latched into their locked position. I came home to find a closed cage, with no mouse inside.
Do not even waste your money on this, the classic Victor snap traps are the most humane way to get rid of mice, while also actually being effective. And they're only 50 cents each.
Cons: doesn't even work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap

Works as intended

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had it set outside and have caught two mice and a sparrow. Works very well but is really sensitive in setting the trigger device. A little difficult to bait too. Still waiting for my ground squirrel to visit it.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: made of thin metal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Emmaus, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performed as Advertised

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The trap is a bit tedious to set properly as sometimes even a strong wind can trip the mechanism, but after a few attempts was able to bag the little guy (chipmunk) and carry him to a new destination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Small 2-Door Live Animal Cage Trap
from Cincinnati

Simple to use

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product was reasonably priced and very easy to set up. The only thing missing is a handle to pick it up once something has been caught.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>