728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Exterior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

The BEHR PREMIUM Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain is an interior/ exterior stain for vertical/horizontal surfaces that will protect and add color while allowing the natural concrete andtexture to show. This 100% Siliconized Acrylic formula was created with high-performance, acrylic resins, that form a strong long-lasting, semi-transparent film on properly prepared surfaces. Ideal for use on uncoated and unsealed patios, pavers, driveways, walkways, garage floors, pool decks and other concrete floors.
Overall rating:
2.281 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product11 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(20)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product11 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Review 1 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Anonymous
from Allen, OK 74825, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I hate this product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes I skimped on value, instead of buying acid stain, I went with the Behr Semi-Transparent Stain. I stained all the floors in my house with it; I love the color, but almost immediately it started peeling. Now after living on the floor for three months it looks pitiful. Yes, I followed all instructions and yet it didn't matter. I have over 25yrs experience in painting and construction and in those years I have used products that didn't live up to what it said it would do and this is one of them. I will never use this again for my personal use or for any customer. I will also steer anyone I see away from this product.
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
JerryE
from Fort Worth Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than acid stain.

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. If you are creative you can make your concrete look like natural stone. You have to take multiple colors, starting with a lighter color as a base then add darker colors with a sponge. You can make veins and ridges that look like natural stone. finish with a tooth brush and sprinkle black stain at the last by putting some black on the tooth brush then flick on to make tiny black spots.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Apply, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
ColinMc
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As Good as Surface is Receptive

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned about all the negative reviews for ALL brands of concrete stain. I have a brushed (rough surface) covered exterior patio that I stained with the Behr product last week. Sprayed it on with the recommended sprayer available for $20 at Home Depot along with the stain. Results appear excellent. If you have a very smooth concrete surface I doubt you will have results as satisfactory.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
bebsir3
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I will defend this product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, let me agree with several reviewers that this is NOT a stain, but nor does Behr call it such, (read the can!). Here's what this product did for me. My home is 32 years old. When it came time to replace the carpet and vinyl with finished concrete floors, I was confronted with a disaster of ancient carpet pad glue, paint over-spray/footprints, and vinyl tile adhesive. Almost every inch was covered in something. I attempted to remove these with stripper, but it would have cost me $100's to remove it all. In the end, I punted and put this product right over the top of everything I couldn't get up. After two years of abuse, it has chipped up in places, but I also get a lot of compliments on my floor. If you're looking for an urban industrial look, this product it great. If you're looking for perfect floors, invest in acid stain. My only complaint is that I don't see the colors from the kit sold separately. That may be the only scam.
By the way, contrary to the instructions that come with the kit, I HAVE had success reapplying this dye over the top of a previous treatment. This has allowed me to repair areas where the dye chipped off over time. If I can freshen up this finish every 2-3 years, I'm OK with a few chips. I definitely recommend this product as a way to give concrete a stained look on the cheap.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: why only 1/2 a can of the walnut?!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Bevo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spend extra money on acid stain or don't do this at all, peels almost immediately. Better use the primer bonder also or it will not stick at all to concrete.
Cons: Scratches Easily
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Drew
from MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for...

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are finishing our basement and decided to stain the existing concrete floors instead of putting carpet or tile down. I used a 2 gallon RoundUp sprayer for the application and then a scrub brush to give it a textured/distressed look. It turned out better than I thought it would! I used 2.5 gallons for 2 coats and the area was around 1200 sq ft.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
spud
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This is like a paint , not a stain

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We followed the application of this "stain" to a T in preparation and application and it is a very poor way to finish a floor in my opinion. It is not cheap and is fragile in that it chips easily and is not at all comparable to an acid stain job which I have in another house. I cannot recommend it at all. I have built several houses and am experienced in construction.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Scratches Easily, not durable and looks like painted floor
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Fred

Fail

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience with this product is it is watered down paint. Its not semi-transparent at all...it looks like I painted my patio tan. Not happy with it at all. And its not even close to the color I picked from the color swatches.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
steve
from Hawaii

This stuff is garbage and it is NOT stain

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had read these reviews before I bought this. THIS IS NOT A STAIN. It is a thin paint! I followed all the instructions to the letter and it is peeling off the concrete. STAIN DOESN'T PEEL OFF. $300 and an entire weekend WASTED.
Cons: Scratches Easily, not a stain
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Cowboiup
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Did it all right and still disappointed!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased the semi transparent stain for our outdoor patio. We rented a pressure washer, cleaned and rinsed per the instructions on their site. We used the cleaner/etcher, primed, applied 2 coats of the "stain" (Which is more like paint) and sealed it. At first we were AMAZED it looked great. But within 3 weeks the "Stain" began to chip away. At first it was only where the outdoor furniture was. But now it is doing it everywhere. It looks horrible now. HATE THIS PRODUCT!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily, started to chip after just a month!, more like paint than a "stain"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Disappointed

