728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Exterior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

The BEHR PREMIUM Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain is an interior/ exterior stain for vertical/horizontal surfaces that will protect and add color while allowing the natural concrete andtexture to show. This 100% Siliconized Acrylic formula was created with high-performance, acrylic resins, that form a strong long-lasting, semi-transparent film on properly prepared surfaces. Ideal for use on uncoated and unsealed patios, pavers, driveways, walkways, garage floors, pool decks and other concrete floors.
Overall rating:
2.432 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product17 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(26)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product17 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Review 1 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Allen, OK 74825, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I hate this product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes I skimped on value, instead of buying acid stain, I went with the Behr Semi-Transparent Stain. I stained all the floors in my house with it; I love the color, but almost immediately it started peeling. Now after living on the floor for three months it looks pitiful. Yes, I followed all instructions and yet it didn't matter. I have over 25yrs experience in painting and construction and in those years I have used products that didn't live up to what it said it would do and this is one of them. I will never use this again for my personal use or for any customer. I will also steer anyone I see away from this product.
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Ballwin, Mo
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Peeled after a year from the last time i post July 2013

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought this stain for my birdbath and it peeled after a year 2013 to 2014 and I used there behr bonding primer that did not do anything.
Cons: Scratches Easily, peeled
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Fort Worth Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than acid stain.

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. If you are creative you can make your concrete look like natural stone. You have to take multiple colors, starting with a lighter color as a base then add darker colors with a sponge. You can make veins and ridges that look like natural stone. finish with a tooth brush and sprinkle black stain at the last by putting some black on the tooth brush then flick on to make tiny black spots.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Apply, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As Good as Surface is Receptive

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned about all the negative reviews for ALL brands of concrete stain. I have a brushed (rough surface) covered exterior patio that I stained with the Behr product last week. Sprayed it on with the recommended sprayer available for $20 at Home Depot along with the stain. Results appear excellent. If you have a very smooth concrete surface I doubt you will have results as satisfactory.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Pelham, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for me

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I used this product about 6 months ago. We removed the carpet in our living room and wanted to stain the concrete slab that was beneath the carpet. You MUST do the water drop test. If the water does not soak in you need to use another product. We used a pump sprayer, but it came out in drops, not like a fine mist that covered well. After spraying a section about 3' x 3', we went over it with an old mop and smeared it around. Let the first color dry for about an hour or two then went over it again with a second lighter color. The mop is the way to go. It created a natural stone look and got rid of the speckeled look the sprayer put out. Followed up with the Behr semi gloss sealer and it still looks great. No chips even in high traffic areas. Be sure to follow dry times on the directions. The hardest part was the waiting!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Evansville IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Stay away.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product for use on a newly poured concrete porch, ( i let it cure 40 days) the end result is NOTHING like the brochure would have you belive. This is not a STAIN this is a PAINT, once down you couldn't even see the concrete just the hideous orange of the so called "Warm shale". I let it dry and once i realized that it wasnt going to clear or darken up I immediately etched the concrete again so I could maybe keep my house from being the laughing stock of the neighbor hood..... my porch is orange.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I will defend this product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, let me agree with several reviewers that this is NOT a stain, but nor does Behr call it such, (read the can!). Here's what this product did for me. My home is 32 years old. When it came time to replace the carpet and vinyl with finished concrete floors, I was confronted with a disaster of ancient carpet pad glue, paint over-spray/footprints, and vinyl tile adhesive. Almost every inch was covered in something. I attempted to remove these with stripper, but it would have cost me $100's to remove it all. In the end, I punted and put this product right over the top of everything I couldn't get up. After two years of abuse, it has chipped up in places, but I also get a lot of compliments on my floor. If you're looking for an urban industrial look, this product it great. If you're looking for perfect floors, invest in acid stain. My only complaint is that I don't see the colors from the kit sold separately. That may be the only scam.
By the way, contrary to the instructions that come with the kit, I HAVE had success reapplying this dye over the top of a previous treatment. This has allowed me to repair areas where the dye chipped off over time. If I can freshen up this finish every 2-3 years, I'm OK with a few chips. I definitely recommend this product as a way to give concrete a stained look on the cheap.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: why only 1/2 a can of the walnut?!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

