728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet

120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet

Plug the Thermocube into any standard 15 Amp outlets to provide electrical devices with temperature-regulated operation. This dual-receptacle device will activate when temperatures dip to 35 degrees Fahrenheit and off when it hits 45 degrees Fahrenheit. 120-Volt rating.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet
Review 1 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet
from Everett Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Automatic Freeze protection!!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used two of these for several years to turn on drop lights used for freeze protection. They work great! I broke one last year trying to plug it into an adapter, my bad. I will be buying more for use as well as back up.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet
from Monroe NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good freeze protection but not completelt accurate

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to turn on my heat lights in my greenhouse to protect from freezing. I does do that however the Thermocube turns on and off at slightly higher temps. Seems to turn on around 39 and off at 53. That works for me to protect my plants but is costing me some extra electricity which is a small inconvenience. Other than that I would have said it was a 5. (Placed my outlet in a plastic bag to protect from the high humidity in the greenhouse).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: no way to adjust, available in few stores
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet
from Pinckney Michigan

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it one entire winter in Michigan to control the block heater in my diesel truck. I have a lighted plug end on the cord from the truck so I know when it is on. I check it everyday, even though I don't drive the truck daily. Unlike one of the other review, I do not check to see exactly what temperature it shuts off, but I can say that when it is in the forties, it is off.
I recommended to all my friends who own diesels. I went to pick one up for a friend this year and the store does not have them. I will tell him to buy online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet

Cheap solution - not very accurate but serves purpose

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed something to keep my well from freezing - this little gem turns the heater on and shuts it off when back to temp. It seems to go up to 55 degrees instead of 45 but turns on reliably before freezing so acceptable for my purpose.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: lacks accuracy, not eco-efficient (heats up 10 extra degrees)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet
from Mansfield CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great energy saver

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great though will not come on until the cube itself gets to 35 degrees or go off until the cube itself gets to 45 degrees. So if the cube is sitting on a cold can of peaches in the pantry, the cube may not shut off until the air temperature is 50-60 degrees. A Winter Minder - also sold by HD - gives you most flexibility but costs more and has only one outlet on it (though you can plug an outlet extension into it giving you several outlets. Don't exceed its load, however. "12-volt" in the description on March 13, 2014 is probably a typo for 120 volts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: none i know of after 6 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet

The thermocube does not appear to work correctly.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I may be returning the thermo cube to Home Depot. It should be working when the temperature drops to the freezing range and so far, it has not. It was purchased to turn the heat on in the greenhouse when the temps were in the freezing range.
Cons: is not working correctly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet
from Roseville, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First cold night here in Minnesota. Coop stayed cold all night (25 degrees) so not happy.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ceramic heater should have come on at 35 degrees but it appears it never came on. I know the heater worked when installed but is not coming on plugged into the Therocube.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Thermocube Thermostatically Controlled Outlet

Perfect for cold weather

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product allowed us to add a heat source exactly where we needed it to prevent pipes from freezing instead of heating the entire house.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.