728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Heating & Cooling System Installation

Overall rating:
4.303 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product211 of 253reviews
Rating Breakdown 254 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(167)
4
(44)
3
(11)
2
(17)
1
(15)
83%of customersrecommend this product211 of 253reviews
Customer reviews for Heating & Cooling System Installation
Review 1 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Columbia, SC, USA

Great system, great price but not too much attention to detail

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got a great deal on a 2 ton HVAC system! The installation crew does a sufficient job, but doesn't go above and beyond (didn't check the status of the breakers used to run the system - which were melted, and didn't suggest or address solutions to the AC drain which is 1/2" off the ground and easily clogs).
Also, the contractors do not make appointments, they give you a 2-3 hour range when they may arrive and you have to take a 1/2 day off from work to get anything checked/repaired.
Also, my electric company offers a $200 rebate for 14 seer systems and the contractor still hasn't finished it so that I can process it (it has been weeks since the installation).
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Brandon, FL, USA

Excellent service and products

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A/C install went smoothly. Salesperson matched a quotation from a different company. Technicians were courteous and knowledgable. This is how A/C installation should be. Great job!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Mobile, AL, USA

Don't use this "service"

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wanted an estimate to repairs & replace as needed. Quickly got a salesman NOT a tech, saying need all new & Sold over $7k system.
I needed a new gas heater & a freon in AC. New Equipment didn't fit - installer had to get a smaller coil.
Installer was a hour away & did good job. Returned twice to pass code. Still waiting refund for cheaper blower.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Excellent service

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation went as planned, service representatives arrived on time for set up and installation of my new system. The service providers took every precaution to properly prepare and protect my carpet and area where work was to be done. I was completely satisfied with the work done by Home Depot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

Great job, good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got the no duct AC unit installed, and a great job was done. Installer showed up on time, and took no time to do a great job. Now my patio room, is not a sauna box! The no duct AC unit is very quiet all the way around. I had to check on it three times to make sure it was working. The installation was not sloppy, very neat and professionally done. Thank you again, for moving us out of our family room to the new patio room. Oh I love it!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Rocklin, CA, USA

Great Service

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sales associate was knowledgable & accommodating. The installers were wonderful. They had to improvise, were clean, efficient & communicated as they moved through out installation. They had to come back for a minor oversight & to install new receivers. They were on time, conscientious, thoughtful & thorough. We were VERY pleased with the entire process down to price, sales pitch, and installation. I would recommend Home Depot Heating & Cooling System Installation to friends. A friend recommended them to us & we walked away feeling Home Depot met competitive pricing, great product & very satisfied with our installation.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Owner: Installers arrived on time, were neat and overall do a very good job.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The salesperson and the installers seemed more knowledgeable than the others who submitted bids. The Home Depot bid was also among the lowest .
I suggest that your form proposal be clarified in two ways:
1. Make it clearer that the 5 year labor warranty is really not included. It's conditioned on paying $290+ per year for maintenance. Leaving the cost of the maintenance off the form left me feeling a bit blind sided when I discovered it.
2. Make it clearer that the HERS test is not included in the "total amount" and that payment is the responsibility of the owner--similar to the way asbestos removal is handled on the form.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
26out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Summerville, SC, USA

The new AC Unit failed 10 days after installation

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The new system failed 10 days after installation. It took multiple calls to the installer to get it repaired. The part was not available and they would not take one off of another new unit. As a result we were without AC for several days in the summer heat and humidity. They promised us a portable unit until the part arrived but they never fulfilled that promise. They ended up saying they were all in use elsewhere. The person responsible for the installation stopped taking my calls or returning my calls. In the end the unit was repaired but it took multiple calls and longer than we should have reasonably expected. We got more excuses than service.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Kansas City, MO, USA