Worked well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in a condo with a 14 x 22 concrete pad out back. Made sure to clean the concrete with a muric acid and a good scrub last summer. It's been a year since I applied the product in a cool blue. I made sure to complete the water test first and did this on cooler days (70°). It has faded some but I'm in full sun for the majority of the day and the only chips are on the edge where I drag the trashcan in and out of the patio. Overall I am very happy with this product. I bought a quart of the color and a gallon of a clear exterior sealer and mixed them for more of a stain look. I also didn't use a sprayer, I rolled mine on. Overall I'd use this again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

HATE IT!!!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so disappointed in the way my new floors turned out in our new house!!!! I would not recommend this product to my worst enemy.....it needs to be taken off the shelves!!!! Does not deserve the 1 star I had to give!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Semi-transparent concrete stain

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please read all the reviews before you buy. I wish I had, only I stopped after three panels and think that it may come off with some effort. At least I did it in a inconspicuous place before going around pool etc. I also got a full refund for the product. I am out the labor for prep and tape etc. Again, read the reviews!
Cons: not as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Newark, de
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked very well on our old patio ...

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our 20 year old patio looks great. Used Terra Cotta glaze and adds charm next to our red cedar deck. Easy to apply after we got the technique of circular motion with a sprayer...not as good with a roller. Will refresh every year. Very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spend extra money on acid stain or don't do this at all, peels almost immediately. Better use the primer bonder also or it will not stick at all to concrete.
Cons: Scratches Easily
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

pool deck on sport club

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it works for me the sport club pool as a stone look floor first thing I did I Wash it with acid stone cleaner I left it to dry then I apply with a roller so what if it doesn't look like stone it works and it as sent chipt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for...

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are finishing our basement and decided to stain the existing concrete floors instead of putting carpet or tile down. I used a 2 gallon RoundUp sprayer for the application and then a scrub brush to give it a textured/distressed look. It turned out better than I thought it would! I used 2.5 gallons for 2 coats and the area was around 1200 sq ft.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Did it all right and still disappointed!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased the semi transparent stain for our outdoor patio. We rented a pressure washer, cleaned and rinsed per the instructions on their site. We used the cleaner/etcher, primed, applied 2 coats of the "stain" (Which is more like paint) and sealed it. At first we were AMAZED it looked great. But within 3 weeks the "Stain" began to chip away. At first it was only where the outdoor furniture was. But now it is doing it everywhere. It looks horrible now. HATE THIS PRODUCT!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily, started to chip after just a month!, more like paint than a "stain"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This is like a paint , not a stain

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We followed the application of this "stain" to a T in preparation and application and it is a very poor way to finish a floor in my opinion. It is not cheap and is fragile in that it chips easily and is not at all comparable to an acid stain job which I have in another house. I cannot recommend it at all. I have built several houses and am experienced in construction.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Scratches Easily, not durable and looks like painted floor
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

Fail

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience with this product is it is watered down paint. Its not semi-transparent at all...it looks like I painted my patio tan. Not happy with it at all. And its not even close to the color I picked from the color swatches.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
from Hawaii

This stuff is garbage and it is NOT stain

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had read these reviews before I bought this. THIS IS NOT A STAIN. It is a thin paint! I followed all the instructions to the letter and it is peeling off the concrete. STAIN DOESN'T PEEL OFF. $300 and an entire weekend WASTED.
Cons: Scratches Easily, not a stain
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

Don't recommend

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did all the prep work sparked like said did
not turn out good at all just going to lay carpet or tile now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

This product doesn't function like stain

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product functions like paint, not stain. Colors are not true to samples in product brochures. After etching, the manufacture suggests priming with a bonding agent. The reason is the "stain" sits on the surface of concrete even new (>30 days), etched crete. How is that a stain? Bonding agent didn't make sense given I've used concrete stains before that function by permiating the surface. Much to my dismay the product fails nearly immediatly without the bonding primer.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>