728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

The 50 Gallon Tall Marathon lifetime electric water heater provides hot water with peace of mind. Plastic tank eliminates the need for anode rod and prevents smelly water. Rigid foam insulation covers entire tank for maximum efficiency. Bowl-shaped tank bottom drains completely for easy service and sediment removal Lower titanium heating element for superior resistance to lime buildup. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve offers added protection. Lifetime limited warranty on tank and 6 year limited warranty on parts. Meets or exceeds National Appliance Energy Conservation Act (NAECA) requirements.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product80 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product80 of 85reviews
Customer reviews for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Wilmington Delaware

no product support

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this water heater with great expectations given the high failure rate of all my previous metal water heaters. So I was greatly dismayed when after less than 2 weeks this heater began leaking from the hot water discharge coupling. I literally tried for hours to reach Marathon customer support but to no avail. If it wasn't for Home Depot's refund policy I would be stuck with a lemon. So although the manufacturer talks big regarding longevity, buyer beware should you ever need warranty repair or replacement past the 90 day window provided by Home Depot.
Cons: Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is all we expected it to be

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To start with, the delivery went great. The installation was fairly easy as well. The unit is larger than our old one, but we knew that and had the room for it. If you are considering this heater,make sure you have the room as it is larger than some others. Once hooked up, it produced hot water much faster than expected based on the literature provided. We seem to have hotter water delivered faster to all parts of our house now. Don't know if the old unit was just that inefficient, but the new one is getting the credit for the performance. The unit is costly, but we were willing to accept that for the peace of mind of the lifetime warranty on the tank. As a homeowner insurance adjuster, I see ruptured water heaters every week and the damage can be devastating. This unit is also recommended by our local electrical cooperative for its efficiency...and it looks really cool for a water heater!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality, Easy Install for experienced DIYer

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Higher price than a standard unit, however the poly tank and no anode provides us with a more reliable unit. The metal unit we replaced this with was probably within a few months of failure due to rusting bottom. The higher price should be offset by not having to replace this unit as soon as a regular metal system.
One note - the measurements on the Home Depot specs do not include the preinstalled connections on the top of the unit, the shipping box however does show this measurement which is a few inches higher than on the site, (about 3"). Had measured the place to install prior to ordering and when it arrived had to rethink how to install. We used PEX and copper fittings/connections. Had my brother who has plumbing experience do the soldering.
You can see from the photo how we looped the connections since the tank was taller than expected.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, no anode, poly tank, should out live a metal tank
Cons: higher upfront cost
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Alexandria, OH 43001, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Investment

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased a home earlier this year that offered our first experience with well water. The cold water was fine but, about two weeks after moving in, the hot water began to smell. Plumber said it was due to sulfur reacting with the anode in the one year old water heater. We tried changing the anode rod with a new one from the manufacturer. All that did was extend the amount of time between having to drain and flush the tank from two weeks to three.
Options we were given were to simply cut the anode rod off. That would have caused the tank to go bad in a short period of time and, void what was left of the five year warranty. The other was to buy and add a drip chlorine system to the well pump which we did not want to do.
I did a lot of research, on the causes and cures for smelly well water, and finally came across the Rheem Marathon on the Home Depot site. With no anode or metal lining it was supposed to end smelly water caused by well water reacting with the water heater. It has delivered on that promise.
It’s was light weight so when it was delivered I was easily able to move it inside from where the delivery service left it. The plumbers had it installed in less than 40 minutes. There doesn’t appear to be any heat loss through the tank skin like you feel with a traditional water heater. Oh, and did I mention, no more smelly water! Even without a water issue, after having it for a few months, I’d still buy it.
We’ve put a lot of money into this home already but the Rheem Marathon, without a doubt, is one of the best investments we have made.
Pros: Easy to Install, no more smelly water
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Hammond Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product with lifetime on tank

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very large. Installed in attic which was difficult. Not only tall but too wide to fit through attic door. I was able to install by removing a couple of blocks on the attic door. That was my bad because the measurements were accurate from rheem.
Only problem is I had to change upper thermostat within 10 months. Warrantee doesn't cover return shipment which cost almost as much as new thermostat. A little disappointed about that although I had to change thermostat in my old heater yearly anyway. I do plan on changing my other water heater with a smaller 40 gallon rheem water heater. Very happy with energy savings!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Energy Efficient
Cons: thermostat didn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Gardnerville, Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Water Heater

