728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

The Citristrip 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel stays wet and active for up to 24 hours for removing multiple layers of latex and oil-based paint, varnish, lacquer, enamel and more in 1 step. The gel is non-caustic and safe for indoor use.
Overall rating:
4.02 / 5
4
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product39 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product39 of 47reviews
Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Review 1 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Marialab
from New Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A product that actually DOES work

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used product to remove God knows how many layers of paint from a 50 yr old staircase, Gel based product stays put on vertical surfaces. Product took about 5 hrs to bubble up meaning ready time. Easily scraped off multi layers of old paint with spackle knife. Used old kitchen pan scrub brush with diluted dish soap to scrub off remaining white paint residue, which allowed bare new looking wood to appear
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, works as advertised
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Kelly8636
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time with anything else.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After trying 2 other paint stripping products that were complete failures even after 48 hours wrapped in damp towels, I was about to give up. Thank goodness I listened to the store associate who convinced me to give this product a shot. I am in awe. Multiple layers of 30 plus year old paint on wrought iron patio furniture simply bubbles up and wipes away with CitrusStrip. A bonus...It smells fantastic! No more dizzy headaches!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, smells great, great vale
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
cinmn1
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but pricey

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love how effective this product is, but part of the reason I refinish furniture is to save money. Citristrip seems to be more effective when you use a generous amount & the containers come in small, kind of costly quantities. I have used it on a vanity (one of those from the 1920s or so) that was very, very dark. The almost black varnish/stain was pulled out of the wood within minutes, revealing a beautiful wood grain.
I've also used this on a bookcase that has at least 3 layers of paint and one very black stain. With one application I removed the first few layers of paint. It will require 1 more to remove the stain, I think. The cost has kept me from purchasing any more. Yet, having asthma (plus kids) the non-toxic qualities are a big plus.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, smells good
Cons: expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
JimFleming
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, good quality

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like this product. Like that it is non caustic and safe. Recommend that sales person ask buyer to pick up metal can with purchase. I went back a bought the small metal paint cans you sell. Also, someone in paint area recommend how to clean up brushes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
MByley
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've found this to be the best of the strippers. It may take a couple of applications to remove a good portion of the paint, but it's easier to apply and use than some of the stronger stuff. Smells nice too.
Pros: smells nice
Cons: doesn't work immediately get all paint off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
BillF
from Brewster, NY 10509, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Citristrip works great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used Citristrip to strip the old finish off the stairs and landing
in my foyer. The product worked as promised and did not
have the dangerous vapors of other strippers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
JZee
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm in love with Citrustrip. This is the most amazing product!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started off with making a huge mistake on grouting by not being careful enough with epoxy grout. Anyone with experience with epoxy grout will know that once you make a mess it is insanely hard to remove. I tried laquer/paint thinner, acetone...you name it and I tried it. Nothing worked and the fumes were horrible. Then I stumbled upon this at Home Depot and as a last resort I purchased it. I brushed the entire floor with the Citrustrip and left it for 24hrs. Went back to the tiles and the epoxy had flaked up and it was just a matter of scraping the excess off. Also used it to remove layers of paint on window trims. Not only is this product amazing, it also exceeds what is advertised and also smells really nice. I have never taken the time to write a review on anything online before and am taking the time to write about this product because it really is that good.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Retcon
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid paint remover

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff completely liquefied the paint on some hard plastic literally within minutes. Awesome purchase and Citristrip has earned a lifetime customer!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
dare
from Social Circle, GA 30025, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent removal

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
some areas (thicker layers) may need a repeat, but most came off with one application
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
SpinnerCO
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

I love this stuff!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Whenever I need to strip paint or varnish off a piece of furniture I am refinishing I ALWAYS use Citristrip. You can layer it on, strip off and even move some of the strip/paint glop onto another section of your wood and it will still work. The fumes are not as noxious as some other stripping products. It will even work if it's diluted slightly. To get the last of the product, I will add some water and shake the container around, pouring the diluted mix onto a piece of wood. Still works! And it is thick enough it doesn't cause a river of mess down the piece you are working on.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
DIYer
from Manorville, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this on my stairs to remove a glaze over water based stain that was a few days old. After removing the 1st 2 steps by sanding (80,120,220) which worked well but left saw dust all over my house, I thought I'd try this to avoid the overwhelming residue of sanding. I started the first step after 45 minutes. The glaze came up with much effort, using a plastic scraper, then steel wool, and then vinegar to clean up the residue, but the stain remained. I was hoping as I progressed and the other steps had more time for it to work, it would get easier. No such luck. It began to dry within 2 hours which made it more difficult! It is supposed to stay wet for 24 hours! This was a complete waste and a mess. The 2 steps that I did by sanding look clean and ready to stain. The rest look discolored and ugly. I hope I can sand them back into shape in order to stain them. Or else I'll have to resort to carpet.
Pros: smells ok
Cons: Difficult to Use, ineffective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
WeekendWarrior

