728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Radiant Barrier or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED

4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED

With the ever-increasing cost of energy, it is important to create the most efficient attic insulation/radiant barrier system possible. The reflectix radiant barrier is a key component in achieving just that goal. When installed in an attic system, the product blocks 96 percent of the radiant heat that normally would be transferred to your attic floor. By blocking such a significant amount of heat, your attic floor insulation stays cooler and operates more efficiently. This translates to less air conditioning usage (up to 10 percent) which results in lower utility bills. Attic mounted duct systems also benefit dramatically from the reflectix radiant barrier. Ease of handling is one of the key advantages (no itch and all you need are scissors and a staple gun). Additional applications include cathedral ceilings, walls or as a house wrap (behind brick or siding). The product has a class A / class 1 building material fire rating.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
Backwoods

You get what you pay for, The cheapest Radiant barrier on the market.

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading many reviews I decided to give this stuff a try. Mostly because of the cost. This reflectix material is very similar if not the exact material that hospital get well balloons are made of with some added fiber for strength. It is a very thin plastic based material, hold a match to it, and guess what happens.
I'm sure that it will do what it says it will do as far as heat reflection, I could feel it during the installation process. However I don't think that it will last half the life of the metal roof that I installed it under. Unless you are on a super tight budget or do not care about longevity, look for a metalized product, like Attic Foil, or eco-foil. As a builder, I cannot recommend this product to anyone.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
Ravener
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy and better than expected

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Know what you're buying when you buy Reflectix.
It's a radiant barrier which blocks radiant heat (the heat from the sun hitting your roof and making the air in your attic hot). That hot attic air is turned into conductive heat as it passes downward, and is *conducted* through your ceiling into your house and is why you have the blown fiberglass or other insulation on the floor of the attic above your ceiling to prevent it from coming through.
As a radiant barrier, the job of Reflectix is blocking the first step, the passing of radiant heat from the roof into the attic air. Reflectix does this well. It can be very thin because the silver foil is what is doing the work. Bubbles, fiberglass insulation between the foil, etc is all extra.
Installation was way easier than expected. I did the project solo, cut it into ~12 foot lengths and stapled to the rafters quite easily. I had absolutely no problems handling it; it was lightweight but stapled easily. I was not very gentle with it as I manipulated the excess length around the rafters as I stapled, but it did not tear at all through the entire project.
For my project, it was as good a product and as good a value as I could have hoped for. I would definitely purchase again, and may do so to protect my garage or other attic areas.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
TomH
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reflectix Radiant Barrier is too flimsy, tears easily, and only has scrim fibers every inch or so.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this product after looking at several other products, being assured it was substantial and wouldn't easily tear. For example, I compared it to AtticFoil and two other products for which I received free samples. On arrival of my order, I was sorely disappointed in the light weight material, not much more than VERY thin aluminum foil; I could easily tear the product in between the scrim fibers. Unless you just happened to get a staple across the polyester scrim fibers, it would not have held up, and even if you did, I think it would have torn badly because the fibers only ran every inch or so in a diagonal cross pattern.
While Reflectix would probably have performed equally well in the radiant barrier role, I believe it would have been much harder to deal with as a self install. While it might have held up in a simple/easy install, with the significant tight spaces I was working, I didn't trust it to hold up to the inevitable rougher treatment I would have put it through.
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
Marc

Good Buy

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. The material seems to have small pieces of string woven in for stability. The product is very stable yet manipulatable. However it does make it a little bit harder to cut sometimes with my knife. A very difficult install for one person in a hot attic, but that's not the fault of the product, just me the lazy installer. I installed it in bursts of motivation over about 2 months.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
Yellabret

I had no problems with this product being flimsy

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i guess they changed the product or Lowes has a better version, but my Reflectix has fibers running 2 directions every 1/4 inch or so. almost impossible for a staple to miss one. i installed this in a 1800 sq ft home all alone with vaulted ceilings and other tight places. my neighbor bought a thicker product online for less, but it was not as shiny and looked to me like it would be much harder to install around supports, vents, hips, and all the other obstacles in the attic you dont think about until you encounter them. so to me the thinness is an asset as long as you have the fibers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
bixnix
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worth it

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Stapled it easily to the underside of my roof decking w/ 1/4" staples. Getting to the corners of my roof is very difficult, but once there, the product staples easily. The imbedded threads strengthen it nicely. Doesn't tear, but cuts with scissors easily. The combination of this barrier plus barely adequate attic ventilation has made my house more pleasant ... I've got it down to 20 degrees above ambient on the hottest days, an improvement of 10 degrees or more. Feels like my house has a bit more "shade" inside - before, I felt like I was being cooked.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
LRinMA
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

strong enough to put up, is perforated even though it says it's not

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is reinforced just enough that it's not too hard to put up. However, if you're going to tug on it much, it might be good to put something like a little piece of wood under the staples so they don't pull through, or use long strips of wood at inside corners. If your roof joists are like the one we've got on this older (1914) house, you may want to use 1/4 inch or 5/16 inch long staples. We have a fairly hefty hand powered staple gun, but it can't get 1/2 inch staples all the way in these joists. Perhaps it could if they were softer.
I've only got some of it up, but it does seem to me that the side of the attic where it's up radiates less heat, even though usually there's more sun on that side. My main purpose is to lower temperatures for attic storage.
It wasn't supposed to be perforated, but it is. The perforations are pretty small, though. I plan to use a fan to pull air through between the radiant barrier and the roof, which is why I am not thrilled with the perforations. For a standard installation they're probably a good thing.
Based on my experience so far, I'd be willing to buy this stuff again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
handyman
from WestFrankfort,IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as advertized

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this product in Dallas TX,and was amazed at the difference in attic temps during the summer. Also made a great difference in winter. I will be installing it here in Illinois.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
dd70
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good as described in ads

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
product was as indicated in ads,easy to install--don't know yet if it truly will reduce heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
herkie
from cairo ga.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very poor service on internet buying.

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
very good product installs easily will hopefully help in reducing overall electric usage
Pros: Performs Well, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
jeffnhouston
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

online only?

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this stuff is great. it's versatile. I have used it before. it tends to rip when applied with staples but in my application I used wallpaper paste and it worked real well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
FacingSouth
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with, effectively cools the room. We covered large picture windows with the product, attaching with velcro. Easily hidden with a curtain. Also covered sliding door glass panels. It will be easy to remove the radiant barrier panels when the weather cools down. Much cheaper than blinds or cellular shades!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 4 ft. x 125 ft. Radiant Barrier-DISCONTINUED
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5