728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

The large 444 cu. ft. storage capacity of the Arrow Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Metal Shed accommodates lots of lawn and garden tools and equipment, helping you safely store seasonal items when not in use. Lockable sliding door that helps keep your stored belongings safe, the shed's doors have a tall walk-in style for convenient access. A floor foundation kit is included for plywood floor installation (wood not included).
Overall rating:
3.68 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product116 of 151reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(50)
4
(65)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product116 of 151reviews
Customer questions and answers:
55 Questions | 156 Answers
Customer reviews for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
Review 1 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed for the Price

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I assembled this shed by myself. I spent one afternoon building and leveling a 2X4 wooden frame base with 5/8 plywood flooring and another day assembling the shed. I agree with a previous review regarding the metal floor frame, it's pretty much useless unless you are using it on a very flat surface. I recommend reading the instructions cover to cover before you start so that you don't have to go back and removes screws to install trim pieces like I did. If you follow the instruction precisely you should not have any problems putting this shed together as long as the base is flat and level. I also would suggest to look at the weather forecast and choose a non windy day. I got lucky and didn't get any wind until the last roof panel which made it very difficult to install alone. I wasn't happy with the doors plastic guide insert which seemed to be a little tight for my liking. The doors were a little difficult to open and close. I used a few washers to space it out a bit and sprayed some graphite lubricant on them which helped a lot!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Mt Healthy, OH 45231, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the hassle, and cut hands

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My neighbor and I put it up in about 10 hours. I highly recommend getting the floor frame all together....and taking it to the recycling center. I made it and it was a flimsy piece of garbage. I replaced it with a 2 x 4 frame and 5/8 plywood floor. It is stable and sturdy and easy to level. As soon as I replaced the floor, all the holes lined up. The instructions were simple and it was kind of fun to hang out with my neighbor with a mutual goal. Get help. You can't do this by yourself. I actually had a few beers in it with my neighbor, Jimmy. When all was said and done, I love this shed. Buy this shed. You won't be disappointed if you do your own floor frame.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+54points
70out of 86found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Little River, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Very Disappointed

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My handyman had this shed and told me how happy he was with his and how much it holds. I hired him and partner to construct ours. They built a nice wooden base, sealed all ceiling and side wall parts. After one rain, it leaked and wooden floor is wet after each rain. This shed is at our out of town property so we aren't there to check as often as it rains. Several bags of things I was going to donate were ruined. I have only had this shed a few months. I have pictures of the wet floor and nicely constructed shed to send to Home Depot. With the labor cost, floor materials, and shed, we could have bought a wooden shed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Leaks, metal bends
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Newark,DE
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

For the Price,Well Worth It

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought the shed kit locally and picked it up,box is about the size of a door,need an extra hand to carry it.
Kit was well assembled,no damaged or missing parts,plenty of extra screws,nuts and washers provided.
Went together fairly easy,just take your time and read ahead in the instructions as others have stated,especially when assembling the roof structure.
A good tip I could give would be when installing the panels and roof pieces,install the bolts,washers,nuts first and leave loose,then install the screws and then tighten bolts.I didn't do this for a number of pieces and ended up not getting alot of them aligned properly,had to backtrack a bit.
Other than that,good kit,very sturdy once done,just seal around it with some caulk.It is an economy priced,metal shed,so it is what it is,works and gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could be a bit better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
3/4 x 4 x 8 Maple Hardwood Plywood
 
 
 
#7 x 1-1/4 in. Coarse Tan Coated Steel Flat Head Exterior Wood Screws (1 lb. Pack)
1.0 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from California

Leaks Water like a Sieve, Lots of Holes for Bugs and Rodents to Get In

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here is a photo of our leaky Newport shed, which I cannot recommend to anyone.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
22out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from St Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great shed for the money