This product doesn't function like stain

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product functions like paint, not stain. Colors are not true to samples in product brochures. After etching, the manufacture suggests priming with a bonding agent. The reason is the "stain" sits on the surface of concrete even new (>30 days), etched crete. How is that a stain? Bonding agent didn't make sense given I've used concrete stains before that function by permiating the surface. Much to my dismay the product fails nearly immediatly without the bonding primer.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
mrdfw21

This product sucks a golf ball through a garden hose

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is more like paint than stain. mixed up out of the can it is too thick and does not spray like it should out of a sprayer. if i had to do it all over again i would dilute it and use a rag to apply it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Boop
from Wentzville, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THis is not a semi-transparent stain!!!!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is horrible!!! Do not buy it unless you want your concrete to look like you painted it a solid color. The color swatches are absolute mis-representation of the way the color will actually turn out. I'm very sorry that I didn't read the other reviews before I applied it to my patio.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
BillE
from CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Semi-Transparent stain, should be criminal

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is grossly misrepresented and performs horribly. After buying 4 gallons of your concrete acid prep, 2 gallons of primer, 4 gallons of the semi-transparent "stain", and two gallons of the wet look top coat, this is possibly the worst floor finish I have ever seen.
It should not be labeled a stain because in the words of your associates, it's a paint. Even after speaking to the inhouse tech department, preparing the concrete surface, and applying via sprayer as directed, the finish was very blotchy, uneven, and down right ugly. After rolling a very thin coat over the spray it looked almost stomachable.
The wet look sealer is a joke. We applied it as thin as possible (800 sq-ft per gallon) and still ended up with areas coming out milky and inconsistent. Only to be told well, there isn't anything you can do other than try to sand it out and reapply. Beyond that, it isn't wet appearing or overly glossy. At best this is a satin finish in the best circumstances.
As an investor and multi-property owner I have purchased hundreds of gallons of behr paint in recent years and never had many gripes. But when I spend several hundred dollars on products for my own home it ended up a complete disaster.
I now have an 850 sq/ft garage floor that is border line embarrassing. And have come to the realization that even if I strip it back to bare concrete, I don't have the option to acid stain it at this point.
I am thoroughly disgusted with the whole experience and believe this product is not only grossly misrepresented, but should be pulled from the market all together. I can only hope for some type of reimbursement for my material costs at this point.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
foldsstrummer88

A decent product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product performed about as i expected. According to the reviews and product information the performance was actually fairly accurate. The semi-transparent stain is not similar to an acid-etch stain. It is also not the same as water-down paint as previously noted by some reviews. What i found to be the most misleading of all the provided information was the paint chips. I picked the grotto color and compared to the paint chip it was very different. So if you are trying to get the stain look i would recommend doing the prep work necessary for a concrete acid etch stain. If not go for a solid epoxy.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Anonymous
from Lewis Center, OH 43035, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't stain well. Tends to make "gloppy" spots that can't be thinned down. DON'T USE!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have been finishing our basement and used Behr paints on the wall and were quite happy UNTIL we decided to use Behr semi-transparent stain on the floor.
What a mistake! The color of the stain didn't match the samples. Applying the stain per the recommended rate gave a very heavy stain that looked more like paint.
We ended up with puddles that we couldn't thin out and the roller left marks as it tracked for the back roll as prescribed by Behr.
We are now going to have to paint the floor to cover this mess.
This has been a big disappointment- I should have read the reviews first. Bummer.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Cons: uneven application, looks horrible, inaccurate coverage specs
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Firefly39

Don't buy it.

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product. I bought it for my patio. This is not a stain. It is thin paint. When I applied I notice that bugs are attracted to it. Now my patio and the side of my house is covered in bugs and I only applied one coat. I will not use this again. I pray that these darn bugs will go away. What a waste. I am so upset and very disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Angie
from Theodore, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I loved this product!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was tired of the old carpet in our home but didn't have the money for wood floors. I talked my husband into pulling the carpet from one bedroom and experiment with this product. We had some cracks and ceiling paint was on the floor. It took some prep work, but we didn't mind the hard work. I painted the trim in the room and then stained the floor. It turned out beautifully! In fact, we immediately tore out the carpet in all the other parts of the house and stained all the floors. If you mind working and you don't require perfection, this could be an affordable alternative to hard woods.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Latingirl
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked ( just not transparent)

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a great product that can be bought locally. I have used professional acid stain. This product is different but will work. We sprayed it and left some light areas then went back with a water based stain and faux finished. I use a professional sealer (I haven't tried home depot sealer). Clean the concrete really well to avoid chipping and peeling. This is easier then acid stain, just need to work with it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
anne

Not happy

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wish I had read the reviews before I "stained" my patio. This looks like paint, not stain, just as others have stated. I tried spraying, painting, rolling...didn't matter the application process the results were the same. I am so unhappy, but not sure how I can fix it short of sanding off. My suggestion is to go to a masonry supplier and buy professional stain, this product was horrible!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>