728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane

Enjoy the look of a cast-iron, wood-burning stove without the hassle and the cost. This compact unit is a great source of heat and beauty!
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Review 1 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
jrwelch57
from Boise, Idaho

So far, the best buy I have made in a long time.

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been an incredible stove. I have a friend that has a $2000 gas stove, and this one from Charmglow might not be as pretty, but it out performs the $2000 cast stove.
The biggest thing to remember is to buy a 3/8" adapter hose from the gas line to the stove. It is very tempting to buy 1/2", and if you do you will be taking a trip back to the store.
Buy some natural gas teflon tape to help seal the joints. Do not use plumbers teflon tape.
If you install yourself (which is easy), have some soapy water available to test your joints for gas leaks.
Vent free is great. In my house I have not had moisture build up.
I had one question from Charmglow customer service which they answered right away.
If you become frustrated in the installation process, exercise patience. It really is easy, but almost anything can throw you a curve if your not used to doing it. The point is this stove is so worth it.
Really, this is the best purchase I have made in a long time.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
patsfanascar29
from Andover, NH

Great Stove

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this stove through Homedepot.com and i used this stove every weekend for the Patriots games and everyone loves it. This Propane Stove by Charmglow heats up my 1500 square foot basement in a matter of minutes and has no smell to it at all. Sometimes with ventfree propane stoves there is an oder ommitted from the burning of propane but with this stove there is none as advertised. What a great product!! I recomend this product for anyone in need of some true heat.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
dan
from tx

hot and easy

PostedMay 29, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy installation
great heat
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Robin
from Gardiner, Maine

robin moody

PostedMay 30, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this stove in Jan 2006 after visiting a neighbor who had one. This stove has been wonderful! I can't say enough about it. It looks great and gives immediate heat.
I purchased this stove for a large family room which never seemed warm enough. The stove was used everyday from the day we got it set up and we haven't had any problems. The heat is amazing..#4 is as high as we ever need. The best 300.00 I've ever spent!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Bonnie
from Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Charmglow Vent-Free Propane Stove

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We added a 4 Season Room onto our home @ Old Orchard Beach and needed something to help heat the new area during cooler weather. Because it's vent-free, it didn't take much to hook it into the propane & we are delighted with the heat it provides to our new room. Also, the ambience it creates is warm & cozy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
frustrated
from Peoria, Az.

Great fireplace

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fully automatic thermostat and fan. Heats our whole 1,800 s.f. house with fan being used. But we do live in Arizona where it's in the low 30's. Make sure the logs are properly placed and not directly on the burners, otherwise the pilot light may not work properly and go out. You will need other parts, flexible gas line and possibly regulator and hose if using propane. GREAT PRODUCT. Will definitely buy another one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Rusticate
from Catawissa, MO

Warm-N-Toasty

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After losing power during the ice storm in St. Louis, January 2007, for three days our 1400 sqft isolated home in the woods was kept fully warm by this stove. Temperatures outside were in the teens to twenties. We have it sitting in front of a small fireplace, which in our home is pretty useless for heat. When first starting to use, my wife was concerned about the ventless aspect, having 3 large macaws and an Amazon parrot. She placed a carbon monoxide detector several feet in front of it and after three days of constant use (at a comfortable 72 degrees) her concerns completely vanished. Will probably add another in the basement next year (which may not have got much colder than 45-50). Set it up in mid December 2006, hooking it to a pair of 40# propane cylinders and have only gone thru about 60-70#'s of gas. With relying on it as a sole source of heat for three days and firing it up nightly for the warm glow of an easy to start fire, seems fairly reasonable.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
BobPedro
from Binghamton, New York

Propane Heater

PostedDecember 30, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my heater! Would reccomend it to anyone needing something to take the chill off! I put it on the 2nd. floor to heat my up-stairs with and and am very satisfied with it.
It can be either hung on the wall or use the legs provided with it but decided to hang it on the wall. No heat bothers the wall and the blower is great. Circulates very nicely!
If you need a heater for either 1 room or for the house - this is it!
Bob Pedro
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
smycoach2002
from New Caney, TX

Charmgkows Heat It Up

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchased two of the Charglow Propane Gas Stoves to put in a rent house. To tell you the truth I was a little concerned that these stoves may not produce the heat needed to heat this house. Boy was I wrong. We installed them and also had the opportunity to use them while we were still in the process of getting the rent house ready. We set them on 2 and after a couple of hours we had to turn them down to 1. The built in thermostats are a wonderful feature as well. I would definately recommend this product to my family and friends.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
jkesmith
from Hampton, TN

Charmglow LP vent free review

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this stove in case of a power outage and I love it more everyday. I have a house built in the 1940s and the central heat is in the ceiling and does not work so well especially on really cold mornings. I am able to turn the Charmglow on and in just a few minutes my house of approx 900 sq feet is warm. I was able to install it without any difficulty. My wife loves it's compact size and attractability. I would definitely reccommend it to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Aladell
from Scottsboro, Alabama

