728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

OmniGrip’s unique formula sets a radical new standard, offering many benefits not found in traditional tile adhesives. Formulated with more solids and less water, OmniGrip shrinks up to 33% less than traditional adhesives ensuring maximum coverage and superior bonds. This high-polymer formula remains flexible allowing a wide variety of applications. Recommended to bond porcelain, marble, granite, stone, ceramic, mosaic and quarry tile up to 8 in. x 8 in. for interior use only. Can be used with tile up to 18 in. x 18 in., but dry time significantly increases. Dry time will be extended if using larger tiles, bonding to non-porous surface, in high humidity, or if temperature is below 60 F. Do not apply excess adhesive when installing.
Overall rating:
3.966 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product43 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(36)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product43 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Review 1 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We used it to tile right over a marble slab!

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read as many reviews as I could to see if this stuff would work to tile over existing marble. I found one or two saying that they used it on shiny, non-porous surfaces, so I took a chance. It worked! We put small mosaic slate tiles on mesh right on top of the marble fireplace surround and it has stayed put for over two months now. We did not need grout and had no issue with drying time since we are in the mountains and the air is super dry up here. Heat from the fireplace has not been an issue. We have used the fireplace since the re-tiling, but it's a gas insert and doesn't throw a lot of heat. We have a ton of Omnigrip left over, but it was worth the price.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from St George UT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very forgiving

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After setting the tiles we decided we didn't like the way our pattern looked. We were thrilled that we were still able to remove the tiles, remove the OmniGrip and rearrange the tiles into a different configuration.
Was it messy....yes, but well worth it. As you can see our back splash looks like we hired a professional tile installer.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, very forgiving
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great on Stone wall tiles

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had 75sq. feet of 12x12 wall tile to install. It was a stone tile with no grouting required (nice). OminGrip
was extremely convenient to work with at my slow DIY pace. The stone 12x12 tiles held in place wonderfully and easy to spread in tight corners.
I did not have to grout, so the longer drying time didn't hurt me like others have implied.
It is pricey- but the premix is very convenient for someone who has to fit DIY projects around your available time.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

Omnigrip

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yes, this will work great on your backsplash. Good luck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

i love this stuff

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
i have used this on floors, walls, ceilings, with big , medium and small tiles, on concrete, plywood and tile board. i have never had a problem. this stuff cures flexible and i believe it helps prevent tiles from cracking. i have yet to have tiles crack on me using this stuff. it is very expensive compared to thinset mortor but i have had problems with tiles cracking over time with thinset. people think this stuff should cure hard like thinset but its not supposed to. its stays flexible like caulking. most of the time this cures for me over night, but in humid areas it may take a couple days. its never been a real issue for me like others have complained about and i have used this on many jobs. the cost is my only complaint on this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good adhesive

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used it to tile the stone tiles of the kitchen bacsplash. We had no problems with it. Easy to clean while working with it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Chubbuck, Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Omnigrip

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OmniGrip came in an easy open bucket. I did 16"x18" tile with 1/8th inch spacers and was very impressed by no slipping or shifting. good stuff.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Central Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did the job well

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Went on easily. Minimal slippage of tile before setting. Clean-up of excess was easy.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stuff works great, even sticks to formica.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the stuff holding on a smooth shiny surface, but it works well as stated on the container.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from minneapolis, mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used the product on four floors, no problems at all

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I started tiling different floors in my house, the HD rep said that OmniGrip would work well. The installations are as follows:
1. Entry way - Installed 16*16 tiles over leveling cement. Grouted a day later. No movement, no cracks, everything looks good.
2. Small kitchen - Installed 12*12 tiles directly on top of the existing vinyl floor. Grouted the next day, no movement, no cracks, every thing looks good.
3. Bathroom - Installed 16*16 tiles in a bathroom. Grouted the next day, no movement, no cracks, everything looks good.
4. Laundry room - Installed 12*12 tiles directly over existing vinyl tiles. Grouted the next day, no cracks, no movement, everything looks good.
I guess ignorance is bliss. I have never had problems with movement or curing. I would recommend the product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied this product to both wallboard (green) and cement floor for tiling a bathroom. it was easy to use and it worked great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The adhesive worked very well - just folow directions.
you will need to let it sit for a bit so you dont get sags in the tile on a backsplash
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not good for high humidity areas