I wish they made soap

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Stuff is amazing. First the smell is great. Citrus but not overpowering. Much better than the chemical smells from the others. Second - effective. Slather some on your item and let it work for a couple of hours (longer if the paint is old and/or many layers). I've used it on only wood items thus far (steps, railing, bookcases) and it's worked every time. I tried using an orbital sander with 60 grit on a step and it took forever. I did the next step with this first, let it sit, then stripper with a stripper blade, came right up and made the orbital work a breeze. Came out looking better than the first step. Easy clean up too. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
bobsrestoration
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is useless

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not understand the reviews higher than "1". I only chose 1 because I couldn't leave a negative. This product simply does not work. It did not remove any paint and turns into a gummy mess which is difficult to remove. It is billed (per the label) as workable/wet for 24 hours; after 30 minutes I basically had glue. In 30 years of house restoration this is one of the worst products used. If you want something safe / environmentally friendly this is for you. If you want to remove paint this is not for you. A complete waste of time and money.
Pros: none
Cons: does not work
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Tater8Salad
from Lansing, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORK'S! Pleasant smell.

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased Walnut bed for $20.00 (they didn't know what they had), it had latex paint and body oil from hands on the knoll posts. I applied this product liberally and let it set overnight, then washed it off. All the paint was removed and 99% of the original finish. I put some more on the tough area's and used steel wool which removed the rest. After sanding prepping and re-sealing we now have a solid Walnut bed worth in excess of $500, and the entire project only took three days to complete, of course most of this was drying time.
In short, I have used more expensive, caustic products with worse results and would highly recommend this one. The store associate recommended it and I now use it regularly.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
JohnW
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not work for me even after reading reviews for the product. Bought another product and the product worked beyond expectations.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Gump
from 02333
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality easy to use product - works as advertised!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed a low odor stripper to remove damaged poly finish from a stained+poly 6 panel door. Worked very well, stayed in a "paste" form, and pretty quickly made the old finish removable with a plastic scraper. A bit of cleanup and was ready to refinish.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, paste consistency
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
BSenn
from Wadsworth ohio

Not the best, but it works

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading several dozen reviews on paint stripper and the like i decided to go with Citristrip because of the fresh clean smell the product says it offered.
I bought this product to remove paint from a bike frame that i am using to build a fresh new bike.
Pro's
- first things first. the product does work.
- once the paint wrinkles up on whatever the goop is on, it will just wipe off, a plastic scrapper is advised though
- you really dont have to wear gloves and if you get it on your hands or clothing, with soap and water it washes off.
- it says wait atleast 30 minutes. by the time i had it on the entire bike frame, the paint on the first applied section was already wrinkling, maybe 5 minutes.
Con's
- make sure you either arent living in the house youre working at or you take the project outside. its an orange smell alright. not a good one, though
- if you leave the product on "up to 24" on the item youre working with, you'll probably need a beltsander to remove the caked on goo
- it has an extremely hard time washing off of cement
- if the coat you applied isnt even, when you scape off the goo when the time comes, most will come off and the rest will smear. and then its time for a second coat.
All in all, the product did what it was supposed to. id buy it again for the fact that i didnt have to wear an airpack when i was using it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
wtc101
from Cleveland Hts, OH

Sweet Stripper

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a professional painter but have learned the hard way how hard it was to use other paint strippers on in-house projects.
I purchased my first jug of CitriStrip around January '09 and have nothing but high praise for your product...on my way to The Home Depot to buy my third jug today. It is so safe, easy and FAST. At first, I was reluctant…thinking that the citrus product could never hold its own with the name brand chemical companies.
Keep up the good work and I hope this bit is useful to others before they too resort to other strippers.
wtc101
Cleveland Hts, OH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
mas671
from Guam
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It performed well as per instructions on container. I was skeptical about using this product. But, after following all instructions on the container, I was very impressed. I would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Chris
from Texas, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For something that smells like orange sweet rolls I would have never thought it would have worked so well. Just applied with a cheap brush, let it sit for a couple of hours and then the paint just fell off with a spackle knife. Had some air duct registers that are abnormally sized and couldn't find a replacement, this stuff made them like new!
Pros: Easy to Use, scent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>