728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Heating & Cooling System Installation

Overall rating:
4.329 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(240 reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product202 of 239reviews
Rating Breakdown 240 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(160)
4
(41)
3
(10)
2
(16)
1
(13)
85%of customersrecommend this product202 of 239reviews
Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation
Review 1 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Mobile, AL, USA

Don't use this "service"

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wanted an estimate to repairs & replace as needed. Quickly got a salesman NOT a tech, saying need all new & Sold over $7k system.
I needed a new gas heater & a freon in AC. New Equipment didn't fit - installer had to get a smaller coil.
Installer was a hour away & did good job. Returned twice to pass code. Still waiting refund for cheaper blower.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Rocklin, CA, USA

Great Service

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sales associate was knowledgable & accommodating. The installers were wonderful. They had to improvise, were clean, efficient & communicated as they moved through out installation. They had to come back for a minor oversight & to install new receivers. They were on time, conscientious, thoughtful & thorough. We were VERY pleased with the entire process down to price, sales pitch, and installation. I would recommend Home Depot Heating & Cooling System Installation to friends. A friend recommended them to us & we walked away feeling Home Depot met competitive pricing, great product & very satisfied with our installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

EXTREMELY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took over two months to complete an install of 2 A/C units and furnaces. After multiple calls because of my calls not being returned, the install was finally completed. The attic was filled with scraps of the old equipment. Overall, a very bad customer experience for a premium price.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the delay in completing your installations. We will be sure to continue working towards improving our installation services. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 4 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Great job, good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got the no duct AC unit installed, and a great job was done. Installer showed up on time, and took no time to do a great job. Now my patio room, is not a sauna box! The no duct AC unit is very quiet all the way around. I had to check on it three times to make sure it was working. The installation was not sloppy, very neat and professionally done. Thank you again, for moving us out of our family room to the new patio room. Oh I love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Riverview, FL, USA

New Air Conditioning System

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had the company come out to do a service on our 16 year old system. Told us that the repairs wouldn't be worth it. "John" sold us on a new system-- they came out within two days to install. However,we called several times because of the noise, they finally sent someone out who put some padded tape around our intake vent. For over $12K not happy!
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any troubles, however are glad to hear that the issue was resolved.
Review 6 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Kansas City, MO, USA

Awful results with start to end.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The job to this day is still not completed. Was suppose to have someone at my house on June 2nd. They finally came out June 19th. And that was when they serviced and talked to me about a new A/C unit which came to $178.00. I told them I was looking for a new furnace and A/C unit. And was told at that time that what they charged me to service my old unit would be taken off of the new unit if I decided to purchase a new one. Signed al the paperwork that day to purchase a new Furnace and A/C unit. Had set up an install date a week later. When I called to find out where they were for the install I was told that they had they forgot and set Then there was a man sent out on July 2 check out the efficiency of my old unit and was charged another $78 and was told that would be taken off of my bill for the new install. I was suppose to be the 1st one on the list I was told. So he would be here by 10 am. But he didn't show up till around 4:30 pm. June 3rd they showed up to start the new install and when I was going over with what I was told was going to be done. I was told that it was not put into the service contract and that they would not be able to do the install that day and would have to reschedule. Then I made some phone calls the tech made some phone calls and the problem was solved and they continued the install. In the process of doing the install they broke one of my water lines to my water heater. They said they could not fix it because neither were plumbers and did not have the equipment to fix it. So I had to fix it myself after they left at 8:30 pm getting the system running but did not complete everything. The tech came back on July 7th the tech returned to install the humidifier which he completed. But then I went downstairs later that day and found water all over my basement floor. Where they had installed the water line for the humidifier was leaking and had to have them come back out and fix the water leak. Then had a man come out to check the efficiency of the new unit for the rebate to find out they had not installed the correct condenser unit, So I waited to hear back from them for 1 week and never heard back from them, So I called and they were out the next day to install the correct unit. I am still waiting on the efficiency check which is suppose to happen on 8/8/14. Now I have already received my bill from home depot and found out that none of $178 or $78 were taken off of my bill and that the job has not even been completed. Thought it was pretty wild to get billed before the job is even completed. Now Ready services has agreed to give me gift cards of $300 for the problems I have had to go through and I believe home depot should give me compensation for my troubles I have been trough of $200. I will be waiting to hear back from you.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Indianapolis, IN

