728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

The large 444 cu. ft. storage capacity of the Arrow Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Metal Shed accommodates lots of lawn and garden tools and equipment, helping you safely store seasonal items when not in use. Lockable sliding door that helps keep your stored belongings safe, the shed's doors have a tall walk-in style for convenient access. A floor foundation kit is included for plywood floor installation (wood not included).
Overall rating:
3.696 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product93 of 120reviews
Rating Breakdown 125 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(55)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product93 of 120reviews
Customer questions and answers:
41 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
Review 1 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Newark,DE
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

For the Price,Well Worth It

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the shed kit locally and picked it up,box is about the size of a door,need an extra hand to carry it.
Kit was well assembled,no damaged or missing parts,plenty of extra screws,nuts and washers provided.
Went together fairly easy,just take your time and read ahead in the instructions as others have stated,especially when assembling the roof structure.
A good tip I could give would be when installing the panels and roof pieces,install the bolts,washers,nuts first and leave loose,then install the screws and then tighten bolts.I didn't do this for a number of pieces and ended up not getting alot of them aligned properly,had to backtrack a bit.
Other than that,good kit,very sturdy once done,just seal around it with some caulk.It is an economy priced,metal shed,so it is what it is,works and gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could be a bit better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

This shed is PERFECTfor small yard and looks great!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shed has easy to assemble instructions, and is roomy, with easy sliding doors, the inside has space to attach shelves for small things and roomy for the large, And the standing room inside is perfect. I will definitely recommend Home depot to my friends
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from St Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great shed for the money

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Built this by myself with a total of maybe 10-12 hours from picking it up at the store to finish. Pay close attention to the instructions when building the roof or you will be redoing it like me. Holes all line up if subframe is level and square. Had plenty of extra scews/bolts which came in handy as I dropped a lot of them. Shed feels solid and sturdy. It rained tonight and I couldn't find any leaks. Cost ~$319 w/tax for the shed + $65 for the plywood for the floor. I would say this shed provides a lot of bang for the buck.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
38out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed for the Price

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I assembled this shed by myself. I spent one afternoon building and leveling a 2X4 wooden frame base with 5/8 plywood flooring and another day assembling the shed. I agree with a previous review regarding the metal floor frame, it's pretty much useless unless you are using it on a very flat surface. I recommend reading the instructions cover to cover before you start so that you don't have to go back and removes screws to install trim pieces like I did. If you follow the instruction precisely you should not have any problems putting this shed together as long as the base is flat and level. I also would suggest to look at the weather forecast and choose a non windy day. I got lucky and didn't get any wind until the last roof panel which made it very difficult to install alone. I wasn't happy with the doors plastic guide insert which seemed to be a little tight for my liking. The doors were a little difficult to open and close. I used a few washers to space it out a bit and sprayed some graphite lubricant on them which helped a lot!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Nice shed for the money.

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I could wish for heavier gage metal, the shed is sturdy when put together. It is a bit flimsy during construction, but the parts re-enforce themselves when it is all done, resulting is a sturdy structure.
I am not sure why the one review says the shed leaks. Maybe he didn't use the plastic washers on the screws. I find that they do a good job of sealing the screw holes. The shed has been through several rain storms, two heavy, without any leaks.
I did not use the included floor support kit. I build a platform out of pressure treated wood sitting on top of a bed of pea gravel. I needed the pea gravel because I did not have a level section of ground to put it on. To isolate the shed structure from the pressure treated wood, I used window flashing weather strip. This has an adhesive rubber side that I put ageist the wood, and a foil side that I put the shed on. There is enough give that the screw heads from fastening the bottom track together can push into the flashing and still give a tight seal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Mt Healthy, OH 45231, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the hassle, and cut hands

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My neighbor and I put it up in about 10 hours. I highly recommend getting the floor frame all together....and taking it to the recycling center. I made it and it was a flimsy piece of garbage. I replaced it with a 2 x 4 frame and 5/8 plywood floor. It is stable and sturdy and easy to level. As soon as I replaced the floor, all the holes lined up. The instructions were simple and it was kind of fun to hang out with my neighbor with a mutual goal. Get help. You can't do this by yourself. I actually had a few beers in it with my neighbor, Jimmy. When all was said and done, I love this shed. Buy this shed. You won't be disappointed if you do your own floor frame.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+52points
68out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from California