Nice Heater

PostedDecember 6, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this heater to replace a wood burning stove. It works great. We never have to set the thermostat higher than 2 to heat our entire house. We turn on the ceiling fans and it keeps it nice and toasty. It looks good too. The only complaint is that the blower does not work. We purchased the Charm Glow specifically for that feature and have not been able to use it; although the heater works fine without it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
lilfoog

PostedJanuary 12, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this heater to heat my house until I installed baseboard heating.
Well, after hooking it up, it worked so well I have no need to follow up with the baseboard heat!!! The one down side is that the blower is really noisy and rattles, so we don't use it. I think is was a great 300.00 investment.
I would buy another one in a minute:)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Anath
from Hilliard, FL

Excellent

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought two of these heaters and we are very happy with the purchase. They are both functional and attractive. The thermostat function works well, the set up was fairly easy, although the directions could be a little more detailed. These two heaters comfortably heat our 2400 sq ft home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Bijabee
from Gilmanton, NH

Better then what I expected

PostedMarch 4, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gas heater is even better then what I expected. Heats fast, and is very efficient. We put it in our in law apartment and now the inlaws don't have to come to our living room for ambience, they have their own. Had I known it would of been this easy I would of purchased this long ago.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
drd988
from Morrisonville NY

Great heater

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally bought this heater for a backup for power outages and the ombvionce - when I installed it I was hooked. I haven't had my furnace on since. It's been below zero several nights since and with the blower I haven't had the dial up past 2.5. It's GREATTTTTTT!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Firemaker33
from Reno Area, NV

This thing rocks the known world

PostedJanuary 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I paid the propane company a few hundred bucks to run the gas lines for me and after that I installed them myself. Bought two of them for a large chalet style cabin in the woods. It was 29 degrees outside this morning. We turned them on at 8 AM when we got up, and within 10 minutes it was warm enough to sit and sip coffee. I have a CO monitor 3 feet away from the one in the kitchen. It reads ZERO all the time. Vent free is the way to go. They're much more beautiful to look at than other propane heaters. If there's a downside, we keep a window open about 4 inches up in the loft for air exchange, but honestly we don't even notice it, and it's really, really warm in the loft. The thermostats work great, and you don't need electricity to run them. We're off grid and love them. There is an electric fan that we use occasionally, but you don't even need to plug the unit in to work the heat part (you do have to plug it in to run the fan obviously). I have ordered two more heaters: one for a friend and one to put in the basement.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
Razmear
from Upstate, South Carolina

Excellent Heat, plus a few details

PostedDecember 25, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater provides excellent heat. It heats our 800+ sq ft living area with 14 ft high ceilings with ease on setting 1.
Installation is straight forward for the average skilled do it yourselfer. Ours is hooked to a 20# tank outside the house at the moment while we wait for a tank to be dropped by the propane company.
The gas hookup is on the bottom of the stove near the legs. It is a 3/8 in female NPT connector. The size of the fitting is not mentioned in the install manual which cost me an extra trip to the hardware store when I bought a 1/2 in by mistake, which is why I'm letting you know the fitting size here.
Gas consumption is moderate at about 1.5 gallons a day (or about 5 pounds) to heat our living area to a more than cozy level.
The unit has a built in blower, which is not mentioned in the description, and works exceptionally.
The one improvement that I can think of for this unit would be to have a setting less than "1", perhaps a 'freeze watch' setting that kicks in at about 55f vs setting 1 that kicks in at about 68f.
Overall this is an excellent unit that I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.
eb
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
RayV
from E. Stroudsburg, Pa.

perfect timing

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this propane stove for 2 reasons, cut heating costs & to have something nice for the wife. I got it and installed it with no problem. The propane company even agreed that this purchase was a smart one, considering i live in an area which loses power every winter. this heater will continue to give heat in the event of a poweroutage. I got it while the weather was still in the 40's but since getting it the temp. dropped and the house is very comfortable and I have it at the lowest setting. It keeps the house warm. It is cost effective and improves the look of the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
JB750
from Eastern Washington State

Vent Free Heater

PostedNovember 29, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this vent-less heater to maintain 45 deg F in a 3600 sq ft insulated pole building. My existing 200,000 btu overhead-mounted propane furnace is not designed to operate below about 55 degrees. I have the thermostat on this heater set below the lowest heat setting of "1". It maintains a constant temperature automatically and works great in this setting. I will add that I am using this in conjunction with a 52" 3 bladed ceiling fan mounted high in the building to circulate the heated air. I was somewhat surprised to see that it operates with a completely open flame. Obviously, I will have to be very careful and use adequate ventilation when using cleaning fluids or handling any flammable material in the proximity
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vent - Free Gas Stove Propane
rrobby
from McCall, ID

Wow! What a product

PostedNovember 17, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have seldom bought a product that actually lived up to the hype that the ad agency provided. THIS ONE IS IT! This baby cranks out an amazing amount of heat in a short amount of time. The week that we received it, we had 10 degree lows and I haven't had to run the furnace but once. I wish my computer would perform as well as this. I happened to go to the building center the other day and saw an electric heater with the same look as the Charmglow and the price was only $20 less but didn't compare to the amount of heat it put out. This one is a big hit with me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>