Great installation team.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The whole process went extremely smoothly -- and all within one day!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Summerville, SC, USA

The new AC Unit failed 10 days after installation

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The new system failed 10 days after installation. It took multiple calls to the installer to get it repaired. The part was not available and they would not take one off of another new unit. As a result we were without AC for several days in the summer heat and humidity. They promised us a portable unit until the part arrived but they never fulfilled that promise. They ended up saying they were all in use elsewhere. The person responsible for the installation stopped taking my calls or returning my calls. In the end the unit was repaired but it took multiple calls and longer than we should have reasonably expected. We got more excuses than service.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Owner: Installers arrived on time, were neat and overall do a very good job.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The salesperson and the installers seemed more knowledgeable than the others who submitted bids. The Home Depot bid was also among the lowest .
I suggest that your form proposal be clarified in two ways:
1. Make it clearer that the 5 year labor warranty is really not included. It's conditioned on paying $290+ per year for maintenance. Leaving the cost of the maintenance off the form left me feeling a bit blind sided when I discovered it.
2. Make it clearer that the HERS test is not included in the "total amount" and that payment is the responsibility of the owner--similar to the way asbestos removal is handled on the form.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
24out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Benicia, CA, USA

Job started in June was not completed until August

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great product but the installation took way to long and was substandard. Thank God for city building inspectors who made them come back and do it right!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the delay with your installation and workmanship. We are happy to hear that the installers did return to correct the work to your satisfaction.
Review 11 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Sugar Land, TX, USA

I only asked for a tune up and the tech wanted me to get a new a/c.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After he came I called other company, fixed the only problem I got and told me I didn't need a new a/c only if I wanted a more efficient one but the one I have still have some years to go. I don't like when people lie to you so you buy something new, it would have been different if he told me you could pay less for electricity with a new one than if you don't get a new one you would pay thousands of dollars in the next year or two. It's been four months and I only pay for the second opinion way less than he predicted.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Install was not as smooth and quickly done as promised.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The original heating installation was supposed to take 4 days, but not completed until about six weeks later. The family room was not completed and another specialist had to come out and complete that room about 3 weeks later. I was promised the wall heaters would be removed and walls repaired. The original installers removed the heaters. The drywall person came about two weeks after the final vent was installed. Since one of the wall heaters has a exposed gas line I was told I would have the get another company to do that or just cover it was a bookcase or something.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

experienced in stallers, great communication and cooperation

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
showed up on time, very knowledgeable about the product and how best to install with minimum impact, respectful of my home, followed my wishes exactly, a pleasure to do business with.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from San Antonio, TX, USA

Very happy with installation and follow-up.

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Process went very smoothly from sales rep to follow-up. Installation crew was efficient and very professional. Company processed my CPS rebate and followed up to make sure I was happy with the results. She even scheduled the code compliance inspection for me. All in all, I am very satisfied.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Skokie, IL, USA

Quick install

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our a/c died this summer when it was 90+. We got a few quotes from other people as well as Home Depot's affiliate. Home Depot was cheaper and could install a new furnace and a/c the next day. The other guys wanted us to wait a week. Everything is working great 6 months later.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Removed and installed new HVAC system

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The process was completed in one day. I was impressed in their ability to install so quickly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Everything was done to perfection very happy

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I must say Derek sawyer came out sold me a new Rheem high end system with new duct work he said it would take two days the install showed up at my house in time they then put all there drop cloths down and began work they imformed me through the whole job and finished in two days like they said great job thanks again
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Houston, TX

Blower flow rate was excessive. Eventually corrected.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Felt blower could have been initially adjusted to match unit that had been removed. Took two service trips. Removed programmable thermostat and replaced with single set one. Eventually installed programmable thermostat. Eveyrthing seems OK now.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Valrico Fl

New Heat Pump installation

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent customer service by ARS service technician. He gave me an evaluation of the old heat pump and different options to repair or replace with a new unit. The new installation was done timely and very professional.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

great installation. work was completed on time

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
excellent service and work was completed in one day. no mess to clean afterwards.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>