728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive

OmniGrip’s unique formula sets a radical new standard, offering many benefits not found in traditional tile adhesives. Formulated with more solids and less water, OmniGrip shrinks up to 33% less than traditional adhesives ensuring maximum coverage and superior bonds. This high-polymer formula remains flexible allowing a wide variety of applications. Recommended to bond porcelain, marble, granite, stone, ceramic, mosaic and quarry tile up to 8 in. x 8 in. for interior use only. Can be used with tile up to 18 in. x 18 in., but dry time significantly increases. Dry time will be extended if using larger tiles, bonding to non-porous surface, in high humidity, or if temperature is below 60F. Do not apply excess adhesive when installing.
Overall rating:
3.487 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product22 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product22 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Review 1 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Beeny56
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great on Stone wall tiles

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had 75sq. feet of 12x12 wall tile to install. It was a stone tile with no grouting required (nice). OminGrip
was extremely convenient to work with at my slow DIY pace. The stone 12x12 tiles held in place wonderfully and easy to spread in tight corners.
I did not have to grout, so the longer drying time didn't hurt me like others have implied.
It is pricey- but the premix is very convenient for someone who has to fit DIY projects around your available time.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
dwhite1031
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use for wall tile and in dry areas

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use this for tile on backsplashes, NOT on floors. Google, Bing, and Yahoo search engines are your friends! Research it! Thinset is what you want to use on floors, whether they are cement slab or plywood covered with cementboard.
This product adheres well to walls properly prepped and allows plenty of time for positioning of tile. Custom Building Products are the best on the market hands down. That's why it's the choice of most professionals.
Pros: Very Adhesive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
TheoCanFixIt
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NOT FOR FLOORS!!!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To anybody who has complained about dry times on floors. Bagged mix thinset is for flooring. Pre-mix products should only ever be used on walls.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Stardan
from Spokane, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product works very good. The trick is to not use to much. It is like super glue, if you use to much it does not bond that good because it does not dry right. I have been a mason for over 40 years and I use this on occasion when I can't use regular mortar or thin set, like over painted block.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Fixer13

Omnigrip disaster

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are tempted to purchase this product, PLEASE read the reviews first. This should not even be on the market. Home Depot is providing a disservice to it's customers by stocking this item. It does not dry in 24 to 78 hours. It does not dry after 3 weeks! Who knows how long it takes and how many unsuspecting customers grouted over their tiles, unaware that this product was still curing. We had applied this product to a kitchen floor that we were retiling and to our dismay, after a week and half it had sitll not set up and that is with two extra heaters running in the room. We had to tear up the tile and remove the sticky mess off the floor. To Home Depot's credit, they gave us a refund on the product and refunded the cost of the tiles that we had used but were now covered in this sticky mess. We also tiled our entry and that has still not set up after almost 4 weeks. I can say is Buyer beware.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
rbr1802
from Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not good for high humidity areas

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installing this product over cement floors at a summer home damaged by Super storm Sandy. Left tiles to dry over a week with de-humidifier on. Came back a week later to grout, tiles started cracking , adhesive was still soft. Have to remove and install with standard thin set instead of ready mix.
Cons: very long drying time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
GaryJW
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works very well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Works very well. Used it to install kitchen backsplash and was very satisfied.
Pros: Very Adhesive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Janet
from St. Joseph, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It was perfect for my tile installation

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Will recommend it to all my friends... The product went up fast and with ease.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Duhibrokeit
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No idea why everyone has had issues with this, Worked fine for me 2 seperate times years apart