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installing this product over cement floors at a summer home damaged by Super storm Sandy. Left tiles to dry over a week with de-humidifier on. Came back a week later to grout, tiles started cracking , adhesive was still soft. Have to remove and install with standard thin set instead of ready mix.
Cons: very long drying time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No idea why everyone has had issues with this, Worked fine for me 2 seperate times years apart

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as it should! It is an adhesive not cement!
For those having issues:
Solid floor prior to tile installation is a MUST!!!! Check to see which direction your floor joists are going. If you lay your backer board opposite your floor joists this makes it opposite of your sub floor. Having the strongest possible scenario. That helps alternate all the seams, creating the most strength.
My second suggestion:
I would lay 2 tiles down in the floor prior to starting your project. Use 2 different techniques in setting the tile down on the adhesive. Repeat this more if you do not have even adhesive coverage on the tile. There should be no dry spots, so either adjust your technique with your tile setting, or be more liberal with your adhesive and troweling techniques. There was a few times where I had 1/4" of the corner of the tile that was placed down without adhesive under it. I had to pull the tile back up slowly using the trowel and reset it. I always use more adhesive as if I was laying the tile for the first time.
My third suggestion:
With all that being said, I have used this with 6", 12", 18" and bull nose tiles on a smooth concrete floor with no issues. I used it with 18" ceramic tiles, and the rest were porcelain. I was barely in the temperature range the first time I used it due to extremely cold weather and my new house having an inefficient heater. I know it was -20*F while installing my wood stove, and I used this adhesive (small pail) on the tiles making my hearth. The last time, I was well within the temperature range, using 1/4" trowel laying 12" and 6" tile in a pinwheel pattern. I used only 1/3 of the 3.5 gal pail, and later I will discuss the sq ft coverage. I was cautious to use this again after seeing all the negative responses. I couldn't remember which store I had purchased it from, so I looked online before I headed out to the store. I live in Alaska, and I know that Home Depot ships 99.9% of their stuff up on the barge. That barge is exposed to sub zero arctic temperatures on the ocean for a week. I wonder if people are trying to rush once they see their new tile floor and want to start grouting? Patience to wait and let things cure, but make sure all surfaces are dry!!!! This adhesive cleans up nicely with warm water. I have some excess sometimes that is a bit thick and will get some adhesive on the tile. I am careful to clean the tile with a scraper, and then use a warm wet rag that is rung out the best that I can. I make sure that I do not get much moisture on the tile, just enough to get it clean. Some adhesives cure by exposure to air, others cure by the chemical reaction process. This however is only exposed to air on the edges of the tile, so you have to let the chemical process happen. The cure time will be different for everyone, because of the subsurface it is being glued to and the indoor temperature and humidity. I have a wood stove and I have my home humidifier set to about 20-25%. I still get zapped from it being slightly dry, but any more and I get moisture in the corner of my windows. My windows are triple paned, and less than a year old so it isn't bad windows causing the icing, but excess moisture in the air. My indoor temperature is mid 60*-65*F, and I am assuming the slab maybe 5*F cooler. There were a few spots in the concrete that wasn't level and I used a slightly thicker layer of adhesive to make the tile level with the adjacent tiles.
More detail:
I've tiled my wood stove hearth with 18", 6" and bull nose tiles with temperatures in the mid 50's, and it dried over night enough I could walk on them but they would move if I twisted my feet any. Over my morning coffee I didn't like the pattern so I pulled up the tiles. Yes they can still be moved after 24 hours but as previously stated, they were dry enough to not move by just normal walk on them. I carefully used a screw driver and putty knife to pry up the tiles up and cleaned the adhesive off. I laid the same tiles again, exchanging a few because I had to make a few cuts with the saw. This adhesive will not cure if you expose any surface it will be adhering to water. Dry dry dry! It is also nice because after 24 hrs I was able to clean the adhesive out the grout area easily then let it set the remaining 2 days to fully cure per the directions. I let it set for 72 hrs as directed and I didn't use a fan. For those having issues where your tiles are popping, maybe you need to have a more sound base to start with. Floor flex will over time cause either the tile to crack or pop free depending if the adhesive is sheared or if the floor is flexing or had a ridge over a joist etc. This