728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

The 50 Gallon Tall Marathon lifetime electric water heater provides hot water with peace of mind. Plastic tank eliminates the need for anode rod and prevents smelly water. Rigid foam insulation covers entire tank for maximum efficiency. Bowl-shaped tank bottom drains completely for easy service and sediment removal Lower titanium heating element for superior resistance to lime buildup. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve offers added protection. Lifetime limited warranty on tank and 6 year limited warranty on parts. Meets or exceeds National Appliance Energy Conservation Act (NAECA) requirements.
Overall rating:
4.66 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product46 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product46 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Gary
from Alexandria, OH 43001, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Investment

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased a home earlier this year that offered our first experience with well water. The cold water was fine but, about two weeks after moving in, the hot water began to smell. Plumber said it was due to sulfur reacting with the anode in the one year old water heater. We tried changing the anode rod with a new one from the manufacturer. All that did was extend the amount of time between having to drain and flush the tank from two weeks to three.
Options we were given were to simply cut the anode rod off. That would have caused the tank to go bad in a short period of time and, void what was left of the five year warranty. The other was to buy and add a drip chlorine system to the well pump which we did not want to do.
I did a lot of research, on the causes and cures for smelly well water, and finally came across the Rheem Marathon on the Home Depot site. With no anode or metal lining it was supposed to end smelly water caused by well water reacting with the water heater. It has delivered on that promise.
It’s was light weight so when it was delivered I was easily able to move it inside from where the delivery service left it. The plumbers had it installed in less than 40 minutes. There doesn’t appear to be any heat loss through the tank skin like you feel with a traditional water heater. Oh, and did I mention, no more smelly water! Even without a water issue, after having it for a few months, I’d still buy it.
We’ve put a lot of money into this home already but the Rheem Marathon, without a doubt, is one of the best investments we have made.
Pros: Easy to Install, no more smelly water
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Goatman
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is all we expected it to be

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To start with, the delivery went great. The installation was fairly easy as well. The unit is larger than our old one, but we knew that and had the room for it. If you are considering this heater,make sure you have the room as it is larger than some others. Once hooked up, it produced hot water much faster than expected based on the literature provided. We seem to have hotter water delivered faster to all parts of our house now. Don't know if the old unit was just that inefficient, but the new one is getting the credit for the performance. The unit is costly, but we were willing to accept that for the peace of mind of the lifetime warranty on the tank. As a homeowner insurance adjuster, I see ruptured water heaters every week and the damage can be devastating. This unit is also recommended by our local electrical cooperative for its efficiency...and it looks really cool for a water heater!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Casey
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality, Easy Install for experienced DIYer

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Higher price than a standard unit, however the poly tank and no anode provides us with a more reliable unit. The metal unit we replaced this with was probably within a few months of failure due to rusting bottom. The higher price should be offset by not having to replace this unit as soon as a regular metal system.
One note - the measurements on the Home Depot specs do not include the preinstalled connections on the top of the unit, the shipping box however does show this measurement which is a few inches higher than on the site, (about 3"). Had measured the place to install prior to ordering and when it arrived had to rethink how to install. We used PEX and copper fittings/connections. Had my brother who has plumbing experience do the soldering.
You can see from the photo how we looped the connections since the tank was taller than expected.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, no anode, poly tank, should out live a metal tank
Cons: higher upfront cost
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
vagabond
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

vast improvment over standard water heater

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Marathon is dollar for dollar worth the extra expense. Non-metal tank and no anode translates less sediment over the years (therefore cleaner water). Lightweight but well insulated, adding both tank wrap and pipe wrap will simply save more. The curved features should add some churning action to the tank, lowering the need to flush the tank as often. Better water, lower operating costs, less maintenance. The higher price is a long term investment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Backlash
from Hammond Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product with lifetime on tank

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very large. Installed in attic which was difficult. Not only tall but too wide to fit through attic door. I was able to install by removing a couple of blocks on the attic door. That was my bad because the measurements were accurate from rheem.
Only problem is I had to change upper thermostat within 10 months. Warrantee doesn't cover return shipment which cost almost as much as new thermostat. A little disappointed about that although I had to change thermostat in my old heater yearly anyway. I do plan on changing my other water heater with a smaller 40 gallon rheem water heater. Very happy with energy savings!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Energy Efficient
Cons: thermostat didn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
violet
from pa

elements are not the standard replacement ones

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have a survivor, which is the kenmore branded one of these (all made by water innovations-the marathon is the rheem branded one)
they are wonderful products BUT be aware that the elements are not available easily. they are NOT the standard camco replacement elements. Home Depot does not carry the elements for this.
Rheem does and Water Innovations makes them.
this will give you hot water, it's energy efficient with an R value of almost 17, and it doesn't leak
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: specialized sized element difficult to find
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
KyleA
from Mulberry, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product! I'm on well water