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had a rotten egg odor in our water. Researching on line we found the odor was caused by the
anode rod in our gas water heater. We liked the design of the Rheem Marathon electric water heater.
It has a lifetime guaranteed plastic tank, with no need for a anode rod. After installing the new water heater we now have no odor. Installation was not a big job, and went smoothly. We also like the fact that the tank is well insulated, and very energy efficient. Don Titus
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

vast improvment over standard water heater

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Marathon is dollar for dollar worth the extra expense. Non-metal tank and no anode translates less sediment over the years (therefore cleaner water). Lightweight but well insulated, adding both tank wrap and pipe wrap will simply save more. The curved features should add some churning action to the tank, lowering the need to flush the tank as often. Better water, lower operating costs, less maintenance. The higher price is a long term investment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Rupert, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

water heater

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I chose this water heater in the hopes that I never have to replace my ceiling in my basement again or vacuum water out of carpets. With no metal outer parts, I have great hopes. We have had the water heater installed for a little less than a month and so far have had no issues. I hope that continues for years and years. I only gave it 4 stars because we have had it such a short time. It was easy to install although it was wider and taller than our previous one. A trip to the hardware store easily took care of any adjustments we had to make.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Fort Collins, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great design and function !

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a professionally designed industrial product for endurance and energy conservation.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

Economical

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed over 12 months back. No issues. Reduction in electrical usage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from pa

elements are not the standard replacement ones

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we have a survivor, which is the kenmore branded one of these (all made by water innovations-the marathon is the rheem branded one)
they are wonderful products BUT be aware that the elements are not available easily. they are NOT the standard camco replacement elements. Home Depot does not carry the elements for this.
Rheem does and Water Innovations makes them.
this will give you hot water, it's energy efficient with an R value of almost 17, and it doesn't leak
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: specialized sized element difficult to find
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Grand Rapids, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply The Best

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second Marathon Water Heater. My first was a 110 gal, this is a 50 gal. They are super insulated and are perfect for off peak electric. I had the large one set up to only get electricity from 11:00PM to 7:00AM. I never ran out of hot water. It would store hot water for several days when the power would go out. I'll be calling my new utility today to see if they offer the same thing.
If you have well water that has a less than pleasant smell (ours was horrible), these are all plastic (except for the heating elements) so now, there is no smell from the water reacting with a sacrificial electrode or metal lining and it will never leak ! If you have very troublesome water, you can even get titanium elements.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from South Carolina
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Operating Costs

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would have expected the annual operating cost to be much less than a standard steel 50 gal HWH. The annual cost for the standard was $520 vs $497 for the Marathon. Just an observation. I would still buy the Marathon HWH.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

"lifetime warranty "

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The marathon was a very easy install and easy to handle, being so light in weight. So far it works great. Only had it for a month.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing new hot water heater

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK this product blew away my plumber and I.
Its lightweight, well built and insulated, requires no catch pan and can never corrode because its all plastic.
Looks really cool installed too.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, heats fast, cool looking, lightweight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Huber Heights, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would highly recommend this product.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only down side is, if you do not use a certified plumber the warranty is voided. With todays economy, most people can not afford a specialist to install a product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: if a plumber is not used the warranty is voided.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Dade City, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great replacement for homes with well water.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product replaced a new hot water heater with magnesium anodes that made our well water smell. Extensive testing was done on our well and no bacteria etc was found to cause this smell other than the anode. Home Depot was great in helping us replace the anode hot water heater with this plastic water heater that has no anode. The heater works great and the water smells fresh again. We had a minor problem with a leak at the upper heating element, Rheem sent us a second element and it's installation fixed the leak.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Etters, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This water heater costs a little more up front but pays for itself quickly. I can't promise anyone else savings like I have but I can tell you what I am seeing on my electric bill. First the disclaimer. I did replumb the whole house to make direct short runs of all lines, hot and cold. Switched from copper to PEX. That and the water heater were the only changes made in the house. Results .... approximately $80 less a month on the electric bill since installation 7 months ago. This unit will easily pay for itself in a year. And I will not have to replace it in 5-12 years like all the other water heaters out there! Pay attention to the measurements, these are wider than the standard water heater.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Mulberry, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product! I'm on well water

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The installation could have only been easier if it included the male adaptors. So far I'm very happy with the clean clear water I'm getting from my new heater. Also the lifetime warranty gives me a great price of mind! The only other gripe I have is they don't sell this heater in the store, I had to have it shipped to my house. Great product, I highly recommend!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50-Gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Duryea, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hot water in 3 seconds.

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When my ranch house was built, the gas water heater was located directly under the kitchen and bathroom. The previous owners moved it (when building codes changed) to a location next to the chimney.....as far away from the kitchen as you could get without leaving the house. This saved money since the code required a heater with a blower which was twice the cost of what they were replacing. But it took more than 30 seconds with the tap on full to get hot water anywhere. After reading the reviews on tankless heaters it seemed that I would still have a wait for hot water if I went that route. So the electric Marathon was my choice. It is light weight (we had to lift it up over a bar to its location) and very well insulated. In 15 minutes after installation I had hot water 3 seconds after turning on the tap. I'm hoping that it breaks the 6 year cycle for replacing water heaters. I have two rental houses and every two years I put in a new heater somewhere. It's always the tank that leaks, so I'll be putting Marathons in the other houses as their current units fail.
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>