728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

The large 444 cu. ft. storage capacity of the Arrow Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Metal Shed accommodates lots of lawn and garden tools and equipment, helping you safely store seasonal items when not in use. Lockable sliding door that helps keep your stored belongings safe, the shed's doors have a tall walk-in style for convenient access. A floor foundation kit is included for plywood floor installation (wood not included).
Overall rating:
3.701 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product102 of 132reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(59)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(22)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product102 of 132reviews
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer reviews for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
Review 1 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Mt Healthy, OH 45231, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the hassle, and cut hands

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My neighbor and I put it up in about 10 hours. I highly recommend getting the floor frame all together....and taking it to the recycling center. I made it and it was a flimsy piece of garbage. I replaced it with a 2 x 4 frame and 5/8 plywood floor. It is stable and sturdy and easy to level. As soon as I replaced the floor, all the holes lined up. The instructions were simple and it was kind of fun to hang out with my neighbor with a mutual goal. Get help. You can't do this by yourself. I actually had a few beers in it with my neighbor, Jimmy. When all was said and done, I love this shed. Buy this shed. You won't be disappointed if you do your own floor frame.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+52points
68out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from St Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great shed for the money

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Built this by myself with a total of maybe 10-12 hours from picking it up at the store to finish. Pay close attention to the instructions when building the roof or you will be redoing it like me. Holes all line up if subframe is level and square. Had plenty of extra scews/bolts which came in handy as I dropped a lot of them. Shed feels solid and sturdy. It rained tonight and I couldn't find any leaks. Cost ~$319 w/tax for the shed + $65 for the plywood for the floor. I would say this shed provides a lot of bang for the buck.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
38out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Ennis, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Shed.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Went together very well. It's imperitive that you make sure your frame is square and then all will line up just fine. Also, Do Not start pulling all the parts out of the box and making a mess of them. For the most part, if you open the box as shown on the outside of the box, the parts are packed in order of needing them for construction. My shed went together fine. took 2 days to assemble it and one day to make the foundation for the building square and stable. I had a pretty good drop off in my yard and I wanted to make it a level platform. It was amazing how deceiving the drop was. It looked kinda flat but it really was not. At one corner it was on one flat paving stone and on the other it was about 6 bricks high. So, if you want the shed to last, like any building, it all begins with the foundation. Make it square, secure, and stable. The additional floor frame kit that came with it is very flimsy but does the job for what its purpose is. Just be carefule with it. I used 3/4" treated plywood for my floor. I am happy with the purchase and how it is working. One other additional step I did was to use some of the "GREAT STUFF" to seal any openings. This is a spray foam that expands. I basically got inside the shed shut the doors and started filling all the "light" holes that shown thru. It is now "fairly" air tight and should be somewhat larger critter proof, as far as wasps, etc... go.
I hope you have the same luck with your Newport Shed.
I know have it pretty much loaded with the stuff I needed it for and have had two rain days and all is dry!
Thanks for reading.
DW
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Newark,DE
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

For the Price,Well Worth It

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the shed kit locally and picked it up,box is about the size of a door,need an extra hand to carry it.
Kit was well assembled,no damaged or missing parts,plenty of extra screws,nuts and washers provided.
Went together fairly easy,just take your time and read ahead in the instructions as others have stated,especially when assembling the roof structure.
A good tip I could give would be when installing the panels and roof pieces,install the bolts,washers,nuts first and leave loose,then install the screws and then tighten bolts.I didn't do this for a number of pieces and ended up not getting alot of them aligned properly,had to backtrack a bit.
Other than that,good kit,very sturdy once done,just seal around it with some caulk.It is an economy priced,metal shed,so it is what it is,works and gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could be a bit better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice shed for the money.

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I could wish for heavier gage metal, the shed is sturdy when put together. It is a bit flimsy during construction, but the parts re-enforce themselves when it is all done, resulting is a sturdy structure.
I am not sure why the one review says the shed leaks. Maybe he didn't use the plastic washers on the screws. I find that they do a good job of sealing the screw holes. The shed has been through several rain storms, two heavy, without any leaks.
I did not use the included floor support kit. I build a platform out of pressure treated wood sitting on top of a bed of pea gravel. I needed the pea gravel because I did not have a level section of ground to put it on. To isolate the shed structure from the pressure treated wood, I used window flashing weather strip. This has an adhesive rubber side that I put ageist the wood, and a foil side that I put the shed on. There is enough give that the screw heads from fastening the bottom track together can push into the flashing and still give a tight seal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed for the Price

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I assembled this shed by myself. I spent one afternoon building and leveling a 2X4 wooden frame base with 5/8 plywood flooring and another day assembling the shed. I agree with a previous review regarding the metal floor frame, it's pretty much useless unless you are using it on a very flat surface. I recommend reading the instructions cover to cover before you start so that you don't have to go back and removes screws to install trim pieces like I did. If you follow the instruction precisely you should not have any problems putting this shed together as long as the base is flat and level. I also would suggest to look at the weather forecast and choose a non windy day. I got lucky and didn't get any wind until the last roof panel which made it very difficult to install alone. I wasn't happy with the doors plastic guide insert which seemed to be a little tight for my liking. The doors were a little difficult to open and close. I used a few washers to space it out a bit and sprayed some graphite lubricant on them which helped a lot!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from norton ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

ok shed

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good shed for the price. not to hard to make, takes about 8 house
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Little River, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Very Disappointed