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation could have only been easier if it included the male adaptors. So far I'm very happy with the clean clear water I'm getting from my new heater. Also the lifetime warranty gives me a great price of mind! The only other gripe I have is they don't sell this heater in the store, I had to have it shipped to my house. Great product, I highly recommend!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
James
from Dade City, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great replacement for homes with well water.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product replaced a new hot water heater with magnesium anodes that made our well water smell. Extensive testing was done on our well and no bacteria etc was found to cause this smell other than the anode. Home Depot was great in helping us replace the anode hot water heater with this plastic water heater that has no anode. The heater works great and the water smells fresh again. We had a minor problem with a leak at the upper heating element, Rheem sent us a second element and it's installation fixed the leak.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Jayp
from Jayp
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First Four Months

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product has delivered per expectations. No more smelly dirty water. Have not had any of the negative experiences that many have reported on the web. Will update report if some of the electrical components start failing. So far performance is excellent compared to last water heater with sacrificial anode.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Lois
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Plastic exterior

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's nice because it won't rust. We were going through water heaters every couple years because they would rust right out in our damp basement. That is the main reason we got it. It's also good because it's so big and keeps our water hot through shower after shower. You can take a shower with the wash going and don't run out of hot water in the middle of your shower. It's wonderful.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
stanrobs
from Huber Heights, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would highly recommend this product.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only down side is, if you do not use a certified plumber the warranty is voided. With todays economy, most people can not afford a specialist to install a product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: if a plumber is not used the warranty is voided.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Oldgeefus
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do it right, do it once, never do it again...

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Expensive? Yes. Large? Yes. Easy to install. VERY high quality construction.
The best thing about this water heater is that we won't really know how good it is until ten or fifteen years from now. When it's still going strong after most water heaters have failed.
We installed this 50-gallon to replace an old steel 40-gallon and our electric bill has gone DOWN, while our hot water supply has gone up.
I never want to replace a water heater again-- and with this one, I won't.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Magbag
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Product Only Time Will Tell

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading all the reviews on this product and getting rid of the sulfur smell was the seller for me. After smelling sulfur water for the last 6 years and this month was the strongest ever smell I decided it was time replace the hot water heater. Installation was easy however I did have to do some re-pluming due to my water softener but very easy to overcome. This is week 3 and the sulfur smell has not returned as of yet and we are so happy. My cloths smell cleaner and taking a shower now is so nice and not having to smell that nasty sulfur smell. If the sulfur smell does come back I will be putting in the big blue filter system but I’m hoping that it was the anode rod that was in the old water heater making my water smell disgusting. The only con that I have it the relief valve (center connection) piping that seemed a bit flimsy and I had to install a hanger to support it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Dick
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product should be trouble free for many years to come

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The construction of the water heater and the lifetime warranty were attractive features that led me to chose this model. It was substantially cheaper for me than converting to gas or going with a tankless model.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Steve
from South Carolina
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Operating Costs

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would have expected the annual operating cost to be much less than a standard steel 50 gal HWH. The annual cost for the standard was $520 vs $497 for the Marathon. Just an observation. I would still buy the Marathon HWH.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Mark
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality, weight and eazy to install.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did not like that they drop the warranty if installed by a DIY home owner.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: drop warranty if installed by a diy person.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Sam09
from New Hampshire, USA

Good solution

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tank offered a great solution to our need for increased capacity and reduced hot water heating costs. Because it was part of an overall upgrade of our water system, it was installed by a professional. That said, it appeared to be a straightforward install.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
PCDallas
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing new hot water heater

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK this product blew away my plumber and I.
Its lightweight, well built and insulated, requires no catch pan and can never corrode because its all plastic.
Looks really cool installed too.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, heats fast, cool looking, lightweight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
AldusBrockovich

Disappointing

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had the new water heater for a month now. It has a very slow recovery. I don't know if that is a shortcoming inherent to it or if one of the elements has already failed. Either way I am disappointed.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Sharona
from Kennewick, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am happy with the product and so far works as publicised; a good pruduct.

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed nicely with the help of good instructions. Had hot water in no time and seems to refresh itself quickly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: not avail in store delivery painfully slow
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>