happened in my parents house(I have no idea what adhesive they used,) and those same tiles I used for my stove hearth. They had installed down over a layer of plywood, and 75% of the adhesive they used stayed on the tile, it all sheared from the plywood. If your sub floor isn't recommended by the adhesive manufacture, then that is likely the reason why, it won't adhere to the surface well or over time that surface will separate. These reused tiles with this adhesive have had numerous pieces of wood dropped on them and temperatures as low at 40* in the house for 2 weeks at a time while I am at work, and there isn't even a chip in the grout or a loose tile. The hearth is also on the northwest corner of the house, the coldest ground temperatures soaking through the ground and into the concrete.
My second time using this adhesive is for my entry way and kitchen. It is 9' T and I used the same method and techniques as the last time. I think I will let it sit a few more days because of it being a higher traffic area. It isn't going to bother me to not grout it. This time I have kept the temperature between 65*-70*F. I placed 12" and 6" tiles down in pinwheel pattern(12"-80% tile 6"-20% tile for this pattern per online, but I found it to be 60-12" tiles and 40-6" tiles). According to the chart coverage 90sq ft for 12" and 60sq ft for the 6" tiles. So I should have used somewhere around the entire bucket, however I only used 1/3 of the 3.5 gal pail.
Tile laying technique:
I was consistent with the adhesive and making sure I had nice 1/4" ridges. I lay the tile down not where it is going to be set, but right up against the other tiles, then press the tile down firmly sliding it over to its final resting spot. I then wiggle back and forth maybe 1/8" with both hands on the tile to help seat it and also get the height equal to the adjacent tiles. After 24 hours, I cleaned the excess out of the grout lines, I had some tiles I laid the night prior by the door, and put a fan on them. and they were dry enough to walk on and wouldn't twist. Those few tiles had 60 hrs of dry time and that adhesive was more difficult to clean out of the grove. After 12 hours, I also walked very cautiously on each and every tile, and this would squeeze any excess adhesive out. This may not be the correct way to do it, but I know the adhesives we use on airplanes have a certain thickness that it needs to be to bond two materials together. Too little or too much adhesive and the adhesive will fail prematurely.
I honestly don't understand those having drying issues. After about 30-45 min this adhesive that I scrape off my trowel on the bucket lip will develop a skim coat on the exterior of it but the adhesive in the bucket will remain as new. Maybe open the bucket and do a test piece to see if it will dry overnight just exposed to air? I have a hour drive home from the store and both times the adhesive was in the bed of my truck. It was -20*F when I did my wood stove hearth and 20*F just this week while doing my kitchen floor. I think that rules out any batch problems from being frozen. All of Home Depot's supplies are sent up on the barge out of Seattle. Spending a week in a semi van trailer on the ocean, I am sure that the supplies are exposed to subzero temperatures. There is no way around it, I don't know of any heated semi vans for the barges to keep things from freezing, and Home Depot does not store items that will freeze in transit prior to winter.
I let the adhesive and tile acclimate for a day prior to installation. My floor was swept clean, not mopped with any cleaner. I would expect the cleaner to leave a slight haze on the concrete. I had removed linoleum, and I used a razor blade scraper(used to clean windows after painting) to remove old adhesive. So it wasn't brand new concrete that I was installing on, but it was smooth and clean. It took about 3 days for the concrete color to match a section that I had already removed months ago. I didn't use any chalk lines, but I would think that chalk dust wouldn't bother the adhesive. My tiles that I made the hearth out of were used ceramic tiles, with some old remaining adhesive on them in spots. I did my best to not let the trowel scrape on the concrete to leave me with a slightly thicker adhesive layer. This last project were new tiles that had a slight chalky powder on the bottom. They were like all the other tile in the stores, I am guessing that is for shipping to prevent chaffing the tile surface. I did removed each bar code from the tile, not that 1" sticker makes a bit of difference. They use a glue on them that allows them peal right off. It wasn't a big deal and I am sure I missed a few on my 12" tiles, but on the 6" tiles I made sure I removed it. That is only 1/36th of the tile, but every portion of the adhesive helps. To removed the chalky powder I just slide them across my thigh, and every now and then patted my thigh down to remove the dust. It isn't rocket science to lay tile, but it is tedious and time consuming. This was my 4th time, the first two were shower surrounds. So far they all have stayed put for the past 10 years.
Hope this helps someone.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised!