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My handyman had this shed and told me how happy he was with his and how much it holds. I hired him and partner to construct ours. They built a nice wooden base, sealed all ceiling and side wall parts. After one rain, it leaked and wooden floor is wet after each rain. This shed is at our out of town property so we aren't there to check as often as it rains. Several bags of things I was going to donate were ruined. I have only had this shed a few months. I have pictures of the wet floor and nicely constructed shed to send to Home Depot. With the labor cost, floor materials, and shed, we could have bought a wooden shed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Leaks, metal bends
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

This shed is PERFECTfor small yard and looks great!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shed has easy to assemble instructions, and is roomy, with easy sliding doors, the inside has space to attach shelves for small things and roomy for the large, And the standing room inside is perfect. I will definitely recommend Home depot to my friends
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from haverhill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Best bang for the buck!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I write this after reading many of the other reviews which I read before I purchased this shed. I heeded everyone's advice and built my own foundation, threw away the free floor kit. Thank goodness I did, so thanks everyone for that advice. I built this completely by myself in three full 9 hour days. first day I built the floor, second day I got the walls up and third day I did the roof and trim. Had a little trouble lining a few pieces up but with a little tug or pull they all worked out. Now it's complete and I am absolutely thrilled! What a big bang for a small buck! For me the most difficult thing was building a solid and absolutely LEVEL base. The rest was a giant erector set. I've always been handy but I've never built anything like this before. If your handy and able to dedicate the time and hard labor. Go for it! It's one of the best values I've ever found.
Pros: Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from California

Leaks Water like a Sieve, Lots of Holes for Bugs and Rodents to Get In

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here is a photo of our leaky Newport shed, which I cannot recommend to anyone.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
22out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Durant, Oklahoma

Good Storage Building; Good Pice

PostedSeptember 15, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really believe that when I bought this building that I wit was just another metal shed that would las t a couple of years and then I would have to replace it. Boy I was wrong. After assembly I was impressed with its sturdiness, sqare footage and appearance. I got get 401 Cu. Ft. of storage plus a free floor fame foundation kit with the 10 Ft. . x 8 Ft. Newport. It was perfect for a plywood floor finish. There's a wide door opening for my tractor mower and al my other other yard equipment. I loved the 12 year limited warranty. The staff at the Sherman, Texas Store were very prfessional and helped pick out the right wood flooring and anchor kit. I am well pleased. My friend who m helped me aseembele and errect the building stated he was thinking about peurchasing on. Keep up the good work Home Depotand. I want to thank you for your professionalism in helping me eliminate the clutter in my garage. I have planty of room for Yamaha V-Star 1100 CC custom motor cyle, my children's out door toys and my families home gym now.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Pittsburgh,PA

Weekend Project (Not for the average Joe)

PostedMay 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is definately not for the inexperienced! I put about 16 solid hours into building this shed. There are definately some parts that require the average joe to get some help. You D.I.Y. Pros like myself can get around these things. You most certainly do not want to assemble this with even the slightest breeze. When it comes time to erect the walls the entire structure is as stable as a house of cards!! Naturally as you progress it strenghtens. Easy directions to follow with lots and lots of parts! For the price there is no other shed out there that compares to this one! Definately a good solid all weekend project! Make sure the frame is supported completely underneath if your building on any type of grade otherwise when you step inside it will sag! Once again don't jump into this project lightly thinking you'll save big bucks if you don't know what your doing. But I think its well worth it for the price. You can't beat it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Waco,Texas

Rukus opinion counts

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice shed for the cost.Adequate space for all my needs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from McKinney, Texas

Great Shed for the Price

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had just moved states and was in a hurry to store a lot of boxes and kid toys due to the fact that I did not have the room in the new house. I purchased this shed at the local Home Depot store and had it put together and storing my boxes within 3 days. The first day I started it by myself. The second day I enlisted a female friend to help me (I'm also female), the third day I had a male friend help me put the roof together. It was very simple and I had not put a shed together in the past. For the price this was a great deal. I could have spent a lot more money but feel I would have gotten the same quality.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

cheap

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was unsure because it seems like short money for that amount of storage but I agree that wood is the way to go. thanks wooleyboy
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

my shed

PostedApril 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought a shed a few years ago. it has been great. it doesn't leek. it holds up to the weather of florida. it is a good product and i am going to buy another one. thank you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Lyons, Georgia

8x10 Arrow shed

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this building, and i'm glad I did. The building doesn't look very big to begin with, but it really holds a lot of stuff.It holds 3 of my grandchildrens 4 wheelers. And I was able to put a lot of extra things, that I needed to store, in this one building.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from maine

metal sheds

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
dollar for dollar a good buy to those of you that have had problems with this type of shed obviosly you have done something wrong. i live in maine and have necer had a problem with these sheds collapsing even with 2 feet of snow on them the only thing i would suggest is they ether use neoprene washers for the screws or put a little dab of silicone on each screw before screwing because they do have a dendancy for leaking
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Dublin,OH

Great Bang for the Buck!

PostedSeptember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ended up buying this product due to the other positive reviews and seeing one assembled at my local Home Depot. I'm quite impressed with the quality now that the whole thing is put together.
I'd highly recommend the model with the gables so you can stand up in it.
The assembly takes a pretty good attention to detail. My floor was slightly off level which prevented some holes lining up properly. Definitely have some spring clamps handy as well as an extra step ladder. I found the whole process to be quite enjoyable actually
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>