728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp

2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp

Stylish and versatile, the Hampton Bay 2-1/2 in. Portable Clip-On Lamp is ideal for providing adequate light wherever you need it. Easy to use and easy to move, this light is ideal for a headboard, laundry room, kitchen counter, tool shed or any place you need bright illumination. Durably constructed, this fun and functional lamp has a convenient adjustable head and a clip-on clamp for secure and easy attachment. Bulb included.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
Review 1 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks Good; Works Well

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product would be perfect if the bulb wattage were stronger. However, its size and looks are wonderful, especially when clipped onto my computer desk, and it still is quite adequate for my needs.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Jefferson, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad, could be better

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to use as a small reading light and attach to new black headboard with wife's new bedroom set.
The light attaches to the trim piece of the headboard alright , but just barely.
The light is not the best type bulb for reading in my opinion, but it does the job for ten dollars or so. The cord needs to be longer for my application and the clamp and rod could be longer so the light can be moved to a position without coming loose and falling down. I will use this until I find a better light at a discounted price.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
Cons: needs longer cord, hard to adjust angles
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Dorchester, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Excellent Product

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very effective! Excellent product for the price. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Arcadia, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great for the price

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice little lamp for small spots and great because it's portable.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clip NOT 2-1/2 IN

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lamp functions just fine. I bought it for my bed's 2 inch headboard, but it DOES NOT FIT despite the 2-1/2 IN. product title. At maximum, it would fit a 1-1/2 IN headboard with square (non-rounded) corners.
I use it in my kitchen to illuminate counter space. It provides enough light when attached to the top of my cabinets (7 feet above the ground) to safely chop vegetables and clean dishes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: mislabeled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little light

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this clip on light to light up my ironing area. Now I can actually see what I'm ironing. It is small but I only needed spot lighting and it fits the bill. I'm very happy with this little light!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Indiana

Perfect Solution

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a small, inexpensive light for my jewelry displays. This is the perfect solution. The lights are very small and portable, don't get too hot, and provide the right level of light....at an affordable cost. Order arrived very quickly. Highly recommend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from Rialto, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this light in my shed. Was very easy to install and lights up the entire shed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp

This product seems to be what I am looking for

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these lamps----1 worked real well for what I purchased it for. The other one when I plugged it in and turned the switch on it lit for a split second and then would not work again---As soon as I am going that way again I am going to return it and get another one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-1/2 in. Black Portable Clip-On Lamp
from St Charles, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great light

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a small clip light, it does put out a great source of light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.