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I was in a hurry to tile my bathroom floor because I had guests coming to town, so I purchased Omnigrip because it is pre-mixed (saves me time), and because the label says it can be used on floors. The day after I used Omnigrip on my ceramic floor, I made the mistake of logging on here to read reviews. I was horrified by the number of reviews that said You should not use Omnigrip on a floor, and if you do, it will not cure in 24 hours (some people were talking about 3 week dry times). On my way home from work, I purchased a bag of quick-set mortar and dreaded the work I was going to have to do to pull up the tiles and start from square-one. To my surprise, the tiles were securely in place with only 20 hours of dry time! i waited another 4 hours, just to be sure, and applied the grout. It looks fantastic and is solid as can be. It's only been a couple of weeks now, but so-far, so-good. I will come back to comment if I see any grout cracking, but as of today, I'm as pleased as can be.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Northeast
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used it before and will again

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this product before and will use it again. Easy to use, does the job. Pay attention to the label on products like this and you won't have issues. Custom makes great products period.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and Easy

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm not sure why other reviewers had such trouble. Perhaps it is a combination of the tile used and the surface they are applying it to?
I just did my bathroom with 12x12 ceramic over Hardibacker on the floor and wall using OmniGrip and the tiles were set within 24 hours. Very easy to apply. A little pricier than other premixed thinsets but not too bad. I guess the only remaining question is how it holds up over time.
I'll post again in 10 years!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NOT FOR FLOORS!!!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To anybody who has complained about dry times on floors. Bagged mix thinset is for flooring. Pre-mix products should only ever be used on walls.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

Seems OK

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Being an "old school" type of guy, I honestly can't believe I bought this instead of mixing thinset, but I did. I had a small 30 sq ft bathroom floor where I used 12x12 porcelin floor tiles over backerboard. The instructions indicated I would need two gallons, but when I was done, I had used most of only one gallon, maybe this is what saved me. I really was sweating bullets after I installed the tiles, the stuff just would not get hard. I waited 3 days before grouting and it was still spongy, but the tiles seemed very solid so I crossed my fingers and grouted. Its been about six months with daily traffic and so far, everything looks good, no grout cracks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OmniGrip 1-gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK, but I do understand the complaints

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to lay 6 X 6 wall tiles using a 1/4 X 1/4 by 1/4 trowel notch. It definitely stays spongy for a full 24 hours. BUt after that time frame the tiles appear to be quite secure. Spreading thicker with bigger tiles could definitely be a problem. Probably not the best product for floors that endure great weights/stress but on a will that no one will touch except for cleaning OK.
Big advantage for the less experienced DIYer is that it is very creamy and easy to work with and you have more time before the set in occurs, big advantage it you have to make additional cuts in the garage.
I would recommend this with a "beware" clause based on the application (walls vs floor), voting no on the recommend radio button because of the "beware"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>