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as it should! It is an adhesive not cement!
For those having issues:
Solid floor prior to tile installation is a MUST!!!! Check to see which direction your floor joists are going. If you lay your backer board opposite your floor joists this makes it opposite of your sub floor. Having the strongest possible scenario. That helps alternate all the seams, creating the most strength.
My second suggestion:
I would lay 2 tiles down in the floor prior to starting your project. Use 2 different techniques in setting the tile down on the adhesive. Repeat this more if you do not have even adhesive coverage on the tile. There should be no dry spots, so either adjust your technique with your tile setting, or be more liberal with your adhesive and troweling techniques. There was a few times where I had 1/4" of the corner of the tile that was placed down without adhesive under it. I had to pull the tile back up slowly using the trowel and reset it. I always use more adhesive as if I was laying the tile for the first time.
My third suggestion:
With all that being said, I have used this with 6", 12", 18" and bull nose tiles on a smooth concrete floor with no issues. I used it with 18" ceramic tiles, and the rest were porcelain. I was barely in the temperature range the first time I used it due to extremely cold weather and my new house having an inefficient heater. I know it was -20*F while installing my wood stove, and I used this adhesive (small pail) on the tiles making my hearth. The last time, I was well within the temperature range, using 1/4" trowel laying 12" and 6" tile in a pinwheel pattern. I used only 1/3 of the 3.5 gal pail, and later I will discuss the sq ft coverage. I was cautious to use this again after seeing all the negative responses. I couldn't remember which store I had purchased it from, so I looked online before I headed out to the store. I live in Alaska, and I know that Home Depot ships 99.9% of their stuff up on the barge. That barge is exposed to sub zero arctic temperatures on the ocean for a week. I wonder if people are trying to rush once they see their new tile floor and want to start grouting? Patience to wait and let things cure, but make sure all surfaces are dry!!!! This adhesive cleans up nicely with warm water. I have some excess sometimes that is a bit thick and will get some adhesive on the tile. I am careful to clean the tile with a scraper, and then use a warm wet rag that is rung out the best that I can. I make sure that I do not get much moisture on the tile, just enough to get it clean. Some adhesives cure by exposure to air, others cure by the chemical reaction process. This however is only exposed to air on the edges of the tile, so you have to let the chemical process happen. The cure time will be different for everyone, because of the subsurface it is being glued to and the indoor temperature and humidity. I have a wood stove and I have my home humidifier set to about 20-25%. I still get zapped from it being slightly dry, but any more and I get moisture in the corner of my windows. My windows are triple paned, and less than a year old so it isn't bad windows causing the icing, but excess moisture in the air. My indoor temperature is mid 60*-65*F, and I am assuming the slab maybe 5*F cooler. There were a few spots in the concrete that wasn't level and I used a slightly thicker layer of adhesive to make the tile level with the adjacent tiles.
More detail:
I've tiled my wood stove hearth with 18", 6" and bull nose tiles with temperatures in the mid 50's, and it dried over night enough I could walk on them but they would move if I twisted my feet any. Over my morning coffee I didn't like the pattern so I pulled up the tiles. Yes they can still be moved after 24 hours but as previously stated, they were dry enough to not move by just normal walk on them. I carefully used a screw driver and putty knife to pry up the tiles up and cleaned the adhesive off. I laid the same tiles again, exchanging a few because I had to make a few cuts with the saw. This adhesive will not cure if you expose any surface it will be adhering to water. Dry dry dry! It is also nice because after 24 hrs I was able to clean the adhesive out the grout area easily then let it set the remaining 2 days to fully cure per the directions. I let it set for 72 hrs as directed and I didn't use a fan. For those having issues where your tiles are popping, maybe you need to have a more sound base to start with. Floor flex will over time cause either the tile to crack or pop free depending if the adhesive is sheared or if the floor is flexing or had a ridge over a joist etc. This happened in my parents house(I have no idea what adhesive they used,) and those same tiles I used for my stove hearth. They had installed down over a layer of plywood, and 75% of the adhesive they used stayed on the tile, it all sheared from the plywood. If your sub floor isn't recommended by the adhesive manufacture, then that is likely the reason why, it won't adhere to the surface well or over time that surface will separate. These reused tiles with this adhesive have had numerous pieces of wood dropped on them and temperatures as low at 40* in the house for 2 weeks at a time while I am at work, and there isn't even a chip in the grout or a loose tile. The hearth is also on the northwest corner of the house, the coldest ground temperatures soaking through the ground and into the concrete.