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Built this by myself with a total of maybe 10-12 hours from picking it up at the store to finish. Pay close attention to the instructions when building the roof or you will be redoing it like me. Holes all line up if subframe is level and square. Had plenty of extra scews/bolts which came in handy as I dropped a lot of them. Shed feels solid and sturdy. It rained tonight and I couldn't find any leaks. Cost ~$319 w/tax for the shed + $65 for the plywood for the floor. I would say this shed provides a lot of bang for the buck.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
38out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Ennis, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Shed.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Went together very well. It's imperitive that you make sure your frame is square and then all will line up just fine. Also, Do Not start pulling all the parts out of the box and making a mess of them. For the most part, if you open the box as shown on the outside of the box, the parts are packed in order of needing them for construction. My shed went together fine. took 2 days to assemble it and one day to make the foundation for the building square and stable. I had a pretty good drop off in my yard and I wanted to make it a level platform. It was amazing how deceiving the drop was. It looked kinda flat but it really was not. At one corner it was on one flat paving stone and on the other it was about 6 bricks high. So, if you want the shed to last, like any building, it all begins with the foundation. Make it square, secure, and stable. The additional floor frame kit that came with it is very flimsy but does the job for what its purpose is. Just be carefule with it. I used 3/4" treated plywood for my floor. I am happy with the purchase and how it is working. One other additional step I did was to use some of the "GREAT STUFF" to seal any openings. This is a spray foam that expands. I basically got inside the shed shut the doors and started filling all the "light" holes that shown thru. It is now "fairly" air tight and should be somewhat larger critter proof, as far as wasps, etc... go.
I hope you have the same luck with your Newport Shed.
I know have it pretty much loaded with the stuff I needed it for and have had two rain days and all is dry!
Thanks for reading.
DW
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+55points
60out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice shed for the money.

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While I could wish for heavier gage metal, the shed is sturdy when put together. It is a bit flimsy during construction, but the parts re-enforce themselves when it is all done, resulting is a sturdy structure.
I am not sure why the one review says the shed leaks. Maybe he didn't use the plastic washers on the screws. I find that they do a good job of sealing the screw holes. The shed has been through several rain storms, two heavy, without any leaks.
I did not use the included floor support kit. I build a platform out of pressure treated wood sitting on top of a bed of pea gravel. I needed the pea gravel because I did not have a level section of ground to put it on. To isolate the shed structure from the pressure treated wood, I used window flashing weather strip. This has an adhesive rubber side that I put ageist the wood, and a foil side that I put the shed on. There is enough give that the screw heads from fastening the bottom track together can push into the flashing and still give a tight seal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

This shed is PERFECTfor small yard and looks great!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This shed has easy to assemble instructions, and is roomy, with easy sliding doors, the inside has space to attach shelves for small things and roomy for the large, And the standing room inside is perfect. I will definitely recommend Home depot to my friends
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from haverhill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Best bang for the buck!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I write this after reading many of the other reviews which I read before I purchased this shed. I heeded everyone's advice and built my own foundation, threw away the free floor kit. Thank goodness I did, so thanks everyone for that advice. I built this completely by myself in three full 9 hour days. first day I built the floor, second day I got the walls up and third day I did the roof and trim. Had a little trouble lining a few pieces up but with a little tug or pull they all worked out. Now it's complete and I am absolutely thrilled! What a big bang for a small buck! For me the most difficult thing was building a solid and absolutely LEVEL base. The rest was a giant erector set. I've always been handy but I've never built anything like this before. If your handy and able to dedicate the time and hard labor. Go for it! It's one of the best values I've ever found.
Pros: Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from norton ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

ok shed

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good shed for the price. not to hard to make, takes about 8 house
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

May the Force Be With You...

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Time-sucking, gawd awful, Machiavellian nightmare of a shed to put together. Kiss your entire weekend goodbye because, at minimum, you and a friend will spend at least 10-12 hours putting this thing together. The instructions are as decipherable as hieroglyphics and, beyond the screws, just about everything else bends as easily as aluminium foil.
After two days of frustration, I smashed the thing into a twisted metal meatball (mmmm...that felt good), called a metal scraper to come haul it away, and then spent the extra money and bought a high-quality plastic shed which was up in two hours and will last x10 as long.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Willis, Tx

Poor Packaging /Poor Design

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We transported product 90 miles to our country property to use as a general storage unit. We assembled unit step by step and did not remove pieces from the box until needed. When we got to the point to install the walls / top
we discovered hidden damage.
The damage was such that it prevented predrilled holes from aligning with frame and made assembly a nightmare.
If we had not been so far from a Home Depot and had not already assembled the frame, I would have packed all the parts up and dumped it in Home Depot's front door.
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Pittsburgh,PA

