728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

The Citristrip 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel stays wet and active for up to 24 hours for removing multiple layers of latex and oil-based paint, varnish, lacquer, enamel and more in 1 step. The gel is non-caustic and safe for indoor use.
Overall rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product55 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product55 of 68reviews
Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Review 1 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from New Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A product that actually DOES work

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used product to remove God knows how many layers of paint from a 50 yr old staircase, Gel based product stays put on vertical surfaces. Product took about 5 hrs to bubble up meaning ready time. Easily scraped off multi layers of old paint with spackle knife. Used old kitchen pan scrub brush with diluted dish soap to scrub off remaining white paint residue, which allowed bare new looking wood to appear
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, works as advertised
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time with anything else.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After trying 2 other paint stripping products that were complete failures even after 48 hours wrapped in damp towels, I was about to give up. Thank goodness I listened to the store associate who convinced me to give this product a shot. I am in awe. Multiple layers of 30 plus year old paint on wrought iron patio furniture simply bubbles up and wipes away with CitrusStrip. A bonus...It smells fantastic! No more dizzy headaches!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, smells great, great vale
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from New Orleans
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like Magic!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this paint stripper because it was supposed to be lower in fumes, and I was not disappointed. I would definitely keep in mind the temperature recommendations when stripping- it suggested to wait 30 minutes between applying product and stripping paint- however in the summer heat 30 minutes was too long and it had already dried, 5-10 minutes was a perfect wait time for me
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CitrusStrip did not live up to the reviews.

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had read about Citrus Strip and how good it was so when I ran out of my furniture stripper I thought I would give it a try. It's more expensive than the brand I use which I get at Home Depot also but if it works better and saves me time then it's worth it. Well I read the instructions and applied as directed. I have been restoring furniture for over 5 years now, not my profession but i have enough knowledge in this field. I brush it on a mid century end table I was working on and it has a lot of different angles and corners so I was hoping it would strip the varnish on the piece so I would have less sanding.
It said on the bottle that once on you can wait from 1 hr. up to 24 hrs and would keep a wet look. Then all you do is scrap off the top coat. This piece only had a topcoat, no paint or stain so I thought it should be relatively easy. Well I went to work on something else while this was suppose to work to remove the varnish. I came back in a hour and what I saw was dried up crud on the piece where I had brushed it on.;
I tried to scrap it off with a plastic scraper and it didnt budge. Then I brushed on more citrusstrip over the
dried up gel and after 30 mins. it was not stripping the varnish much. I had to finally clean it all off with mineral spirits and sand it down to the bare wood. I could of done this without the stripper and not have to clean the mess it made.
I took a couple of pics of the dried up solvent and how it left the legs after I scraped it off. I spent close to another 2 hrs cleaning up the mess on the furniture. I dont mind the higher price but its more expensive, added time to work, AND doesn't work. I am going to return this to the Store and go back to my regular stripper. Yes it smells nice but I need it to work. Very dissatisfied with the product and besides time I used up a half a bottle of Mineral Spirits which isn't cheap. I am glad it worked for some of you but for me this product did not live up to the hype.
Cons: did not work in stripping varnish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but pricey

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love how effective this product is, but part of the reason I refinish furniture is to save money. Citristrip seems to be more effective when you use a generous amount & the containers come in small, kind of costly quantities. I have used it on a vanity (one of those from the 1920s or so) that was very, very dark. The almost black varnish/stain was pulled out of the wood within minutes, revealing a beautiful wood grain.
I've also used this on a bookcase that has at least 3 layers of paint and one very black stain. With one application I removed the first few layers of paint. It will require 1 more to remove the stain, I think. The cost has kept me from purchasing any more. Yet, having asthma (plus kids) the non-toxic qualities are a big plus.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, smells good
Cons: expensive
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Cuyahoga Falls, Oh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently decided to refinish a shotgun that I have had for many years. As a younger man, I was swept up in the "camo/tactical" fad and had spray painted the firearm several times including a spray on truck bed liner. For weeks, I have been taking the layers off until I decided to try this stuff. In 30 minutes, I took about 4 layers and several camo patterns off! I am amazed, it was well worth the money and as my man cave is small it did not create any adverse fumes! I dont have any way to say how awesome this stuff is! Definately will be keeping some on hand for a rainy day!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Arnold, MD
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Worked!!!

