728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

OmniGrip’s unique formula sets a radical new standard, offering many benefits not found in traditional tile adhesives. Formulated with more solids and less water, OmniGrip shrinks up to 33% less than traditional adhesives ensuring maximum coverage and superior bonds. This high-polymer formula remains flexible allowing a wide variety of applications. Recommended to bond porcelain, marble, granite, stone, ceramic, mosaic and quarry tile up to 8 in. x 8 in. for interior use only. Can be used with tile up to 18 in. x 18 in., but dry time significantly increases. Dry time will be extended if using larger tiles, bonding to non-porous surface, in high humidity, or if temperature is below 60F. Do not apply excess adhesive when installing.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product34 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product34 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Review 1 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stuff works great, even sticks to formica.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about the stuff holding on a smooth shiny surface, but it works well as stated on the container.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great on Stone wall tiles

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had 75sq. feet of 12x12 wall tile to install. It was a stone tile with no grouting required (nice). OminGrip
was extremely convenient to work with at my slow DIY pace. The stone 12x12 tiles held in place wonderfully and easy to spread in tight corners.
I did not have to grout, so the longer drying time didn't hurt me like others have implied.
It is pricey- but the premix is very convenient for someone who has to fit DIY projects around your available time.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

i love this stuff

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
i have used this on floors, walls, ceilings, with big , medium and small tiles, on concrete, plywood and tile board. i have never had a problem. this stuff cures flexible and i believe it helps prevent tiles from cracking. i have yet to have tiles crack on me using this stuff. it is very expensive compared to thinset mortor but i have had problems with tiles cracking over time with thinset. people think this stuff should cure hard like thinset but its not supposed to. its stays flexible like caulking. most of the time this cures for me over night, but in humid areas it may take a couple days. its never been a real issue for me like others have complained about and i have used this on many jobs. the cost is my only complaint on this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Northeast
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used it before and will again

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product before and will use it again. Easy to use, does the job. Pay attention to the label on products like this and you won't have issues. Custom makes great products period.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised!

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I was in a hurry to tile my bathroom floor because I had guests coming to town, so I purchased Omnigrip because it is pre-mixed (saves me time), and because the label says it can be used on floors. The day after I used Omnigrip on my ceramic floor, I made the mistake of logging on here to read reviews. I was horrified by the number of reviews that said You should not use Omnigrip on a floor, and if you do, it will not cure in 24 hours (some people were talking about 3 week dry times). On my way home from work, I purchased a bag of quick-set mortar and dreaded the work I was going to have to do to pull up the tiles and start from square-one. To my surprise, the tiles were securely in place with only 20 hours of dry time! i waited another 4 hours, just to be sure, and applied the grout. It looks fantastic and is solid as can be. It's only been a couple of weeks now, but so-far, so-good. I will come back to comment if I see any grout cracking, but as of today, I'm as pleased as can be.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

Tile adhesive

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great ! Convienent resealable tub was easy. All in all great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from lafayette louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

omnigrip tile adhesive

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works very well for setting tiles and would recommend
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NOT FOR FLOORS!!!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To anybody who has complained about dry times on floors. Bagged mix thinset is for flooring. Pre-mix products should only ever be used on walls.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked very well and dried quickly

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was very easy to apply and allowed movement of my tile if needed, once dry my tile was well placed no sagging or drooping of my tile, it went on smooth with out air bubbles or lumping, and dried completely and quickly
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not good for high humidity areas

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installing this product over cement floors at a summer home damaged by Super storm Sandy. Left tiles to dry over a week with de-humidifier on. Came back a week later to grout, tiles started cracking , adhesive was still soft. Have to remove and install with standard thin set instead of ready mix.
Cons: very long drying time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE ON FLOORS

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great on walls.... A true horror story for floors (I honestly do not understand how or why there can be such a difference). The description says "Standard dry time for 8 in. x 8 in. tile is 24-72 hours before applying grout". On walls it worked fine. Easy to adjust and tiles stayed where you placed them (with spacers). ON THE FLOOR.... tiles raised over the course of a day. After 2 days I placed my HEAVY fire proof filing cabinet across 2 tiles and have had a hair dryer on them for 48 hours. So far its been 4 days and they still move. I found reviews on other forums (after the fact) where many people have this problem. One called the manufacturer and got a quote that it can take up to 4 weeks to fully cure (yes.. that is NOT a type-O... I wrote WEEKS!). So just do NOT use this on floors.
Cons: worse than useless for floors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Detroit MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

omnigrip

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
For the cost I expected the strength of good dry mix tile adhesive, but not quite there in my opinion. I guess it is the convenience of not having to mix it yourself, rather than superior quality that commands a relatively high price. That said, I may buy it again for the convenience when I have small projects.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use for wall tile and in dry areas

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use this for tile on backsplashes, NOT on floors. Google, Bing, and Yahoo search engines are your friends! Research it! Thinset is what you want to use on floors, whether they are cement slab or plywood covered with cementboard.
This product adheres well to walls properly prepped and allows plenty of time for positioning of tile. Custom Building Products are the best on the market hands down. That's why it's the choice of most professionals.
Pros: Very Adhesive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Alton IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase Ever

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best product to use I am putting floor tiles on my shower walls and it is standing up to my the expectations.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from merritt island florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best adhesive ever

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the adhesive was easy to apply and the clean up was easy
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

Omnigrip disaster

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are tempted to purchase this product, PLEASE read the reviews first. This should not even be on the market. Home Depot is providing a disservice to it's customers by stocking this item. It does not dry in 24 to 78 hours. It does not dry after 3 weeks! Who knows how long it takes and how many unsuspecting customers grouted over their tiles, unaware that this product was still curing. We had applied this product to a kitchen floor that we were retiling and to our dismay, after a week and half it had sitll not set up and that is with two extra heaters running in the room. We had to tear up the tile and remove the sticky mess off the floor. To Home Depot's credit, they gave us a refund on the product and refunded the cost of the tiles that we had used but were now covered in this sticky mess. We also tiled our entry and that has still not set up after almost 4 weeks. I can say is Buyer beware.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Spokane, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product works very good. The trick is to not use to much. It is like super glue, if you use to much it does not bond that good because it does not dry right. I have been a mason for over 40 years and I use this on occasion when I can't use regular mortar or thin set, like over painted block.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Libertyville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made the job Simple

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Why would anyone use mortar. This works great! Used it for floors and shower walls.
Pros: easy to use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from St. Joseph, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It was perfect for my tile installation

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Will recommend it to all my friends... The product went up fast and with ease.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great for this 1st Timer!!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kitchen backsplash was my first tiling project. Bought 2 gallon buckets of Omnigrip, but only needed 1. Really liked not having one more step in the overall process (ie: no mixing of a dry mix). This adhesive worked out great and our 1"x1" (on a 12"x12"sheet) tiles look great! Will definitely use this product again on any future tile jobs!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>