728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

The Citristrip 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel stays wet and active for up to 24 hours for removing multiple layers of latex and oil-based paint, varnish, lacquer, enamel and more in 1 step. The gel is non-caustic and safe for indoor use.
Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product46 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product46 of 55reviews
Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Review 1 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from New Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A product that actually DOES work

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used product to remove God knows how many layers of paint from a 50 yr old staircase, Gel based product stays put on vertical surfaces. Product took about 5 hrs to bubble up meaning ready time. Easily scraped off multi layers of old paint with spackle knife. Used old kitchen pan scrub brush with diluted dish soap to scrub off remaining white paint residue, which allowed bare new looking wood to appear
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, works as advertised
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time with anything else.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After trying 2 other paint stripping products that were complete failures even after 48 hours wrapped in damp towels, I was about to give up. Thank goodness I listened to the store associate who convinced me to give this product a shot. I am in awe. Multiple layers of 30 plus year old paint on wrought iron patio furniture simply bubbles up and wipes away with CitrusStrip. A bonus...It smells fantastic! No more dizzy headaches!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, smells great, great vale
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but pricey

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love how effective this product is, but part of the reason I refinish furniture is to save money. Citristrip seems to be more effective when you use a generous amount & the containers come in small, kind of costly quantities. I have used it on a vanity (one of those from the 1920s or so) that was very, very dark. The almost black varnish/stain was pulled out of the wood within minutes, revealing a beautiful wood grain.
I've also used this on a bookcase that has at least 3 layers of paint and one very black stain. With one application I removed the first few layers of paint. It will require 1 more to remove the stain, I think. The cost has kept me from purchasing any more. Yet, having asthma (plus kids) the non-toxic qualities are a big plus.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, smells good
Cons: expensive
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Cuyahoga Falls, Oh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently decided to refinish a shotgun that I have had for many years. As a younger man, I was swept up in the "camo/tactical" fad and had spray painted the firearm several times including a spray on truck bed liner. For weeks, I have been taking the layers off until I decided to try this stuff. In 30 minutes, I took about 4 layers and several camo patterns off! I am amazed, it was well worth the money and as my man cave is small it did not create any adverse fumes! I dont have any way to say how awesome this stuff is! Definately will be keeping some on hand for a rainy day!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Broomall
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MOST UNBELEIVABLE STRIPPER I HAVE EVER USED!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The is the most amazing furniture stripper I have ever used. So easy and no smell at all. The paint
came off like it was nothing! Makes me want to go around stripping furniture as a hobby!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Shrewsbury, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great paint remover

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this product to remove paint from previously carpeted steps before we stained them. It removed the paint without damaging the wood.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from McLouth, KS 66054, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Striper!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the first time that I had used striper and was absolutely amazed at how quickly and easily this stripper worked. There was not any odor with this product which was awesome. And, I was able to remove two paint coats and three coats of varnish with only one application. My table top was beautiful!! My plan was to sand and varnish, but my husband was too aggressive with his sanding and went right through the veneer in one spot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, odor free, worked quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from St. Paul MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new favorite

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My current project is four layers of paint on woodwork. This stripper is effective and easy to work with. I'll never go back to the old harsh stuff.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, no nasty odor - smells like orange
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

Great for indoor use

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really liked this product, it removed the paint and didn't have a strong odor.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

Worked, but not as well as expected

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Even after allowing product to sit the required time, it did not remove all the varnish and paint from table. Was very messy on the clean up and I still had to sand afterwards. OK for small, flat stripping jobs but would not recommend for heavily painted, varnished products. Should use something more powerful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm in love with Citrustrip. This is the most amazing product!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started off with making a huge mistake on grouting by not being careful enough with epoxy grout. Anyone with experience with epoxy grout will know that once you make a mess it is insanely hard to remove. I tried laquer/paint thinner, acetone...you name it and I tried it. Nothing worked and the fumes were horrible. Then I stumbled upon this at Home Depot and as a last resort I purchased it. I brushed the entire floor with the Citrustrip and left it for 24hrs. Went back to the tiles and the epoxy had flaked up and it was just a matter of scraping the excess off. Also used it to remove layers of paint on window trims. Not only is this product amazing, it also exceeds what is advertised and also smells really nice. I have never taken the time to write a review on anything online before and am taking the time to write about this product because it really is that good.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

I love this stuff!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Whenever I need to strip paint or varnish off a piece of furniture I am refinishing I ALWAYS use Citristrip. You can layer it on, strip off and even move some of the strip/paint glop onto another section of your wood and it will still work. The fumes are not as noxious as some other stripping products. It will even work if it's diluted slightly. To get the last of the product, I will add some water and shake the container around, pouring the diluted mix onto a piece of wood. Still works! And it is thick enough it doesn't cause a river of mess down the piece you are working on.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've found this to be the best of the strippers. It may take a couple of applications to remove a good portion of the paint, but it's easier to apply and use than some of the stronger stuff. Smells nice too.
Pros: smells nice
Cons: doesn't work immediately get all paint off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't really strong enough to remove the paint.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I liked the fact that the product didn't produce offensive smells but it didn't really get the paint off the first or the second time. I had to use 3 applications
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Apply
Cons: not strong enough to remove paint
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Brewster, NY 10509, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Citristrip works great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used Citristrip to strip the old finish off the stairs and landing
in my foyer. The product worked as promised and did not
have the dangerous vapors of other strippers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid paint remover

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff completely liquefied the paint on some hard plastic literally within minutes. Awesome purchase and Citristrip has earned a lifetime customer!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, good quality

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like this product. Like that it is non caustic and safe. Recommend that sales person ask buyer to pick up metal can with purchase. I went back a bought the small metal paint cans you sell. Also, someone in paint area recommend how to clean up brushes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

I wish they made soap

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Stuff is amazing. First the smell is great. Citrus but not overpowering. Much better than the chemical smells from the others. Second - effective. Slather some on your item and let it work for a couple of hours (longer if the paint is old and/or many layers). I've used it on only wood items thus far (steps, railing, bookcases) and it's worked every time. I tried using an orbital sander with 60 grit on a step and it took forever. I did the next step with this first, let it sit, then stripper with a stripper blade, came right up and made the orbital work a breeze. Came out looking better than the first step. Easy clean up too. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Social Circle, GA 30025, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent removal

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
some areas (thicker layers) may need a repeat, but most came off with one application
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Cleveland Hts, OH

Sweet Stripper

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a professional painter but have learned the hard way how hard it was to use other paint strippers on in-house projects.
I purchased my first jug of CitriStrip around January '09 and have nothing but high praise for your product...on my way to The Home Depot to buy my third jug today. It is so safe, easy and FAST. At first, I was reluctant…thinking that the citrus product could never hold its own with the name brand chemical companies.
Keep up the good work and I hope this bit is useful to others before they too resort to other strippers.
wtc101
Cleveland Hts, OH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>