Leaks Water like a Sieve, Lots of Holes for Bugs and Rodents to Get In

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here is a photo of our leaky Newport shed, which I cannot recommend to anyone.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
21out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Little River, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Very Disappointed

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My handyman had this shed and told me how happy he was with his and how much it holds. I hired him and partner to construct ours. They built a nice wooden base, sealed all ceiling and side wall parts. After one rain, it leaked and wooden floor is wet after each rain. This shed is at our out of town property so we aren't there to check as often as it rains. Several bags of things I was going to donate were ruined. I have only had this shed a few months. I have pictures of the wet floor and nicely constructed shed to send to Home Depot. With the labor cost, floor materials, and shed, we could have bought a wooden shed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Leaks, metal bends
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Ennis, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Shed.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Went together very well. It's imperitive that you make sure your frame is square and then all will line up just fine. Also, Do Not start pulling all the parts out of the box and making a mess of them. For the most part, if you open the box as shown on the outside of the box, the parts are packed in order of needing them for construction. My shed went together fine. took 2 days to assemble it and one day to make the foundation for the building square and stable. I had a pretty good drop off in my yard and I wanted to make it a level platform. It was amazing how deceiving the drop was. It looked kinda flat but it really was not. At one corner it was on one flat paving stone and on the other it was about 6 bricks high. So, if you want the shed to last, like any building, it all begins with the foundation. Make it square, secure, and stable. The additional floor frame kit that came with it is very flimsy but does the job for what its purpose is. Just be carefule with it. I used 3/4" treated plywood for my floor. I am happy with the purchase and how it is working. One other additional step I did was to use some of the "GREAT STUFF" to seal any openings. This is a spray foam that expands. I basically got inside the shed shut the doors and started filling all the "light" holes that shown thru. It is now "fairly" air tight and should be somewhat larger critter proof, as far as wasps, etc... go.
I hope you have the same luck with your Newport Shed.
I know have it pretty much loaded with the stuff I needed it for and have had two rain days and all is dry!
Thanks for reading.
DW
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Durant, Oklahoma

Good Storage Building; Good Pice

PostedSeptember 15, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really believe that when I bought this building that I wit was just another metal shed that would las t a couple of years and then I would have to replace it. Boy I was wrong. After assembly I was impressed with its sturdiness, sqare footage and appearance. I got get 401 Cu. Ft. of storage plus a free floor fame foundation kit with the 10 Ft. . x 8 Ft. Newport. It was perfect for a plywood floor finish. There's a wide door opening for my tractor mower and al my other other yard equipment. I loved the 12 year limited warranty. The staff at the Sherman, Texas Store were very prfessional and helped pick out the right wood flooring and anchor kit. I am well pleased. My friend who m helped me aseembele and errect the building stated he was thinking about peurchasing on. Keep up the good work Home Depotand. I want to thank you for your professionalism in helping me eliminate the clutter in my garage. I have planty of room for Yamaha V-Star 1100 CC custom motor cyle, my children's out door toys and my families home gym now.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Magnolia, AR

Arrow 8x10 Storage Bldg.

PostedJuly 20, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you know anything about carpentry, you can forget the floor frame kit and use some treated lumber for less cost. Building directions are pretty good. Be careful with a cordless drill and don't strip out the screw holes. Takes about 12 to 16 man-hours to build if you read the directions carefully and take your time to do it right. The only drawbacks I found were the floor kit and the drain holes below the doors will let water in on the floor if you don't carefully assemble the bottom rail and caulk it properly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from sc

waste of money

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought it and was happy when it was put together until it rained, it leaked badly and then it started rusting. it is a piece of junk.
i read the other reviews before i bought it. and am so disappointed at the eyesore in my backyard.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Pittsburgh,PA

Weekend Project (Not for the average Joe)