Awful results with start to end.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The job to this day is still not completed. Was suppose to have someone at my house on June 2nd. They finally came out June 19th. And that was when they serviced and talked to me about a new A/C unit which came to $178.00. I told them I was looking for a new furnace and A/C unit. And was told at that time that what they charged me to service my old unit would be taken off of the new unit if I decided to purchase a new one. Signed al the paperwork that day to purchase a new Furnace and A/C unit. Had set up an install date a week later. When I called to find out where they were for the install I was told that they had they forgot and set Then there was a man sent out on July 2 check out the efficiency of my old unit and was charged another $78 and was told that would be taken off of my bill for the new install. I was suppose to be the 1st one on the list I was told. So he would be here by 10 am. But he didn't show up till around 4:30 pm. June 3rd they showed up to start the new install and when I was going over with what I was told was going to be done. I was told that it was not put into the service contract and that they would not be able to do the install that day and would have to reschedule. Then I made some phone calls the tech made some phone calls and the problem was solved and they continued the install. In the process of doing the install they broke one of my water lines to my water heater. They said they could not fix it because neither were plumbers and did not have the equipment to fix it. So I had to fix it myself after they left at 8:30 pm getting the system running but did not complete everything. The tech came back on July 7th the tech returned to install the humidifier which he completed. But then I went downstairs later that day and found water all over my basement floor. Where they had installed the water line for the humidifier was leaking and had to have them come back out and fix the water leak. Then had a man come out to check the efficiency of the new unit for the rebate to find out they had not installed the correct condenser unit, So I waited to hear back from them for 1 week and never heard back from them, So I called and they were out the next day to install the correct unit. I am still waiting on the efficiency check which is suppose to happen on 8/8/14. Now I have already received my bill from home depot and found out that none of $178 or $78 were taken off of my bill and that the job has not even been completed. Thought it was pretty wild to get billed before the job is even completed. Now Ready services has agreed to give me gift cards of $300 for the problems I have had to go through and I believe home depot should give me compensation for my troubles I have been trough of $200. I will be waiting to hear back from you.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

EXTREMELY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took over two months to complete an install of 2 A/C units and furnaces. After multiple calls because of my calls not being returned, the install was finally completed. The attic was filled with scraps of the old equipment. Overall, a very bad customer experience for a premium price.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the delay in completing your installations. We will be sure to continue working towards improving our installation services. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 11 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Palmetto, FL, USA

Installation was fast and clean

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Credit set-up on an existing account was very frustrating at best. It took many additional phone calls and two trips to the store to resolve issue.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Riverview, FL, USA

New Air Conditioning System

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had the company come out to do a service on our 16 year old system. Told us that the repairs wouldn't be worth it. "John" sold us on a new system-- they came out within two days to install. However,we called several times because of the noise, they finally sent someone out who put some padded tape around our intake vent. For over $12K not happy!
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any troubles, however are glad to hear that the issue was resolved.
Review 13 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Marietta, GA, USA

Professional and quality installation

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I liked the professional work from the sales to installation of the system. I am, however, awaiting inspections by the city to be scheduled by ARS.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Benicia, CA, USA

Job started in June was not completed until August

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great product but the installation took way to long and was substandard. Thank God for city building inspectors who made them come back and do it right!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the delay with your installation and workmanship. We are happy to hear that the installers did return to correct the work to your satisfaction.
Review 15 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Install was not as smooth and quickly done as promised.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The original heating installation was supposed to take 4 days, but not completed until about six weeks later. The family room was not completed and another specialist had to come out and complete that room about 3 weeks later. I was promised the wall heaters would be removed and walls repaired. The original installers removed the heaters. The drywall person came about two weeks after the final vent was installed. Since one of the wall heaters has a exposed gas line I was told I would have the get another company to do that or just cover it was a bookcase or something.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Nashville TN

Did not like transaction or sales pressure.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The entire in-home sales process was worse than buying a car. High pressure sales tactics used. I was not happy with entire purchase issue. The inittial unit was not the model I purchased and the proposed in home fix was declined. Second and correct unit installed after model# check with manufactuer on line dot com page.
I am trying to resolve with your agent. If this is unsuccessful I will contact Home Depot Directly. I will be contacting your agent/seller by phone or writing regarding some remaining issues. If no progress is made to conclude the matter I will be be in touch with Home Depot.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 3, 2013
Hi Mr Kufner,

We'd like to apologize for your experience with our sales team. We would like to address any other concerns that you may have regarding your installation. I have also emailed you, to offer additional assistance.
Review 17 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Loveland, CO, USA

Smooth, but couldn't complete until temp was 65+.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They were on time, courteous, & polite. The install is clean and looks good. they did not get one wire tight and had to come back the next day, so the furnace would work. They were there within 30 minutes after I called and said there was a problem. The 1st day it go above 65, they came out and finished the charge on the compressor. I haven't used the AC to know the quality of the equipment.
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heating & Cooling System Installation

So far, no issues

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great product for now. Installation was well done.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Sugar Land, TX, USA

I only asked for a tune up and the tech wanted me to get a new a/c.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After he came I called other company, fixed the only problem I got and told me I didn't need a new a/c only if I wanted a more efficient one but the one I have still have some years to go. I don't like when people lie to you so you buy something new, it would have been different if he told me you could pay less for electricity with a new one than if you don't get a new one you would pay thousands of dollars in the next year or two. It's been four months and I only pay for the second opinion way less than he predicted.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heating & Cooling System Installation
from Murfreesboro Tn

The Install went great

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The guy's that came out was very professional aND friendly. .they took care of my curio cabnet.that had to be moved. Very polite. .thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>