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product did exactly what it claimed it could/would do. It completely removed the old finish, from a small wood table, and made the surface ready for a new stain. It was easy and quick.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast and easy.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply. Minimal waiting time. Will use again.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Orlando, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Purchase Ever

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was shocked on how well this product worked. I applied it on a small area to remove white paint that was applied on marble slab over 10 years ago. I waited the suggested time and could not believe how easily the paint came off. I then applied the stripping gel to the entire marble slab and was stunned on how quick and easy the paint was removed. I used paper towels and a sponge and it just came off. The marble slab looks brand new. I recommended the product to a friend who needed to remove purple paint from her bath tub. Came right off. I also used it to remove caulk from my tile floor. It worked. Finally, a product that does exactly what it claims it does, and more!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm in love with Citrustrip. This is the most amazing product!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started off with making a huge mistake on grouting by not being careful enough with epoxy grout. Anyone with experience with epoxy grout will know that once you make a mess it is insanely hard to remove. I tried laquer/paint thinner, acetone...you name it and I tried it. Nothing worked and the fumes were horrible. Then I stumbled upon this at Home Depot and as a last resort I purchased it. I brushed the entire floor with the Citrustrip and left it for 24hrs. Went back to the tiles and the epoxy had flaked up and it was just a matter of scraping the excess off. Also used it to remove layers of paint on window trims. Not only is this product amazing, it also exceeds what is advertised and also smells really nice. I have never taken the time to write a review on anything online before and am taking the time to write about this product because it really is that good.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

Great for removing varnish

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to remove varnish off of my cabinets for re-staining and this product worked wonderfully. My only complaint is how it says it stays wet for 24 hours but it is actually about 12. I recommend leaving it on for 6-12 hours, not in the sun or high wind, and then scrape it with a 5in1 before lightly sanding to get all the goo out of the grain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, did it's job well
Cons: dried more quickly than the bottle says
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

I love this stuff!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Whenever I need to strip paint or varnish off a piece of furniture I am refinishing I ALWAYS use Citristrip. You can layer it on, strip off and even move some of the strip/paint glop onto another section of your wood and it will still work. The fumes are not as noxious as some other stripping products. It will even work if it's diluted slightly. To get the last of the product, I will add some water and shake the container around, pouring the diluted mix onto a piece of wood. Still works! And it is thick enough it doesn't cause a river of mess down the piece you are working on.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked great on latex paint

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Safe, no fumes and really took the paint off without harming the substrate. Would try this before using harsher solvent-based strippers. I always keep a 1/2 gallon on hand now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Shrewsbury, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great paint remover

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this product to remove paint from previously carpeted steps before we stained them. It removed the paint without damaging the wood.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from McLouth, KS 66054, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Striper!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the first time that I had used striper and was absolutely amazed at how quickly and easily this stripper worked. There was not any odor with this product which was awesome. And, I was able to remove two paint coats and three coats of varnish with only one application. My table top was beautiful!! My plan was to sand and varnish, but my husband was too aggressive with his sanding and went right through the veneer in one spot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, odor free, worked quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from St. Paul MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My new favorite

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My current project is four layers of paint on woodwork. This stripper is effective and easy to work with. I'll never go back to the old harsh stuff.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, no nasty odor - smells like orange
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the trick but requires patience

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this because is it biodegradable, but that also means it's a little less potent. It did the trick, but required many layers and I had to leave it on for up to 24 hours in some areas (on an old wooden door with 10+ layers of paint). The one thing to be aware of is that this product should not be left on for too long on delicate wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel

I wish they made soap

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Stuff is amazing. First the smell is great. Citrus but not overpowering. Much better than the chemical smells from the others. Second - effective. Slather some on your item and let it work for a couple of hours (longer if the paint is old and/or many layers). I've used it on only wood items thus far (steps, railing, bookcases) and it's worked every time. I tried using an orbital sander with 60 grit on a step and it took forever. I did the next step with this first, let it sit, then stripper with a stripper blade, came right up and made the orbital work a breeze. Came out looking better than the first step. Easy clean up too. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No smell but does not work very well.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not have any offensive odor but on the other hand it do not perform as I thought it would. Followed the directions to the letter also gave it another try but it just did not remove any coloration from my stairs. Might be OK from very light projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Qt. Safer Paint and Varnish Stripping Gel
from Cleveland Hts, OH

Sweet Stripper

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a professional painter but have learned the hard way how hard it was to use other paint strippers on in-house projects.
I purchased my first jug of CitriStrip around January '09 and have nothing but high praise for your product...on my way to The Home Depot to buy my third jug today. It is so safe, easy and FAST. At first, I was reluctant…thinking that the citrus product could never hold its own with the name brand chemical companies.
Keep up the good work and I hope this bit is useful to others before they too resort to other strippers.
wtc101
Cleveland Hts, OH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>