My second time using this adhesive is for my entry way and kitchen. It is 9' T and I used the same method and techniques as the last time. I think I will let it sit a few more days because of it being a higher traffic area. It isn't going to bother me to not grout it. This time I have kept the temperature between 65*-70*F. I placed 12" and 6" tiles down in pinwheel pattern(12"-80% tile 6"-20% tile for this pattern per online, but I found it to be 60-12" tiles and 40-6" tiles). According to the chart coverage 90sq ft for 12" and 60sq ft for the 6" tiles. So I should have used somewhere around the entire bucket, however I only used 1/3 of the 3.5 gal pail.
Tile laying technique:
I was consistent with the adhesive and making sure I had nice 1/4" ridges. I lay the tile down not where it is going to be set, but right up against the other tiles, then press the tile down firmly sliding it over to its final resting spot. I then wiggle back and forth maybe 1/8" with both hands on the tile to help seat it and also get the height equal to the adjacent tiles. After 24 hours, I cleaned the excess out of the grout lines, I had some tiles I laid the night prior by the door, and put a fan on them. and they were dry enough to walk on and wouldn't twist. Those few tiles had 60 hrs of dry time and that adhesive was more difficult to clean out of the grove. After 12 hours, I also walked very cautiously on each and every tile, and this would squeeze any excess adhesive out. This may not be the correct way to do it, but I know the adhesives we use on airplanes have a certain thickness that it needs to be to bond two materials together. Too little or too much adhesive and the adhesive will fail prematurely.
I honestly don't understand those having drying issues. After about 30-45 min this adhesive that I scrape off my trowel on the bucket lip will develop a skim coat on the exterior of it but the adhesive in the bucket will remain as new. Maybe open the bucket and do a test piece to see if it will dry overnight just exposed to air? I have a hour drive home from the store and both times the adhesive was in the bed of my truck. It was -20*F when I did my wood stove hearth and 20*F just this week while doing my kitchen floor. I think that rules out any batch problems from being frozen. All of Home Depot's supplies are sent up on the barge out of Seattle. Spending a week in a semi van trailer on the ocean, I am sure that the supplies are exposed to subzero temperatures. There is no way around it, I don't know of any heated semi vans for the barges to keep things from freezing, and Home Depot does not store items that will freeze in transit prior to winter.
I let the adhesive and tile acclimate for a day prior to installation. My floor was swept clean, not mopped with any cleaner. I would expect the cleaner to leave a slight haze on the concrete. I had removed linoleum, and I used a razor blade scraper(used to clean windows after painting) to remove old adhesive. So it wasn't brand new concrete that I was installing on, but it was smooth and clean. It took about 3 days for the concrete color to match a section that I had already removed months ago. I didn't use any chalk lines, but I would think that chalk dust wouldn't bother the adhesive. My tiles that I made the hearth out of were used ceramic tiles, with some old remaining adhesive on them in spots. I did my best to not let the trowel scrape on the concrete to leave me with a slightly thicker adhesive layer. This last project were new tiles that had a slight chalky powder on the bottom. They were like all the other tile in the stores, I am guessing that is for shipping to prevent chaffing the tile surface. I did removed each bar code from the tile, not that 1" sticker makes a bit of difference. They use a glue on them that allows them peal right off. It wasn't a big deal and I am sure I missed a few on my 12" tiles, but on the 6" tiles I made sure I removed it. That is only 1/36th of the tile, but every portion of the adhesive helps. To removed the chalky powder I just slide them across my thigh, and every now and then patted my thigh down to remove the dust. It isn't rocket science to lay tile, but it is tedious and time consuming. This was my 4th time, the first two were shower surrounds. So far they all have stayed put for the past 10 years.
Hope this helps someone.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
BigSky