Weekend Project (Not for the average Joe)

PostedMay 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is definately not for the inexperienced! I put about 16 solid hours into building this shed. There are definately some parts that require the average joe to get some help. You D.I.Y. Pros like myself can get around these things. You most certainly do not want to assemble this with even the slightest breeze. When it comes time to erect the walls the entire structure is as stable as a house of cards!! Naturally as you progress it strenghtens. Easy directions to follow with lots and lots of parts! For the price there is no other shed out there that compares to this one! Definately a good solid all weekend project! Make sure the frame is supported completely underneath if your building on any type of grade otherwise when you step inside it will sag! Once again don't jump into this project lightly thinking you'll save big bucks if you don't know what your doing. But I think its well worth it for the price. You can't beat it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

Wonderful, quality shed for the money!

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was honestly very impressed with the quality of this shed for the money. I even bought it on sale through Home Depot's website. Two teenagers put it together one afternoon for me so it must not have been too hard. We have it on a gravel base instead of the flooring braces they sent with it. It is still very stable without the floor, and there are no leaks of problems. The doors move easily and both of them have stoppers to close right at the middle - I really like that feature as you can't pull one of them too far past the middle. It is a very nice looking shed - we put it up at one of our rental properties. It holds an incredible amount of stuff (trash cans, lawn mowers, etc) yet still has enough head room to walk around. I would definitely recommmend this to anyone.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice shed and easy to assemble

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an average handyman. No real skills at anything except wrecking motorcycles. But can build anything that has directions.
Ordered online from Home Depot. Received email within 15 minutes stating my order was ready. Picked up with no problems. Built almost the entire shed by myself with the help of two stepladders over a 11 hour period. Only needed help with a few nuts and bolts....holding them on the inside while I tightened on the outside. Actually used magnets with a wrench to hold some of them while I tightened. Make sure there is no wind...panels are very flismy until attached. All holes will match up if your base is level and straight. Everything went together as it should have. Doors fit perfectly. Dont overtighten the fasteners....learned that the hard way. Directions were OK. Seen worse. Have had harder times putting together kid's toys.
If I had to complain, it would be about the paint. Maybe a higher quality paint wouldnt scratch so easily. Was also short one piece in the packaging. Called Arrow and it was shipped the next day. Not a real important part so was able to complete the shed without it.
Will keep a close eye on the paint. Any rust will immediately be fixed and touched up. As soon as it rains I'll also check for leaks. Those can be fixed too (refer back to the 'dont overtighten the fasteners' comment).
I dont expect it to be perfect but for 298 dollars, I can live with a few minor repairs if needed. It looks very nice and is very roomy. If I had a helper, it would probably have been done in 8 or 9 hours.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

This produst is the worst!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, half the parts numbers did not match up to the instructions and then NONE of the drill holes matched up and we had to drill each and every hole. It took us 4 days to assemble the shed. I will never purchase any item from Arrow or Home Depot again.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

it is cheep but works

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
do not use the floor kit it is worthless unless you mount it on concrete
this is my second shed and the first time I tried to use the floor kit
it bent just trying to put plywood on it
I have a 2``x 6`` with 16`` center line frame
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

good cheap shed

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The shed wasn't too hard to put up if you read ahead a little on instructions. Needed a helping hand for some of assembly but most of it was able to do by myself. Took about a total of 6-7 hours to put up and is study for a sheet metal shed.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Tomball, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good shed for the money

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this shed back in '05 and as I'm moving I'm looking to buy another. The price is not worth the hassle of taking it with me.
I've been pretty happy with this shed my only gripe being the sliding doors. I've had them come detached several times over the years either due to the screws coming out or the nylon guides coming out of the track, but this very well may be a constuction and/or issue with grass and dirt in the lower track. Outside of the doors, the Texas summers have taken their toll on the roof finish, but a little Rustoleum will handle that.
The shed took roughly a full day to construct and I did use the flooring unlike some others on here. Be sure to keep it square as you're constructing and you'll be fine. The biggest compliment I can pay to this unit is mine survived hurricane Ike in Sept. '08 - I really didn't expect that.
I plan to buy another here in the coming weeks, and pay closer attention to the door hanging portion of the instructions.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, limited life of finish
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>