728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Heating & Cooling System Installation

Overall rating:
4.327 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product177 of 207reviews
Rating Breakdown 208 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(139)
4
(36)
3
(8)
2
(12)
1
(13)
86%of customersrecommend this product177 of 207reviews
Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation
Review 1 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Kansas City, MO, USA

Awful results with start to end.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The job to this day is still not completed. Was suppose to have someone at my house on June 2nd. They finally came out June 19th. And that was when they serviced and talked to me about a new A/C unit which came to $178.00. I told them I was looking for a new furnace and A/C unit. And was told at that time that what they charged me to service my old unit would be taken off of the new unit if I decided to purchase a new one. Signed al the paperwork that day to purchase a new Furnace and A/C unit. Had set up an install date a week later. When I called to find out where they were for the install I was told that they had they forgot and set Then there was a man sent out on July 2 check out the efficiency of my old unit and was charged another $78 and was told that would be taken off of my bill for the new install. I was suppose to be the 1st one on the list I was told. So he would be here by 10 am. But he didn't show up till around 4:30 pm. June 3rd they showed up to start the new install and when I was going over with what I was told was going to be done. I was told that it was not put into the service contract and that they would not be able to do the install that day and would have to reschedule. Then I made some phone calls the tech made some phone calls and the problem was solved and they continued the install. In the process of doing the install they broke one of my water lines to my water heater. They said they could not fix it because neither were plumbers and did not have the equipment to fix it. So I had to fix it myself after they left at 8:30 pm getting the system running but did not complete everything. The tech came back on July 7th the tech returned to install the humidifier which he completed. But then I went downstairs later that day and found water all over my basement floor. Where they had installed the water line for the humidifier was leaking and had to have them come back out and fix the water leak. Then had a man come out to check the efficiency of the new unit for the rebate to find out they had not installed the correct condenser unit, So I waited to hear back from them for 1 week and never heard back from them, So I called and they were out the next day to install the correct unit. I am still waiting on the efficiency check which is suppose to happen on 8/8/14. Now I have already received my bill from home depot and found out that none of $178 or $78 were taken off of my bill and that the job has not even been completed. Thought it was pretty wild to get billed before the job is even completed. Now Ready services has agreed to give me gift cards of $300 for the problems I have had to go through and I believe home depot should give me compensation for my troubles I have been trough of $200. I will be waiting to hear back from you.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

EXTREMELY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took over two months to complete an install of 2 A/C units and furnaces. After multiple calls because of my calls not being returned, the install was finally completed. The attic was filled with scraps of the old equipment. Overall, a very bad customer experience for a premium price.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the delay in completing your installations. We will be sure to continue working towards improving our installation services. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 3 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Summerville, SC, USA

The new AC Unit failed 10 days after installation

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The new system failed 10 days after installation. It took multiple calls to the installer to get it repaired. The part was not available and they would not take one off of another new unit. As a result we were without AC for several days in the summer heat and humidity. They promised us a portable unit until the part arrived but they never fulfilled that promise. They ended up saying they were all in use elsewhere. The person responsible for the installation stopped taking my calls or returning my calls. In the end the unit was repaired but it took multiple calls and longer than we should have reasonably expected. We got more excuses than service.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Install was not as smooth and quickly done as promised.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The original heating installation was supposed to take 4 days, but not completed until about six weeks later. The family room was not completed and another specialist had to come out and complete that room about 3 weeks later. I was promised the wall heaters would be removed and walls repaired. The original installers removed the heaters. The drywall person came about two weeks after the final vent was installed. Since one of the wall heaters has a exposed gas line I was told I would have the get another company to do that or just cover it was a bookcase or something.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Benicia, CA, USA

Job started in June was not completed until August

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great product but the installation took way to long and was substandard. Thank God for city building inspectors who made them come back and do it right!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the delay with your installation and workmanship. We are happy to hear that the installers did return to correct the work to your satisfaction.
Review 6 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Owner: Installers arrived on time, were neat and overall do a very good job.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The salesperson and the installers seemed more knowledgeable than the others who submitted bids. The Home Depot bid was also among the lowest .
I suggest that your form proposal be clarified in two ways:
1. Make it clearer that the 5 year labor warranty is really not included. It's conditioned on paying $290+ per year for maintenance. Leaving the cost of the maintenance off the form left me feeling a bit blind sided when I discovered it.
2. Make it clearer that the HERS test is not included in the "total amount" and that payment is the responsibility of the owner--similar to the way asbestos removal is handled on the form.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
24out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Houston, TX