Seems OK

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Being an "old school" type of guy, I honestly can't believe I bought this instead of mixing thinset, but I did. I had a small 30 sq ft bathroom floor where I used 12x12 porcelin floor tiles over backerboard. The instructions indicated I would need two gallons, but when I was done, I had used most of only one gallon, maybe this is what saved me. I really was sweating bullets after I installed the tiles, the stuff just would not get hard. I waited 3 days before grouting and it was still spongy, but the tiles seemed very solid so I crossed my fingers and grouted. Its been about six months with daily traffic and so far, everything looks good, no grout cracks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Amex

Great stuff

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product to adhere marble tiles on the interior walls and ceilings of my shower and for the exterior subway tiles on the wall. I have used some other products but this one by far seems to be the best. I saw little or no shifting even without a support, and like another review said it would only move if I wanted it to. No problems with cure time each section was solid within the next day.
As for strength, I installed a tile I didn't like so I decided to remove it and try again. Since prying it was not working and I didn't want to damage the other tiles, I opted to use a hammer on it to get it to crack. I started prying it off after I had made a large enough hole to get a pry tool in and it took the 1/2 inch rock board it was adhered to off with it! So now I had to patch the rock board with a morter mix before I could even put the new tile on. So as for strength it's more then enough
Have had the shower for 3 yrs. no leaks, cracks, or dropped/broken tiles.
Note: keep a bucket of water and a small sponge with you it can get a bit messy and you don't want to have to clean it out of the grout lines after it has hardened.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Paul
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and Easy

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure why other reviewers had such trouble. Perhaps it is a combination of the tile used and the surface they are applying it to?
I just did my bathroom with 12x12 ceramic over Hardibacker on the floor and wall using OmniGrip and the tiles were set within 24 hours. Very easy to apply. A little pricier than other premixed thinsets but not too bad. I guess the only remaining question is how it holds up over time.
I'll post again in 10 years!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
kjsp
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellant for setting wall tiles

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellant fro setting wall tiles due to a longer working time. Premix saves the mess & time of mixing. However, due to the longer set time be careful laying floor tile. Floor tile could take several days to dry. Once dried it's great...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Effective, longer drying time
Cons: longer drying time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Greg
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK, but I do understand the complaints

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to lay 6 X 6 wall tiles using a 1/4 X 1/4 by 1/4 trowel notch. It definitely stays spongy for a full 24 hours. BUt after that time frame the tiles appear to be quite secure. Spreading thicker with bigger tiles could definitely be a problem. Probably not the best product for floors that endure great weights/stress but on a will that no one will touch except for cleaning OK.
Big advantage for the less experienced DIYer is that it is very creamy and easy to work with and you have more time before the set in occurs, big advantage it you have to make additional cuts in the garage.
I would recommend this with a "beware" clause based on the application (walls vs floor), voting no on the recommend radio button because of the "beware"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
ccaltacc
from Washington, DC

Good stuff

PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know what the other reviewers situations are but this stuff worked great for my 50 sq. ft. bathroom. I laid 1/2 inch thick 12x12 slate tiles on top of 1/4 inch concrete backer board, on top of a plywood subfloor. its been 24 hours and everything is solid, no movement at all. perhaps people applied this stuff a little too thick? I did do it pretty thin because I could tell this stuff was strong and my tile was heavy. In many cases after laying a piece of tile, it was unmovable in under 5 minutes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Chimeric