PostedMay 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is definately not for the inexperienced! I put about 16 solid hours into building this shed. There are definately some parts that require the average joe to get some help. You D.I.Y. Pros like myself can get around these things. You most certainly do not want to assemble this with even the slightest breeze. When it comes time to erect the walls the entire structure is as stable as a house of cards!! Naturally as you progress it strenghtens. Easy directions to follow with lots and lots of parts! For the price there is no other shed out there that compares to this one! Definately a good solid all weekend project! Make sure the frame is supported completely underneath if your building on any type of grade otherwise when you step inside it will sag! Once again don't jump into this project lightly thinking you'll save big bucks if you don't know what your doing. But I think its well worth it for the price. You can't beat it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Clarksville, TN

Arrow 10 x 8 Metal Shed A++

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am in the Army and just moved to Clarksville, TN. I bought a house here and ultimatly we just have too much stuff. We decided a garden shed would help out alot. We owned a house before and had this shed, now this was 8 years ago and 2 home owners ago, and the shed is still standing solid.
We first went to a competetors store and the shed was cancelled at thier store so off to Home Depot we go. We were pleased to see the floor kit came with it.
Upon choosing my location it was slightly off level a small piece of wood under the floor kit and a few braces leveled it up just fine. Assembly took me a solid 8 hour day then an additional 2 hours the following day. This is an intimidating job with LOTS of parts and probably not for the faint of heart but taking your time, reading the instructions, and having a power screwdriver (NOT A DRILL) really helps ease the job.
over all impressions so far so good. I am kinda picky and I am going to seal anything that shows light useing expandable foam and silicone caulk, I don't know that this will be required but I'd like this shed to be around for years to come like my last. I also put down a Particle Board floor but I painted both sides of the floor before laying it. Again, maybe not needed but I wanted it protected.
Ultimatly if your slow and careful this shed can be done in a weekend with minumul help. Good Luck to all
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Bangor, ME

I <3 this shed!!!

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I bought this I was in a bad mood. But when I opened up the directions and read through the first steps. It sounded simple and easy! The shed was a peice of cake to put together! I was able to fit all of the stuff I want to keep in it with lots of extra room to spare. I love the shed I ve had it for about a year now I think!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Sioux City, Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Value Shed

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's a descent shed and is a good value compared to what the other stores are selling. Pay close attention to detail in the diagrams in the assembly instructions, and make sure your spot for it is level, and square the frame before you go to far, otherwise you will not get the pre-drilled holes to line up. I used the enclosed floor kit and it works ok. Overall I am very satisfied with this shed but it did take almost a weekend to put together, I didn't have a level spot for it but with some lifting of the corners with a pry bar, all the holes lined up and it went together like it should. It comes with an extra bag of spare screws, so if you should drop a couple, your covered. make sure you use the enclosed plastic washers so it won't leak when it rains. I put a dab of 'henry' with a caulk gun to cover the roof screws just to insure it stays dry inside.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Medina, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Worth the money, not the hassle.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The quality of the product is very good, just what I expected. After reading reviews prior to purchase, I expected the set up to be some-what difficult. It surely was. Hundreds of tiny screws, bolts, nuts and plastic washers. I consider myself quite handy and a good project planner. I also had 2 other competent adults helping. It did take all day to assemble as the instructions stated. That is due inpart to missing tiny details in the instructions or vague instructions which caused parts to be put on backwards or on the wrong side of the building. Regardless of user error or instruction error, it was a difficult task. The end result is very nice.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

For the most part, a great buy.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The value and quality are great. The fact that it ends up being a 9'X7' shed is not. Had the person in lumber cut the wood for the floor according to specs and it didn't fit after! Had to re-cut it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed
from Merkel, TX 79536, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Instructions are not clear and repeat efforts occur Takes way too long to assemble. Run from this purchase..

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Would not ever buy another Arrow product. Extremely unsatifactorily. Time you understand how bad it is, it is too late and would require great deal of trouble to disassemble and return. Although if you knew what was ahead of you, then would be best choice. Has taken three long days of work and not complete, still have roof and doors to go.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, poor instructions
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Newport 10 ft. x 8 ft. Steel Shed

Not Bad for the Money

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleased with how the construction went. The instructions were good and all parts were easy to handle. Can't use a drill for the fasteners recommend a ratchet type screwdriver. Need at least 2 people to do the overall construction. I was impressed with the amount of space the shed has and was able to create more space in my garage. Suggest the shed be installed on a wood base.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>