Blower flow rate was excessive. Eventually corrected.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Felt blower could have been initially adjusted to match unit that had been removed. Took two service trips. Removed programmable thermostat and replaced with single set one. Eventually installed programmable thermostat. Eveyrthing seems OK now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Great job, good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got the no duct AC unit installed, and a great job was done. Installer showed up on time, and took no time to do a great job. Now my patio room, is not a sauna box! The no duct AC unit is very quiet all the way around. I had to check on it three times to make sure it was working. The installation was not sloppy, very neat and professionally done. Thank you again, for moving us out of our family room to the new patio room. Oh I love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta GA

AFter installation of air conditioning unit, not all parts were replaced so had to return to replace

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Average work because not all new parts were used so had to return to replace part. Also extra loud noise when running the air con. Inspector did not come to do final inspection of installation.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from North Beach, MD, USA

From start to finish excellent.

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We came in the store to purchase mulch and a few items we did not plan for (love spring black Friday). Made appointment with bonus orange ball, excellent sales presentation--made purchase. The install was without issue, kept home and work area clean, removed old unit, tested new unit, completed paperwork. Will certainly start with Home Depot for next home improvement project. Thank you!!!!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Seffner, FL 33584, USA

long install process & decent results.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had it installed on a sat.7/12 & sun. morning I found a water leak. Tues. they repaired the leak.When I called about the leak, I mentioned that they didnot replace my circuit breakers. The breakers were replaced 7/28.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Quick response and best price for quality work

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot was very quick with the in-home estimate and only offered what I really needed. The installation was within the next few days without a significant hitch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Nashville TN

Did not like transaction or sales pressure.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The entire in-home sales process was worse than buying a car. High pressure sales tactics used. I was not happy with entire purchase issue. The inittial unit was not the model I purchased and the proposed in home fix was declined. Second and correct unit installed after model# check with manufactuer on line dot com page.
I am trying to resolve with your agent. If this is unsuccessful I will contact Home Depot Directly. I will be contacting your agent/seller by phone or writing regarding some remaining issues. If no progress is made to conclude the matter I will be be in touch with Home Depot.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 3, 2013
Hi Mr Kufner,

We'd like to apologize for your experience with our sales team. We would like to address any other concerns that you may have regarding your installation. I have also emailed you, to offer additional assistance.
Review 14 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Laughlin, NV, USA

Installation was great ac works great

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installers were very professional and knew what they were doing. I am very pleased with my new ac.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from houston

arrived on time and installed

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the installers missed a step in the process and communication was difficult. however the problem has been resolved to our satisfaction.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Pensacola, FL, USA

Could not have been any easier.

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The repair of the old working unit (25 years old) didn't go well. The first Tec didn't know what he was doing and messed up the unit. The blower fan stopped working and I was forced to rig up the system to get it to work. After working on the unit I realized that it had a lot of rust and all the wire coatings were cracked. It was time to upgrade. The next two maintenance men were great and very professional. They set up the Gulf Power rebate and got the unit certified for the Federal Tax rebate. The company also came back out to reset the air flow and has stayed in touch to ensure that I'm satisfied with the purchase
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Manteca, CA

Wonderful installation crew. Knew their business and very professional

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We discovered that the crew failed to reconnect the hot water heater. When called for service and the vendor responded within 24 hours. We are very impressed with Home Depot and their vendor for HVAC
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Okeechobee, FL, USA

Sloppy install

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation was sloppy and they left a mess. I am still making repairs. Unit does not work well in bedrooms unless door is left open
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

heating & ac installation

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation was professional and wonderfully done.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Grosse Pointe Woods, MI

Great value and service.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very thorough assessment of needs and ample information provided for effective comparative shopping.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>