I'm sold

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I'm another satisfied customer. The only complaint I have is that it's pricier than the rest, but I think I got a fair value. I used this with some tinted mosaic glass tile sheets and I couldn't be happier. The traditional style of adhesive was giving me fits; I couldn't get it to stay on the wall, I couldn't keep the tile sheets in place without a bunch of push pins, it was a big headache.
I actually bought the Omni Grip by mistake, I had already done one side wall with the traditional morter-style adhesive and had to run back to get more. I just noticed the "SET" and that is was Maximum Strength, but not that it was an acrylic, so I was a little surprised when I opened the tub and saw the white fluff inside.
This went on the wall perfectly with almost none of it falling off onto the counter or floor (like the other one did--I ended up with more on the floor and countertops than on the wall with the traditional stuff!) The sheets of tiles stuck right away and stayed in place exactly where I put them unless I shifted them on purpose. No slipping.
There's a learning curve as to how much to put on the wall. It's real easy to get too much of it and have a lot of it seep in between the tiles that you have to dig out later, but after you get the right amount down, it goes fast and easy.
It's day two, really just 24 hours now, and like another commentor noted, I'll have needed a jackhammer if I hadn't gone ahead and cleaned all the grout lines out today, it's setting up and drying very quickly and holding the tiles firmly to the wall.
There is a slight color difference between the wall I did with the traditional adhesive and the Omni Grip, but since they're on separate walls, it's not really noticable. I like the OG because, since it's white, I get the color of tiles on the wall that I picked out in the store. When I put up the first wall, even though the tiles were tinted, the gray adhesive made them a darker color. The white Omni Grip makes them the same exact color that showed against the white cardboard packaging the tiles came in.
So, I did this in late August. It was in the 90s and since I live in the Southwest, the humidity levels were negligible. I did a backsplash and a side wall in the kitchen. I used concrete backer board as a foundation. The tiles I used were small 3/4" X 3/4" on a mesh. If I'd have done this with large tiles, or on the floor, or in December while it was raining, I can't say what would have happened, but in these conditions for what I needed, this product was perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Belou
from Port Angeles, WA

Up Set Thin Set

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product takes excessive time to set and cure. Manufacturer states minimum 24 hours, but if larger tile, or dense tiles, then this time is GREATLY extended. GREATLY is a very ambiguous word, and they are not joking. It has been 2 days and we have resorted to using space heaters to assist in curing time.
I thought that I was purchasing a superior product, but don't get reeled in by the packaging. Old school thin set is a far better option to this expensive and cumbersome product.
Our entry tile floor is 50 sq feet, so the tile cost $60. The Omnigrip Thinset cost me $100 ($2 per sq ft), and I will have to wait to see how long it takes to cure.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
spongytile

Very Poor Product

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In all my years of DIY this is by far the worst product I have ever used. I used this to do a small slate tile job (12x12 tiles) in 28 square feet. This stuff will not cure at all, I was told by the manufacture Tech support that with a fan on it and space heater (24/7) that I should wait 3 weeks before grouting. My tile has been down for 3 weeks and the adhesive is still spongy. Do yourself a favor and do not by this product!!! At this point I feel like I should rip it up and start over again. THIS PRODUCT SHOULD BE TAKEN OFF THE SHELF !!!!! PURE JUNK!!!
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Handy1
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hugs the tile to the wall

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought all adhesive was about the same until I opened my second gallon of a different brand. Omnigrip held the tile, 8X8 5/8 marble, tight and steady. The other brand let the tile slide down the wall, even forcing some spacers and tile out.
Worth every penny. I'm getting another gallon for the rest of the job.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective, tight bond even with a very thin set.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OmniGrip 1 gal. Maximum Strength Tile Adhesive
Justin

Wow, please read this review before you buy.

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
After talking with their tech support I was informed that a 3 day set time is not uncommon. While the directions state that certain conditions may yield an "extended dry time", nowhere does it say dry time may be tripled. When asked why anyone would use this product I was told "the only reason to use this product is because it is premixed". No mention of the flexibility of the product being superior to others. The product really has no use on the market. It only takes a little practice to mix a traditional thinset on your own, and there are other pre-mixed thinsets available that are as easy to work with and dry in a reasonable amount of time.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>